Club Championships

Donegal produce some class footballers to be fair to them Ordan is right up there , was looking forward to watching him play all week
And he rarely disappoints absolute class footballer. Whose number 8 hat trick already he's some baller aswell.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/11/2018 16:30:51    2151482

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Donegal produce some class footballers to be fair to them Ordan is right up there , was looking forward to watching him play all week
And he rarely disappoints absolute class footballer. Whose number 8 hat trick already he's some baller aswell."
Dáire Ó Baoill was no. 8. Great game from him.

Super ten minutes or so from Cassidy. 1-2 when Gaoth Dobhair were struggling a bit.

Maith sibh Gaoth Dobhair!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 18/11/2018 16:59:13    2151488

Replying To MesAmis:  "Dáire Ó Baoill was no. 8. Great game from him.

Super ten minutes or so from Cassidy. 1-2 when Gaoth Dobhair were struggling a bit.

Maith sibh Gaoth Dobhair!"
8 is excellent but Ordan (can't spell his second name) is on another level to everyone else on the field I can't praise him enough.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/11/2018 17:04:03    2151489

Well done to Gaoth Dobhair. Very enjoyable game to watch for the most part with some fine scores especially from the Crossmaglen number 11. Not often you see a hat trick from a midfielder either and Mac Niallais was a joy to watch throughout the game. Cassidy at full forward was impressive, very unselfish and well able to take a score.

Fair play to Crossmaglen they kept fighting til the end but the goals in the first half killed them.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 18/11/2018 17:50:08    2151504

Odhran McNiallais.....Donegal's answer to Maurice Fitz. Unbelievable talent who I don't think as come anywhere near close to showing his true potential on the inter county stage. Apart from having a wand of a left foot and a brilliant fielder seen signs that he is starting to get more comfortable on his right foot. Always had a great awareness of space and few better when it comes to executing sublime accurate hand passes with danger fraught all over them.

Again the experienced lads really stood up esp Cassidy when needed and Eamon McGee excellent throughout, near impossible to get the ball off him when in possession. The other Odhran....Mcfadden Ferry looks every inch a top quality inter county player in the making. Tigerish and aggressive with plenty of pace and strength about him. I was somewhat surprised by some of the comments from the Cross camp in the build up to the game about how they were going to play it. Going toe to toe with this Gweedore team in an open game is a dangerous game to play if u ask me. I am sure Scotstown won't be so open.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 18/11/2018 17:52:41    2151505

Replying To clondalkindub:  "8 is excellent but Ordan (can't spell his second name) is on another level to everyone else on the field I can't praise him enough."
Not able to spell his first name either..

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 18/11/2018 18:00:26    2151508

Well done Gweedore. Hard luck Cross.

To be fair this is a Crossmaglen light compared to previous years. I have never seen so much space between midfield and the goals. O'Boalie(?) practically walked though untouched for 2 goals, not one hand lead on him.

Where was the Cross steel and bite they had for so many years, to the envy of many other clubs. The only two players leading from the front were the two o'Neills. Where were the Kernans? McKenna? Hanratty? Look at what Cassidy did for Gweedore.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 18/11/2018 18:02:01    2151509

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Well done Gweedore. Hard luck Cross.

To be fair this is a Crossmaglen light compared to previous years. I have never seen so much space between midfield and the goals. O'Boalie(?) practically walked though untouched for 2 goals, not one hand lead on him.

Where was the Cross steel and bite they had for so many years, to the envy of many other clubs. The only two players leading from the front were the two o'Neills. Where were the Kernans? McKenna? Hanratty? Look at what Cassidy did for Gweedore."
Cross are a team in transition and getting to thios stage was a bonus and at least gave us a chance to blood a few players. Maith sibh Gaoth Dobhair, I'll be shouting for Scotstown (as they are our neighbours) but wish both teams good luck.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 18/11/2018 19:43:19    2151528

Gaoth Dobhair were impressive today, however I'm surprised most people here have written off Scotstown. They are a team full of talent with many top county players and in Beggan have for me the star of the championship to date. I think it will be an excellent Ulster final, but the fact that Scotstown have come through some tough matches, and showed great temperament and character, not least beating the Derry champions, who in Slaughtneil owned this championship recently, I will be tipping them.

For the record, I think Crokes (Kerry) will win out.

BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 18/11/2018 20:46:18    2151539

Replying To BaldyBadger:  "Gaoth Dobhair were impressive today, however I'm surprised most people here have written off Scotstown. They are a team full of talent with many top county players and in Beggan have for me the star of the championship to date. I think it will be an excellent Ulster final, but the fact that Scotstown have come through some tough matches, and showed great temperament and character, not least beating the Derry champions, who in Slaughtneil owned this championship recently, I will be tipping them.

For the record, I think Crokes (Kerry) will win out."
Eh who has been writing off Scotstown?

