How Many Of The Dublin Team Are Dublin Families For More Than 2 Generations?

Replying To Furlong1949:  "I think this is quite an interesting topic and does have a serious relevance here. One of the reasons behind Dublins sucess one of the reasons of the growth of GAA in parts of suburbia Dublin , south Dublin , middle class Dublin, is country parents.

There has definitely been a shift in Dublin GAA from working class to more middle class. The classic example is Bonos parish Dalkey winning a hurling club All-Ireland. 10 or 15 years ago this was unimaginable.

Let me explain. If you look at Dublin teams of 70s 80s 90s etc. I would say most players came from Dublin familes. Of course there was some that didnt eg Paul Currans father won All Ireland with Meath, Paddy Christie also I think family was from Meath with a grandfather winning an All Ireland with Meath, Sean Doherty was from Wicklow etc. But many were from Dublin families. Now the current team , so many have country parents. Brogans have a kerry mother, Sullivan has kerry father, McMemanin and quite a few of the players have Donegal parents. So many of the current Dublin team have country parenta. Something has happened.

In the 60s 70s 80s 90s people moved from rural Ireland to Dublin for education or job reasons. They settled down. Many of them were guard teachers , other similar occupations. They brought with them a love of GAA. They passed on to their children two important characteristics, they emphasised education was very important and they gave their children a love a passion of GAA. These families moved to the suburbs and jioned the local Dublin GAA. Today you will find so many individuals who are involved in local Dublin GAA club for twenty or thirty clubs but orginally from the country.

The country parents emphasised the importance of education eg so many current Dublin players have attended third level education. Of course it must be said all county teams now have more third level students then the panels of old which had farmers etc. But these country parents passed on a passion and love of GAA also. So many of the current Dublin team have country parents. This is a simple observational fact.

So the sucess of this Dublin team is down to many things. Brillant managers like Gilroy Farrell and Galvin who changed the mindset of Dublin team players a golden generation of players. But a secondary reason is the migration of country folk to the capital in 70s 80s 90s etc. People used to say migration from western seaboard was one of the reasons for Meaths sucess. On closer examination this wasnt as influential as people thought. Meaths All Irelands wins in 40s 50s and 60s happened when migration was just occurring. It had more impact on teams of 80s and 90s with some players having west of Ireland parents. (But it cannot be solely explained because kildare had just as similar migration from the west but only reached 1 senior All Ireland final in 90 years to Meaths 15 All Ireland senior appearances.)

This current Dublin team is a greater example of migration having a positive on a counties sucess. Its interesting that the first 15 or so All Irelands won by Dublin were basically country lads playing for Dublin. In an All Ireland final in the early 40s between Dublin and kerry the best kerry player was playing for Dublin and best player on the field was a longford man playing for Dublin. Dublin have 7 senior hurling All Irelands, yet only 2 or 3 players born in Dublin have winners medals. As those hurling teams were made of country players. It was not til 50s that you had Dublin players born and bred in Dublin playing and winning All Irelands for Dublin.

And here we have today the current great Dublin team also having such a country dimension to it. I would say that maybe 20% of Dublin teams from 80s and 90s had country parents. I would say 80% plus of the current team or panel have country parents. Its an interesting development.
But there definatly has been a shift of Dublin GAA to the suburbs in recent times. And if you look closely country parents with a love of GAA have had very positive impact on modern Dublin GAA."
McWilliams has good theories on it.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 07/09/2018 19:52:22    2140222

Definition of a culchie? Father of all Dubs.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 07/09/2018 19:53:52    2140223

Replying To JDF:  "How many of the Mayo team have parents who are not from Mayo? Plenty of Galway players in either code have parents from other counties."
Lee Keegan from Cavan

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 07/09/2018 20:56:34    2140232

yes but not anywhere near the same level

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 685 - 07/09/2018 22:07:47    2140250

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Definition of a culchie? Father of all Dubs."
A bit promiscious wasn't he?

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 07/09/2018 23:01:28    2140268

Replying To Furlong1949:  "I think this is quite an interesting topic and does have a serious relevance here. One of the reasons behind Dublins sucess one of the reasons of the growth of GAA in parts of suburbia Dublin , south Dublin , middle class Dublin, is country parents.

There has definitely been a shift in Dublin GAA from working class to more middle class. The classic example is Bonos parish Dalkey winning a hurling club All-Ireland. 10 or 15 years ago this was unimaginable.

Let me explain. If you look at Dublin teams of 70s 80s 90s etc. I would say most players came from Dublin familes. Of course there was some that didnt eg Paul Currans father won All Ireland with Meath, Paddy Christie also I think family was from Meath with a grandfather winning an All Ireland with Meath, Sean Doherty was from Wicklow etc. But many were from Dublin families. Now the current team , so many have country parents. Brogans have a kerry mother, Sullivan has kerry father, McMemanin and quite a few of the players have Donegal parents. So many of the current Dublin team have country parenta. Something has happened.

