Club Championships

Well done to Gaoth Dobhair. They play a very fast running game which Cross struggled with.

I said earlier in this thread I was worried about our full back line and unfortunately my worst fears came true yesterday. Our football is a bit naive at times and I wonder if we need to bring back more of a win at all costs mentality, may not win friends but at the end of the day its all about winning. Some of the lads are young and have a lot to learn but if we tighten our defense and maybe with Jamie Clarke back we have the firepower to become a good team. We kicked some good scores and passes. We really need a Francie Bellew mark 2 on the job. Not easy to find these days :)
Cross are in transition so maybe not a bad year for us when we look back on it, just very disappointed in the manner in which we were beaten. The goals we let in should never have been conceded at any level.
Gaoth Dobhair were much faster, attacked from the back and have some seasoned campaigners so they will provide Scotstown with a tough test. It will be a much tighter affair in the final I think. Can't really decide on a winner it could be that close.

Dessie_Cross (Armagh) - Posts: 142 - 19/11/2018 14:45:29    2151646

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Well done Gaoth Dobhair on a deserved win. I think that Crossmaglen team might be a coming force but yesterday they were just that bit lighter and a bit too open for their own good. Gaoth Dobhair took full advantage with their first half goals while keeping it tight themselves at the back. They'll be warm favourites for the final now but will want to avoid complacency setting in.

Neil McGee spoke of that afterwards when he was asked about Scotstown. He made the point that it's probably better to sneak through a semi final by a point or two to keep feet on the ground. Sometimes a great semi final performance can lead to a flat final performance. So they'll be on their guard.

It's great to have a Donegal team in the final. It's unbelievable we haven't produced a senior Ulster club winner since 1975 (I think?)

Congratulations also to Red Hughs on winning the Ulster junior title on Saturday night. I'd say there was some craic about Cross over the weekend after that! Well done men!"
Lockjaw, check back to the 24th of September on the Donegal championship page. I gave you the info there, as you didn't know the Ulster Club Champions had ever come Donegal (Ballyshannon in 1975)

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 19/11/2018 18:17:35    2151695

Nexts Sunday's games on TG4;

Corofin v Ballintubber

Crokes v Portlaois

Buzzing for these two games can't wait and fair play to TG4

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/11/2018 12:21:11    2151801

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Nexts Sunday's games on TG4;

Corofin v Ballintubber

Crokes v Portlaois

Buzzing for these two games can't wait and fair play to TG4"
Yeah, fair play to TG4. Hopefully the weather is somewhat decent for the teams involved.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 20/11/2018 12:58:44    2151807

Corofin v Ballintubber

Crokes v Portlaois

Crokes are actually playing Portlaoise, not Portlaois

Baxter (Laois) - Posts: 282 - 20/11/2018 13:09:43    2151809

Corofin v Ballintubber

Crokes v Portlaois

In the fixtures section of this website it says they are showing Dr Crokes in the Munster club final and not the game you mentioned.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 20/11/2018 14:54:49    2151836

I'm assuming the Ulster Final will be live on TG4 Sunday week?

portavogielad (Down) - Posts: 446 - 20/11/2018 15:12:36    2151840

Replying To portavogielad:  "I'm assuming the Ulster Final will be live on TG4 Sunday week?"
We wont know until early next week id assume until they release their schedule.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 20/11/2018 15:52:52    2151853

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "In the fixtures section of this website it says they are showing Dr Crokes in the Munster club final and not the game you mentioned."
Yeah it definitely said at the end of Gaa beo and Their highlights show last night that it was Crokes v Portlaois but I see they changed it now to the Dr Crokes game which will be a waste of time.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/11/2018 16:14:21    2151856

Replying To portavogielad:  "I'm assuming the Ulster Final will be live on TG4 Sunday week?"
Fingers crossed it will be.

Off topic but I see by your username your from Portavogie?

I believe Portavogie is very unionist/loyalist?

