Dublin Vs Donegal

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Going by what Declan Bonner just said it doesn't sound like Donegal are talking about the Dublin v Roscommon/Armagh being moved but rather they don't want their game against Dublin being played in Croker...."
By extension, the next moan will be that a county wont want to play Dublin in an All Ireland Final or even Semi Final because it is not a Neutral venue.

Only 1 solution to all this - Dubs play in Parnell Park (or a redeveloped PP or a new facility) for all League and Championship Home games.

But then you will have the usual moaners complaining about not getting any opportunity to play on Croker.

Where was all this crying when the Dubs were winning sweet f/a....????

Personally I think Dublin need to have their own stadium 25-30k.
It would put an end to all this s*ite....

For this situation - move the Donegal game to Portlaoise/Tullamore.

The bear is well and truly poked, so bring on the Super 8's.
Motivation and determination has just increased - thank you Donegal management... ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 04/07/2018 12:44:57    2118426

I don't think this is a good move by Donegal and I actually am a bit embarrassed we have taken this stance. Unnecessary distraction ahead of a crucial game against the Dubs.

I agree a neutral venue should be neutral for both teams but as stated by many already the Super 8s planned for one game at CROKE PARK, meaning Dublin were always going to have 2 games there. This has been known from the beginning and it just so happens to be us who drew the short straw this year. If the plan was for one game at a NEUTRAL venue and the game ended up fixed for Croke Park then you could definitely argue a case. In fact you could argue more for Roscommon/Armagh who have to play in Croke Park as Dublin's "Home" venue. This is an argument for another day and one that probably should be looked at. I don't think Donegal timed this well and I don't see Croke Park changing their mind.

I would find the timing of the throw in for this game to be more disappointing. Donegal supporters either getting home very late or forking out for accommodation. The other point I don't agree with is the fact provincial champions do not get a home game first. There seems to be no reward for winning a provincial championship and maybe this is something the GAA should look at going forward.

I hope this does not take away from what should be great game and experience for our younger players.

tirchonaill92 (Donegal) - Posts: 156 - 04/07/2018 12:53:30    2118431

Replying To JoeSoap:  "100% and I think a lot of Donegal fans are happy to be playing Dublin in Croke Park for the good of our squad too. I think we'll give it a rattle but without Paddy McBrearty we won't pull of the shock. But if we stay within 5 points and have a similar second half as we had in the league then we can build on that for the second match.

Agreed on the throw-in time, it's a disgrace again from the CCCC. There are plenty of Donegal people working and living in Dublin but there are a lot of those with families who will probably have to think twice about making the trip for the match now, which is a real pity. Nothing beats seeing a packed Croker against the Dubs with a significant lump of green and yellow trying to spoil the party!

Again I am a little confused by the amount of noise from Donegal on this one, this line about 2 away games is a load of nonsense I never see a match in Croke Park as an away match. Likewise I don't see playing Monaghan in Clones on Ulster final day as an "away match". Some of the posts here are getting a bit embarrassing. The Dubs spent years being beaten in Croke Park and there was talk that the big crowd brought too much pressure on them. Now it's a big help to them. Of course when the crowd get behind them it can have a massive impact but likewise if you hit goals at the right time you can quiet down that crowd and that too has an impact, just look at 2014 when we get the 3rd goal. We are at a disadvantage in terms of our home game being last in my opinion but all the provincial winners are in the same boat there. And I do think Roscommon/Armagh would have a case for having their match v Dublin in Parnell but would they want that?

I think this has highlighted a wider problem with county boards though. Nobody bats an eyelid til it's your own being impacted. It's about time county boards and the general GAA public started passing motions and using the structures within the GAA to effect real change and communicate what we all want for our sports. It's not good enough to just wait until your own senior men's squad is impacted by something you see as unjust."
Excellent post again. I can only think that Sky have the 5pm and 7pm slots for that game and that's the timing which shows that Sky don't care about travelling fans at all, something like is done in England for soccer games and the ludicrous days/times they schedule games for. I work with a lot of Donegal folk and their friends and family are all looking forward to the trip to Croker to take on the Dubs and would love to silence the hill again by banging in a couple of goals, some are staying and some are doing day trips which is very tiring. I know the county board or Declan Bonner don't speak for the majority of fans who will make the trip down. It's still not too late I'm sure regarding changing the throw in times and I'd hope common sense would prevail there.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 04/07/2018 12:58:52    2118432

