Your Daily Dose Of GAA

I'm concerned as to which outlets you visit for your daily dose of GAA during the week?

My regular routine:
-Morning: Off The Ball on the way to work
-Lunch: Wherever Twitter takes me basically, a quick snoop of the Hogan Stand forums
-Evening: Game On on the way home

The weekend is a mash up of everything when you have lots going on.

Concerned_Supp (Westmeath) - Posts: 71 - 08/08/2018 16:01:22    2130876

No need for concern sir......

AM - independent.ie, see who was on OTB AM.
PM - sometimes podcasts, (e.g. The Throw-In, The GAA Hour)
Evening - Off The Ball.

Dip in to hoganstand.com now and then too.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 08/08/2018 16:04:48    2130879

Replying To Concerned_Supp:  "I'm concerned as to which outlets you visit for your daily dose of GAA during the week?

My regular routine:
-Lunch: Wherever Twitter takes me basically, a quick snoop of the Hogan Stand forums

The weekend is a mash up of everything when you have lots going on."
Same but wouldn't listen to off the ball. I think they are massively over-rated.

Going for pints in the local is a good way of ensuring GAA is discussed.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 08/08/2018 16:04:55    2130880

Replying To slayer:  "Same but wouldn't listen to off the ball. I think they are massively over-rated.

Going for pints in the local is a good way of ensuring GAA is discussed."
Ah no Off The Ball is easily the best of the lot and there is a big lot of shows and podcasts on the go these days. Have you listened to them lately? But yes nothing beats going to the local for GAA chat.

Concerned_Supp (Westmeath) - Posts: 71 - 08/08/2018 17:10:41    2130911

Replying To StoreysTash:  "No need for concern sir......

AM - independent.ie, see who was on OTB AM.
PM - sometimes podcasts, (e.g. The Throw-In, The GAA Hour)
Evening - Off The Ball.

Dip in to hoganstand.com now and then too."
Can't say I ever listened to the Throw In. The GAA Hour is rubbish for me but seems popular.

Concerned_Supp (Westmeath) - Posts: 71 - 08/08/2018 17:16:03    2130918

Replying To Concerned_Supp:  "I'm concerned as to which outlets you visit for your daily dose of GAA during the week?

My regular routine:

The weekend is a mash up of everything when you have lots going on."
I usually head to my local GAA pitch for my daily dose of GAA.

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 08/08/2018 17:20:53    2130922

Replying To slayer:  "Same but wouldn't listen to off the ball. I think they are massively over-rated.

Going for pints in the local is a good way of ensuring GAA is discussed."
Everyone has different taste.

Agree Off The Ball GAA coverage isn't great. None of the presenters, bar Stapleton and the Kerry lad, are that knowledgeable on GAA, other sports are their strengths. A bit too col for school. Depends a lot on what guests or analysts they have. Tommy Walsh is just class, his enthusiasm is infectious. I think not having Wooly and Gizzy Lyng is a big loss to them. I think they had to up the game for OTB AM as other podcasts were giving them competition.

GAA Hour is good, Wooly loves himself but there's good banter there. Not sure of their names but the Meath lad and the lad from Derry are good. Senan Connell was good in his time there. They do good analysis but aren't censored and don't take themselves too seriously.

I haven't listened to the RTE GAA podcast much but must try cos I like Damian Lawlor.

Any more free GAA podcasts to recommend? Hoganstand should try that market though it might not give much return.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7342 - 08/08/2018 18:44:09    2130958

Second Captains is better than Off The Ball but having to pay for it, is a big drawback. Wouldn't listen to "Wooly" if you paid me.

leftandwide (Meath) - Posts: 91 - 08/08/2018 19:33:19    2130976

I tend not to listen to any of them.

Daithi Regan nailed it on twitter after the Limerick Cork game. He said being a pundit is now futile as the game has gone so unpredictable and all the likes of him can do is analyse the aftermath. He is honest, fair play to him.

Off the ball have had different personnel but the same way of working for years:

If something happens three times it is a trend
If a team wins after a 4-5 week gap they were fresh
If a team wins after a 1 week gap it is momentum
If an player in his 5th+ season does something good it is experience
If a young player does something good it is youthful exuberance

They pay their interviewees well

They rely on emotion and they talk about the past in the present - eg they will say 'so you're sent off, tell me how you feel as you walk off the pitch'.

I can see why it works but it is not for me. As I said I'd much rather talk to lads in the pub about sport at grassroots level and maybe county level than listen to a lad behind a big red microphone saying he is emotional about an interview just conducted. Of course you were Joe, ye had to fork out 1000 euro for the interview!

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 09/08/2018 09:59:14    2131129

Shane Stapleton on the Hurling Show on YouTube can be ok.
I love the GAA hour - especially when Wolly has an hour with Chedder Plunket. A great hurling man. Other times he has Damien Hayes & JJ on theybarenfunny. In fainness Wolly was one of the few to give the Joe McDonagh lads a mention.
News talk seems to just take extracts from the hurling show and OTB AM now.
Also the throw in podcast and added time podcast - both have journalists pontificating but some ok stuff.

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 10/08/2018 10:57:07    2131481