All Ireland Final 18 - Dublin V Tyrone

Replying To candlewax:  "Galwayfball " similar to a Galway players a few years ago that got a lot of media coverage " Cant recall any Galway player diving ? Can you refresh my memory?"
It was in a club game . An all ireland final he was destroyed on social media and got an opponent wrongfully sent off

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 02/09/2018 22:28:11    2138552

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Agree with you on one point - and I've said this for ages - Tyrone should have big mcNulty in square - he's 6-7 and built like a tank - hit long balls to him - not Cavanagh - he's too good a sweeper - until Mickey adopts this tactic and gets 1-2 more forwards then Tyrone will come short against the Dubs. In saying that I thought they played well but 16 wides is ridiculous!!!"
I totally agree. Headless running into numbers wont win matches. Pace, quick thinking and assertiveness is the only way you will beat Dublin. They are a brilliant team without doubt. I thought Tyrone men were fit. The Dubs are another level. But after all that. I just wish for all the effort the players now put in to keep up with Dublin that there will be rewards. It is supposed to be an amateur sport. Also if this is an amateur sport the refs etc have to be professional to continue in this day and age. Because if Dublins dominance continues, I will get fed up of the advantages they get with referees. They do most things right. They deserve the praise without doubt. But us smaller county's have to go to the well more so than the brilliant Superstars of the Dubs that have Every thing going. The RTE panel also was a joke today. Didnt even show the penalty at half time today. Discuss. Feck me. What a con that channel is. BBC all day long. A british channel shows more respect for Irish people. For Tyrone I hope Harte sorts this RTE thing. Its a distraction. I had 20 quid on Tyrone at start of the season. 33 - 1. I will also be putting it on next year. I hope I get the same odds. Up Tyrone.

HighStoolBandit (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 02/09/2018 22:28:55    2138553

Congratulations Dublin. I really enjoy this team ad much as I envy their success. Their agility and efficiency are way ahead of other sides.

The gulf in class between the two teams today was way more than the final score suggested. If Dublin had kept their focus for the 70 mins there could have been twice the difference in the end.

5 in a row is a real possibility so it's up to the chasing pack to catch up.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 02/09/2018 22:55:02    2138566

Well done Dublin. Class act. To be honest I think you won pulling up today and could easily have been 10 to 15 point trouncing. But maybe decided a wipe out in a final wasn't good for the game. Dublin for me took foot of gas at times , easily could have been alot more .

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 02/09/2018 22:58:50    2138570

Congratulations Dublin, won pulling up is a fair statement.

UlsterHighKing (Tyrone) - Posts: 1 - 03/09/2018 09:28:14    2138627

Great ,great feeling and while it was a little edgy at times it was never really in doubt.
The ref in general did ok.Seen Dublin penalty afterwards and it was 100% a penalty,no question.
A real strength in this Dublin side is that when they get the smell of blood they go after it.
Tyrone 5-1 up and stumble , Dublin players went after them and punished them.
Kept the foot on the throat after the second goal and just controlled the game bar a bit of a rally at the end from Tyrone who did look tired at that stage.
Absolutely delighted for this fantastic bunch of men who are great ambassadors for the game, their county and their clubs and families.
Jim Gavin and his selectors and back room staff deserve huge credit too and have given us so many great days it really is unbelievable.
When their time comes I am certain this side will be recognized as the greatest.
Their skill , fitness and consistency is beyond anything we have seen previously.
Tyrone will continue to develope and could be back in contention before long but have a habit of poor shot selection and too many wides.
Mickey Hart will remain I think and needs to address these shortcomings before they have a real chance of glory.

4 in a row, who woulda thunk it.
Go on ya good thing.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 03/09/2018 10:03:54    2138645

Congrats to Dublin, they doninated the championship this year and are just way ahead of the chasing pack. I get the feeling they are even playing within themselves, their performance in the latter part of the first half yesterday was incredible. Brian Fenton is the best player in the country and Brian Howard isn't too far behind him. McCaffrey, Kilkenny and Mannion all outstanding yesterday.