Replying To spiritofeslin:  "The GAA should be building a 40-50,000 capacity stadium in Athlone, central for everyone, good road, rail and even water links! This would solve a lot of venue issues and would comfortably hold any Dublin travelling support for neutral games"
Exactly.....just over an hour from Dublin city less if coming from the west. An hour from Galway city, Cork city 2 and a half hours. Good local amenities etc I was thinking the same before you put up this post.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 04/07/2018 13:02:54    2118435

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "The fact that Dublin play all their home league games in Croke Park removes this venue as a neutral one. That's a fact. Dublin should have one home game as well as everyone else, the neutral game for Dublin is not a home game. However they'll still wipe the floor with any team they play so makes little difference really, although Donegal are being a bit petty they will need to improve immensely and without the services of Chesty McBearty they'll struggle home, away or in a neutral venue against a top table team."
Who or what is Chesty McBrearty??

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 04/07/2018 13:20:20    2118446

Replying To panamasam:  "Exactly.....just over an hour from Dublin city less if coming from the west. An hour from Galway city, Cork city 2 and a half hours. Good local amenities etc I was thinking the same before you put up this post."
Was thinking about this one myself.

I don't think a central HQ is needed. It'd be a bit of a white elephant.

I'd go with having a roster of three stadiums capable of hosting finals, in separate provinces.
There will always be a neutral venue available if there are three to choose from.

Croker and Pairc Ui Chaoimh are obviously already up to scratch.
I'd recommend upgrading Pearse Stadium for the third. Leave Clones as it is :)

Croker as the default venue for all games not involving Leinster teams.

Leinster v Ulster = Pearse
Leinster v Connacht = PUC
Leinster v Munster = Pearse
Leinster v Leinster = pigs spotted flying

Special K (Louth) - Posts: 114 - 04/07/2018 13:25:52    2118447

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Going by what Declan Bonner just said it doesn't sound like Donegal are talking about the Dublin v Roscommon/Armagh being moved but rather they don't want their game against Dublin being played in Croker...."
Yeah that's what they want, not sure why people thought Donegal wanted Dublin v Roscommon/Armagh in Parnell.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 214 - 04/07/2018 13:38:14    2118459

Well Murph is up playing the ProAm in Ballyliffin today and he has been been quoted as saying the players don't really give a sh1t where the game is played. They're the most important people in all of this so if it means we're all off to the capital next weekend so be it.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9108 - 04/07/2018 13:48:36    2118465

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Parnell park isnt a neutral venue either. I know the dubs keep bringing up Parnell park to deflect from the advantage of 95% of home championship games. Croke park is dublins home ground yer not fooling anyone with that rubbish.

Fair play to donegal but little chance the dubs will be made compete on a level playing field like everyone else."
Perhaps you didn't realise it but Dublin's game v Donegal is scheduled to be a home game for Dublin as it is for all provisional winners. Dublin should be playing this in Parnell, at a ground that will be unfamiliar to Donegal players, but Dublin club championship played there so our players very familiar with it, and where the huge Dublin crowd will be on top of the pitch with huge noise. It's an intimidating place for any away team. Instead we are being forced to play in CP a ground that is very familiar to the seasoned Donegal players and where they will bring great support, a real leveller. I think the DCB should support the Donegal cause and have our "home" match against them moved home to the Neller.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 04/07/2018 13:58:47    2118470

Replying To Special K:  "Was thinking about this one myself.

I don't think a central HQ is needed. It'd be a bit of a white elephant.

I'd go with having a roster of three stadiums capable of hosting finals, in separate provinces.
There will always be a neutral venue available if there are three to choose from.

Croker and Pairc Ui Chaoimh are obviously already up to scratch.
I'd recommend upgrading Pearse Stadium for the third. Leave Clones as it is :)

Croker as the default venue for all games not involving Leinster teams.

Leinster v Ulster = Pearse
Leinster v Connacht = PUC
Leinster v Munster = Pearse
Leinster v Leinster = pigs spotted flying"
Have u been to Pearse stadium? No offense to the Galway folk but not a ground I am fond of. Between traffic and parking I don't find it accessible at all as much as I enjoy Galway city as a location. A purpose built stadium in Athlone makes far more sense than the 2nd one proposed in Dublin in my view.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 04/07/2018 14:27:53    2118483

Replying To Joxer:  "Perhaps you didn't realise it but Dublin's game v Donegal is scheduled to be a home game for Dublin as it is for all provisional winners. Dublin should be playing this in Parnell, at a ground that will be unfamiliar to Donegal players, but Dublin club championship played there so our players very familiar with it, and where the huge Dublin crowd will be on top of the pitch with huge noise. It's an intimidating place for any away team. Instead we are being forced to play in CP a ground that is very familiar to the seasoned Donegal players and where they will bring great support, a real leveller. I think the DCB should support the Donegal cause and have our "home" match against them moved home to the Neller."
"Perhaps you didn't realise it but Dublin's game v Donegal is scheduled to be a home game for Dublin"

Wrong. It's meant to be neutral, not the ground that one team plays all their home league and championship games.
Hence the issue.

