Donegal V Fermanagh Ulster SFC Final 2018

This is a good add for a competitive province. This is Fermanagh's 2nd final in 10 years, the last one being in 2008 v Armagh where they drew the first game and lost the replay by 3. In fact, Cavan are the only team in the past decade that haven't reached the final. Even Antrim did it in 2009.

But back to the game at hand, I really cant see any way for Fermanagh to win this one. If there is a fall of very heavy rain and/ or it is windy, they have some chance. If it is calm, then they have zero. The question is all about how Fermanagh are going to score at least 12 points against us and hope we have a very poor day. If we keep 15 men on the pitch this time, don't concede any goals and hold possession when we need to then Fermanagh will have to come out and try and break up the pitch. It will be interesting to see how they manage this.

I just cant see a short or long donegal quick kick-out not being turned into a score. That is going to be a massive problem for Fermanagh.

We will see. Good luck to both teams.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 13/06/2018 13:43:03    2111029

Replying To panamasam:  "The Ulster SFC final 2018 aka the Rory Bowl. Contested by his own Fermanagh and his adopted county Donegal the team he predicted would struggle would stay in the top 10 teams in the country upon parting. Seen a few of the Fermanagh players in attendance at Clones last Sunday so wonder what they must have been thinking. Looking forward to seeing how Donegal manage the ultra defensive set up they are going to face against Fermanagh. They are not going to have the dominance around the middle they did against Down here. Not only are Fermanagh more than a match in midfield their kickout strategy will be nothing like the brain fart approach of Down. Saying that Donegal have the long shooters to counteract the blanket and if they get ahead early there will be only one winner. I think this will be an intriguing tussle where Donegal will have to be patient. I will be keeping a close eye on Leo McClone whom I am sure will be bang up for this given RG will be in the opposite dugout. Delighted he is back playing with Donegal as we missed his experience and physicality. He has been excellent since coming back."
Agree their kick outs will be better than Down (they could be no worse), but our kickouts when Rory was in charge were very basic I thought. It was up the middle to Murphy or short tap to the corner back.

I think we should be able to win enough of they go long and the way we are pressing up on kickouts now, we could get some joy there

himachechy (Donegal) - Posts: 293 - 13/06/2018 15:00:00    2111086

With all these super confident Donegal posters I wonder is it worth our while turning up at all ..... then again Armagh thought the same and so did Monaghan ... but hey they both had freak bad days apparently and was nothing to do with Fermanagh dictating the terms of the match both days .. sure ye never know Donegal might just have to turn up and we'll roll over for them ... sure we know our place

AnBuachaillGlas (Fermanagh) - Posts: 287 - 13/06/2018 22:16:50    2111308

Replying To AnBuachaillGlas:  "With all these super confident Donegal posters I wonder is it worth our while turning up at all ..... then again Armagh thought the same and so did Monaghan ... but hey they both had freak bad days apparently and was nothing to do with Fermanagh dictating the terms of the match both days .. sure ye never know Donegal might just have to turn up and we'll roll over for them ... sure we know our place"
nobody is saying that, they're just stating Donegal are rightly favorites, and anyone from armagh that thought you were pushovers were just wrong, they only beat you by 2 points a few weeks previous

NaomhNaille (Donegal) - Posts: 124 - 13/06/2018 22:31:42    2111316

Replying To AnBuachaillGlas:  "With all these super confident Donegal posters I wonder is it worth our while turning up at all ..... then again Armagh thought the same and so did Monaghan ... but hey they both had freak bad days apparently and was nothing to do with Fermanagh dictating the terms of the match both days .. sure ye never know Donegal might just have to turn up and we'll roll over for them ... sure we know our place"
I think you're being unfair. Donegal are rightly upbeat after last Sunday and I didn't hear one Armagh fan who were super confident going into that game. We will definitely give Donegal a game of it.

ErneExile (Fermanagh) - Posts: 9 - 13/06/2018 22:47:00    2111327

Green Boy, I for one, am not underestimating Fermanagh and what they are gonna be bringing to the table. They are gonna give us the biggest test of intensity to date in Ulster, over a prolonged period. I believe your midfield partnership is stronger than ours and your defence is also stronger than ours.

