Enough Is Enough

Replying To royaldunne:  "Just saw footage of the Ballyholland and Downpatrick club game. Honestly I mean what the hell is going on in some club games?? Players leaving field to attack someone? A player taking out a woman ? He went straight for her. Look I'm no shrinking violet at a football game myself, I've questioned many a player/refs parentage, but this is out of hand. Surely both clubs should be suspended from this competition and next years too. Also fine cb, that is only solution."
You must have it wrong RoyalD, Down are the aristocrats of GAA.

They would never ever stoop to the depths of their northern neighbors like Tyrone......oh wait.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 08/10/2018 16:52:34    2145624

There's a common denominator in these recently publicised club melee problems. That is all.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 08/10/2018 18:39:19    2145647

Far from the first time this has happened, in my experience. It's horrible, dangerous and of course it should not be tolerated. I see Stevie Mc was saying that the gym culture has a lot to do with it, erm, there wasn't much gym in my day yet it was as violent as it ever was.
It's a physically tribal game, which means there will always a bit of it about. But yes, ban any player that involves himself in such mob behaviour.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 08/10/2018 18:56:20    2145651

Replying To The_Fridge:  "You must have it wrong RoyalD, Down are the aristocrats of GAA.

They would never ever stoop to the depths of their northern neighbors like Tyrone......oh wait."
Nasty , think this issue is bigger than petty squabbles

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 08/10/2018 19:03:32    2145654

Get some of those UFC security in to control the players getting over fences........oh wait they can't either by the looks of things!!
On this topic players banned without the right to appeal if ur caught entering a melee problem is players jump into protect a team mate and have an aul push and shove then it escalates cos the chickens who won't run into a tackle and take on a man suddenly become the hard man.
Fine clubs as well for not controlling their players again non refundable.
Supporters banned at club and county level. Hard to implement this one but I'm sure if done properly it would.
Clubs who engage in violence should be hit with points deduction or elimination from competition also forfeit home advantage in league games etc.
If the GAA got a pair of balls and got tougher in the board room they would clean up the game.
Almost every weekend this is becoming a regular occurrence.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 08/10/2018 19:20:54    2145658

Surprised no one has been seriously injured over the years

It can only take one punch

Such behavior off a pitch would result in arrests and multiple squad cars showing up in riot gear. It would be quite a serious situation if 20-30 fella's were beating the crap out of each other on the high street

Has to be said there's a fair amount of this going on and I'm not sure if it's because there's more games being recorded by fans and the ability to then broadcast footage online making it easily available to online sites who seem to love publishing such clips to bolster themselves (guaranteed clicks) or is there a serious growing culture of violence in the game?

Perhaps both..

It's been mentioned that Gym work is responsible. Maybe. I'd say it's more down to the growing culture to publish such things online normalizing said behaviour and then it going almost unpunished time and time again isn't a great message.

Players think they can get away with it.

Also it it just me or does this appear to be more of a problem in rural Ireland?

You don't many of these clips involving Dublin clubs. There's still trouble at games but I honestly can't think of a recent clip involving Dublin clubs. They all appear to be coming from around the country.

Is there a sense that sure we're miles away here from HQ.. we can do and get away with what we want?

Such logic doesn't really take into account fans that are only willing to get a bit of traction for themselves online and falling over themselves to broadcast their clubs dirty washing...

That's certainly a new aspect to GAA culture that might explain quite a bit about this issue.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 08/10/2018 20:21:01    2145668

Will somebody stop the damn match enough is enough

- Jim Ross, 1998

PyatPree (Cork) - Posts: 376 - 08/10/2018 20:54:06    2145675

Replying To jimbodub:  "Surprised no one has been seriously injured over the years

Such behavior off a pitch would result in arrests and multiple squad cars showing up in riot gear. It would be quite a serious situation if 20-30 fella's were beating the crap out of each other on the high street

Has to be said there's a fair amount of this going on and I'm not sure if it's because there's more games being recorded by fans and the ability to then broadcast footage online making it easily available to online sites who seem to love publishing such clips to bolster themselves (guaranteed clicks) or is there a serious growing culture of violence in the game?

