Tyrone V Dublin

Replying To Farney:  "The referee swung it for Dublin tonight!"
Now now Refs living in the capital can't be questioned.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 21/07/2018 22:08:35    2124424

Replying To Farney:  "The referee swung it for Dublin tonight!"
cop on , best team won .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 21/07/2018 22:09:26    2124425

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Tyrone will also feel very aggrieved at Goldrick's performance. He let an awful lot of Dublin stuff go and gave them a few handy fries. Why was a Leinster referee appointed to this game? That should not have happened."
100%, I also mentioned the same thing but my post did make past the mods.

Or was it my comment about the reckless actions of McCauley ?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/07/2018 22:10:23    2124427

Replying To Ulsterman:  "I'm really surprised Tyrone stayed in the game to the end and fair play to them. They fully matched tbe stamina, physicality and toughness of the Dubs but the number of times Tyrone gave tbe ball away was shocking. It would interesting to see how many scores Dublin got from turnover ball. It was an excellent match and entertaining. If Tyrone had one or two better finishers they could really challenge Dublin."
I'm not surprised that they matched the physicality and stamina of the dubs but I would agree with you on the ball handling errors. Add in a few poor shot selections and you have the ingredients that make up the fine margins that decide these games. Losing mc namee was tough although I think Rory Brennan did great when introduced. I think we gave a good account of ourselves and that's what's important overall after last years poor effort. We're still in it for now. Good luck to the lads next day out.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 21/07/2018 22:10:41    2124429

Replying To border Gael:  "People who never cheered for Tyrone cheering for them this evening. Everyone wants someone who can match the Dubs make a statement before the semis or the championship is going to go stale and destroy football. The better team won this evening but were helped by two wrong decisions by the ref and a crucial point in the game. A free was given dead straight in front of goal for what the ref deemed to be a picked of the ground ball when it was not. Dean rock tipped it over. MDC Took Mattie Donnelly out of it with a high tackle in front of goal.. No free given. There were two points in the game at this stage. Tyrone were showing the effects of six games in as many weeks at the end this evening but huge credit to them and their management. They're getting a lot closer."
have another look mate , ball was definitely picked off the ground.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 21/07/2018 22:12:29    2124430

A lot of referee excuses as usual after Dublin win. Ref was biased again and "as usual" we are told. No mention of the lack of a black card for McCann of course but then that doesn't suit the agenda. Tyrone fought hard. They need an Andy Moran type sharp shooter it seems. Again Dublin were misfiring in the forwards but I think once the lads click up there seem team is going to get hit for six. The Rossies could be in for a hard time as Dublin look to refne their shooting. I think we had a couple of more gears had we needed to up it today but Tyrone are contenders although no easy task going to Ballybofey now having to win. I almost fancy Donegal to pip them after that moral boosting win today but it will be close.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 21/07/2018 22:27:38    2124436

Tyrone maybe missed a trick here with poor decision making, poor shooting and bad team selection but Dublin have another gear in them as well. Tyrone's subs made a great impact when they came on. Not going to be easy for them to go into Donegal and get a result in 2 weeks time but should be a cracking match.
On a side note Ciaran Kilkenny is a fine footballer but in the course of the match tonight he did some bleating to everyone - Referee, linesmen, bench. Does he really need to be at it?

kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 689 - 21/07/2018 22:38:28    2124440

Replying To kingpuck71:  "Tyrone maybe missed a trick here with poor decision making, poor shooting and bad team selection but Dublin have another gear in them as well. Tyrone's subs made a great impact when they came on. Not going to be easy for them to go into Donegal and get a result in 2 weeks time but should be a cracking match.
On a side note Ciaran Kilkenny is a fine footballer but in the course of the match tonight he did some bleating to everyone - Referee, linesmen, bench. Does he really need to be at it?"
Bleating and blocking out defenders works as to McAuley he did the job he was sent to do

cjx (Tyrone) - Posts: 270 - 21/07/2018 22:58:30    2124446

Replying To cjx:  "With Tyrone losing 2 key defendes 1 before 1 during first half they did very well Poor Colm Cavanagh had bad game You could argue goal and one or two points of Dublin's were made easy by his mistakes Why did Harte put on O'Neill with Lee Breenan on the bench that last free miss was awful and O'Neill did nothing worth
On plus Morgan played really well and McCarthy was lucky the rebound came off him into the net and that Tyrone team have the beating of Dublin if Tyrone at full strength but in a series of matches like this that is too much to hope for.
Tyrone gave up the ball too easily and at least 5-6 wides were down to panic/ ill judged shots
Two dub points came from Dubs blocking defenders from challenging the shooter Kilkeny typical.
Tyrone have good claim for penalty because of Dublin 3rd man tackling/blocking too
10 wides 3-4 short fumbles and sloppy handling also lost it for Tyrone
And yet they came close I do not agree Dubs found this easy and Tyrone will learn so much from this
Now the question is holding Micheal Murphy and McHugh et al up in a real fortress Ballybofey not easy at all...."
.Tiernan McCann got away with the blackest of blackcards early in the first half. Small got a smack to the face. Both caught on camera, both teams were at the black arts , Dublin forward line had a mare , but at the end of the day the best team won !!and sorry have to disagree this Tyrone team have not the beating of this Dublin team .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 21/07/2018 23:15:17    2124455

My God but it's great to see the amount of excuses that exist in the small minds of these poor soda that cannot bear to see us win.
What a bunch of losers.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 21/07/2018 23:17:02    2124458

Mayo out, Kerry seemingly struggling to find form, Tyrone falling short. Galway? Maybe... just cant see anyone stopping Dublin this year either. Starting to get sick of it tbh.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 21/07/2018 23:17:02    2124459