In the 60s 70s 80s 90s people moved from rural Ireland to Dublin for education or job reasons. They settled down. Many of them were guard teachers , other similar occupations. They brought with them a love of GAA. They passed on to their children two important characteristics, they emphasised education was very important and they gave their children a love a passion of GAA. These families moved to the suburbs and jioned the local Dublin GAA. Today you will find so many individuals who are involved in local Dublin GAA club for twenty or thirty clubs but orginally from the country.

The country parents emphasised the importance of education eg so many current Dublin players have attended third level education. Of course it must be said all county teams now have more third level students then the panels of old which had farmers etc. But these country parents passed on a passion and love of GAA also. So many of the current Dublin team have country parents. This is a simple observational fact.

So the sucess of this Dublin team is down to many things. Brillant managers like Gilroy Farrell and Galvin who changed the mindset of Dublin team players a golden generation of players. But a secondary reason is the migration of country folk to the capital in 70s 80s 90s etc. People used to say migration from western seaboard was one of the reasons for Meaths sucess. On closer examination this wasnt as influential as people thought. Meaths All Irelands wins in 40s 50s and 60s happened when migration was just occurring. It had more impact on teams of 80s and 90s with some players having west of Ireland parents. (But it cannot be solely explained because kildare had just as similar migration from the west but only reached 1 senior All Ireland final in 90 years to Meaths 15 All Ireland senior appearances.)

This current Dublin team is a greater example of migration having a positive on a counties sucess. Its interesting that the first 15 or so All Irelands won by Dublin were basically country lads playing for Dublin. In an All Ireland final in the early 40s between Dublin and kerry the best kerry player was playing for Dublin and best player on the field was a longford man playing for Dublin. Dublin have 7 senior hurling All Irelands, yet only 2 or 3 players born in Dublin have winners medals. As those hurling teams were made of country players. It was not til 50s that you had Dublin players born and bred in Dublin playing and winning All Irelands for Dublin.

And here we have today the current great Dublin team also having such a country dimension to it. I would say that maybe 20% of Dublin teams from 80s and 90s had country parents. I would say 80% plus of the current team or panel have country parents. Its an interesting development.
But there definatly has been a shift of Dublin GAA to the suburbs in recent times. And if you look closely country parents with a love of GAA have had very positive impact on modern Dublin GAA."
Excellent post. Fascinating stuff.

But yeah I begrudge ye, whatever that means. I'm not happy and I think it's a bought period of dominance and if ye we 5 in a row it'll be to the GAA's great shame that ye have done so.

wicklu (Wicklow) - Posts: 331 - 08/09/2018 07:53:49    2140282

Replying To dickie10:  "Can any people tell me how many of the dublin footballers are from other counties originally? like there parents?"
What relevance is this question.
In the present Hurling Champions team players have parents from different counties as follows, and this is only those that I know of.
Nicky Quaid- mother from Kilkenny, paternal granmother was from County Cork. Mike and Peter Casey- father is a Clareman. Richie English and Dermot Byrnes- have mothers who are both from Milford Co Cork, Declan Hannon's mother is from Tipperary. Cian Lynch's Dad is from Loughmore Co Tipperary and Seamus Flanagan's granmother was also from Co Cork.
The simple fact is these young men wear the Limerick jersey as the Dublin wear, and are equally committed to the blue, of their native county, and that is all that matters.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 08/09/2018 09:52:11    2140286

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Ur r rite Username
I should have said also so many players had fathers on the team also. Thats a very interesting point. You get the feeling there is a real family
vibe, togetherness with this Dublin team. That so many of their fathers played for Dublin is a help.
A county that has always had huge family eg, brother father's cousins son playing of course is kilkenny hurling. In kilkeeny you have the Fennellys , the Hendersons , the Powers, the Hennesseys, the Powers etc. Surely It's no coincidence that the two greatest teams of the modern era in hurling and football have a great tradition of fathers and sons playing for their county."
Funny that you menion a Power family in the above post. Dave Power played with Limerick in the teens on of the last century. His son Jackie followed him by playing for the green and white in thirties , forties and early fifties. In turn his son Ger played football with Kerry in the seventies and eighties, and Stephen McNamara, Jackie's grandson, won an All Ireland with Clare in 95. An example of how families move about and prosper in different county colours.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 08/09/2018 10:00:50    2140287

The Dublin Football team should be representative of the city and county. People with country parents make up a lot of the population therefore they should be represented by the team, and are.

