Dublin Vs Donegal

Replying To The_Fridge:  "I would safely say your opinion will change if he loses 3 games in the super 8's and doesn't get promoted from a poor div 2. It will get out Declan etc and "I told you so". Get Jim back in there."
What an odd post. I don't think any Donegal fan would want Declan out after one year in charge, regardless of how things go from here on out. We're Ulster champions ffs.

You seem obsessed with telling us how we think which is very strange in all honesty. Good luck against Cork.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 03/07/2018 11:27:46    2118042

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Being Ulster Champions after not just beating but blowing every team they met away & being 4th in the betting for Sam qualifies Donegal for the top table unless you are talking about a very small table!

As for your contention that no Donegal supporters trust Declan, well that is a mystery. Yes, we might well have had questions about some of his management decisions in the past, but believe me he is doing just fine by us at the moment.

Of course a few defeats could change things, that is the way of things & I'd say that Mickey Harte & Stephen Rochford could tell a few stories about that.

Listen fridge, you have more than enough to be worrying about with the way Tyrone are playing at the moment, Donegal are just fine & will be better."
Always get your wee dig in about Mickey and Tyrone, but don't worry he's doing fine and rest assured we'll be better too!

Dergforeeva (Tyrone) - Posts: 90 - 03/07/2018 12:02:15    2118060

Replying To The_Fridge:  "I would safely say your opinion will change if he loses 3 games in the super 8's and doesn't get promoted from a poor div 2. It will get out Declan etc and "I told you so". Get Jim back in there."
Eh no absolutely not. As far as I am concerned Donegal are in bonus territory now especially where we came from last year. In Paddy McB we have lost a huge player for us and how we play. The fixture list in the Super 8 is a joke where it seems to benefit provincial losers more than the Ulster champions. If we lose 3 games but gone down fighting I will be more than satisfied with how the season went. My aspirations at the start of the year were a possible Ulster final and maybe making the super 8's. We not only achieved but also have the bonus of an Ulster title. There was also a very enjoyable night in the Athletic grounds back in the winter too lifting the McKenna Cup. Sacrificing our Division 1 status I could live with given all the young players were getting experience. As for Division 2 next year shall worry about that next year.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 03/07/2018 12:49:45    2118073

Replying To panamasam:  "Eh no absolutely not. As far as I am concerned Donegal are in bonus territory now especially where we came from last year. In Paddy McB we have lost a huge player for us and how we play. The fixture list in the Super 8 is a joke where it seems to benefit provincial losers more than the Ulster champions. If we lose 3 games but gone down fighting I will be more than satisfied with how the season went. My aspirations at the start of the year were a possible Ulster final and maybe making the super 8's. We not only achieved but also have the bonus of an Ulster title. There was also a very enjoyable night in the Athletic grounds back in the winter too lifting the McKenna Cup. Sacrificing our Division 1 status I could live with given all the young players were getting experience. As for Division 2 next year shall worry about that next year."
Donegal are too good for Div 2 and will cake walk it next year mark my words. Lot of boys giving out about the Super 8s not being a benefit to the provincial champions but it is what it is, and the back door has always been like that. Often the provincial winners have been a sitting duck and never got a chance to redeem themselves if beaten, so for me the Super 8s have at least been good in that sense. If I was a player I wouldn't care where it was played and if I could play it in Croker all the time so be it.

Dergforeeva (Tyrone) - Posts: 90 - 03/07/2018 13:04:37    2118076

I would be absolutely shocked if Declan Bonner is under any pressure after winning the Ulster title. Look a few bad defeats and any manager is under pressure, that is part and parcel of football these days. People have to remember how bad we actually were last year, beaten at half time by both Tyrone and Galway in the championship. The improvement in championship performance from last year had been great and we are also playing football which is more pleasing on the eye.

