The Dubs Fans - A Credit.

Was working tonight at the Omagh match, scanning season tickets and have to say the Dubs were full of banter and craic and not one bad word from them that you get from some other Counties fans.
Then when you get into the ground and the match starts the noise and atmosphere that you generate really makes a match. Yous definitely enjoy an away day!!

kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 690 - 21/07/2018 22:43:04    2124441

just back from the game myself as a neutral, the atmosphere the dubs bring is second to none i was standing a group of them and tyrone fans and the crack we had was unreal just goes to show that fans dont need to be segregated ever at gaa games

mrsme (USA) - Posts: 172 - 21/07/2018 22:54:15    2124444

Yeah I have always had great time for the Dubs fans, they are great craic and very decent people too.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 21/07/2018 23:18:59    2124463

We got a great welcome from our fellow Gaels in Tyrone today. The GAA gives all Irish people a platform to bring out the best of ourselves and I absolutely love it. Na Dubs Abu

CaogaCuig (Dublin) - Posts: 63 - 21/07/2018 23:22:11    2124465

Replying To CaogaCuig:  "We got a great welcome from our fellow Gaels in Tyrone today. The GAA gives all Irish people a platform to bring out the best of ourselves and I absolutely love it. Na Dubs Abu"
Sure, I've seen them ion Pairc Ui Rinn a few times. a credit to their county.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 22/07/2018 00:47:41    2124508

Agreed. Down in the league game in
Salthill in March the ones I spoke with were good craic and loved their trip west. Very knowledgeable and acknowledged what we were doing here trying to build a squad to be competitive. Had different experiences a few yrs back but all counties have a few clowns.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 22/07/2018 09:21:31    2124545

They brought a great atmosphere to Pearse Stadium that day, in what felt like Arctic conditions. It definitely added to the occasion and I've no doubt helped the game itself which was played very competitively for that time of year.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 22/07/2018 10:35:27    2124576

Dublin have great fans...few bad apples like every county but salt of the earth people.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 22/07/2018 10:36:25    2124578

After 2006 Leinster final I got sucker punched under the cusack stand and kicked on the ground by 3 Dublin "fans". Left a bitter taste in my mouth.

7 months later Dublin played laois in the o'byrne Cup final in tullamore as portlaoise was been upgraded. I was working in a pub and dreading the influx of dubs. Walked into work and the place was full of them. Went on to have the best and most enjoyable day in work I had. Salt of the earth and they were funny witty and dead sound. That was the real Dublin fans, not the clowns from the year before.

Went to the 2007 Leinster semi final and even though Dublin hammered us again the craic with the Dublin fans was brilliant again. Only had good experiences since in both hurling and football

tonorio (Offaly) - Posts: 608 - 22/07/2018 11:22:15    2124605

have to say the people and tyrone supporters were very welcoming and were a real credit to the county as well. I know when your team wins it is easy to say nice things about the opposition but fair play to to all up there last night.

rollingboh (Dublin) - Posts: 8 - 22/07/2018 11:35:00    2124609

Jayses lads, were ye expecting riots, burnt cars, looting and all breaking of law and order, the Dublin supporters are some of the nicest people you will ever meet, I've always had a nice word to say about them but as with every county you will always get the odd thick eejet, the thug, the smart alec that shouts abuse at the opposition, their supporters and referee. Dublin supporters know hell of a lot more about the GAA and teams even the opposition than most of us and their knowledge would put us to shame. While most of us would concentrate on our own clubs and neighbours the Dub know about his/ her entire county, how that lad was a good player at underage while most of us wouldn't have a clue about anybody until they wore the senior jersey. They are a credit to their county

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 22/07/2018 12:51:51    2124632

Ah sure aren't we just fab altogether :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/07/2018 13:48:01    2124649

Replying To riverboys:  "Jayses lads, were ye expecting riots, burnt cars, looting and all breaking of law and order, the Dublin supporters are some of the nicest people you will ever meet, I've always had a nice word to say about them but as with every county you will always get the odd thick eejet, the thug, the smart alec that shouts abuse at the opposition, their supporters and referee. Dublin supporters know hell of a lot more about the GAA and teams even the opposition than most of us and their knowledge would put us to shame. While most of us would concentrate on our own clubs and neighbours the Dub know about his/ her entire county, how that lad was a good player at underage while most of us wouldn't have a clue about anybody until they wore the senior jersey. They are a credit to their county"
No, wasn't expecting riots but expected a bit of flak from Season ticket holders who had to go to the terracing instead of the stand. Never heard a word about it.

kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 690 - 22/07/2018 13:57:35    2124658

Replying To yew_tree:  "Dublin have great fans...few bad apples like every county but salt of the earth people."
In fairness the vast majority of GAA supporters from every county are genuinely decent, fair minded people. I've been following Dublin for a long time and have always enjoyed meeting with and chatting to fans from other counties.
The only mistake people make is in thinking that the kind of muppets that rant on social media about anything and everything are real GAA fans, or are in any way a reflection of what real supporters are.

AHP (Dublin) - Posts: 323 - 22/07/2018 14:34:56    2124666

Last night epitomised everything that was great about the GAA. To walk into Omagh and see a sea of blue was fantastic. In the ground itself we stood side by side and had great craic with the Dubs. The game was close and intense and exactly what we all wanted. Then when we arrived home we saw the lovely poignant tribute that Dublin fans left at the memorial of Aidan McAnespie. What a great day.

Ed (UK) - Posts: 156 - 22/07/2018 15:04:12    2124677

A great bunch of lads

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 22/07/2018 15:17:58    2124682