Dublin Vs Donegal

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Mayo have been just behind Dublin last 2 years, the only team to test them. And Tyrone got absolutely destroyed by Dublin yet you say there was no difference between the 2. I loved the Tyrone teams of the noughties but some of their supporters seem to rate them a lot higher than everybody else."
Mayo ended up with the same as us, no All-Ireland, beat by a point or twenty no different still same result

Dergforeeva (Tyrone) - Posts: 90 - 26/06/2018 22:38:11    2115655

Replying To Dergforeeva:  "Nothing wrong with our forwards in the semi-final last year or indeed in Healy park during the league as far as I remember"
The league? Lol. Anyway, think you lads needed a win or two against us in Ulster after losing to us in Ulster every year for 4/5 years.

Look, your friend came on here dismissing Donegal so we just rightly reminded him that Tyrone are no great shakes. Not enough to be talking about themselves as more of a top team than ourselves, who are Ulster champions.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 27/06/2018 06:33:53    2115702

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "a team capable of dining at the top table should not be relying on one player. Donegal's loss is immense because they are not at the top table, unlike other counties such as my own.

All the best in recovery though, Donegal got a handy Ulster this year and that's not a bad year for them."
You're right. We did get a handy Ulster this year... What does that say about Tyrone or Monaghan? We were well ahead of all challengers. Done from the preliminary round as well : )

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 27/06/2018 06:39:53    2115703

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Jesus Lockjaw would you ever feck off!"
Obviously my post was tongue in cheek.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9108 - 27/06/2018 09:05:05    2115717

Replying To Dergforeeva:  "Mayo ended up with the same as us, no All-Ireland, beat by a point or twenty no different still same result"
Great logic there, all teams are equal bar the winners. Well done.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 27/06/2018 09:35:14    2115728

Why is anyone biting on the Tyrone lads comments? Pretty obvious what they're at.

Everyone in Donegal could see the talent in the county and were very frustrated by the past couple of years, our biggest concern this year was what would Declan bring to the table and would the young lads be able to make the step up. They played well in the league and didn't get the returns for it, but championship is a different beast. We are Ulster champions and everyone would've bit your hand off for that at the start of the year, so everything from now on is a bonus. It's important to keep in mind that nobody laid a hand on us in Ulster, Derry probably giving us the toughest game. Playing against the best in the country will bring the young lads on even more so we're excited to see what they can do. They'll be challenged a lot more defensively which is the big worry but I think we can hurt any team going the other way, so that's what has us excited.

Tyrone beat us out the gate last year and we threw away the Ulster title from 4 points up in 2016 which still stings. They're coming through the qualifiers well now and will be dangerous for whoever faces them when they get to the Super 8s. But that's got nothing to do with Dublin v Donegal.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 27/06/2018 10:43:02    2115789

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Why is anyone biting on the Tyrone lads comments? Pretty obvious what they're at.

Everyone in Donegal could see the talent in the county and were very frustrated by the past couple of years, our biggest concern this year was what would Declan bring to the table and would the young lads be able to make the step up. They played well in the league and didn't get the returns for it, but championship is a different beast. We are Ulster champions and everyone would've bit your hand off for that at the start of the year, so everything from now on is a bonus. It's important to keep in mind that nobody laid a hand on us in Ulster, Derry probably giving us the toughest game. Playing against the best in the country will bring the young lads on even more so we're excited to see what they can do. They'll be challenged a lot more defensively which is the big worry but I think we can hurt any team going the other way, so that's what has us excited.