That said, neither of these qualities are good enough on their own, to win championship games. They must be complemented with a couple of lads capable of taking the scores. Fermanagh do indeed have a few notable score getters, but the system that Rory employs, may not allow them to get in the scoring zone enough times to trump Donegals total. Che Cullen will have Paddy Mc bottled up for the afternoon and the mass blanket will get around to cover most of our other noteworthy score getters. But, I've noticed our defence/midfield have come up with a few scores in the 3 games to date, and hopefully it will be these scorers that will determine the destiny of the Anglo Celt 2018.

green and gold (Donegal) - Posts: 105 - 13/06/2018 23:01:30    2111334

Monaghan were not only favourites v Fermanagh but were also favourites for Ulster. They just forgot that you still have to win the game. Fermanagh will be very confident and Gallagher will have each person well informed of their individual role in the team. I expect they will do what Donegal did for years and make this game as tight for as long as possible.
Fermnaghs game plan was perfect for Monaghan but now we've seen it I'm not so sure they can catch two big teams out.
I've great respect for Fermanagh to achieve an Ulster Final appearance with such a small playing population and if they were against any other county apart from my own, I'd be hoping to see them deliver their first Ulster title.
That said, we are in our 7th final in 8 years and having only won 3 of them I don't think there will be any complacency with our lads. Donegal by 3-4 points but Fermanagh to scare the life out of us for a long time!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 13/06/2018 23:07:12    2111339

Replying To green and gold:  "Green Boy, I for one, am not underestimating Fermanagh and what they are gonna be bringing to the table. They are gonna give us the biggest test of intensity to date in Ulster, over a prolonged period. I believe your midfield partnership is stronger than ours and your defence is also stronger than ours.

That said, neither of these qualities are good enough on their own, to win championship games. They must be complemented with a couple of lads capable of taking the scores. Fermanagh do indeed have a few notable score getters, but the system that Rory employs, may not allow them to get in the scoring zone enough times to trump Donegals total. Che Cullen will have Paddy Mc bottled up for the afternoon and the mass blanket will get around to cover most of our other noteworthy score getters. But, I've noticed our defence/midfield have come up with a few scores in the 3 games to date, and hopefully it will be these scorers that will determine the destiny of the Anglo Celt 2018."
You have hit the nail on the head. It's over to Rory to see what he can do.

ErneExile (Fermanagh) - Posts: 9 - 13/06/2018 23:44:06    2111347

It's hard to win.

If we start bigging up the opposition we are being accused of being like the Kerry ones, yerra yerra and all that. Be honest & we are arrogant.

I would rather call it as I see it & right now I think Fermanagh have a brilliant defence. solid midfield & workmanlike forward line, if Rory can keep some of them off the beer. I just don't think that will be enough against a Donegal team that are improving & finding their shape better with every game they play.

Yes, losing Neil McGee is not ideal but I still think they have enough to win by 5 or 6 points in a fairly low scoring game.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 14/06/2018 12:54:49    2111474

I think Monaghan just hit a brick wall on the day against Fermanagh, their big players just didn't step up as has happened them before, I wouldn't read too much into it, if we were now facing Monaghan in the final we'd be the underdogs, Monaghan had the game won playing very badly but for that last ditch goal Fermanagh got,
so where does that leave us? I think we are improving and thank God we are now playing the kind of football people want to see, RG is doing the best he can with the players he has in Fermanagh, he was only holding Donegal football back though and cost us Ulster titles with his negative tactics both on the field and through the media, and he is still at it with his media ban nonsense.
bottom line is this is our Ulster title for the taking, I will be truly shocked if we can't put this Fermanagh team away convincingly, fact is they are a limited enough bunch, they will pull everyone back and stay with us for a while but when they have to chase the game we'll pick them off and run out handy winners.
No yerra yerra nonsense from me. The Anglo Celts for the hills not the lakes.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 14/06/2018 14:13:19    2111497

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "It's hard to win.

If we start bigging up the opposition we are being accused of being like the Kerry ones, yerra yerra and all that. Be honest & we are arrogant.

I would rather call it as I see it & right now I think Fermanagh have a brilliant defence. solid midfield & workmanlike forward line, if Rory can keep some of them off the beer. I just don't think that will be enough against a Donegal team that are improving & finding their shape better with every game they play.