Perhaps both..

It's been mentioned that Gym work is responsible. Maybe. I'd say it's more down to the growing culture to publish such things online normalizing said behaviour and then it going almost unpunished time and time again isn't a great message.

Also it it just me or does this appear to be more of a problem in rural Ireland?

You don't many of these clips involving Dublin clubs. There's still trouble at games but I honestly can't think of a recent clip involving Dublin clubs. They all appear to be coming from around the country.

Is there a sense that sure we're miles away here from HQ.. we can do and get away with what we want?

Such logic doesn't really take into account fans that are only willing to get a bit of traction for themselves online and falling over themselves to broadcast their clubs dirty washing...

That's certainly a new aspect to GAA culture that might explain quite a bit about this issue."
Didn't want to mention the geography of the trouble but I suppose it's relevant enough, as far as Dublin is concerned on the pitch we have same amount of idiots as anywhere no different, same amount of filthy cowards with a hurl in their hand , same amount of fellas leading with the elbow, that said thankfully not in my time have I seen it spill into crowd etc no one likes running down their own but it's an honest question to each county , is Your house in order ??? Would you feel your county board is strong or weak with regards to issues raised

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 08/10/2018 20:58:12    2145676

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh will you give over. He clearly stated that it happens on pitch. I was at that game on hill 16 surrounded by both Meath and Mayo fans. Nor one bit of trouble. Cop yourself on. We are talking about players jumping fences to fight with supporters. No that does not happen and in my lifetime I never saw it before."
what happened on the pitch that day was a disgrace...so don't be selective in what is thuggery and what isn't...this nonsense has been happening down through the years..and as some posters have mentioned on here it comes down to a complete lack of respect...go to many underage games and the abuse that comes in over the fence from parents and so called supporters directed at the ref and opposition is awful...lets start there and stop sending our young people the wrong example completely

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 08/10/2018 22:08:57    2145687

easily sorted...every player that left the field of play to get involved in the brawl is given a 6 month ban...there were a few players who chose not to jump the fence..so they don't get banned..simple as that

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 08/10/2018 22:14:42    2145689

Replying To Damothedub:  "Didn't want to mention the geography of the trouble but I suppose it's relevant enough, as far as Dublin is concerned on the pitch we have same amount of idiots as anywhere no different, same amount of filthy cowards with a hurl in their hand , same amount of fellas leading with the elbow, that said thankfully not in my time have I seen it spill into crowd etc no one likes running down their own but it's an honest question to each county , is Your house in order ??? Would you feel your county board is strong or weak with regards to issues raised"
No doubting the cowardice/gombeens involved at times in the Dublin club scene but again all these recent events captured are not involving Dublin clubs and I've certainly not seen any, they appear to be all coming from rural Ireland. Local tribal rivalry gone into overdrive..

It does strike me that it appears that there's almost a lawlessness about the whole thing, a spaghetti movie western free for all in the saloon.. we can act in such a manner because we're allowsed to do so without much punishment and again if you performed such acts on the street it would be quite a serious incident and would undoubtedly involve several Garda showing up and fellas getting thrown in the back of a Transit facing assault and public order offenses.

Yep no doubt. A permissible thuggery.

You wouldn't see the same lads having such a large scale dust up in the middle of the town in broad daylight like that because there's an obvious culture of punishment that they'd face.. the same can't be said on a GAA pitch or in the GAA world especially at rural GAA level.

Free for alls are accepted.

