Galway Vs Dublin

Replying To SouthsideRossie:  "Superbluedub etc are all right to be proud of their team, it is perhaps the best team ever. They won at their leisure today, the penalty was Irrevelancy in my opinion.

However the rest of us (who love and played this game ) are just sick and bored of the monotony, the horrendously one sided nature of it all. I simply don't enjoy watching Dublin play, they meander through games in 3rd gear winning with embarrassing ease. With the demise/decline of Mayo, the gap has never been wider(worse)
My prediction :
This Dublin team will win 5 in a row pulling up ( would you get Even-money in the bookmakers on that?)
The winning margins will not reduce as their second and even third team could all reach an AI final
Other counties will simply play for second and players will lack motivation
Sponsors and fans will lose interest, attendances will wain. By the time the push for no 6 in row comes around the GAA will wake up to a hole in the Profit and Loss account.
Working group will be setup to examine why the game is dying around the country.
The groundswell for a split of Dublin into 2 or 3 teams will be unstoppable

It's an opinion, no more than that. I know of no other league or sport with such a monopoly. And monopolies are never healthy."
And if Dublin South were to play Dublin North in an All-Ireland semi-final or final, what would you think then? When all is said and done we can only put out 15 players on the pitch at one time. Other counties might be better off developing under age talent as Dublin did in the early 2000s, and seeing that that talent bloom into a successful inter-county side.

I'll happily accept Dublin being split into 2 for football, if Kerry (who have won more All-Irelands than anyone else) are also split in 2. And while I'm at it why not split Kilkenny hurlers into 2 as well???

And don't bring up the usual stuff about how many people live in Dublin....if population was the main criterion then New York or London would be contesting All-Irelands every yr!!!

PatdeVerse (Dublin) - Posts: 107 - 11/08/2018 22:51:27    2132017

Replying To Uimhir.a.3.:  "Can you tell us the Rule on crossing, wasn't aware their was such a rule ?"
It'used to be known as 'third-man-tackle', - prevents the player getting in a tackle.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 11/08/2018 22:53:49    2132019

Dublin were very good again Mannion is sime baller. The greatest footballing team of the generation a real winning machine. It really is everyone vs the dubs now. We will all enjoy when their beat at this stage.

lobbitin (Mayo) - Posts: 20 - 11/08/2018 22:59:47    2132021

Replying To SAMMYTHEBULL:  "Once Dublin is brought out to a neutral venue and allow other teams a fair shot, I will then acknowledge that Dublin is a better team. Impossible to take a penalty or free due to intimidation and jeering and thuggery. Galway was beaten, but not by a better team. I am proud of Galway and will judge them in Fairplay games. Come on GAA organise Neutral Venues for important games. This is a Farce and a Joke. I said the same thing about Mayo Games, so no sour Grapes."
"intimidation and jeering and thuggery" there is fair comment and opinion and then there is gratuitous insults. What a narrow minded mean spirited poor comment.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 11/08/2018 23:11:51    2132028

Replying To galwayford:  "First half Galway were great, they went toe to toe with the Dubs, but poor sideline game plan cost them in second half. Also what gave with the "orange boots"?"
It was a disappointing second half. It's just when you've 2 Connacht titles and beat this Mayo team 3 times in a row Galway should do better. For a lot of people we expected Galway to take over from where Mayo left off.

I've no quarrel with good posters like yourself but 3 or 4 Galway posters here can't take their beating. Sammy the Bull says you can't take a penalty or a free. The Dubs didn't come out of the terrace to impede players. He's going on about Fair Play games. Is it go games he wants. With his username you'd think he'd have thicker skin.

Uimhir a 3 says I'm having a love in with the Dubs because I congratulate them on going for 4 in a row. Kester or Fester, can't remember his username, says Dublin bore their way to victory, the most exciting part of his journey was the way home. He was full of himself about no kicks to the head (1983 Duff) before the match and now he can't take his beating.

I can't remember such whinging from a lot of posters when their team was well beaten. They don't even have controversial reffing decisions to blame!

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 11/08/2018 23:12:18    2132029

27!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 11/08/2018 23:25:09    2132033

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "The begrudgery towards Dublin is worse than expected.

They don't smile enough, if they do they're smug or arrogant.

Can people not acknowledge that they are a great team who have cruised to the All-ireland final and may equal Kerry and Wexford's 4 in a row team, possibly surpass them?"
Well said.

The begrudgery towards Dublin is astounding.

Were people this Anti-Kilkenny in their pomp...

