Donegal V Fermanagh Ulster SFC Final 2018

Replying To panamasam:  "Honestly I did not fully expect to get to the super 8's before the championship started. I thought it was imperative that Donegal did get there especially for the younger lads in the squad and the experience they will get from it. However now my aspirations have changed and I do think Donegal will be in the super 8's. Anything after that will be a bonus and we really will not know where we are at until getting there. Yes the Fermanagh game will give some insight but realistically unless RG changes his ways I cannot see Fermanagh keeping the scoreboard ticking over enough to win Sunday week. We have definitely improved defensively since the league which was no surprise as our backline had a very experimental look throughout the league. However I do fear that Donegal are very susceptible up the middle to runners with pace and potentially conceding goals. As a result any talk of Sam is certainly not coming from my lips."
I would say Donegal have targeted to won Ulster since the draw was made, Bonner has said from the start the championship was the only show in town, and a player who left the panel believed he was leaving an Ulster medal behind, rumours out in Donegal that Mc Guinness is coaching sessions, as supporters believe that the team is playing the way they played for him in 2012! The Donegal boys are turning into the Kerry of Ulster, no want of cute hoorism, play all things down and build a certain mystique around them! Fair play to them

Dergforeeva (Tyrone) - Posts: 90 - 15/06/2018 12:03:22    2111805

There seems to be a lot of spin coming out of Donegal atm. Jim taking training. Fermanagh kicking Donegal journalists outs of media sessions. All spin with no substance.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 15/06/2018 12:19:35    2111814

Replying To Dergforeeva:  "I would say Donegal have targeted to won Ulster since the draw was made, Bonner has said from the start the championship was the only show in town, and a player who left the panel believed he was leaving an Ulster medal behind, rumours out in Donegal that Mc Guinness is coaching sessions, as supporters believe that the team is playing the way they played for him in 2012! The Donegal boys are turning into the Kerry of Ulster, no want of cute hoorism, play all things down and build a certain mystique around them! Fair play to them"
Considering we have 9 or 10 players in the squad who in 2012 won (And in 2014 Lost) an All Ireland, and have won 3 x Ulster titles and are now about to contest their 7th Ulster final in 8 years, there is no doubt that winning Ulster was a clear and realistic objective within the squad.

Naturally after the National League relegation and the large number of new players tried during the league, Donegal fans were probably unsure about how settled this team would be come Championship, and were aware that Tyrone and Monaghan were both being chatted about in challenging for the All Ireland.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1112 - 15/06/2018 12:33:41    2111819

Replying To Dergforeeva:  "I would say Donegal have targeted to won Ulster since the draw was made, Bonner has said from the start the championship was the only show in town, and a player who left the panel believed he was leaving an Ulster medal behind, rumours out in Donegal that Mc Guinness is coaching sessions, as supporters believe that the team is playing the way they played for him in 2012! The Donegal boys are turning into the Kerry of Ulster, no want of cute hoorism, play all things down and build a certain mystique around them! Fair play to them"
Very little talk in donegal of Mc Guinness taking sessions he might have spoke to the squad ahead of championship. But I think that's as far as it went. But I'm sure Bonner wudnt be afraid to call him if he wanted a bit of advice. John mc elholm is the main trainer.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 15/06/2018 12:38:19    2111821

Replying To Commodore:  "Considering we have 9 or 10 players in the squad who in 2012 won (And in 2014 Lost) an All Ireland, and have won 3 x Ulster titles and are now about to contest their 7th Ulster final in 8 years, there is no doubt that winning Ulster was a clear and realistic objective within the squad.

Naturally after the National League relegation and the large number of new players tried during the league, Donegal fans were probably unsure about how settled this team would be come Championship, and were aware that Tyrone and Monaghan were both being chatted about in challenging for the All Ireland."
Can't speak for Monaghan but certainly nobody in Tyrone was chatting about challenging for an All-Ireland after the tanking we took from Dublin last year, Donegal know exactly where they are at, they consider themselves contenders for Sam never mind Ulster. And who would blame them that's impressive stats

