Tyrone V Dublin

Replying To endgame:  "I also think Tyrone mentally couldn't cope with the Dubs last August.That won't be a problem in Omagh.I expect this to be a close and hugely competitive game.Hard to bet against Dublin but I wouldn't be amazed if Tyrone won or if this match ends in a draw."
1. Why couldnt they cope mentally last August ?
2. Whats changed since ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/07/2018 10:58:41    2123967

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Tyrone were physically blown away last year by Dublin and I don't see how they could have improved so much in a year to beat them this time. Dublin by 5+."
The thing that most impressed me most last weekend about Dublin was their sheer physicality, general athleticism and speed. We all know they have good footballers but not sure everyone appreciates how well conditioned their team is. Donegal were getting slagged off for not pressing up on them in the last 10 minutes when Dublin played keep ball, the reality was that by that stage Donegal were out on their feet and couldn't get near them. In fairness to Tyrone they are probably the next best conditioned team in the country. If Tyrone can get a good start then it's game on.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 20/07/2018 11:24:13    2123974

Things change in football all the time. Kerry trash Dublin in 2009, Usual cries and punditry Dublin cant beat the big teams etc yet two years later they beat Kerry to win the All-Ireland. Tyrone were well beaten by Dublin last year but whether this affects Tyrone in the long run is yet to be established. Knowing the way Mickey Harte works I don't think it will. Tomorrow is a great occasion and looking forward to it. However it is slightly strange that neither teams season lives or dies on the outcome. Tyrone are improving thisseason the more games they play and if it comes down to beating Donegal next week for a place in the semi-finals I would take them to win.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 20/07/2018 11:35:16    2123981

for the last few years the media have blown Tyrone up so much, and then when they met Dublin they were blown out of the water, no where near as good as they were put out to be...they do appear to have a bit of grit about them this year and are scoring freely, this will test Dublin, hopefully it will be a cracking game, nice to see Tryone win for a change, hope Dublin dont win by 11/12 points as in other years..nice to see one team really challenge them this year..

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 20/07/2018 17:49:51    2124072

I've generally been impressed with how we have moved on from the defeat by Monaghan, each game has given us a new emphasis and by rights Meath should have beaten us for sure. As for Saturday, Dublin still look as strong and slick as ever without really getting out of second gear so far. Last years schooling was a kick up the ass for sure and begs the question, have we really improved since to the point that we can seriously challenge Dublin, I'm thinking no, you only have to look at the strength of the respective benches to see why. I do think that we will give them a tougher game that 2017, but I still expect Dublin to win by 4.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 20/07/2018 18:52:21    2124088

Replying To Byanthon:  "Things change in football all the time. Kerry trash Dublin in 2009, Usual cries and punditry Dublin cant beat the big teams etc yet two years later they beat Kerry to win the All-Ireland. Tyrone were well beaten by Dublin last year but whether this affects Tyrone in the long run is yet to be established. Knowing the way Mickey Harte works I don't think it will. Tomorrow is a great occasion and looking forward to it. However it is slightly strange that neither teams season lives or dies on the outcome. Tyrone are improving thisseason the more games they play and if it comes down to beating Donegal next week for a place in the semi-finals I would take them to win."
This might sound a strange question but do you think that Tyrone have improved since Séan Cavanagh retired rather than regressed as some had predicted? I thought they'd suffer without him as they were so dependant on him but it seems that the rest of that squad now play better as a team together?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 20/07/2018 18:59:32    2124091

Replying To waynoI:  "Me.

I dont think theyre very good."
That's grand just looking forward to Saturday in omagh

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 20/07/2018 19:09:35    2124094

Replying To waynoI:  "1. Why couldnt they cope mentally last August ?
2. Whats changed since ?"
Tyrone lost that match last August by 12 points.Dublin are not 12 points a better team than Tyrone.Mayo were within one point of Dublin.I do think the hype leading up to last year's Semi Final got to Tyrone and when Dublin got their first goal,Tyrone seemed to lose their nerve and the result was never in doubt after that.Tyrone are a year more mature now and the game is on in Omagh.I do expect Tyrone to test Dublin Saturday evening.It's a match I'm really looking forward to,

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 20/07/2018 20:01:11    2124121

Replying To Jackeen:  "Will they grow their beards for this one do you think?"
Is there a big travelling support from Dublin expected?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 20/07/2018 20:01:46    2124122