Thought Tyrone put up a great show, the improvement from last year has been immense and they way they recovered from the Monaghan defeat earlier this year has to be admired. The only negative for them is their poor shooting, if they can improve their scoring ratio they could match Dublin - easier said than done mind you. If they had of had a Peter Canavan or Stephen O'Neill yesterday it could have made a huge difference.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 03/09/2018 10:17:55    2138658

Firstly congratulations to Dublin. It was another supremely assured performance and the end result was never really in doubt in spite of Tyrone battling bravely until the end. This Dublin team has it all. Unbelievable conditioning, teak tough competitors and a composure to make the correct decision in almost every given situation. Yesterday's victory was comfortably achieved without their marquee player as well. Frightening stuff.

Tyrone gave a great account of themselves and should feel no shame in going down to this team. I just felt there were too many things on the day that needed to go their way in order for them to win. They weren't clinical enough and after a good start Morgan's kickout was found out by Dublin. Crucially as well they never looked like getting the goals that I felt were absolutely necessary to beat Dublin. No matter how well you try to stifle Dublin they're still likely to post 20 odd points. Tyrone were never going to match that in white flags so it was imperative they raised a few green ones.

Looking to 2019 I hope for the sake of football that Kerry under new management can integrate some of the huge potential coming through from their successful minor teams, Maybe we'll see Mayo back knocking at the door as well. Tyrone & Monaghan will be determined to push on. Teams like Galway, Kildare and Donegal can hopefully up the ante as well. But at this stage, with 5 in a row a very achievable target for the Dubs, it's hard seeing who can realistically derail this team on a mission to go down as the best ever.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 03/09/2018 10:23:49    2138671

Replying To galwayfball:  "It was in a club game . An all ireland final he was destroyed on social media and got an opponent wrongfully sent off"
Well it didnt get that much social media if I cant recall it at all, presume its a hurling final because social media wasnt even a thing in '01. Lets keep this to the game in hand , try and represent your own county with some dignity. Thanks pal

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 282 - 03/09/2018 11:25:22    2138715

Replying To Dermoot:  "Congratulations Dublin, as clinical and efficient a team as we will ever see.

But Tyrone had them rattled, let them off the hook with the usual Tyrone failings, poor shooting and poor kickouts.

5-1up, McShane hits an awful shot wide that was never on anyway, Dublin go straight up and kick a point. From that kickout, a poor kickout straight to a Dub, penalty conceded, goal and game had totally swung in Dublis favour.

But fair play to them, give them the chance and they bury you."
I disagree, imo Dublin never got out of first gear. During the parade Dublin players were smiling at the hill and looked so relaxed. As a result I think they were slightly complacent in the first twenty minutes. When the Dubs settled and started to play they were on a different level and if required would have increased the gears. Well done to Tyrone for getting to a final but lets be honest they lost three Championship games and had to beat two Ulster teams to get there, they also got a bit of luck playing Donegal without their best player. The draw opened up for them but they simply don't have the forwards to win an All Ireland. If Mayo can regroup and Kerry get the right manager to bring on their potential I would be surprised to see Tyrone back in the final next year. Ulster football is still a long way off at the minute in terms of winning an All Ireland.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 03/09/2018 14:35:39    2138816

What a day, so so proud of this Dublin team, they were awesome on the day in my opinion and represented everything good about football. We really were beautiful to watch and id challenge anyone in Gaelic football to say they dont enjoy watching how Dublin play. Its a thing of beauty.

All credit to Tyrone, i think they came out and attacked the game and gave a great account of themselves, i also think they deserve credit for trying to play open and expansive stuff and braveness in doing so is ver laudable, it also flies in the face of the cliched Tyrone are a defensive team. They just didn't have the quality of player especially in offensive positions to match. But deserve a lot of credit for rattling Dublin at stages. They represented their county well.

As for Dublin, a nervy cagey and wasteful opening quarter in my opinion as they felt their way into the game. Cian O Sullivan shouldn't have started the game he was clearly unfit and i think he was targeted early doors. The critical time was breaking Morgans kick out and Dublin went into 5th gear in the second quarter of the game and just blew Tyrone away. Paul Mannion, Jonny Cooper, Jack McCafferey, Con O Callaghan, Brian Fenton, Niall Scully, Rock (after a nervy opening) and Jack McCaffery were just magnificent in that phase. Going in 7 points ahead at half time, Dublin were never going to surrender that lead.

To Tyrones credit they came out and made a fist of it in the second half, the hits were hard, the off the ball was executed and really they threw everything at it. We were sloppy in phases, particularly Philly who had a poor game overall in my opinion. Brian Howard came into his own in the second half i thought he and Fenton and Kilkenny just controlled the game from there.