Are there many GAA clubs close by? You play for any?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 20/11/2018 20:39:15    2151904

Replying To EDH:  "Lockjaw, check back to the 24th of September on the Donegal championship page. I gave you the info there, as you didn't know the Ulster Club Champions had ever come Donegal (Ballyshannon in 1975)"
You are correct that St Josephs team had many Donegal players who had won the Ulster championship for the first time in 1972. The had players such as B. McNiff, M.Carney (who later played for Mayo), P. Mc Shea, S. Grannighan to name a few. They may have had 6/7 players on the 1972 team.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 20/11/2018 21:26:38    2151907

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Yeah it definitely said at the end of Gaa beo and Their highlights show last night that it was Crokes v Portlaois but I see they changed it now to the Dr Crokes game which will be a waste of time."
All provincial club finals will be shown id imagine so I think the Clare champions deserve to be shown as much as anyone else.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 21/11/2018 10:06:32    2151953

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "All provincial club finals will be shown id imagine so I think the Clare champions deserve to be shown as much as anyone else."
It was probably set in stone months ago that TG4 would show live coverage of all provincial club finals. That's the way it has been the past number of years.

Hard to see Miltown bothering Dr Crokes. The Kerry champions have the strongest forward line in the country at club level. When Colm Cooper or Jordan Kiely can't get a starting place. Then Johnny Buckley and Daithi Casey, two ex Kerry forwards playing in midfield.

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 23/11/2018 18:27:09    2152262

Well I'm going for a Galway double in the Club All Ireland...Corofin(football) St.Thomas'(hurling)

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 24/11/2018 08:41:33    2152278

TG4's GAA_Beo twitter account says that the Kilmacud Crokes v Portlaoise match will be shown tomorrow after live coverage of the Corofin v Ballintubber game.

With all due respect, there hasn't been a decent game in the Munster club football championship since Clonmel beat Nemo in 2015. It's a good decision for football to show Kilmacud v Portlaoise which is more or less de facto the Leinster final anyway, whoever wins will walk the Leinster final.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2550 - 24/11/2018 10:10:19    2152283

Replying To gaelicgab:  "It was probably set in stone months ago that TG4 would show live coverage of all provincial club finals. That's the way it has been the past number of years.

Hard to see Miltown bothering Dr Crokes. The Kerry champions have the strongest forward line in the country at club level. When Colm Cooper or Jordan Kiely can't get a starting place. Then Johnny Buckley and Daithi Casey, two ex Kerry forwards playing in midfield."
Yeah I would have no problem with them showing the Munster final but if Dr Crokes are expected to win easily I see no harm in showing the Leinster semi instead.

Not sure the level of the Milltown team, im sure they will give a good account of themselves and I would have liked to see Dr Crokes in action but i guess it shows more sense to show the Leinster game.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 24/11/2018 11:43:46    2152286

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Yeah I would have no problem with them showing the Munster final but if Dr Crokes are expected to win easily I see no harm in showing the Leinster semi instead.

Not sure the level of the Milltown team, im sure they will give a good account of themselves and I would have liked to see Dr Crokes in action but i guess it shows more sense to show the Leinster game."
Miltown gave a good account of themselves after despite a poor start. Fared better than the Cork champions who conceded 5-20 from play.

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 26/11/2018 11:57:38    2152452

Replying To icehonesty:  "TG4's GAA_Beo twitter account says that the Kilmacud Crokes v Portlaoise match will be shown tomorrow after live coverage of the Corofin v Ballintubber game.

With all due respect, there hasn't been a decent game in the Munster club football championship since Clonmel beat Nemo in 2015. It's a good decision for football to show Kilmacud v Portlaoise which is more or less de facto the Leinster final anyway, whoever wins will walk the Leinster final."
Not at all. Mullinghachta have had some great battles with lomans over the last few years who should have won Leinster last year so they're a good side your knowledge of club football within the province must not be of a high enough level to be dismissing teams so easily

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 237 - 26/11/2018 20:20:38    2152526

Any update on which game is being shown live this weekend or the deferred game?

saulgael (Down) - Posts: 553 - 28/11/2018 13:58:32    2152713

Replying To saulgael:  "Any update on which game is being shown live this weekend or the deferred game?"
Dé Domhnaigh 2ú Nollaig

Cluiche Ceannais Peile Uladh na gClub AIB

An Bhoth (Muineachán) v Gaoth Dobhair (Dún na nGall) - BEO @ 1.30pm

Cluiche Ceannais Iomána Laighean na gClub AIB
Baile Buadáin Naomh Éanna (Áth Cliath) v Na Seamróga, Baile Héil (Cill Chainnigh) - IARBHEO @ 3.35pm

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 28/11/2018 14:19:12    2152720