James Horan Is Back

Replying To realdub:  "They had their chance in 1980, after that..."
We did have a great chance in 1980.A three point defeat to Micko's Kerry,the greatest football team of all time.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 25/09/2018 18:32:24    2143797

Replying To yew_tree:  "Meanwhile over in Roscommon..the best is yet to come....so we keep hearing ;)"
At least we are not going down the insanity path like yereselves - doing the same thing again and somehow expecting a different result. "But hey we will get the auld jingles and singalongs going while the rest of the country panders to us for the lols and bantz". Give me strength. If hes the second coming then why did ye get rid of him in the first place?

He had a great number in Sky alright - one thing I admire him for, he didnt follow the money like most other clowns but I cant really see any bit of joy coming for him. If they want to win a Nestor here and there fair enough but I cant see that satisfying the bloodthirsty supporters group that we all know and "love"

WaitingInTheLongGrass (Roscommon) - Posts: 165 - 25/09/2018 19:41:14    2143805

Replying To jimbodub:  "He'll be leaving behind some £££ at Sky

Fair play to him giving up his valuable time for free"
Totally agree , his county has come calling easiest thing in the world would be to turn his back remain a bit of a hero , of course it's a gamble ,similar to McStay who had a good number he also put his head on the chopping block , I just can't get over the negativity on here one poor season and that's it throw the towel in , maybe Dublin fans have reason to respect Mayo more than most considering the battles they've given us

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 25/09/2018 20:06:38    2143811

Replying To endgame:  "We did have a great chance in 1980.A three point defeat to Micko's Kerry,the greatest football team of all time."
Oh I know, I was at it, excellent Roscommon team that, awful shame.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 25/09/2018 20:52:13    2143822

Replying To WaitingInTheLongGrass:  "At least we are not going down the insanity path like yereselves - doing the same thing again and somehow expecting a different result. "But hey we will get the auld jingles and singalongs going while the rest of the country panders to us for the lols and bantz". Give me strength. If hes the second coming then why did ye get rid of him in the first place?

He had a great number in Sky alright - one thing I admire him for, he didnt follow the money like most other clowns but I cant really see any bit of joy coming for him. If they want to win a Nestor here and there fair enough but I cant see that satisfying the bloodthirsty supporters group that we all know and "love""
First of all Horan stepped down, "we" didn't get rid of him in 2014. Will he be successful (I.e win Sam) on the second stint..well it very hard to know.

I've yet to see any Mayo fan claim here we will definitely win sam. Nothing wrong with hope or positive thinking.

As for a Mayo "love in" its a myth...we are a laughing stock to the outside (sometimes our own doing) but I don't care. It's probably acceptable Dublin, Kerry, Galway etc will scoff at us because they are more successful but the likes of Roscommon and others should reallly concentrate on their own house.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 25/09/2018 21:08:27    2143826

I love when rossies laugh at Mayo football!

I take it on the chin when a Galway man or woman gives a slagging because in fairness they have backed it up down through the years but rossies are just hilarious.

Tizcold (Galway) - Posts: 239 - 25/09/2018 22:11:04    2143833

Allways thought the lads out west knew better and were less bitchy than the rest of us , seems I was wrong we're all the same

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 26/09/2018 07:07:19    2143860

Replying To unclegerry:  "Assuming he is appointed Mayo have a rebuild job on their hands.. Horans appointment may entice a few of the old warriors to stay on for one more year but to me this is a 3 year project. Horan brought through alot of players in his first tenure so he looks like the right appointment. He also knows the Mayo club scene well from managing a bright youthful Westport team.
Mayo will always fancy a crack at Dublin in Croker in the latter stages of the championship but i cannot see him getting flak if they dont land sam next year... Dubs are 1/2 to win it.. Progress from a very poor year last year while blooding new players will be what is expected for next year and go from there"
I cant understand this way of thinking as regards a COUNTY team. It's a representative team. No county team needs rebuilding or a transition period. You always have a ready-made team. The Clubs do the rebuilding as they are restricted . A county manager has the pick of the County's best players at any given time and if he is a good manager , he will do well. A county team should be disbanded when the season is over. The players should no longer consider themselves county players untilthey are asked in again. There should be no such thing as player power as a player may not be there next year. If I was A new manager I would wipe the slate clean and start again, there are always plenty of new players about.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 26/09/2018 08:18:01    2143863

Replying To Tizcold:  "I love when rossies laugh at Mayo football!

I take it on the chin when a Galway man or woman gives a slagging because in fairness they have backed it up down through the years but rossies are just hilarious."
You got three thumbs down for that and I have no idea why. No one who gave you a thumbs down bothered to put forward an alternative view. You are of course 100% correct. It's a total lack of self awareness from a significant number of Roscommon fans. They would give anything to have had what we have had over the last 7 years with our team, even with all the heartbreak at the end.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 26/09/2018 08:49:32    2143866

Replying To WaitingInTheLongGrass:  "At least we are not going down the insanity path like yereselves - doing the same thing again and somehow expecting a different result. "But hey we will get the auld jingles and singalongs going while the rest of the country panders to us for the lols and bantz". Give me strength. If hes the second coming then why did ye get rid of him in the first place?