Replying To Joxer:  "A lot of referee excuses as usual after Dublin win. Ref was biased again and "as usual" we are told. No mention of the lack of a black card for McCann of course but then that doesn't suit the agenda. Tyrone fought hard. They need an Andy Moran type sharp shooter it seems. Again Dublin were misfiring in the forwards but I think once the lads click up there seem team is going to get hit for six. The Rossies could be in for a hard time as Dublin look to refne their shooting. I think we had a couple of more gears had we needed to up it today but Tyrone are contenders although no easy task going to Ballybofey now having to win. I almost fancy Donegal to pip them after that moral boosting win today but it will be close."
Dublin are not misfiring in the forwards. They're just not as good as they were and those replacing Brogan and Connolly are not a patch on those two. Manion is a very ordinary forward - a big scorer against the weaker teams when Dublin run riot but extremely one dimensional. A hard worker and tackler but that's it. Flynn and Kevin Mc are not what they were either and there's no shame in that. Dublin s scores are coming from Rock frees and several of their superb backs. Allied with goals. And the idea that Dublin had another gear in them tonight is nonsense - all the momentum was with Tyrone at the end. But why shouldn't it be - Tyrone have had as much if not more underage success than Dublin in last 10 years and should never fear Dublin as they showed tonight. Also showed the freakish nature of last years semi final result. That said Dublin are still the team to beat. Their conditioning, speed, speed of transition play and defensive strength (save for maybe the high ball, but who's not susceptible to that) are all exceptional.

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 21/07/2018 23:24:29    2124467

Replying To westkerry:  "Now now Refs living in the capital can't be questioned."
Oh what a crawler you are. Only a couple of pints ago you were saying fair play and at least trying to hide your begrudging pettiness. Kiss some more ass after tomorrow will you.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 21/07/2018 23:25:45    2124469

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Tyrone will also feel very aggrieved at Goldrick's performance. He let an awful lot of Dublin stuff go and gave them a few handy fries. Why was a Leinster referee appointed to this game? That should not have happened."
Tiernan McCann got away with the blackest of blackcards early in the first half. Small got a smack to the face. Both caught on camera. amazingly you only see what you want to see

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 21/07/2018 23:26:13    2124470

Replying To essmac:  "Mayo out, Kerry seemingly struggling to find form, Tyrone falling short. Galway? Maybe... just cant see anyone stopping Dublin this year either. Starting to get sick of it tbh."
Iv been saying that since last September, take Dublin who are a province disguised as a county out of the championship and your left with 5/6 teams that are pretty equal and that could beat eachother on any given day.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/07/2018 23:32:40    2124471

Replying To DonegalAtlantic:  "Dublin are not misfiring in the forwards. They're just not as good as they were and those replacing Brogan and Connolly are not a patch on those two. Manion is a very ordinary forward - a big scorer against the weaker teams when Dublin run riot but extremely one dimensional. A hard worker and tackler but that's it. Flynn and Kevin Mc are not what they were either and there's no shame in that. Dublin s scores are coming from Rock frees and several of their superb backs. Allied with goals. And the idea that Dublin had another gear in them tonight is nonsense - all the momentum was with Tyrone at the end. But why shouldn't it be - Tyrone have had as much if not more underage success than Dublin in last 10 years and should never fear Dublin as they showed tonight. Also showed the freakish nature of last years semi final result. That said Dublin are still the team to beat. Their conditioning, speed, speed of transition play and defensive strength (save for maybe the high ball, but who's not susceptible to that) are all exceptional."
I agree with all of this. Thankfully Brogan hopes to be back for the Ros game!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 21/07/2018 23:34:36    2124472

Replying To kingpuck71:  "Tyrone maybe missed a trick here with poor decision making, poor shooting and bad team selection but Dublin have another gear in them as well. Tyrone's subs made a great impact when they came on. Not going to be easy for them to go into Donegal and get a result in 2 weeks time but should be a cracking match.
On a side note Ciaran Kilkenny is a fine footballer but in the course of the match tonight he did some bleating to everyone - Referee, linesmen, bench. Does he really need to be at it?"
I noticed that today too actually about Kilkenny.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 21/07/2018 23:39:20    2124475

Replying To DonegalAtlantic:  "Dublin are not misfiring in the forwards. They're just not as good as they were and those replacing Brogan and Connolly are not a patch on those two. Manion is a very ordinary forward - a big scorer against the weaker teams when Dublin run riot but extremely one dimensional. A hard worker and tackler but that's it. Flynn and Kevin Mc are not what they were either and there's no shame in that. Dublin s scores are coming from Rock frees and several of their superb backs. Allied with goals. And the idea that Dublin had another gear in them tonight is nonsense - all the momentum was with Tyrone at the end. But why shouldn't it be - Tyrone have had as much if not more underage success than Dublin in last 10 years and should never fear Dublin as they showed tonight. Also showed the freakish nature of last years semi final result. That said Dublin are still the team to beat. Their conditioning, speed, speed of transition play and defensive strength (save for maybe the high ball, but who's not susceptible to that) are all exceptional."
the nonsense is you believe what you wrote lol....

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 21/07/2018 23:40:18    2124476

Diarmuid Connolly is a huge loss for Dublin, nobody will stop them winning Sam again most likely this year but it would be a whole lot harder if Connolly was still there,
he's playing for Donegal Boston now, wonder could we claim him for Tir Chonaill next year?? he'd be some addition.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2733 - 21/07/2018 23:41:30    2124477

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Iv been saying that since last September, take Dublin who are a province disguised as a county out of the championship and your left with 5/6 teams that are pretty equal and that could beat eachother on any given day."
Kerry with there 37 all Irelands and 80 munster titles and domboy take Kerry out of the championship,
and what an equal championship we would have had ,where each could beat each other on any given day

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 21/07/2018 23:46:59    2124480