Tyrone beat us out the gate last year and we threw away the Ulster title from 4 points up in 2016 which still stings. They're coming through the qualifiers well now and will be dangerous for whoever faces them when they get to the Super 8s. But that's got nothing to do with Dublin v Donegal."
100% Joesoap, I'm not giving out about Donegal atall or looking to get a reaction from anyone. I'm saying Donegal are much better than what some of their supporters try to downplay all the time, and there's not a kick of the ball between Tyrone/Donegal/Monaghan, all good sides capable of putting it up and beating anyone on their day. Donegal are well able to beat Dublin, although it's a much tougher ask with Mc Brearty out

Dergforeeva (Tyrone) - Posts: 90 - 27/06/2018 11:19:31    2115816

Replying To Dergforeeva:  "100% Joesoap, I'm not giving out about Donegal atall or looking to get a reaction from anyone. I'm saying Donegal are much better than what some of their supporters try to downplay all the time, and there's not a kick of the ball between Tyrone/Donegal/Monaghan, all good sides capable of putting it up and beating anyone on their day. Donegal are well able to beat Dublin, although it's a much tougher ask with Mc Brearty out"
I think the pessimism from some supporters is warranted. We know we have good players and good young players coming through but without been truly tested as a team. There is previous with some of our much lauded underage sides getting found out when out of the province. We should know more after the Super 8's but unfortunately without the irreplaceable Paddy McB.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 27/06/2018 12:35:09    2115905

Jim Mc trying to stir the sh*te I see.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 27/06/2018 12:45:54    2115913

Donegal is a great place for fishing during this warm spell of weather :)

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 27/06/2018 12:51:17    2115922

Any word on what day is the game played. A lot of donegal people might book in overnight but unless we know what day we can't really book.. I know a few fans who live in England who are coming over but as of yet can't make any plans. Does anybody know why the delay in confirming date.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2389 - 27/06/2018 14:08:15    2115979

Dublin would/will annihilate Donegal with or with McBrearty (who hasn't been in the greatest form this season). Just my opinion.
I feel people are getting far far too carried away with Donegal. They were relegated from the league playing teams at their level. Yes they were trying things, new manager etc but when they played div 1 teams they were beat and beat well. They played ok against Dublin in the league however Dublin were literally in 2nd gear.
Their Ulster campaign has the same feel of Tyrone's. beat a poor Cavan, Derry and Fermanagh teams. You couldn't write a better campaign. Come up against a good team, blown out of the water.
If you look at some of the match ups McGrath vs Mannion. McGraths legs are gone against top level opponents.
McLoone vs Fenton/McCuley. No need to talk about this. Only one winner.
McGee vs O'Callaghan. See Paddy McGrath opinion.
Now you may get away with this with a two sweepers but against Dublin in Croke Park, only one winner.
Now that's if Dublin go at it obviously, if Dublin play poorly, which they don't do, Sonegal might be in with a shout.
On the plus side Murphy playing well and Patton looks like a good keeper. Also I feel you probably could go though in second place.
On another note, sorry about this Donegal fans, I can't stand Declan Bonner, he strikes me as quite arrogant. Does anyone else get this?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 27/06/2018 16:04:41    2116035

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Dublin would/will annihilate Donegal with or with McBrearty (who hasn't been in the greatest form this season). Just my opinion.
I feel people are getting far far too carried away with Donegal. They were relegated from the league playing teams at their level. Yes they were trying things, new manager etc but when they played div 1 teams they were beat and beat well. They played ok against Dublin in the league however Dublin were literally in 2nd gear.
Their Ulster campaign has the same feel of Tyrone's. beat a poor Cavan, Derry and Fermanagh teams. You couldn't write a better campaign. Come up against a good team, blown out of the water.
If you look at some of the match ups McGrath vs Mannion. McGraths legs are gone against top level opponents.
Now you may get away with this with a two sweepers but against Dublin in Croke Park, only one winner.
Now that's if Dublin go at it obviously, if Dublin play poorly, which they don't do, Sonegal might be in with a shout.
On the plus side Murphy playing well and Patton looks like a good keeper. Also I feel you probably could go though in second place.
On another note, sorry about this Donegal fans, I can't stand Declan Bonner, he strikes me as quite arrogant. Does anyone else get this?"
Well I think you're wrong :)

Special K (Louth) - Posts: 114 - 27/06/2018 16:12:24    2116037

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Dublin would/will annihilate Donegal with or with McBrearty (who hasn't been in the greatest form this season). Just my opinion.
On another note, sorry about this Donegal fans, I can't stand Declan Bonner, he strikes me as quite arrogant. Does anyone else get this?"
McBrearty not in good form?!? What planet are you on? He has without doubt been the outstanding inside forward in the country in 2018. I'm sorry but after that opening statement I didn't even read the rest of your post.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9108 - 27/06/2018 16:29:38    2116053

Rarely have I read a post that manages to get so many things wrong.