Dergforeeva (Tyrone) - Posts: 90 - 15/06/2018 13:00:27    2111839

Replying To Dergforeeva:  "Can't speak for Monaghan but certainly nobody in Tyrone was chatting about challenging for an All-Ireland after the tanking we took from Dublin last year, Donegal know exactly where they are at, they consider themselves contenders for Sam never mind Ulster. And who would blame them that's impressive stats"
No we do not know where we are at. We have come through a side of the draw that did not have Tyrone or Monaghan. Getting to an Ulster final and then the Super 8's were my hopes for the championship. I did not expect Fermanagh to come through on the other side of the draw but they did and fair play to them. I imagine within the squad Ulster was and is the target but as a supporter getting to the Super 8's even if that involved losing an Ulster final was my biggest hope. Beating Cavan, Derry and Down convincingly still does not merit talk of winning Sam in my view. As for Jim taking sessions I have heard nothing of the sort. In saying that I have no doubt given the management team Bonner has surrounded himself with and their connections with Jim I am sure there probably has been some communication. This was never going to happen with RG at the helm which was a huge negative for me. However our style in 2012 was mainly based on the counterattack that is not so much the case now. Also we are seeing evidence of not been over reliant on hand passing the ball. Some of our foot passing last weekend was sublime which was great to see. I and other Donegal supporters have long been hoping to see this variation brought to our game as with the players Donegal have and the speed of runners to support it really suits the players we have. Unfortunately RG did not see it that way which was short sighted.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 15/06/2018 14:03:29    2111856

Replying To JimmyCarr:  "Odhran was actually due to start in the semi but the County Board submitted an earlier team sheet that didn't have him on it and were told that if they wanted him to start it would count as a sub hence him down on the programme as starting but not actually playing from the start."
Oh ok. He will probably be frustrated so as Ciaran Thompson was really really good at the weekend. I wonder if Odhran is carrying an injury. A couple of times at the weekend he had the opportunity to swing a point over with his left he would get in his sleep but turned down the opening and recycled the ball instead.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 15/06/2018 14:09:23    2111858

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "It's hard to win.

If we start bigging up the opposition we are being accused of being like the Kerry ones, yerra yerra and all that. Be honest & we are arrogant.

I would rather call it as I see it & right now I think Fermanagh have a brilliant defence. solid midfield & workmanlike forward line, if Rory can keep some of them off the beer. I just don't think that will be enough against a Donegal team that are improving & finding their shape better with every game they play.

Yes, losing Neil McGee is not ideal but I still think they have enough to win by 5 or 6 points in a fairly low scoring game."
Neil McGee will undoubtedly be let off upon his appeal, I am 100% convinced of that.

RedRum (Fermanagh) - Posts: 278 - 15/06/2018 15:07:32    2111870

Replying To RedRum:  "Neil McGee will undoubtedly be let off upon his appeal, I am 100% convinced of that."
I'll be amazed if McGee gets of on appeal.

ErneExile (Fermanagh) - Posts: 9 - 15/06/2018 19:18:54    2111945

Replying To RedRum:  "Neil McGee will undoubtedly be let off upon his appeal, I am 100% convinced of that."
No chance despite my views on it

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 15/06/2018 20:43:58    2111972

Replying To Dergforeeva:  "Can't speak for Monaghan but certainly nobody in Tyrone was chatting about challenging for an All-Ireland after the tanking we took from Dublin last year, Donegal know exactly where they are at, they consider themselves contenders for Sam never mind Ulster. And who would blame them that's impressive stats"
Funny logic there, nobody in Tyrone considered themselves a contender for Sam because of a tanking from Dublin, whereas we got two tankings from Tyrone and Galway and we definitely do consider ourselves contenders.

I always felt an Ulster final and hopefully getting to the super 8s would be a great achievement and great experience for these players. Hopefully now we can finish the job against Fermanagh and go into the Super 8's as Ulster champions, something I would be delighted with.

This year was as much about what changes Bonner would bring to the table in terms of style and tactics as anything else. Things have gone well so far but nobody we've played in Ulster has brought the intensity or pressure to see what the squad are really made of. I think that will change on Sunday.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 18/06/2018 10:43:14    2112558

I agree 100% with this.

I said at the start of the year that an Ulster title & the Super 8's would be a success for Donegal & I still think that.

In some respects the Super 8's, if we get there, are more important because it will tell this team where they are, what they still need to do & will bring them on big time especially since they will be playing Div 2 football next year.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 18/06/2018 13:12:14    2112623

no chance, he played for gaoth dobhair yesterday in the league

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 916 - 18/06/2018 14:03:00    2112654

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "I agree 100% with this.

