No Palestinian Flags

Replying To Richieq:  "Yeah and both sides there done a fair job of killing innocents and doing bank raids in the name of "war", don't give me that tripe. And for your information I never considered anyone from Ulster as a "black northerner" but all my Ulster friends, and I have many both sides of the border, want leadership and an end to the petty, selfish and childish carry on we have up there at the minute, more in the line to focus on Northern Ireland and getting the place running properly again instead of worrying about Palestinian flags......."
How shallow is the response, when faced with the brutal truth , Either your on the right side of history or your not, Now I am sure Palestinians living on your hours of electricity a day , and 97% of their water supply polluted , wouldn't consider it Triple. Wouldn't you agree!. The support for Palestine is swelling, to their injustice, being a supporter to bring down Apartheid and a unjust and brutal occupation, isn't one condoning violence . And lad it ain't childish either, by suggesting so , your saying Geneva convention and the UNSC are childish and selfish .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 18/06/2018 20:55:53    2112852

Replying To PeggyShippen:  "What about the rights of Israelis to live without the threat of terrorists like Hamas? Let's leave the politics outside the GAA fields. There's 2 sides to every story no matter what our Northern friends tell us."
Totally agree

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2018 20:55:56    2112853

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Htaem
To be fair the Garda haven't covered themselves in glory the last few years have they?"
Probably not, lot of corruption in their ranks, anyway I'm not an advocate for the Garda, thankfully I've had very little dealing with them so far in my life and hopefully it stays that way.

As soon as I saw the video though I immediately hated it, absolutely stank of a one sided plea for sympathy, sorry but I don't buy it.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 18/06/2018 20:56:22    2112854

Replying To MiAmigaVERONICA:  "Administrators, I will take you to task on this. If GAA stadia are not the place to publicly protest the atrocities that are happening in the hell-hole that is Gaza (as you have given this individual the space to advocate), then surely this forum is not the space she should have to call a democratically elected government a brutal regime. Or does that ethos extend to Sinn Fein, fundamentally linked to the IRA, also? A bit of fair play, please!"
Well if you think Hamas are not a brutal regime then you are the one with the problem, hitler was democratic elected too don't forget. But sure that makes it alright then.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2018 20:58:56    2112855

Replying To OLLIE:  "If people wanna bring in Palestinian flags to GAA matches go ahead. It does not bother me in the slightest. At the end of the day they are making a statement and highlighting what's going on in the region. It's a bit ironic what the Jews are doing to the Palestinian's considering what Hitler did to them during World War 2. They have short memories. Remember in the 1980,s Irish people standing up against the South Africans and boycotting their goods because of the apartheid movement. Even when the South African rugby team came over to Dublin there were anti apartheid rallies outside the old Landsdown Rd."
I respect your view OLLIE and I'm not a big fan of banning things (unless they're an obvious danger to people), but personally I have no interest in people's political opinions at Gaa matches, be they right or wrong.

I didn't go to Navan to see a group of people making a political statement, I went to watch a game of football. Politics tends to dominate during the working week, it's spoken about at great length on the radio, in the news, in the papers, on the internet, by colleagues and clients etc etc Sport should be a chance to relax and escape all the political stuff for a few hours.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 18/06/2018 21:03:27    2112856

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Was Maurice McCabe one of the guards?"
What a ridiculous comment

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/06/2018 21:06:36    2112859

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Htaem
To be fair the Garda haven't covered themselves in glory the last few years have they?"
They were absolutely right that day.
Look I have huge sympathy for what is happening in Palestine.
However a gaa match is not the place to bring a political statement. We go to sport to escape the everyday troubles of the world. Not bring it into it. And I don't care how the gaa started , it's 2018 not 1916.
If you read the small print in any gaa program (particularly Croke parks) you can clearly see that flags are actually not allowed, they turn a blind eye to it. However if this continues then not only Palestinian flags will be banned. But all county ones too. As all they have to do is enforce the rules. So cop on, leave politics at the gate, you there for your county, either that or go to dail and wave your flag or to stormont if it ever opens again, but leave sport out of it. Rant over.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2018 21:08:59    2112860

Replying To ta32:  "Haha Zionist shills Ireland4israel Williams lol ok
Have you spoken to miko peled, son of a Israeli general and who's grandfather was one of the signatures of the state of Israel, the Nakba . Be interesting if you could have his take on it . You may be enlightened."
If you speak to Israelis living in Ireland you will be surprised how much in common they have with Miko Peled, Norman Finkelstein, Noam Chomsky, etc. You will find an attitude to Israeli attrocities that might surprise you. Far more educational that the twaddle spouted here. And I think GAA grounds in particular are plaes where we should never forget state terrorism. As I said I do not bring Palestinian flags to the grounds myself but I definitely have no problem with those that do.

