Dublin Vs Donegal

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Now that the controversy about the format of the Super 8's is over we can now concentrate on the game itself.

I remember posting before the 2014 semifinal that it was a game that Dublin could win by 15 points or Donegal could win by 6. Dublin Donegal games are a bit like that with Donegal having quite a good championship record against Dublin & even league games are usually quite competitive.

Donegal are in real bonus territory here & are playing a lovely brand of football but they are a bit like Dublin in 2014 in that defensively they are wide open & nowhere near the standards there of other top teams Dublin & Kerry especially. The loss of Patrick is also huge, not only as a scoring forward but more so as a target forward who is an excellent ball winner. Donegal also have a large number of players who are very inexperienced at this level & a manager in his first year.

And yet, and yet......... I believe there is a big performance in this hugely talented Donegal team who have no pressure on them at all. Croke Park will suit them down to the ground, they have had three weeks to plan without Patrick & the sideline has some very talented operators with JMcG also whispering his tuppence worth.

I still fancy Dublin to win with something to spare but am really looking forward to seeing how Donegal fare."
This will be a real test of Bonnar's management ability.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 05/07/2018 20:02:15    2118922

If nothing else was disappointed the time of the game wasn't changed earlier today, feel for those doing the round trip on the same day.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/07/2018 20:20:08    2118927

I'm expecting Donegal to have a serious cut off us

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 05/07/2018 20:55:16    2118933

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "The meeting was held in Coppers as far as I know & we are long past Mariettas in Donegal. Chocolate HobNobs were the order of the day or we weren't going to Croke Park.

What do we want?
Chocolate HobNobs.
When do we want them?
Now!!!"
HobNobs is it now.
Big shots eh !
Honestly don't see the whole point of it though other than a pr exercise.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 05/07/2018 20:57:58    2118935

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "HobNobs is it now.
Big shots eh !
Honestly don't see the whole point of it though other than a pr exercise."
I don't disagree with you in that I thought the Donegal contingent would have been left sitting outside the door for an hour, gotten tea & HobNobs & told to feck off home.

I didn't expect for one moment that HQ is so spooked at the moment that they would announce a full review of the Super 8's & them inviting submissions from all counties. They stopped just short of asking Arlene what she thought!

Changing times at Croke Park.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/07/2018 21:32:45    2118945

This article made me laugh, seems the Dublin county board complained last year when their hurlers had to play Tipp in Semple Stadium. At least the Donegal county board aren't the only whingers out there ha ha.

https://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/dublin-chairman-left-with-egg-on-face-over-explosive-quote-about-neutral-venues-167076

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 05/07/2018 21:46:32    2118950

Replying To Green_Gold:  "This article made me laugh, seems the Dublin county board complained last year when their hurlers had to play Tipp in Semple Stadium. At least the Donegal county board aren't the only whingers out there ha ha.

https://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/dublin-chairman-left-with-egg-on-face-over-explosive-quote-about-neutral-venues-167076"
That game was down to be played at a 'Neutral venue. Dublin/Donegal was always down to played in CP.

Not the same scenario

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 05/07/2018 22:04:31    2118957

Disgraceful decisions by the GAA & CCCC, firstly expecting Donegal fans to travel home from Dublin at 9pm at night after the game on Saturday night, ZERO RESPECT for young families travelling down & back to Donegal, the GAA & CCCC should be ashamed of themselves. Secondly the point raised by Donegal is apt to all counties as the All Ireland race is not a level playing field for all as Dublin are at a distinct advantage in having two home games in Croke Park. People are tiring of the whole imbalance in funding, Dublin having the same dressing room, warm up end at Croke Park etc. They didn't set the Dublin/Donegal game for Sunday to clash with the world cup final, we all know why. The President is a Dub, the GPA ceo is a Dub, the DG is a Dub club man, I wouldn't be surprised to hear a certain ref to be match referee for the All Ireland final. People have lost all faith in the GAA leadership, its a Ballymagash type leadership with makey up rules who have allowed one county have a clear advantage at all levels & despite the Newbridgegate backlash from the public just haven't learnt anything at all.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 05/07/2018 22:11:09    2118964

The issue of Croke Park being the venue is now done & dusted, the verdict is in & we should now concentrate on the game. Things will hopefully be different next year but for now the status quo prevails.