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "we might respect them but we certainly don't fear them...anything but!..mickey has called for us supporters to do our job and we won't be found wanting..the dubs won't have encountered anything like this, and once we get our foot on their neck, we won't take it off...c'mon tyrone!!"
Might be hard to do that job if you're outnumbered by Dubs or 50-50 at least ;) xx

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 20/07/2018 20:24:51    2124128

Replying To brendtheredhand:  "I've generally been impressed with how we have moved on from the defeat by Monaghan, each game has given us a new emphasis and by rights Meath should have beaten us for sure. As for Saturday, Dublin still look as strong and slick as ever without really getting out of second gear so far. Last years schooling was a kick up the ass for sure and begs the question, have we really improved since to the point that we can seriously challenge Dublin, I'm thinking no, you only have to look at the strength of the respective benches to see why. I do think that we will give them a tougher game that 2017, but I still expect Dublin to win by 4."
I think you have got the last sentence wrong. It will be closer than 4 points.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 20/07/2018 20:40:31    2124131

Have ye seen who the ref is? Hope just saddled up and left town. We'll get nothing off that particular Leinster man. Let's hope Tyrone can prevent the scoreboard from being too embarrassing.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 20/07/2018 21:51:59    2124154

Replying To waynoI:  "State of this !!

"We certainly dont fear them" .. Where you under a rock last summer when you lot where telling us you where preparing for the dubs for 10 months ? We scored a goal after 5 minutes and you sat back and watched us pass the ball around and take the **** out of you and your whole system and managers philosophy to the point where you LITERALLY didnt lay a hand on us and we ole'd midway through the first half

And what wont we have encountered before ? Playing in a ground that has a majority of Dublin fans, playing against a team who will set up purposely to get the whole population of the county behind the ball, and watch Dublin beat that system cause theyve figured it out since their defeat to Donegal in 2014. Yea......We encounter that every time we play.

Bricking it about going up there tomorrow evening.........................EHHHHHH NOT."
Ye might want to have a wee bit of humility Wayno. All these things are cyclical and nobody stays on top forever. I believe you'll be given a good test
On Saturday evening and if we can stay in it long enough then I believe we have a team that can win the game too. Much can change in a year. Tyrone were put out by Sligo in 2002 and came back the following year to win everything. Let's just hope for a good fair game.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 21/07/2018 04:01:55    2124197

Replying To ta32:  "That's grand just looking forward to Saturday in omagh"
Nothing against you or any Tyrone people.

I could end up with egg on my face.

Im just not convinced. Tyrone have had a handy enough path to this game since their defeat against Monaghan. Not their fault of course.

Still think itll take a bit more than narrowing a pitch to beat us and if you do, then fair play.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 21/07/2018 06:46:09    2124199

Replying To Byanthon:  "I thought Tyrone played well against Dublin in Omagh in the first half of this years league game. Tyrone have come on leaps and bounds over the past five games and in my opinion are peaking nicely for the major part of the season. I wonder how Kerry for instance would have fared last weekend if they had played four games in the back door previous to the game with Galway. If Kerry and Mayo are unable to put it up to Dublin maybe Tyrone and Galway will be the teams to take them on."
And to me this is the key question. Which team will really put it up to Dublin dominance from here on. After last Sunday jury out on Kerry although you can be sure Clones aside tomorrow they will turn it around in the coming years. Tyrone to me are in a good place. Good momentum and still question marks. If a curve keeps going north it generally ends with success. This match looks 50 50 with all the sub plots.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 21/07/2018 11:30:36    2124232

OMG . you could not see a clearer black card than the tackle by Tiernan McCann on McMahon. Incredibly ref just ticks him. bizzarre. why are refs so inconsistent

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 21/07/2018 19:11:58    2124341

Tyrone are very lightweight up front and are being turned over with ease. Dublin will win this at a canter.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 21/07/2018 19:23:56    2124348

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Tyrone are very lightweight up front and are being turned over with ease. Dublin will win this at a canter."
I hope it turns out like you're last prediction Ulsterman. Lol

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 21/07/2018 19:45:20    2124353

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Tyrone are very lightweight up front and are being turned over with ease. Dublin will win this at a canter."
100% agree haven't had the forwards for 5 or 6 years now. What would we give for a mulligan or an O Neil in there today

bigboon (Tyrone) - Posts: 50 - 21/07/2018 19:47:23    2124354

Replying To bigboon:  "100% agree haven't had the forwards for 5 or 6 years now. What would we give for a mulligan or an O Neil in there today"
dont agree. youse have some great forwards. only 2 points in it. Dublin getting nothing easy. she'll be tight.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 21/07/2018 19:57:22    2124356