Greedy/Selfish Players

I was watching the minor football final (Galway V Kerry) and around 2 minutes from time the sides were level..Galway went on attack, they had a player storming through on goal, the corner forward peeled away and was excellently placed for a pass, that at the worst would have resulted in a point, the best a goal, but alas the player with the ball either genuinely didn't see his team mate (of which I am doubtful) or he just was plain greedy and wanted the glory to himself, in any event, he was smothered down and dispossessed and Kerry went down the field to get a point, This happened again I think early in injury time and the same player got his own point, but again the corner forward was un marked begging for the ball, but again the player would/did not pass the ball to the player in a better position. If I was the team mate I would be non too happy with the player for not passing. The player aggrieved here in my view, (I stand to be corrected on this) but to the best of my knowledge was taken off/substituted then in injury time also, talk of adding insult to injury..just wondering what others think of these type of things...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 03/09/2018 15:10:27    2138837

Steady on as minor is under 17 there's a very good chances your commenting on a 16 year old

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 03/09/2018 17:45:13    2138902

Replying To Damothedub:  "Steady on as minor is under 17 there's a very good chances your commenting on a 16 year old"
And?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2446 - 03/09/2018 19:21:42    2138933

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "And?"
exactly..its only a topic in general...it always appears to be the "stars" who have the selfish streak in them...if one views it as a sign in their own confidence one will see nothing wrong with it...the point I am making is that when an opponent (ok at any level) has peeled off and made the acres of space, should the player lay the ball off to them who are in acres of space and a way better chance of scoring?..its that simple and so is the answer as far as I am concerned...the young lad who wasnt passed the ball twice yesterday at the end would be very much entitled to be p**sed off with his team mate...they lost the match at a critical juncture when chances were there to be took...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 03/09/2018 23:53:57    2139018

I think it's a fair point. We have some very talented footballers on that minor team and hopefully we continue to help them develop into excellent senior players.
However, this team has been guilty on a number of occasions of selfish play. In the semi final against Meath we wasted a huge amount of scoring chances, particularly goal chances, through lads not making the obvious pass to the player in the better position. Luckily it didn't cost us in that game, but it did on Sunday unfortunately.
While it's more prevalent at minor level, the frequency with which it happened was still unusual.
With good coaching, I'd hope that this will be addressed with the players in question.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 04/09/2018 00:12:41    2139020

There's always a 5% (though I'd say it's as low as 1% in this case) who need the obvious explained to them!

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 04/09/2018 05:15:00    2139028

Good coaching and learning is key. Young players improve and this is just one part of their improvement.

At senior level, Dublin on Sunday are a good example of giving it to the player in the best position. Something we were guilty of in the past - taking the wrong option or going for the impossible shot. Of coures, there is a fine line between 'greedy' and 'taking the wrong option'. Also the latter is generally a hindsight call. If a player does it all himself and belts in a screamer to the top of the net , everyone marvels at the confidence of the finish. If he misses, then we all point out the free players he had available for a simple pass and a tap in.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 04/09/2018 10:03:14    2139059

You've basically on a public forum called out a young fella for costing his county an all Ireland title , it may not have been your intention but that's how it reads , and if you don't know the effect that could have on a 16 year old then I hope to god you don't have kids

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/09/2018 10:57:55    2139080

no need for this to be honest.

the fella is only a child himself in the biggest game of his life in front of a huge crowd ..

I've seen some much better, more experienced footballers panic and make the wrong decision in situations like this for senior teams so for it to happen to a kid, completely normal.

doesn't make him selfish or greedy and hopefully he learns from it.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 04/09/2018 11:08:59    2139083

Interesting tread and I think poguemahone has summed it up pretty well

Can't help of Austin Gleesons wonder goal in last years semi-final. Surely he was just as guilty of this?

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 04/09/2018 11:12:06    2139085

Greedy/Selfish Players
I was watching the minor football final (Galway V Kerry) and around 2 minutes from time the sides were level..Galway went on attack, they had a player storming through on goal, the corner forward peeled away and was excellently placed for a pass, that at the worst would have resulted in a point, the best a goal, but alas the player with the ball either genuinely didn't see his team mate (of which I am doubtful) or he just was plain greedy and wanted the glory to himself, in any event, he was smothered down and dispossessed and Kerry went down the field to get a point, This happened again I think early in injury time and the same player got his own point, but again the corner forward was un marked begging for the ball, but again the player would/did not pass the ball to the player in a better position. If I was the team mate I would be non too happy with the player for not passing. The player aggrieved here in my view, (I stand to be corrected on this) but to the best of my knowledge was taken off/substituted then in injury time also, talk of adding insult to injury..just wondering what others think of these type of things...
Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 217 - 03/09/2018 15:10:27
Hold up. You're making unfair comments on a 16 year old. Extremely unfair comment.
Steady on as minor is under 17 there's a very good chances your commenting on a 16 year old.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5037 - 03/09/2018 17:45:13
spot on

And?
Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 612 - 03/09/2018 19:21:42
So you dont see any issue with making these comments about a child?