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 18/11/2018 21:18:41    2151545

Replying To BaldyBadger:  "Gaoth Dobhair were impressive today, however I'm surprised most people here have written off Scotstown. They are a team full of talent with many top county players and in Beggan have for me the star of the championship to date. I think it will be an excellent Ulster final, but the fact that Scotstown have come through some tough matches, and showed great temperament and character, not least beating the Derry champions, who in Slaughtneil owned this championship recently, I will be tipping them.

For the record, I think Crokes (Kerry) will win out."
I think it's understandable that everyone is talking up Gweedore, after seeing them do a job on Crossmaglen live on TG4. Meanwhile Scotstown weren't on telly, and snatched a win from the jaws of defeat.

I'd agree with you though, Scotstown are in a great spot. Without playing well at all today, they managed to somehow engineer a win, and they have alot of room for improvement with quality players capable of alot better. They're a well experienced Ulster club side at this stage, and that experience and grit showed in the last 5-10 minutes. If they play the same way in the final then I wouldn't have much hope for them against Gweedore, but I'd be expecting a big improvement for the next day. Shaping up to be a cracking final.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 18/11/2018 22:08:21    2151556

Lads who is the everyone talking up Gweedore? I am reading through posts and yes people are complimentary in how they played but nobody saying they are surefire to beat Scotstown.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 18/11/2018 22:24:26    2151559

Replying To panamasam:  "Lads who is the everyone talking up Gweedore? I am reading through posts and yes people are complimentary in how they played but nobody saying they are surefire to beat Scotstown."
By talking up Gweedore, I mean praising their performance. Which is understandable seeing as they beat Cross well live on telly.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 18/11/2018 22:39:07    2151561

Gweedore were impressive but the Cross defence was very brittle down the middle. Gweedore could have scored 5 goals in the first half. Should be a good final. All of the teams left in the race for the All-Ireland title look very strong. Given reasonably good weather, we should get some great games. Difficult to pick a winner.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 18/11/2018 23:13:12    2151566

No people are praising and complimenting Gweedore on their performance and rightfully so as u say it was in TV so available. But nobody has talked them up with Scotstown in mind or certainly written off Scotstown so not sure where that notion has come from in previous posts.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 18/11/2018 23:14:28    2151567

Great performance from Gaoith Dobhair today & I would fancy them to beat Scotstown who were a tad fortunate to come through by scoring three late points.

Should be a great final.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 18/11/2018 23:45:08    2151572

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Not able to spell his first name either.."
Wouldn't be too critical of clondalkin as an experienced RTE commentator kept referring to him as "Oddran MacNickels" for a season.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 19/11/2018 00:59:59    2151574

So much for the negative Ulster football! - the best club football games this year have been from the Ulster matches, now Crokes play a style good to watch and will be difficult to beat. Gweedore had great players all over the pitch who played positive football.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 19/11/2018 01:38:46    2151578

Replying To browncows:  "So much for the negative Ulster football! - the best club football games this year have been from the Ulster matches, now Crokes play a style good to watch and will be difficult to beat. Gweedore had great players all over the pitch who played positive football."
Well done Gaoth Dobhair on a deserved win. I think that Crossmaglen team might be a coming force but yesterday they were just that bit lighter and a bit too open for their own good. Gaoth Dobhair took full advantage with their first half goals while keeping it tight themselves at the back. They'll be warm favourites for the final now but will want to avoid complacency setting in.

Neil McGee spoke of that afterwards when he was asked about Scotstown. He made the point that it's probably better to sneak through a semi final by a point or two to keep feet on the ground. Sometimes a great semi final performance can lead to a flat final performance. So they'll be on their guard.

It's great to have a Donegal team in the final. It's unbelievable we haven't produced a senior Ulster club winner since 1975 (I think?)

Congratulations also to Red Hughs on winning the Ulster junior title on Saturday night. I'd say there was some craic about Cross over the weekend after that! Well done men!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9129 - 19/11/2018 09:53:52    2151591

Shout out to Mullahoran, Cavan for their win over Banagher, Derry in the Ulster Intermediate semi final on Saturday night. Mental game all round. With the new 'finishing games on the day' rules, the game went to extra time, then extra-extra time, before the game being decided with a free kick competition, the first time this has even happened in football. There a video of the contest here. Bit of a mean way to finish the match off, but there's no doubt that it was one of the most surreal games I've ever seen. Even the neutrals there and the supporters for the teams involved in the next match were saying they had never seen a game like it. Mullahoran should have won it in normal time, only for Banagher to equalise late on. then Banagher should have won in extra time, only for a last gasp point in injury time of extra time for Mullahoran. Then the tables turned again and Mullahoran should have won in extra-extra time only for Banagher to equalise with injury time up. Crazy stuff. It was hard on the poor Banagher fella that missed his kick in the competition, but congrats all the same to Mullahoran.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2382 - 19/11/2018 11:58:10    2151609