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 300 - 18/06/2018 21:10:56    2112861

Flags should be banned full stop. Last thing I want when going to watch a game is to have my view blocked by some a**hole waving a flag

890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1278 - 18/06/2018 21:14:19    2112863

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Was Maurice McCabe one of the guards?"
What a juvenile idiotic comment.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2018 21:14:41    2112864

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well if you think Hamas are not a brutal regime then you are the one with the problem, hitler was democratic elected too don't forget. But sure that makes it alright then."
Hilter was elected, as was Benjamin Netanyahu. I see a lot more in common here. I would love to know the research you have actually done into Hamas, especially how it came to be.

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 300 - 18/06/2018 21:20:31    2112867

As bad as the Guards controversies have been they stand between the Irish people and Republicans and we are grateful for that.
These Palestinian supporters are nothing but bullies pushing their agenda.

PeggyShippen (Limerick) - Posts: 300 - 18/06/2018 21:23:33    2112868

Replying To royaldunne:  "I'm getting sick to death of the Palestinian flags been brought to gaa games. I don't care if you agree with it or not. Gaa is not the place for displaying political messages, particularly not from another region (that has questionable human rights issues of its own people) . I'm not pro Israel either. I just want to go to a game and the only flags that should be allowed are those of the counties participating.
David gaugh wasn't allowed to wear a bracelet, micky harte got hell over his stance on referendum.
I ask all stewards to confiscate these flags on entrance or immediately when spotted. The gaa is not here for anyone's political views. Join a political party and stop going to games if that's all you go for."
Nobody will stop us flying our flags end off

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 18/06/2018 21:26:19    2112870

Replying To ta32:  "How shallow is the response, when faced with the brutal truth , Either your on the right side of history or your not, Now I am sure Palestinians living on your hours of electricity a day , and 97% of their water supply polluted , wouldn't consider it Triple. Wouldn't you agree!. The support for Palestine is swelling, to their injustice, being a supporter to bring down Apartheid and a unjust and brutal occupation, isn't one condoning violence . And lad it ain't childish either, by suggesting so , your saying Geneva convention and the UNSC are childish and selfish ."
The Palestinian movement is going nowhere. Hamas will keep sending eejits out to run at the border and the grass will keep getting mowed unfortunately. History will show Hamas for the brutal terrorist regime it is. Trust the Northerners to back a losing horse again. Regarding the UN, no one takes notice of that organisation anymore..

PeggyShippen (Limerick) - Posts: 300 - 18/06/2018 21:28:37    2112872

Agree completely with Royaldunne. That flagwaver was just a troublemaker,
Let them fly whatever flags they want outside their own houses. People have enough pressure and deserve to be allowed enjoy their GAA matches without someone holding a flag up in front of their faces.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 18/06/2018 21:35:34    2112879

The UN voted to send in an investigative team to look into the recent killings. I've no doubt that they'll find plenty of evidence that the vastly heavy handed Israeli tactics deployed against unarmed protesters were against International law.

It was a highly publicized event recorded live in HD and broadcast to millions.

I honestly don't think flying some Palestine flags at a Gaelic football match will have any relevance in the outcome of that investigation or help in anyway to relieve the suffering of many millions in Gaza.

But sure fire away I guess.. but farting in Israel's general direction would have equally the same impact.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/06/2018 21:36:22    2112880

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well if you think Hamas are not a brutal regime then you are the one with the problem, hitler was democratic elected too don't forget. But sure that makes it alright then."
Hear it from a Jew directly affected by Hitler. This is my last contribution to this thread so please Administrators let it go through. There are two million ghettoised people, in a way quite comparable to the ghettos of the Seond World War, inside Gaza. They have some forms of elections but are essentially dehumanised and deprived of the right to self govern. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kw7FJ9y8m4M

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 300 - 18/06/2018 21:36:55    2112881