Galway V Monaghan

Anybody overly critical of Galway have not got a clue. Already in a semi final playing a team who have not been at the same stage in 30 years. No matter what anybody says the intensity and attitude was always going to be in Monaghan's favour. Like I alluded to before and where I would be critical of Galway is team selection. Tonight was the night to ring the changes with players sitting on the sidelines chomping at the bit to stake a claim. Big mistake in my opinion not playing those players but I fully expect a different Galway next weekend. As for Monaghan the job is to get back down to earth. There was huge emotion there tonight that won't be replicated by whoever goes through in Ballybofey tomorrow given both sides relatively recent experience of playing in all Ireland semi finals.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 05/08/2018 00:00:18    2129170

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "With gods help, but strangely as a fan I'm not feeling disappointed this evening I'm actually feeling reenergized. Just need to get the right man in charge, I wonder would jim mcguinness be interested? He lived in Kerry once and played for Tralee IT."
Would Kerry ever hire a "foreign" coach?

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 05/08/2018 00:32:13    2129176

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "Don't bother, you wouldn't get past the M50!"
No more than most of you lot.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 05/08/2018 01:09:36    2129183

Replying To jonno:  "Before this game I thought Monaghan were the only team left with the belief and players to make a good final. I'm glad they won and really Galway came unstuck and will be disassembled against the Dubs. Not that I don't like Galwa, but as with all counties there are some blusterous supporters who talk nonsense. They are ok but once Shane Walsh is minded they are fairly predictable.
Best of luck to Monaghan in the semi.
4 in a row is inevitable but a team that has beaten the Dubs albeit end of league affair getting to the final would be better than Donegal or Tyrone"
Fair play someone with a sense of common sense. Monaghan are the only team left that can rattle the dubs.

Not withstanding we were unlucky to lose an Ulster title, we have achieved our primary objective for the year. Reaching the semi-finals. We respect but do not fear Dubin. We are the only team to have beaten them in 2018 ( and in my view the only team that will). Some muppets will say in a game that did not matter, but those that were at it will tell you it mattered a lot to both teams.

As was pointed out by some of my fellow countymen ( those in the know) Galway came up against a team that was 2-years ahead of them in terms of developing a defence/attack strategy. They could not cope with a well organised defensive strategy that had good defenders in it. They could not cope with a well organised attack that brought width to the game, even at home.

The analysis of this Monaghan team is extremely lazy to say the least (may well have helped us get this far in one respect). We average 20+ points a game, have an average of 9 scorers a game and concede less than a goal a game, those are the stats few can match. And, we operate in division one. Anyone that would suggest that we are a one man team needs their head examining. Ryan Mc Annespie has been our most consistent player all year, and not a mention of him, anywhere

Some are suggesting that Galway were not up for the game, and in one respect they are right. They were simply not clever enough or developed enough to beat this Monaghan team.

We are now in the top three teams in the Country and as usual, F**c the begrudgers

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 05/08/2018 01:18:36    2129186

Replying To panamasam:  "Leave Jim well alone he has his hands full with his media work, coaching badges and whatever else covert coaching he might be doing further up the west coast ;)"
Ah he wouldn't refuse us if we called cap in hand Sam :-) he'd be the first outsider givin the keys of the kingdom he'd get to see what real pressure is ;-)

Seriously I'd be happy to see a man of jim caliber considered, he would have us organized and every man would know his job and does young Clifford remind you of a young Michael Murphy?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/08/2018 01:42:49    2129189

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Don't buy the notion Galway didn't want to win they named a very strong team they were just shown up by a better team."
I've seen every single Galway game this year.That was their worst performance by an absolute country mile. They did not try a leg. Especially in the 2nd half. They weren't trying to lose. Monaghan just wanted the win far more.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2214 - 05/08/2018 02:41:11    2129197

Replying To greysoil:  "So we didn't miss our chance in Clones!
HONNNNNNNNNN!"
Sorry now but yes ye missed the chance to beat Kerry for the first time in the championship in a game that ye were the better side.
Ye won a game ye had to win in Galway and fair play but that doesn't change what happened in Clones.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 05/08/2018 09:21:50    2129227

First off a huge congrats to Monaghan. To see the joy of the supporters at the end was brilliant, and is something we don't see too often anymore in the GAA. I've said numerous times before that they're an absolute example to so many counties of what can be achieved.
They were by a mile the better team and playing at a completely different intensity. Galway were very sloppy and passive, and hardly laid a a hand on them for most of the match. Even with numbers back, lads were still waltzing through for scores. It was a marked difference to the ravenous tackling in the previous 2 games.
I think Walsh was caught between two stools. If he played a much-changed line-up, he would've gotten a performance of greater intensity from lads looking for a start, but this would've meant most of the 1st team not having played in 3 weeks by the time the semi came around. He decided to keep the lads sharp, but their application was way off.
We'll see what effect this has next weekend, but I'd expect the workrate to be at a different level regardless. Playing the Dubs in a semi alone should be enough to ensure that.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 05/08/2018 09:40:17    2129237

Congrats Monaghan, super must win performance there. Sean Kelly injury is bad news for Galway who would be happy enough with the 2 out of 3 wins in the Super 8, best to Mon going forward.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 05/08/2018 11:44:41    2129297

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Sorry now but yes ye missed the chance to beat Kerry for the first time in the championship in a game that ye were the better side.
Ye won a game ye had to win in Galway and fair play but that doesn't change what happened in Clones."
No, It doesn't change the fact that we slipped up in Clones and missed a big opportunity to beat Kerry for the first time. But the main thing we were looking for was simply to get through to the semis, and we did by topping the group. So in that sense, we've put that result in Clones to bed. We'd have never lived it down if we failed to reach the semis yesterday, but thankfully it doesn't matter anymore.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 05/08/2018 11:54:36    2129301

Replying To patk:  "No, It doesn't change the fact that we slipped up in Clones and missed a big opportunity to beat Kerry for the first time. But the main thing we were looking for was simply to get through to the semis, and we did by topping the group. So in that sense, we've put that result in Clones to bed. We'd have never lived it down if we failed to reach the semis yesterday, but thankfully it doesn't matter anymore."
Ye won a must win game and fair play on that performance ye will be a handful for anyone.
Celebrate by all means as it doesn't come around that often.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 05/08/2018 12:04:44    2129309

Replying To ballydalane:  "Would Kerry ever hire a "foreign" coach?"
Define Foreign. Someone from Cork maybe?

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 05/08/2018 12:30:05    2129314

Replying To TheUsername:  "Super performence by Monaghan, congratulation and fully deserved.

Really learned from mistakes against Kerry and game management was far better. Some real stars in Beggen, Lacy, McAnespey and the man up front.

I think the two week break really helped them they had played week in week out all summer.

A real chance of making the final now."
fair play..... But i think your getting your Karl's mixed up , ala Karl O'Connell & Karl Lacey (donegal)

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 05/08/2018 13:22:06    2129336

Incredible , well done lads , a proud Monaghan man today! ....... The Monaghan fans were brilliant! Our team must have got some lift, while they were doing their "warm-up", the team ran in front of the main stand &the roar they got from our fans was unreal. They then sprinted to the far terrace & the exact same thing! ... brilliant ..... must have given them some lift & perhaps maybe Galway felt a little nerved by it at THEIR HOME!

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 05/08/2018 13:36:51    2129339

Congrats on your win, well done to your team and super supporters,

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1222 - 05/08/2018 13:54:33    2129348