You've basically on a public forum called out a young fella for costing his county an all Ireland title , it may not have been your intention but that's how it reads and if you don't know the effect that could have on a 16 year old then I hope to god you don't have kids
Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5037 - 04/09/2018 10:57:55
Exactly. Totally agree with you.
no need for this to be honest.

DonaldDuck (Tipperary) - Posts: 544 - 04/09/2018 14:38:40    2139155

Replying To DonaldDuck:  "Greedy/Selfish Players
Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 217 - 03/09/2018 15:10:27
Hold up. You're making unfair comments on a 16 year old. Extremely unfair comment.
Steady on as minor is under 17 there's a very good chances your commenting on a 16 year old.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5037 - 03/09/2018 17:45:13
spot on

And?
Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 612 - 03/09/2018 19:21:42
So you dont see any issue with making these comments about a child?

You've basically on a public forum called out a young fella for costing his county an all Ireland title , it may not have been your intention but that's how it reads and if you don't know the effect that could have on a 16 year old then I hope to god you don't have kids
Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5037 - 04/09/2018 10:57:55
Exactly. Totally agree with you.
no need for this to be honest."
as you would know it wasn't my intention to single out any player, I probably should have said I was watching an inter county underage game during the summer etc. and that would have worked better..I do have kids, my own son plays, good footballer but would left idle too after making outside runs etc along with the star players on the team.. and the talk constantly coming home from matches at a younger age than minor is that "player X is glory hunter and never passes the ball" and to be honest he is right, so its not only the player not passing that can be affected by this criticism also remember, not a great vote of confidence bursting your gut to get into position and then the chance goes because the ball wasn't passed..and if that happens often enough, a young lads confidence goes and he may just fall away...and here and now lets move it on to general run of things..I see posts here starting off as one thing, and they are hijacked and turned into totally different topics after 5/5 posts by other posters.I didn't name the player..I was that player too in my own day who "wasn't trutsted" to take the score and then hauled off first chance...again I re-iterate, I did not intend signling out player on social media and would NEVER intend doing that..

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 06/09/2018 12:00:39    2139784

This debate shows why it is a joke for minors to be u17.
yes they are only kids 16 and maybe 15 playing for minors nowadays.
They are playing in the spotlight and will no doubt get criticism when things go wrong.
Go back to u18 where these lads are about to become men not still kids.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 06/09/2018 18:08:38    2139892

This debate shows why it is a joke for minors to be u17.
They are playing in the spotlight and will no doubt get criticism when things go wrong.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 1978 - 06/09/2018 18:08:38
You can be a "man" physically at 16/17 and changing to u17 and stopping many from playing intercounty in year they are doing their final school exams/leaving is far better than the previous system

DonaldDuck (Tipperary) - Posts: 544 - 06/09/2018 20:06:31    2139944

Replying To DonaldDuck:  "This debate shows why it is a joke for minors to be u17.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 1978 - 06/09/2018 18:08:38
You can be a "man" physically at 16/17 and changing to u17 and stopping many from playing intercounty in year they are doing their final school exams/leaving is far better than the previous system"
Can but more than likely not.
Now its younger kids will be under pressure much sooner to make development squads , hit the weights etc

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 07/09/2018 11:35:29    2140080

Can but more than likely not.
Now its younger kids will be under pressure much sooner to make development squads , hit the weights etc
woops (Kerry) - Posts: 1981 - 07/09/2018 11:35:29
The kids would be doing it regardless. The county training/competitive squads still only start at under 14. There hasnt been change because of moving minor to 17s. Minor as under 17 and then having under 20s means impact on burnout is less and thats all good.

DonaldDuck (Tipperary) - Posts: 544 - 07/09/2018 22:32:13    2140261

I'm not going to comment on the specific incident, but I would say that there are some attributes that you cannot coach and some county minors (evening AI winning ones) will never even make good senior clubs players.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 08/09/2018 15:39:43    2140346

To pinpoint a young player from an All-Ireland final like this is in poor taste. I'm sure you could have found examples at senior level to make your point.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 08/09/2018 16:40:18    2140353

dont know the incident,but i once lost us a county final through not being selfish,handed it off and yer man made a ***** of it.
if you want something done right,do it yourself.....sometimes it is better than handing it off to a donkey to do it :)

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 10/09/2018 11:52:01    2140674

Good players are often greedy. They have to be. I was always a fan of having a go myself. There is a me in team too.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 13/09/2018 12:42:18    2141398