Brilliant to see Macker and MDM get mins and gave us a bit of ball retention and made important yards to counter everytime Tyrone flooded forward and enough to keep the score board ticking over.

Felt for Bernard and Flynner not getting mins, but they own us nothing and are entitled to medal number six for their contribution this year.

One of the pleasing aspects of this win is the continued transition of the team but maintaining and winning titles, the absolute key players in this team bar Cluxton are still under 25.

I couldn't be prouder of this group of lads and how they represent their county and community. Its been another remarkable year and to see your county achieve the greatest feat thats ever been done in the sport, its a very proud proud moment.

With a winter beckoning and a bit of time until the cold nights in January bring us back we will celebrate the spoils of a National League win and this 2018 and the four in a row and going 28 games in the championship unbeaten.

We will look to our own and look to our club championship and younger players and hopefully when return in 2019 we can have fresh optimism.

A truly wonderful footballing team feel very very privileged that they represent Dublin.

Enjoy these "Rare Auld Times" Jacks.

Baile Átha Cliath Abú!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/09/2018 15:11:00    2138838

Replying To sam1884:  "I disagree, imo Dublin never got out of first gear. During the parade Dublin players were smiling at the hill and looked so relaxed. As a result I think they were slightly complacent in the first twenty minutes. When the Dubs settled and started to play they were on a different level and if required would have increased the gears. Well done to Tyrone for getting to a final but lets be honest they lost three Championship games and had to beat two Ulster teams to get there, they also got a bit of luck playing Donegal without their best player. The draw opened up for them but they simply don't have the forwards to win an All Ireland. If Mayo can regroup and Kerry get the right manager to bring on their potential I would be surprised to see Tyrone back in the final next year. Ulster football is still a long way off at the minute in terms of winning an All Ireland."
I disagree.. Tyrone, Monaghan or Donegal would put it up to any team outside of Dublin who nobody can touch at the minute.. In my opinion, Mayo are gone

derekm58 (Monaghan) - Posts: 24 - 03/09/2018 15:30:34    2138848

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Firstly congratulations to Dublin. It was another supremely assured performance and the end result was never really in doubt in spite of Tyrone battling bravely until the end. This Dublin team has it all. Unbelievable conditioning, teak tough competitors and a composure to make the correct decision in almost every given situation. Yesterday's victory was comfortably achieved without their marquee player as well. Frightening stuff.

Tyrone gave a great account of themselves and should feel no shame in going down to this team. I just felt there were too many things on the day that needed to go their way in order for them to win. They weren't clinical enough and after a good start Morgan's kickout was found out by Dublin. Crucially as well they never looked like getting the goals that I felt were absolutely necessary to beat Dublin. No matter how well you try to stifle Dublin they're still likely to post 20 odd points. Tyrone were never going to match that in white flags so it was imperative they raised a few green ones.

Looking to 2019 I hope for the sake of football that Kerry under new management can integrate some of the huge potential coming through from their successful minor teams, Maybe we'll see Mayo back knocking at the door as well. Tyrone & Monaghan will be determined to push on. Teams like Galway, Kildare and Donegal can hopefully up the ante as well. But at this stage, with 5 in a row a very achievable target for the Dubs, it's hard seeing who can realistically derail this team on a mission to go down as the best ever."
Its only a matter of time before Kerry come good with all that young talent.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 03/09/2018 15:40:35    2138850

Congratulations to Dublin another great win. But when the dusts settles from my point of the football this year has been a complete Borfest. No point in watching lenister Dublin have basically won the last 15 in a row really. Thats completely broken. county teams are getting hard to get players to tog out. More than 10 from Meath opted out this year for different reasons for one example. I am normally clued to tv during summer. I barely watched any games this. I think the quote of the year was from Colm O'rouke during the Lenister final he said summed it up " real trouble for Dublin Stephen Cluxtons is going off" that's laughable if Dublin played nearly any team in leinster with out a goalie they would probably still win. But try and make it interesting by all means. Everyone gave out about Mayo saying they are past it etc but they are only team but up to Dublin and at least give Dublin one game a year. And now they are probably wrecked during the process. Bar Donegal in 2014. Now there dose not appear to be anyone. to challenge them. And what genius came up with the super 8 idea ? where one of the best team ever to play the game end up with 2 home games ? Dublin are always going to get to final but surely they dont need a advantage ? I have no really idea what to mix it. But how have let ourself get in to the broken system we have now.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 03/09/2018 15:42:34    2138853