Special K (Louth) - Posts: 114 - 04/07/2018 14:32:02    2118487

Replying To joeteor:  "Yeah that's what they want, not sure why people thought Donegal wanted Dublin v Roscommon/Armagh in Parnell."
Well then Donegal are making themselves out to be absolute shams.

Will people educate themselves.

The super 8's when passed in congress DID NOT, EVER mention a neutral venue, So absolutely everybody on here whos argument that this should be played in a neutral venue are complaining a good 18 months too late. Neutral venue in the super 8's is not a thing, it doesn't exist. Period.

Since this was passed in congress, It was laid out as one game at home, one away, one in Croke Park .. What about that are people finding hard to understand, how many languages do you want it in ? Its black and white. Basic English

The masterfixture calendar when released said that the provincial winners will play each other on the first weekend n Croke Park. Dublin won Leinster, Donegal won Ulster. If Donegal didn't want to play Dublin in Croke Park, They didn't have to win Ulster. But they did. So Dublin will play Donegal in Croke Park and it wont be moved and rightly so.

Now, I totally agree that it is unfair that Dublin will likely play twice in Croke Park, very unfair. But not on Donegal. Its unfair on Roscommon and Armagh. THEY are the counties who have the right to question the venue choice, and THEY are the ones who have every right to complain to the GAA and hopefully that will be moved to Parnell park

Donegals argument is weak. Its non existent in fact. The only complaint they can have which I do have sympathy with, is the throw in time of 7pm on a Saturday. That stinks. big time.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 04/07/2018 14:42:10    2118495

Replying To waynoI:  "Well then Donegal are making themselves out to be absolute shams.

The super 8's when passed in congress DID NOT, EVER mention a neutral venue, So absolutely everybody on here whos argument that this should be played in a neutral venue are complaining a good 18 months too late. Neutral venue in the super 8's is not a thing, it doesn't exist. Period.

Since this was passed in congress, It was laid out as one game at home, one away, one in Croke Park .. What about that are people finding hard to understand, how many languages do you want it in ? Its black and white. Basic English

The masterfixture calendar when released said that the provincial winners will play each other on the first weekend n Croke Park. Dublin won Leinster, Donegal won Ulster. If Donegal didn't want to play Dublin in Croke Park, They didn't have to win Ulster. But they did. So Dublin will play Donegal in Croke Park and it wont be moved and rightly so.

Now, I totally agree that it is unfair that Dublin will likely play twice in Croke Park, very unfair. But not on Donegal. Its unfair on Roscommon and Armagh. THEY are the counties who have the right to question the venue choice, and THEY are the ones who have every right to complain to the GAA and hopefully that will be moved to Parnell park

Donegals argument is weak. Its non existent in fact. The only complaint they can have which I do have sympathy with, is the throw in time of 7pm on a Saturday. That stinks. big time."
I agree with that. The actual statement that the Donegal county board released is so wishy-washy that it makes me wonder if at all was meant tongue in cheek to cause a bit of a row. The game will remain in Croke Park and all I'm hoping is that our lads get down there and do themselves proud like they have done all through this year's Championship. It might not be enough to beat Dublin but so be it. I think the recent heat has seriously affected peoples' heads. Time to get back to the football and just enjoy the f***ing games wherever they are played.

TÍR CHONAILL ABÚ!!!!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9108 - 04/07/2018 14:49:49    2118502

Replying To Lockjaw:  "
Replying To waynoI:  "Well then Donegal are making themselves out to be absolute shams.

Donegals argument is weak. Its non existent in fact. The only complaint they can have which I do have sympathy with, is the throw in time of 7pm on a Saturday. That stinks. big time."
I agree with that. The actual statement that the Donegal county board released is so wishy-washy that it makes me wonder if at all was meant tongue in cheek to cause a bit of a row. The game will remain in Croke Park and all I'm hoping is that our lads get down there and do themselves proud like they have done all through this year's Championship. It might not be enough to beat Dublin but so be it. I think the recent heat has seriously affected peoples' heads. Time to get back to the football and just enjoy the f***ing games wherever they are played.