That's the core of it. Very little punishment, players believing they can act in such a manner, a poor culture of self discipline and now throw in smart phones and fans happy to record and publish such incidents and there you have it.. you've plenty of sites very happy to publicize it.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 08/10/2018 22:34:07    2145691

It seems in some parts of Ireland the Faction fight is alive and well and coming to a club near you real soon.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4893 - 08/10/2018 23:29:25    2145700

Can people stop this nonsense of this violence doesn't happen in there County,it could happen anywhere.
Could we please suggest adequate sanctions because this is violence has to stop.and personally I think Croke Park should step in and make the decision to take the pressure off the county board.

ifindoubt (Donegal) - Posts: 133 - 09/10/2018 08:04:01    2145713

only seen the footage last night, while I often enjoyed seeing the odd melee this went far beyond that. There looked to be a disturbance on the bank outside the barrier between a couple of spectators, then one player rushes over hops the fence and joins in, then all mayhem breaks loose. Any player who left the field should be automatically banned. Some one mentioned earlier that this was a relegation play off, both teams should be relegated straight away and when they meet next year the fixture should have no spectators allowed and a stipulation of any similar trouble a large fine will be imposed.
Just for the record if I was in that game I would have been the No.20 standing on the pitch.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 09/10/2018 09:31:34    2145727

Replying To jimbodub:  "Surprised no one has been seriously injured over the years

Perhaps both..

That's certainly a new aspect to GAA culture that might explain quite a bit about this issue."
They have, though not in recent memory, thank God:

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 09/10/2018 09:42:08    2145729

It is like a throwback to the soccer hooliganism of the 80's. Who would want to play, ref or watch that? County boards cannot control it as clubs/delegates/officers are involved at county board level and you cannot collectively sanction an entire club. GAA HQ needs to step in here and be more proactive in trying to stamp this out, they do have the power of sanction especially on county boards and provincial boards. I am amazed not a policeman in sight.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4893 - 09/10/2018 10:05:26    2145733

Replying To Damothedub:  "Didn't want to mention the geography of the trouble but I suppose it's relevant enough, as far as Dublin is concerned on the pitch we have same amount of idiots as anywhere no different, same amount of filthy cowards with a hurl in their hand , same amount of fellas leading with the elbow, that said thankfully not in my time have I seen it spill into crowd etc no one likes running down their own but it's an honest question to each county , is Your house in order ??? Would you feel your county board is strong or weak with regards to issues raised"
How many spectators would be at a regular club game in Dublin? One of these brawls was at a reserve game but there was still a big crowd there watching, and it's usually a slightly unhinged lad wound up by the crowd who starts these brawls.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 09/10/2018 10:27:43    2145735

Replying To ifindoubt:  "Can people stop this nonsense of this violence doesn't happen in there County,it could happen anywhere.
Could we please suggest adequate sanctions because this is violence has to stop.and personally I think Croke Park should step in and make the decision to take the pressure off the county board."
What's nonsense about posting honestly, I'm not in a position to comment on these sort of acts or county board reactions in any other county as I don't attend games in other counties, however having played and attend regular at least two games a week I am in a position to comment on Dublin club game , there's a massive difference in your statement you chose the word could happen , we are actually discussing where it has happened and why

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 09/10/2018 11:07:17    2145746

Replying To Soma:  "How many spectators would be at a regular club game in Dublin? One of these brawls was at a reserve game but there was still a big crowd there watching, and it's usually a slightly unhinged lad wound up by the crowd who starts these brawls."
My own club games not the biggest crowds , but I attend as a neutral senior championship games were there would be large crowds

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 09/10/2018 11:08:34    2145747

Replying To Damothedub:  "Big club fan getting to home and away fixtures and take in the odd neutral game have done for long time never seen scenes like the one were discussing, seen many a rumble multiple sending offs , thankfully not crowd related, not aware of it happening in Dublin at club scene, only answer is zero tolerance hit clubs were it matters in the pocket and kick them out of championship if you don't this crap continues"
I have never seen this before in my half century nearly of going to games , many different clubs in a couple of counties. Players jumping a area to fight with supporters? Including women. Jesus Christ this cannot be allowed to go unpunished

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/10/2018 11:23:57    2145749