This new Donegal team won't mind playing in Croke Park in the slightest & the surface will suit their fast style. We are in bonus territory & short of a real tanking it will only benefit both players & manager to play the best.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/07/2018 22:17:16    2118969

Replying To witnof:  "That game was down to be played at a 'Neutral venue. Dublin/Donegal was always down to played in CP.

Not the same scenario"
Ha Ha maybe so but just is not fair. I'd say everybody will be paying close attention to the congress this year when it is discussed. If I heard correctly on the sports news today and team can nominate Croke Park as their home venue. I think its fair to say nobody cares about these things until it effects their team. Time to move on and concentrate on the game.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 05/07/2018 22:28:01    2118973

Replying To Green_Gold:  "This article made me laugh, seems the Dublin county board complained last year when their hurlers had to play Tipp in Semple Stadium. At least the Donegal county board aren't the only whingers out there ha ha.

https://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/dublin-chairman-left-with-egg-on-face-over-explosive-quote-about-neutral-venues-167076"
The difference beng that there is no mention of "neutral venues" in the rules for the super 8s. It's always been home, away and CP for every team. Also Donegal and all have known about this for 18 months almost. Why raise it two weeks before they are due to play Dublin? Very strange.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 05/07/2018 22:47:14    2118976

Replying To realdub:  "I'm expecting Donegal to have a serious cut off us"
Honestly thinks the whole affair is a farce on the County Boards side and the congress approval of it in the first place but I don't think the players are peeved. Wouldn't expect thick Donegal heads head hunting feeling an aggrievance next Saturday.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 214 - 05/07/2018 23:12:32    2118982

Replying To Joxer:  "The difference beng that there is no mention of "neutral venues" in the rules for the super 8s. It's always been home, away and CP for every team. Also Donegal and all have known about this for 18 months almost. Why raise it two weeks before they are due to play Dublin? Very strange."
Very simple boxer. Cian O'Neill has shown us all that we don't have to put up with this nonsense any more & fair play to him.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 06/07/2018 07:44:17    2119007

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Very simple boxer. Cian O'Neill has shown us all that we don't have to put up with this nonsense any more & fair play to him."
But why did it take him, Jimmy's winning matches and McHugh 18 months to realise that it's nonsense and days before an encounter with the intended target of the "favouritism" tag? I think we all know the answer. Jimmy's pulling strings, ably abetted by McHugh in an attempt to disrupt the champs. Yerra ye're becoming like the yella bellies for cute hoorism. I think next year there should be no such thing as CP matches in the super 8s but rather an agreed neutral venue convenient for the participating counties.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 06/07/2018 08:52:13    2119024

Replying To joeteor:  "Honestly thinks the whole affair is a farce on the County Boards side and the congress approval of it in the first place but I don't think the players are peeved. Wouldn't expect thick Donegal heads head hunting feeling an aggrievance next Saturday."
The timing was probably down to the fact that until your own team is effected players and management aren't going to waste their time about it. As I already said in a previous post before yesterdays outcome Donegal were never expecting the game to be played anywhere but Croke Park. You only have to watch an interview Michael Murphy gave to OTB on wednesday morning for proof of this. Donegal, being the first team on the wrong end of the super 8 fixture layout, wanted to highlight this to the GAA so going forward it can be rectified. I have no doubt it will be changed for 2019.

As a few posters have already said, I think it's time we moved onto to the game itself. I would tend to agree with a few other Donegal posters, croke park should suit our style of play and the pace we have but missing McBrearty will take a lot away from us and others will have to change the roles they have played so far to help make up for his absence. Having the 3 weeks to prepare is definitely a help but even if we had McBrearty I still think we might come up short. Really looking forward to the game at the same time and if we can concede one goal or less we might have a chance but that will be a big ask. No matter what, I think it will be a good game for the neutral to watch.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 06/07/2018 09:25:01    2119035

Replying To waynoI:  "
Replying To Green_Gold:  "[quote=waynoI:  "YOURE ALSO WRONG

the motion proposed was as follows:
'It would introduce a Group Stage for the All-Ireland quarter-final which would see the eight teams divided into two groups of four. This would ensure more high-quality games of Gaelic Football at the height of the season.