TÍR CHONAILL ABÚ!!!!"
Well said Lockjaw, maybe there's a bit of a twinkle in Declan's eye with all this, bit ill advised if so because the Dubs love a bit of controversy to come out swinging but sure won't it make the match all the tastier!

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 04/07/2018 15:01:50    2118506

Replying To Special K:  ""Perhaps you didn't realise it but Dublin's game v Donegal is scheduled to be a home game for Dublin"

Wrong. It's meant to be neutral, not the ground that one team plays all their home league and championship games.
Hence the issue."
YOURE ALSO WRONG

the motion proposed was as follows:
'It would introduce a Group Stage for the All-Ireland quarter-final which would see the eight teams divided into two groups of four. This would ensure more high-quality games of Gaelic Football at the height of the season.

The groupings in year one (2018) would be as follows.
Group 1 - Munster provincial winner, Connacht provincial winner, Ulster runner-up or team that defeats them in round 4 of the Qualifiers, Leinster runner-up or team that defeats them in round 4.

Group 2 - Ulster provincial winner, Leinster provincial winner, Munster runner-up or team that defeats them in round 4 for the Qualifiers, Connacht runner-up or team that defeats them in round 4.
The groups in the succeeding years would be determined by Central Council.

Each team would play one home match, one away match, and one match at Croke Park.

People need to get facts straight before posting nonsense.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 04/07/2018 15:04:43    2118509

Donegal arent arguing anything though to be fair to them, theyre seeking clarification.

And its untrue to say that a neutral venue was never mentioned, the very first speaker at congress in favour of this super 8 spoke about one game at Croke park, one at home and one at a neutral venue and he neither corrected himself or was corrected.

But the fact of the matter is that the official rules of the competition state it to be a croke park game and not a neutral venue.

As ive argued on another thread it can be moved if the CCCC decide to do so but it would be well within Dublins right to object to that and imho should the CCCC go that route i would love to see Dublin come back at them for basically contravening their own rules and making things up as they go along. Its a farce and a mess how things are being run and everything being made up as we go along and only challenging these things will it improve, when that challenge comes from the likes of Dublin it carries far more weight.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1326 - 04/07/2018 15:14:26    2118511

Replying To panamasam:  "Have u been to Pearse stadium? No offense to the Galway folk but not a ground I am fond of. Between traffic and parking I don't find it accessible at all as much as I enjoy Galway city as a location. A purpose built stadium in Athlone makes far more sense than the 2nd one proposed in Dublin in my view."
And Athlone would be in the unusual position of being able to hold both Connacht or Leinster provincial finals without too much outrage from either province

spiritofeslin (Leitrim) - Posts: 136 - 04/07/2018 15:16:46    2118513

Close the hill for the neutral game

Farney1977 (Monaghan) - Posts: 59 - 04/07/2018 15:37:03    2118519

Replying To waynoI:  "YOURE ALSO WRONG

the motion proposed was as follows:
'It would introduce a Group Stage for the All-Ireland quarter-final which would see the eight teams divided into two groups of four. This would ensure more high-quality games of Gaelic Football at the height of the season.

The groupings in year one (2018) would be as follows.
Group 1 - Munster provincial winner, Connacht provincial winner, Ulster runner-up or team that defeats them in round 4 of the Qualifiers, Leinster runner-up or team that defeats them in round 4.

Group 2 - Ulster provincial winner, Leinster provincial winner, Munster runner-up or team that defeats them in round 4 for the Qualifiers, Connacht runner-up or team that defeats them in round 4.
The groups in the succeeding years would be determined by Central Council.

Each team would play one home match, one away match, and one match at Croke Park.

People need to get facts straight before posting nonsense."
Look there is no chance that this game will be moved so you shouldn't worry about it. As far as I know the tickets are already being sold with the date/time/venue on them so won't get moved now. The Donegal County board asked for clarification, not to get the match moved. Would have helped if the game had been set for an earlier time though, this has p**sed people off more than the venue. Declan Bonner is probably attempting to rattle the Dubs, has to try something to knock them out of their stride I guess.

Even if this was passed at congress, do you see nothing wrong with Dublin getting 2 games at Croke Park? Surely it can't be fair to ask 1 of the Super 8 teams to play 2 of their games at the home of their opponent? All this controversy is probably good for the GAA at it will ensure a big crowd at the match.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 04/07/2018 16:14:36    2118532

Replying To Farney1977:  "Close the hill for the neutral game"
So play it in the stadium some have an issue with but don't open the whole stadium?
I've called supporters from your county johnny-come-latelys recently in jest but now methinks I was right.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5009 - 04/07/2018 16:18:43    2118536