I know I didnt like seeing the Cats win so much but bloody hell, I respected them for what they did, how they did it year on year and how damn good they were at the time. Their constant hunger and levels of performance were a credit to them and management. They had my full respect.
Similarly for kerry when they were so good.

Yet, first we had a meath poster wanting Dublin taken out of Leinster and now a Kerry poster wanting Dublin taken out of the Championship. FFS - this is a once in a lifetime Dublin team/squad and wont last forever, so at least show some respect and acknowledge a great team when you see one. Not bit*h and whine all the time about them.

We smile too much, dont smile enough, wear too fancy football boots, are too tanned, too fit, too fast, too skilful or even too damn boring... yes, boring....

History will show how good this team/squad is - to be so consistent, focused, hungry for more, and at the same time be grounded and nice individuals, says loads about the guys who have worn the Dublin jersey over these successful years.

To see Kerry posters in particular, moan about Dublin dominance irks me most, especially after all the success they have had. But rather than acknowledge what a great team Dublin have been, they want them split in 2 or 3 or 4, or even taken out of the championship altogether... Get over over it... Ye are going for 5 minor title in a row and all you can do is moan about the Dubs.... mmmm...!
To those Kerry fans - it is not your divine right to win every year however much you think it is....

Us Dubs are just enjoying the ride for as long as it lasts. It is once in a lifetime so no amount of begrudgery will spoil this for us. It just makes us more determined to prolong it...!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 11/08/2018 23:30:10    2132034

So easy for Dublin today, this is starting to look like the handiest all Ireland so far for them, you can't but admire the way they go about their business, I don't think either Tyrone or Monaghan believe they can beat Dublin either, we saw this with Kilkenny in the latter part of the last decade, just steamrolling cork Limerick and Waterford, and only against Tipp in 09 did they actually look beatable. With Kerry and mayo probably going to take a while to rebuild there doesn't seem to be an obvious contender to take on Dublin, I think the attendance today reflected the fact that Galway people knew they hadn't a hope and Dublin people knew they would win without breaking a sweat. Still I enjoy watching dublin, their style of play is great to watch and their scoring records are incredible.

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1592 - 11/08/2018 23:32:56    2132035

Replying To lobbitin:  "Dublin were very good again Mannion is sime baller. The greatest footballing team of the generation a real winning machine. It really is everyone vs the dubs now. We will all enjoy when their beat at this stage."
Mannion played well today.

Did anyone notice him putting out his hand to shake hands with the Galway no4 before the ball was thrown in, only for the defender push it away and punch Mannion in the midrift...
Paul took it and just smiled back at him... Classy repsonse....!

Soon afterwards Mannion scored a point but rather than goad the defender, he turned away and got in position for the kick out... The guy is a class act not matter what the provocation and lets his football be his retaliation....!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 11/08/2018 23:35:19    2132037

If Donegal hadn't beaten Dublin in the semi in 2014 this would be 6 in a row this year, 7 in a row next year, there'd surely be calls to divide up the capital then, it will have to happen at some stage I think.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 11/08/2018 23:35:49    2132038

Replying To SAMMYTHEBULL:  "Once Dublin is brought out to a neutral venue and allow other teams a fair shot, I will then acknowledge that Dublin is a better team. Impossible to take a penalty or free due to intimidation and jeering and thuggery. Galway was beaten, but not by a better team. I am proud of Galway and will judge them in Fairplay games. Come on GAA organise Neutral Venues for important games. This is a Farce and a Joke. I said the same thing about Mayo Games, so no sour Grapes."
Embarrassing post. "Not by a better team"? Surely you're having a laugh. "Neutral venue". Do you really think that will make a difference? Ask Tyrone. This is the best team to play the game. Galway did well against them today but Dublin have the talent. It's just a fact.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 11/08/2018 23:47:49    2132041

Replying To yaladya:  "Dublin are 5/4 with paddy powers to win 5 in a row next. ..... scary thought really."
There you go. Might have bit of that actually.
Soccer compRisons are futile as rich owners can buy a team and compete ( no digs in that comment honest). Lets look at the comparable cycles in GAA i.e. the great Kilkenny hurling and Kerry football teams.
Kilkenny couldn't sustain their golden era forever given their population and resources, the conveyor belt of AI success underage dried to a trickle. That is not the case with Dublin.
Look what happened to hurling in Leinster in strongholds such as Laois Offaly & Wexford while Kilkenny dominated.

Looking at Kerry, I think Dublin will smash all Kerry records the way their trajectory is going. Back then, Kerry's 3 in a row came against my own county's golden era of the late 70s who got within 3 points in an All Ireland final. We currently have the next most talented generation and I see no prospect that we will come within 15 points of Dublins first team at full tilt.