I said at the start of the year that an Ulster title & the Super 8's would be a success for Donegal & I still think that.

In some respects the Super 8's, if we get there, are more important because it will tell this team where they are, what they still need to do & will bring them on big time especially since they will be playing Div 2 football next year."
You mention Div 2 football and that is the one big downer this year.We have seen how important being in div1 is .It would be a terrible pity if our progess was stalled next year.I suppose we were conscious that the effort early on in the league may have impacted on the championship last year when we ran out of steam. I suppose it is a bit of a balancing act.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1056 - 18/06/2018 14:22:58    2112659

Replying To gunman:  "You mention Div 2 football and that is the one big downer this year.We have seen how important being in div1 is .It would be a terrible pity if our progess was stalled next year.I suppose we were conscious that the effort early on in the league may have impacted on the championship last year when we ran out of steam. I suppose it is a bit of a balancing act."
Ideally you want to be in Division 1 but given the changes in personnel both on and off the pitch as well as a switch in terms of style of play it was always going to be a tough ask to stay up. Next year in Division 2 alot more of the younger lads will get more experience with the more experienced players getting another extended break which is essential. I would be confident that we can come straight back up next year.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 18/06/2018 16:54:48    2112733

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Funny logic there, nobody in Tyrone considered themselves a contender for Sam because of a tanking from Dublin, whereas we got two tankings from Tyrone and Galway and we definitely do consider ourselves contenders.

I always felt an Ulster final and hopefully getting to the super 8s would be a great achievement and great experience for these players. Hopefully now we can finish the job against Fermanagh and go into the Super 8's as Ulster champions, something I would be delighted with.

This year was as much about what changes Bonner would bring to the table in terms of style and tactics as anything else. Things have gone well so far but nobody we've played in Ulster has brought the intensity or pressure to see what the squad are really made of. I think that will change on Sunday."
Don't see it as funny logic atall, as I say we know where we stand because of the Dublin game and indeed the Mayo match in 2016, Donegal see their Ulster final losses in as last few years as a failing on management/tatics more so than anything else and believe they left titles behind them because of this. I would argue that Donegal see themselves as on a par or better than Tyrone/Monaghan who some people tout as challengers,

Dergforeeva (Tyrone) - Posts: 90 - 19/06/2018 00:54:43    2112943

Seems to be very little Poster interest in this game. Is it being seen as a walk-over for Donegal?

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 19/06/2018 14:47:41    2113082

Neil missing out now is a big loss, I'm getting more pessimistic as the week goes on, Fermanagh are strong if the FF line so that's an advantage to them, I'd say it's going to be a low scoring defensive game because of the way Fermanagh set up, if we get ahead and force them to attack we have the talent to pick them off, not going to be one for the purists though, I can hear Brolly whining already on Rte.
Still great achievement for Fermanagh to get to the Ulster final, against anyone else I'd be supporting them, despite the RG factor.
Donegal by 3.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 19/06/2018 15:52:00    2113109

Replying To neverright:  "Seems to be very little Poster interest in this game. Is it being seen as a walk-over for Donegal?"
It certainly won't be that. Fermanagh don't really have many posters on this medium so that's more likely the reason. If it were Tyrone or Monaghan there would be more comments.
Donegal will have it all to do on Sunday. The suspension of Mc Gee will have an impact. We currently have a panel that in many ways is the oposite of the panel that won the AI in 2012. That team had plenty of natural defenders with 3 or 4 top forwards. The current panel is top heavy with good forwards and although we have some natural defenders in Paddy Mc Grath, Neil Mc Gee and Frank Mc Glynn, the rest offer more when on the ball than trying to turn over the ball. Kieran Gillespie has been a massive loss to the team this year also as he would be a great option.
This game will hinge on the start and the conditions. If we can get 5 or 6 ahead then we can afford to be patient and Fermanagh will have to come out. If Fermanagh get an early goal and go 2 or 3 ahead they will slow the game, sit tight and attack on the counter, Our defence hasn't done well against this type of counter attacking team all through the league so it could be a very close game.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 19/06/2018 16:07:06    2113115

I think Donegal will know what to expect.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/06/2018 16:30:09    2113130