The Dublin team is fairly representative in that it has players from all parts of the city and county, different classes as well. The area where it can be improved is with the children of immigrants which will hopefully filter through in time (if the idea of a Dublin team hasn't been done away with in the mean time).

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 08/09/2018 12:06:41    2140309

Replying To wicklu:  "Excellent post. Fascinating stuff.

But yeah I begrudge ye, whatever that means. I'm not happy and I think it's a bought period of dominance and if ye we 5 in a row it'll be to the GAA's great shame that ye have done so."
Wicklu just to set the record straight. I am a Meath man. But thanks for the comments regards my post above..But yep Im definitely a Meath man.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 08/09/2018 18:28:31    2140371

I am surprised the original poster does not go back a bit further, some of them are bound to have some Norman blood...

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 08/09/2018 18:47:42    2140375

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Wicklu just to set the record straight. I am a Meath man. But thanks for the comments regards my post above..But yep Im definitely a Meath man."
Yeah my first paragraph referred to you and your post.

Second paragraph referred to one of the other replies about begrudging.

wicklu (Wicklow) - Posts: 331 - 08/09/2018 18:48:05    2140376

Replying To wicklu:  "Yeah my first paragraph referred to you and your post.

Second paragraph referred to one of the other replies about begrudging."
No problem Wicklu
I just thought u saw me as a Dub. If they hear around the parish I am being accussed of being a Dub I will never hear the end of it.
Great win for Wicklow minors this year. There seems to be great work being done of the ground in Wicklow.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 08/09/2018 19:02:42    2140381

This talk of population shifts etc that are making Dublin so strong is off the mark I'm afraid, there are a number of reasons for Dublin success,
Funding. Dublin GAA received a large amount of funding and they used that money to develop their underage structures which in turn has given the catalyst for their current success
Population. No I don't agree with that, there are a large number of people living around the capital in counties Louth, Meath, Kildare and Wicklow yet they don't seem to be making any impact
Having the proper people in the correct positions. The dubs have an excellent management team which keeps players on their toes and refuses them to rest on their laurels, no player is guaranteed a starting spot unlike other counties, that threat of being dropped keeps the Dublin players always in top form and ready for action
Croke Park. Yes living a few miles from a major venue and almost classing it as a home venue helps but I would also argue that Kildare and Meath often use Croke Park as a home venue
The debate of whether any Dublin player is a true blue or not is nonsense, any player that accepts to put on the county jersey is a true county player, the worry within the GAA should be that if a player from Donegal, Mayo, Clare, Kerry or any other county decides to move to Dublin for work reasons joins a local Dublin club then decides to join the Dublin if asked to do so, that would and should be the biggest worry, the demise of a weaker county and the strengthening of the stronger county would destroy the Association, we already see things like this happening in rural clubs where players are transferring to town or city clubs outside of the county which are also successful in the county championship

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 12/09/2018 15:02:09    2141250

Very interesting topic. To settle a bet could somebody tell if James McCarthy's grandfather was from Cork.
That is John McCarthy's dad. If yes is the answer is it known what part of Cork?
My friend insists he was from west Cork and also a member of the police force like his son John.

JackMurphy (Cork) - Posts: 30 - 15/09/2018 09:19:53    2141851

Replying To JackMurphy:  "Very interesting topic. To settle a bet could somebody tell if James McCarthy's grandfather was from Cork.
That is John McCarthy's dad. If yes is the answer is it known what part of Cork?
My friend insists he was from west Cork and also a member of the police force like his son John."
Baile Bhuirne/Baile Mhic Íre area as far as I know.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 15/09/2018 09:40:54    2141854

Replying To MesAmis:  "Baile Bhuirne/Baile Mhic Íre area as far as I know."
Many thanks MesAmis. Looks like my friend is correct.

JackMurphy (Cork) - Posts: 30 - 15/09/2018 21:57:13    2141919

I would guess that down the years most Dublin GAA player's tended to have country parents. In the last 30 years of the 20 Century Dublin grew hugely mainly due to rural people going to live there. This probably helped Dublin grow the GAA. I would imaging the majority of Dublin people now have a country parent and few do not have at least one country grandparent so this team would not be terribly unrepresentive by having a lot of players with parents/ grandparents from rural backgrounds.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1337 - 16/09/2018 11:16:06    2141956

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Jesus Wept!
Like that matters..............

The same could be said of any county."
Yeah, all the immigration into eg Leitrim, Fermanagh and Tyrone : ). 96% of new jobs in Dublin, face facts, everyone's turning Dublin

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 16/09/2018 14:52:50    2141984

Replying To MesAmis:  "Baile Bhuirne/Baile Mhic Íre area as far as I know."
John McCarthy's mother is an Offaly woman from Clonbullogue.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 16/09/2018 19:43:37    2142039