Back on to the topic of this post, I see Bonner had been speaking to the local media about the unfairness of this game being fixed for Croke Park. It seems the match venue isn't actually set in stone yet. To be honest I feel it would do the younger Donegal lads good to play in Croke Park.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 03/07/2018 13:22:20    2118081

Replying To Green_Gold:  "I would be absolutely shocked if Declan Bonner is under any pressure after winning the Ulster title. Look a few bad defeats and any manager is under pressure, that is part and parcel of football these days. People have to remember how bad we actually were last year, beaten at half time by both Tyrone and Galway in the championship. The improvement in championship performance from last year had been great and we are also playing football which is more pleasing on the eye.

Back on to the topic of this post, I see Bonner had been speaking to the local media about the unfairness of this game being fixed for Croke Park. It seems the match venue isn't actually set in stone yet. To be honest I feel it would do the younger Donegal lads good to play in Croke Park."
This game will be played in Croke Park & Donegal will not mind that but it is no harm to make a bit of noise so that changes are made for next year.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/07/2018 14:30:15    2118098

Replying To Green_Gold:  "I would be absolutely shocked if Declan Bonner is under any pressure after winning the Ulster title. Look a few bad defeats and any manager is under pressure, that is part and parcel of football these days. People have to remember how bad we actually were last year, beaten at half time by both Tyrone and Galway in the championship. The improvement in championship performance from last year had been great and we are also playing football which is more pleasing on the eye.

Back on to the topic of this post, I see Bonner had been speaking to the local media about the unfairness of this game being fixed for Croke Park. It seems the match venue isn't actually set in stone yet. To be honest I feel it would do the younger Donegal lads good to play in Croke Park."
Bonner coming out strongly today about the fixture. This would be Bonner talking for the whole county squad not his own personal opinion. I'm damn sure the squad have met on this and I've no doubt murphy and the boys will have let there feelings known at meetings. It's great to play in Croke Park but when you put in a huge effort all year you want a level playing field. In all probability Dublin will beat us wherever the game is played but that's neither here nor there. Fixture not set in stone yet.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 03/07/2018 14:39:07    2118101

Replying To rorysboys:  "Bonner coming out strongly today about the fixture. This would be Bonner talking for the whole county squad not his own personal opinion. I'm damn sure the squad have met on this and I've no doubt murphy and the boys will have let there feelings known at meetings. It's great to play in Croke Park but when you put in a huge effort all year you want a level playing field. In all probability Dublin will beat us wherever the game is played but that's neither here nor there. Fixture not set in stone yet."
I would think these fixtures are set in stone, the round 3 matches were completely different as are the round 4 matches. Everyone was aware of the super 8s and where games where going to be played etc. I think they should play all the super 8 games in Croke Park where possible. I believe it would suit teams, as it would bring them on even more playing in that environment, and arguably help them end Dublin's dominance as in doing so it would only help you become a better team the more times you play in it. Donegal should and are probably thinking Croke Park? No better place to go and beat the Dubs! Bring it on!

Dergforeeva (Tyrone) - Posts: 90 - 03/07/2018 15:23:25    2118115

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Being Ulster Champions after not just beating but blowing every team they met away & being 4th in the betting for Sam qualifies Donegal for the top table unless you are talking about a very small table!

As for your contention that no Donegal supporters trust Declan, well that is a mystery. Yes, we might well have had questions about some of his management decisions in the past, but believe me he is doing just fine by us at the moment.

Of course a few defeats could change things, that is the way of things & I'd say that Mickey Harte & Stephen Rochford could tell a few stories about that.

Listen fridge, you have more than enough to be worrying about with the way Tyrone are playing at the moment, Donegal are just fine & will be better."
Sorry Muck. I'm going to repeat myself. What has Tyrone got to do with a discussion about Donegal vs Dublin.
Anyway I actually agree with much of you say.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 03/07/2018 15:48:36    2118123

Bonner, like many of the top managers, tends to have a little moan in the build up to games to highlight how he feels that Donegal are being badly treated. Before the Ulster final he talked about refs not giving R. McHugh enough protection and it paid off with the Fermanagh corner back getting a black card for not giving up his ground to McHugh as Donegal prepared to take a free. Most managers are doing it in the hope that the ref or, in this case those who make the fixtures will pay some heed to it.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 03/07/2018 16:09:41    2118131

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Sorry Muck. I'm going to repeat myself. What has Tyrone got to do with a discussion about Donegal vs Dublin.
Anyway I actually agree with much of you say."
You know how it is fridge, no point having a joust with a fella if you can't throw a shot or two across his bow.