In fact I am going to give you the benefit of the doubt & say this is a wind up.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 27/06/2018 16:44:43    2116058

Replying To Lockjaw:  "McBrearty not in good form?!? What planet are you on? He has without doubt been the outstanding inside forward in the country in 2018. I'm sorry but after that opening statement I didn't even read the rest of your post."
He's not playing outstanding football. Against Fermanagh(Div 3) he scored 1 maybe? Against Cavan he scored a few in garage time when the game was over. Derry (div 4) I cant remember what he scored but if he didn't score 2-6 he should be disappointed. McHugh and Murphy are the form players.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 27/06/2018 16:49:08    2116059

Replying To The_Fridge:  "He's not playing outstanding football. Against Fermanagh(Div 3) he scored 1 maybe? Against Cavan he scored a few in garage time when the game was over. Derry (div 4) I cant remember what he scored but if he didn't score 2-6 he should be disappointed. McHugh and Murphy are the form players."
The Tyrone lads are on a serious mission to wind up Donegal posters the last 24 hours. And fair play to you, plenty of us have taken the bait!

I don't believe for a second you are being serious about McBrearty.

You had plenty of valid points earlier re Fenton and double sweepers. And in fairness anyone who marks Mannion looks as if their legs have gone. But your opinion Mcbrearty is just plain wrong.

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 520 - 27/06/2018 17:12:57    2116067

Replying To The_Fridge:  "He's not playing outstanding football. Against Fermanagh(Div 3) he scored 1 maybe? Against Cavan he scored a few in garage time when the game was over. Derry (div 4) I cant remember what he scored but if he didn't score 2-6 he should be disappointed. McHugh and Murphy are the form players."
Give it up lad you don't know what ur talking about. Paddy McBrearty has not only been excellent this year but was the only beacon of light from last years championship too. Without question one of the best players in the country throughout the league and has been excellent in the championship. Name a better left footed inside forward in the country? You will struggle.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 27/06/2018 17:13:08    2116068

Replying To Lockjaw:  "McBrearty not in good form?!? What planet are you on? He has without doubt been the outstanding inside forward in the country in 2018. I'm sorry but after that opening statement I didn't even read the rest of your post."
Don't feed the troll Lockjaw, Tyrone football is in disarray, they will get dumped out again as soon as they meet a team from the top table, if ever I saw such a bunch of mediocre players being hyped up it's this present Tyrone bunch, living on the shoulders and achievements of past teams, Mickey is a great manager, but you can't make a silk purse out of a pigs ear.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2737 - 27/06/2018 19:00:40    2116102

Not a wind up lads. Do you honestly think you can beat Dublin with or without McBrearty?
I feel I made valid enough points. You haven't played anyone if you are honest. Div 3-4 teams and when you played Div 1 teams you were beat and beat well. It's the same as Tyrone last year. Hype train comes along after playing poor teams, come up against an unstoppable Dublin side, whipped. I have so much respect for Donegal, most of my posts will prove this.
Full back line will get roasted without players in front of them. If you play players in front of them it will blunt your attack. And let me tell you, Declan Bonner is no Jim McGuiness.
I fully expect you to get to the semis and I was positive about other players.
McBrearty, I don't feel, is shooting the lights out this year like other years. Maybe he was carrying a knock before the awful injury (hope he comes back stronger) but he was certainly more potent in previous years. I would have him first on my team sheet obviously but just feel he hasn't been as good as previous years.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 27/06/2018 19:23:44    2116111