Unlike Kilkenny /Kerry, Dublin have the resources and underage success to sustain their monopoly for at least 5 more years. IMO That's not a normal cycle as others allege here. I'm not blaming Dublin for that, good
U.K. To them. but we live in an Ireland that has fundamentally changed economically and demographically in the past 25 years. Should the GAA not change too and protect fairness /equality.

Sorry for hogging a Galway forum on this. Comisserations to a noble and improving Galway team and congrats to Dublin.

SouthsideRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 88 - 12/08/2018 00:08:22    2132046

The main thought that came through my head watching that game was poor mayo. The level they were playing at in most of the previous 5 years would certainly have seen them win the championship this year but they couldn't maintain it this year. Dublin definitely not as strong as last few years but still miles ahead fair play to them, some achievement to keep the hunger going for so long

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 237 - 12/08/2018 00:17:52    2132048

This Dublin team have won 5 all Irelands by a combined total of 7 points
Pat Spillane won 8 all Irelands by an average margin of 7 points
In between Pat's wins Dublin won a couple by 7 and 12 points.
Not so long ago Kerry won back to back titles by 13 and 11 points.
Cruising to finals is nothing new either.

I dread to think what the begrudgery levels will be if we start winning finals by 7+ points. And I'll eat my hat if it happens this year.

Pantani (Dublin) - Posts: 48 - 12/08/2018 00:20:08    2132050

Galway needed to be a few points ahead at half time after being competitive in the first half. They got the stroke of luck with an error from Cluxton for the goal and getting the penalty after what looked like a bit of a tumble. They needed to capitalise there but Cluxton made up for his earlier mistake with a good save. Some easy wides hit too didn't help either.

With a system like Galway's, and we've seen it time and time again at this stage, that unless you're in front with 25 mins to go you're not winning the game. The system needs to be ahead going into the final 25 minutes.

If you're behind at that stage there is far too easy for your opponents to pick you off. Galway's limitations were shown when they had to chase the game imo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 12/08/2018 00:24:39    2132051

Agree with posters on here saying it's boring watching dublin win again and again. But to be fair to the dubs they're hardly going to lose to give other teams a chance.

I don't think they are unbeatable but it's going to take a massive effort from a quality team where everything clicks on the day

All the dubs I encountered today wished us luck in the hurling but one thing I wish they stopped doing is the jeering from the hill . It's poor form and no need for it

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 12/08/2018 00:34:07    2132053

Dublin in 2nd gear. Watching Jaws here, whoever wins tomorrow will need to know this line "your gunna need a bigger boat"

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 12/08/2018 00:43:37    2132056

I'd have rated Galway, Tyrone and Monaghan as being fairly-evenly matched. After that, I'd agree with whoever said that the other semi is irrelevant. This is not Dublin's fault, it's down to the other teams and managers to get a grip, stop admiring this great Dublin team and stop saying gushing things about them in post-match interviews (like Harte and Cavanagh last year), start to believe they can be beaten, get in their faces and give them pure hell for 80 minutes. Far too much respect being shown. For years, Ulster teams were awestruck and deferential when they played Dublin or Kerry, and that same servile attitude has crept back in again. Dublin are a good team, but they're blessed to be around in an era when all the competitors are second-rate. Mayo are finished, and neither Kerry, Tyrone or Galway currently have anything like the best teams to come out of their respective counties. I believe that any team that plays with controlled rage and without fear against Dublin can beat them; the question is will any of them do that. Dublin for 5 in a row is my prediction.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 12/08/2018 00:59:18    2132058

Replying To lobbitin:  "Dublin were very good again Mannion is sime baller. The greatest footballing team of the generation a real winning machine. It really is everyone vs the dubs now. We will all enjoy when their beat at this stage."
They will get beat when they are tired of winning. Which is probably much closer than people realise. Though it is almost certainly still more than a year away.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 12/08/2018 01:56:17    2132061

Hopefully a win later on today (yes i cant sleep with the excitement) Monaghan might pose a different question to the dubs. As i said hopefully but every other team has tried and failed so a new challenge from a different team might do the damage Im hoping it will. Other than that Dublin have been fantastic and unstoppable and well done. But Barcelona or Real Madrid have been the same in soccer has there been calls to split them in two? no so lets enjoy what they are doing they are a fantastic team any team winning 3 in a row and now going for 4 unreal considering the amount of games teams play now compared to the old format. Not even a rant or a rave just cant sleep feck football does all sorts of things to people lol

mrsme (USA) - Posts: 172 - 12/08/2018 03:03:42    2132063