Graham Brody

Best goalkeeping display I've ever seen in Laois v Monaghan game today. Has to win an all star

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 765 - 08/07/2018 17:58:37    2119712

Replying To Malonemagic:  "Best goalkeeping display I've ever seen in Laois v Monaghan game today. Has to win an all star"
There's a lot of football still to be played, so it's far too early to be talking about guaranteed All Stars. He's an excellent keeper though.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 08/07/2018 19:01:45    2119728

It takes more than one good display to win an All Star, you need a series of good performances in high profile games.

Nobody outside the Super 8 will win an All Star, nomination yes, win no.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 08/07/2018 19:01:56    2119729

He made more brilliant saves in one match that most keepers would in a season. Phenomenal performance

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1056 - 08/07/2018 19:11:27    2119741

Wholly Parkinson was saying he is the best shot stopper about for a long time. He was his teammate at club for years I think.
Heard he was unbelievable yesterday.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 08/07/2018 20:12:53    2119767

All-stars are a bit of a joke to be honest...they are not given based on individual's performances during the year....they are given based on how far your team gets in the Championship...

Graham Brody could have made top class saves in every game up to now but it won't matter a jot...because as one poster said Laois didn't make it to Super 8's at least....he could get a token nomination because Laois made it to the Leinster final...but he won't get one even if he is the best keeper in the country...

All-stars are completely flawed...

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 08/07/2018 20:19:27    2119771

He was incredible today to be fair. I don't think it's an exaggeration to say Monaghan would have had a few goals if Brody wasn't playing, I think it was 6 or 7 clear goalscoring chances he stopped today. He's the reason there was still a game on going into the final stages, the the game would have been put to bed much earlier if it wasn't for Brody.

Unfortunately I can't see him getting an all-star though. As usual the bulk will come from the semi finalists, but any others are almost certain to still come from the Super 8s imo.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 08/07/2018 20:34:49    2119776

I counted 6 or 7 absolutely ridiculous saves..

Fella was unreal

On a side note, has anyone ever seen a goalkeeper go down with cramp ?? Thought it was gas when laois where attacking and everyone was in the Monaghan half, graham brody was getting his calves rubbed hahaha

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 08/07/2018 20:41:25    2119780

Six saves one on one, never seen it before was the best goalkeeping display I ever witnessed.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 08/07/2018 21:32:50    2119802

I didn't see him today with an all star performance. Yes he made a few good saves but I was more disappointed with how the Monaghan lads finished off the moves. Did all the hard work and tried to burst the net rather than place the ball. His kick outs were not great tbh. Would have Beggan over him any day.

Farney1977 (Monaghan) - Posts: 59 - 08/07/2018 22:38:02    2119815

Just watched the Sunday Game, Brody gave an astonishing performance for his County.

Fair play to ye, Graham.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 357 - 08/07/2018 22:48:56    2119817

Just to point out graham Brody was tg4 man of the match in division 4 league final. Was highlighted on Sunday game for his performance v wexford. Was nominated for rte man of the match in leinster final in a team that lost by 18 points. And then today. Colm keys called it one of the great goalkeeping displays. All stars should reward individuals not teams

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 765 - 08/07/2018 23:44:07    2119823

Replying To waynoI:  "I counted 6 or 7 absolutely ridiculous saves..

Fella was unreal

On a side note, has anyone ever seen a goalkeeper go down with cramp ?? Thought it was gas when laois where attacking and everyone was in the Monaghan half, graham brody was getting his calves rubbed hahaha"
I remember Shane Curran pulling his hammer when trying to solo out with the ball in a Connacht club match a few years ago for Brigid's.
He went down in a heap, the match was stopped and it took an age to get him off the pitch.
Comical stuff.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 08/07/2018 23:53:59    2119824

Class keeper, could make it across the water!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 09/07/2018 02:44:50    2119844

Laois defence won't be enjoying some of the comments here.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 09/07/2018 08:40:38    2119861

Replying To realdub:  "Class keeper, could make it across the water!!"
aye, would love to see him on the London team ;)

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 09/07/2018 09:32:26    2119874

really good performance but a lot of the saves were ones you would expect the top keepers to make , coming out meeting the player and getting close before he shoots, so you are practically on top of him by the time he releases the trigger. But there was one save in the second half where he pushed the ball onto the post which was an exceptional save. I have been advocated for ages that more teams use their keeper enough as a spare man but Laois have been doing it well this year, he plays more like a 7's keeper.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 09/07/2018 09:39:02    2119876

Was at the game. The save from McCarthy I think it was.... was off the charts. He's the best shot stopper by a distance in GAA. Any other keeper and three of those chances were in the net. Stunning display. All Star surely ... but you just know he won't get it cos he's not in S8 now. Which is why the All Stars don't mean much really.

I might add the Laois supporters, and team for that matter, were very sporting. Some very good players and a smart manager. They'll be in Div 2 next year. Coming team.

Mon79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 81 - 09/07/2018 11:15:30    2119930

Excellent shot stopping and support play when he came out the field.. he did kick 2 balls out across the sideline from his kickouts.. otherwise he was unbeatable.

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 09/07/2018 11:57:46    2119943

Brody is a superb keeper but it does shine a spotlight on the leaky Laois defence. They have been opened up in all their games for multiple goal chances only for Brody to bail them out. It's something Sugrue is going to have to sort. Yesterday's game could have been 4.12 to 1.4 at ht

novalis (Carlow) - Posts: 312 - 09/07/2018 12:34:08    2119959