The groupings in year one (2018) would be as follows.
Group 1 - Munster provincial winner, Connacht provincial winner, Ulster runner-up or team that defeats them in round 4 of the Qualifiers, Leinster runner-up or team that defeats them in round 4.

Group 2 - Ulster provincial winner, Leinster provincial winner, Munster runner-up or team that defeats them in round 4 for the Qualifiers, Connacht runner-up or team that defeats them in round 4.
The groups in the succeeding years would be determined by Central Council.

Each team would play one home match, one away match, and one match at Croke Park.

People need to get facts straight before posting nonsense."
Look there is no chance that this game will be moved so you shouldn't worry about it. As far as I know the tickets are already being sold with the date/time/venue on them so won't get moved now. The Donegal County board asked for clarification, not to get the match moved. Would have helped if the game had been set for an earlier time though, this has p**sed people off more than the venue. Declan Bonner is probably attempting to rattle the Dubs, has to try something to knock them out of their stride I guess.

Even if this was passed at congress, do you see nothing wrong with Dublin getting 2 games at Croke Park? Surely it can't be fair to ask 1 of the Super 8 teams to play 2 of their games at the home of their opponent? All this controversy is probably good for the GAA at it will ensure a big crowd at the match."
Green_Gold

"[I]Do you see nothing wrong with Dublin getting 2 games at Croke Park

Of course its unfair, I never disputed that.

But its unfair on the team we are down to play in our "home" game, which is the winner of Roscommon/Armagh because the Croke Park game which was laid out 17 months ago, were the games that kicked off the super 8's were the provincial champions meeting at HQ, They are the "one croke park" games.

If Roscommon/Armagh kick up a fuss, then ive no issues with that, infact, I hope they do because theyre well within their rights to.

Donegal on the other hand....."]Donegal on the other hand ......will play two away matches, Dublin will play two home games ..simple as.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 504 - 06/07/2018 10:15:39    2119053

Replying To joeteor:  "Honestly thinks the whole affair is a farce on the County Boards side and the congress approval of it in the first place but I don't think the players are peeved. Wouldn't expect thick Donegal heads head hunting feeling an aggrievance next Saturday."
I would be amazed if Gavin isnt using it as a motivation tool to galvanize and create an atmosphere of siege, while watching reruns of the 20014 semi final and feeding the lads a nice coddle. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/07/2018 10:17:04    2119054

Replying To Green_Gold:  "Ha Ha maybe so but just is not fair. I'd say everybody will be paying close attention to the congress this year when it is discussed. If I heard correctly on the sports news today and team can nominate Croke Park as their home venue. I think its fair to say nobody cares about these things until it effects their team. Time to move on and concentrate on the game."
And Donegal voted for the Super 8 format etc, and I think were one of the counties that 2nd the motion!!!

This is why I wonder if it had not been Dublin would there be this fuss?

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 06/07/2018 11:01:16    2119073

Replying To TheUsername:  "I would be amazed if Gavin isnt using it as a motivation tool to galvanize and create an atmosphere of siege, while watching reruns of the 20014 semi final and feeding the lads a nice coddle. ;)"
The image of Jim Gavin ladelling out coddle to Stephen Cluxton while an 8 track tape of Luke Kelly singing "The Rare Oul Times" is roaring in the background is the sort of thing that gets culchie knees a trembling.

Daniel & Majella V Luke
Coddle V Donegal Catch

Anyone got any other "cultural" differences?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 06/07/2018 11:38:33    2119086

Replying To witnof:  "And Donegal voted for the Super 8 format etc, and I think were one of the counties that 2nd the motion!!!

This is why I wonder if it had not been Dublin would there be this fuss?"
Of course not. No other team use Croke Park as their home ground. It will be a fairer system in 2019 and it is what it is now because that's what was voted through congress and you can't change the format mid season.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 06/07/2018 12:23:31    2119102