Replying To derekm58:  "I disagree.. Tyrone, Monaghan or Donegal would put it up to any team outside of Dublin who nobody can touch at the minute.. In my opinion, Mayo are gone"
Mayo are going to surprise a few people in 2019. The sheer effort required to live with Dublin over the last number of years took it's tool this year (Remember they were involved in two of the best All Ireland finals in a number of years losing by a point). Dublin won the 2018 All Ireland the night Kildare beat Mayo. When they appoint a manager, and come back after a rest they will still be the only team capable of competing with Dublin next year. It might be slightly early for Kerry who will ultimately challenge Dublin's dominance in a few years. Tyrone's side of the draw left it that an Ulster team would get to the final. When you look at the standard in Ballybofey, the standard of the semi final added to how far Tyrone were off the pace yesterday it shows how far the three teams you mention are off competing. You might be right that Mayo are gone but I doubt it, the majority of the squad are at the right age and will be a major force for a few years yet - Mayo have never looked off the pace when playing Dublin. Without being controversial I think it's more likely this Monaghan team's chances of playing in an All Ireland final are gone.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 03/09/2018 16:27:27    2138874

Mayo are gone, Kerry cant play modern game, Donegal, Galway and Monaghan only teams to challenge Tyrone for a place in the final and thus a chance to get a hammering by Dublin.

Game2Halves (Tyrone) - Posts: 265 - 03/09/2018 16:59:08    2138883

Haven't read any comments but just want to say fair play to Tyrone for going man on man and making a real go of it compared to last year we're i just couldn't understand why they wouldn't change their game plan when getting battered if I where from Tyrone I'd be going nuts after last year but yesterday they gave it there all and just came up against a better team like when we played Tyrone in the 00's, mind you it could of been a lot closer if they took half their chances some shocking wides from really easy positions, surely this ends this defensive bs forever after we've seen what Tyrone Kerry and Mayo can do to Dublin when it's man on man. Dublin will play you whatever way you want and man in man you get chances against you just have to take them.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/09/2018 17:03:53    2138884

Replying To sam1884:  "Mayo are going to surprise a few people in 2019. The sheer effort required to live with Dublin over the last number of years took it's tool this year (Remember they were involved in two of the best All Ireland finals in a number of years losing by a point). Dublin won the 2018 All Ireland the night Kildare beat Mayo. When they appoint a manager, and come back after a rest they will still be the only team capable of competing with Dublin next year. It might be slightly early for Kerry who will ultimately challenge Dublin's dominance in a few years. Tyrone's side of the draw left it that an Ulster team would get to the final. When you look at the standard in Ballybofey, the standard of the semi final added to how far Tyrone were off the pace yesterday it shows how far the three teams you mention are off competing. You might be right that Mayo are gone but I doubt it, the majority of the squad are at the right age and will be a major force for a few years yet - Mayo have never looked off the pace when playing Dublin. Without being controversial I think it's more likely this Monaghan team's chances of playing in an All Ireland final are gone."
Don't write off monaghan just yet.

Smiler21 (Tyrone) - Posts: 46 - 03/09/2018 18:36:43    2138921

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Haven't read any comments but just want to say fair play to Tyrone for going man on man and making a real go of it compared to last year we're i just couldn't understand why they wouldn't change their game plan when getting battered if I where from Tyrone I'd be going nuts after last year but yesterday they gave it there all and just came up against a better team like when we played Tyrone in the 00's, mind you it could of been a lot closer if they took half their chances some shocking wides from really easy positions, surely this ends this defensive bs forever after we've seen what Tyrone Kerry and Mayo can do to Dublin when it's man on man. Dublin will play you whatever way you want and man in man you get chances against you just have to take them."
Very good post just about to post the same re. Tyrone's attitude.

I wonder will they improve enough with regards to shot selection etc to land an all ireland or are they lacking the class forward or two..

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 03/09/2018 18:42:00    2138923

Majestic

What a bloody team

Love these fellas

All of them.

Hard luck Tyrone and to their fans. Genuine folk

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 03/09/2018 23:15:11    2139011