He had a great number in Sky alright - one thing I admire him for, he didnt follow the money like most other clowns but I cant really see any bit of joy coming for him. If they want to win a Nestor here and there fair enough but I cant see that satisfying the bloodthirsty supporters group that we all know and "love""
That is an incredibly bitter post. What are you on about the "lolz" and the "bantz"? Have you ever heard anyone from Mayo come out with anything like this? Catch a grip like a good lad.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 26/09/2018 10:47:19    2143895

Replying To s goldrick:  "I cant understand this way of thinking as regards a COUNTY team. It's a representative team. No county team needs rebuilding or a transition period. You always have a ready-made team. The Clubs do the rebuilding as they are restricted . A county manager has the pick of the County's best players at any given time and if he is a good manager , he will do well. A county team should be disbanded when the season is over. The players should no longer consider themselves county players untilthey are asked in again. There should be no such thing as player power as a player may not be there next year. If I was A new manager I would wipe the slate clean and start again, there are always plenty of new players about."
The best county teams are the ones with the stability and continuity. Their panel has been coached for a number years and where the best of their ability can be brought out by the system they play and S&C they have been put through. There comes a time a county can get a certain group of players that are better than what they had for years and when that group grow older and can give no more the rebuilding is then needed. All county teams go through a transition period and some never get out of that transition because they forever change their panel of players and never find much stability and continuity.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 26/09/2018 12:45:24    2143917

Replying To WaitingInTheLongGrass:  "Ah a great sight to see James Horan is gang. I can hear it now lads - "we are getting the band back together". Andy Moran will be on the Mayo panel until his 50s with the same non-scoring Mayo forward panel to lose a few more All-Irelands happy days. O Shea will flex his muscle again and name his preferred 15 no bother to him"
Maybe if this hypothetical scenario happens you might get a senior championship win over us at some point in the next 17 years...

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 26/09/2018 17:27:14    2143984

Hard to see Horan getting the nod and and the talk that Canavan would be involved with him is totally news to Sky. The latter would be waiting for Mickey to pull the plug.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 26/09/2018 20:24:33    2144013

Logical choice in the end.
He is proven at developing young players and im sure the senior players will stay for another season allowing him bed in some talent .
Its something Rochford never really considered as he thought his best chance of landing Sam was to stick with experience that he inherited and father-time was against many of those players.
A Connacht Title and a super 8 debut would represent a sold campaign.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 04/10/2018 22:07:03    2145186

Can't wait to face Mayo again on All Ireland final day next year ;)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 04/10/2018 22:57:35    2145197

I think this is the right appointment for Mayo, good to see Horan back always felt he left too early in the life cycle of this great mayo generation, he is the winner of a very rare thing and that is beating Dublin in Croke Park, i like his philosophy on the game and the way he plays football, he is a good mixture of a pragmatist and idealist in his approach. anyone who will play an expansive brand of football at a top tier county has to be welcomed.

have to also say though i had a lot of admiration for Rochford as well and thought his tenure at Mayo had legs despite the poor year this year by their own standards, hes a young man though and i wouldn't be surprised to see things come full cirlce just as they have for Horan.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/10/2018 09:42:24    2145226

Time will tell but if Horan plans on staying for 4 years that would mean up to 7 of the current panel wont last that long, Does he cut them loose now?

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 05/10/2018 10:18:11    2145236

I wouldn't be getting carried away. I like Horan but he also made mistakes (what manager doesent you may say). I think a slight rebuild is needed. Focus on winning a Connacht title and making the super 8s would be a good start.

See where that takes us but the Mayo 4 Sam brigade should keep quiet and just let the man get on with the job. Mayo supporters by nature are positive though and there are already 2,500 booked to go to NY next May so the bandwagon rolls on I guess.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 05/10/2018 11:50:47    2145258

Feel bad for Mike Solan seeing as Horan had 4 years previously and couldnt get the job done. Hard to see what he will achieve with an older bunch of players than he had previously. How will this effect his Westport commitments ?

EugeneFox (Galway) - Posts: 160 - 05/10/2018 12:01:50    2145260

Replying To yew_tree:  "I wouldn't be getting carried away. I like Horan but he also made mistakes (what manager doesent you may say). I think a slight rebuild is needed. Focus on winning a Connacht title and making the super 8s would be a good start.

See where that takes us but the Mayo 4 Sam brigade should keep quiet and just let the man get on with the job. Mayo supporters by nature are positive though and there are already 2,500 booked to go to NY next May so the bandwagon rolls on I guess."
One thing ya can never say is that the Mayo fans don't travel well. Where ye get the money for all these journeys I don't know

WaitingInTheLongGrass (Roscommon) - Posts: 165 - 05/10/2018 12:14:54    2145265