HS would indeed be a quiet & boring place if everyone stayed on point all the time.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/07/2018 16:19:37    2118137

Saturday 7pm throw in, 5 would've been ideal but oh well rather that than the Sunday

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 217 - 03/07/2018 16:28:37    2118141

Replying To neverright:  "Bonner, like many of the top managers, tends to have a little moan in the build up to games to highlight how he feels that Donegal are being badly treated. Before the Ulster final he talked about refs not giving R. McHugh enough protection and it paid off with the Fermanagh corner back getting a black card for not giving up his ground to McHugh as Donegal prepared to take a free. Most managers are doing it in the hope that the ref or, in this case those who make the fixtures will pay some heed to it."
In the case of Ryan McHugh that should have been done a long long time ago. He is persistently one of the most targeted players in the game and has gotten some brutal treatment off the ball on many occasions. He said something that should have been highlighted long before that.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 03/07/2018 16:37:10    2118143

Replying To joeteor:  "Saturday 7pm throw in, 5 would've been ideal but oh well rather that than the Sunday"
7.00 in the evening ffs. It will be 2.00 in the morning before we get home!

So it goes on.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/07/2018 16:50:45    2118148

Replying To Dergforeeva:  "Donegal are too good for Div 2 and will cake walk it next year mark my words. Lot of boys giving out about the Super 8s not being a benefit to the provincial champions but it is what it is, and the back door has always been like that. Often the provincial winners have been a sitting duck and never got a chance to redeem themselves if beaten, so for me the Super 8s have at least been good in that sense. If I was a player I wouldn't care where it was played and if I could play it in Croker all the time so be it."
I would be surprised if we do not get out of Division 2 myself but I don't see many of our more experienced players playing much of a part in it so it will be down to alot of our younger players. I hope Donegal play Dublin in Croker for the experience it will bring to the younger lads but there is no doubt looking forward that in the interests of fair play there should not be a situation where one team gets an advantage over everybody else.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 03/07/2018 16:59:17    2118150

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "7.00 in the evening ffs. It will be 2.00 in the morning before we get home!

So it goes on."
I agree, its a joke and with no consideration for Donegal fans whatsoever.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 03/07/2018 18:42:18    2118174

Replying To panamasam:  "I would be surprised if we do not get out of Division 2 myself but I don't see many of our more experienced players playing much of a part in it so it will be down to alot of our younger players. I hope Donegal play Dublin in Croker for the experience it will bring to the younger lads but there is no doubt looking forward that in the interests of fair play there should not be a situation where one team gets an advantage over everybody else."
You should walk div 2. You are been a cute hoor there. Cavan made it up, you hammered Cavan. Div 2 is very poor. Massive difference between the two divisions and you know it.
Cake walk and you know it

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 03/07/2018 19:54:12    2118190

Replying To realdub:  "I agree, its a joke and with no consideration for Donegal fans whatsoever."
It is shocking to be fair.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 03/07/2018 19:55:02    2118191

Replying To The_Fridge:  "You should walk div 2. You are been a cute hoor there. Cavan made it up, you hammered Cavan. Div 2 is very poor. Massive difference between the two divisions and you know it.
Cake walk and you know it"
How am I being a cute hoor sure I said we should get out of the division no? The team will be largely made up of young players in next years league which is a leveler. Yes the division was weak this year but not to say it will be next year. If we had all our main men out from the start we would get out easily I am sure but that won't be the case. However I will be disappointed if we do not get out of it.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 03/07/2018 20:57:35    2118205

Donegal are now looking for game to be moved out of Croke Park.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 03/07/2018 21:23:50    2118211