Yes, losing Neil McGee is not ideal but I still think they have enough to win by 5 or 6 points in a fairly low scoring game."
Ah don't me wrong .. I like Donegal and they are most people's second team in fermanagh .. I do also love how confident you and try and Bonner might this filters down to the team ... you must realise that we have beaten a better team than you already and you guys haven't been tested at all. You do also realise that when a team like Fermanagh beats a tier 1 team playing defensively everyone declares how bdly the tier 1 team does unless u beat them in a shoot out the lower team never gets the credit..
I will freely admit that Donegal are overwhelming favourites even though the leagues say we are both deserving of div 2 football next year
I will also say that in my many many years following Fermanagh I have never seen such cohesion such unity of purpose such belief and we also have something that a team playing their 7th final in 8 years could never have ... and that's the sheer hunger and drive to win this ONE match .. not super 8s not any all Ireland .. we want THIS match and no other like nothing else on earth and I totally can't wait to see that hunger manifested on the pitch in Clones ...
Donegal you are man for man better players .. I get that .. but you can never bring what we will bring to this match ... only a success starved.. insulted belittled county like ours has it .. and hell it could turn the tide as this game will be won or lost on the slimmest of events and battles and moments ... ooooh cmon Fermanagh

AnBuachaillGlas (Fermanagh) - Posts: 287 - 14/06/2018 14:21:40    2111503

Great post, of course you are right Donegal & Fermanagh never saw each other as anything but friends & Sunday week won't change that & should Fermanagh win then we will all be 100% behind them.

A couple of points. I don't agree that this Monaghan team are better than this Donegal team but if Donegal put in the performance Monaghan did then Fermanagh will make life very difficult for them but the truth of the matter is that poor & all as they were, & I agree that some of that was down to Fermanagh's play, Monaghan had the game won except for a Hail Mary goal at the end.

This Donegal team is not playing their 7th final in 8 years. Many of them have no Ulster title at all, hunger won't be a problem & are they are improving with every game as they get more used to each other in what is now a settled side.

The other thing is that the surprise element is now gone for Fermanagh, Donegal have had a chance to have a really good look at how Rory has set them up & will, I'm sure have a cunning plan!

Lastly, Fermanagh need to do something about their scoring rate 1-08 is simply not going to cut it against Donegal or any other top side for that matter. Monaghan have a track record of not being able to put two big performances together but Donegal are coming into this game as the peak of their season. Yes, Fermanagh are a big step up but if Donegal can get a lead early on I fancy them to win well.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 14/06/2018 15:22:07    2111531

Replying To AnBuachaillGlas:  "Ah don't me wrong .. I like Donegal and they are most people's second team in fermanagh .. I do also love how confident you and try and Bonner might this filters down to the team ... you must realise that we have beaten a better team than you already and you guys haven't been tested at all. You do also realise that when a team like Fermanagh beats a tier 1 team playing defensively everyone declares how bdly the tier 1 team does unless u beat them in a shoot out the lower team never gets the credit..
I will freely admit that Donegal are overwhelming favourites even though the leagues say we are both deserving of div 2 football next year
I will also say that in my many many years following Fermanagh I have never seen such cohesion such unity of purpose such belief and we also have something that a team playing their 7th final in 8 years could never have ... and that's the sheer hunger and drive to win this ONE match .. not super 8s not any all Ireland .. we want THIS match and no other like nothing else on earth and I totally can't wait to see that hunger manifested on the pitch in Clones ...
Donegal you are man for man better players .. I get that .. but you can never bring what we will bring to this match ... only a success starved.. insulted belittled county like ours has it .. and hell it could turn the tide as this game will be won or lost on the slimmest of events and battles and moments ... ooooh cmon Fermanagh"
Do u think Monaghan are a better team than Donegal? You see I never ever thought that. While I respect them I would have quietly fancied our chances against Monaghan. I guess this year with Donegal there are alot of unknowns which will probably stay that way till the Super 8's if getting there.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 14/06/2018 16:01:52    2111548

Replying To AnBuachaillGlas:  "Ah don't me wrong .. I like Donegal and they are most people's second team in fermanagh .. I do also love how confident you and try and Bonner might this filters down to the team ... you must realise that we have beaten a better team than you already and you guys haven't been tested at all. You do also realise that when a team like Fermanagh beats a tier 1 team playing defensively everyone declares how bdly the tier 1 team does unless u beat them in a shoot out the lower team never gets the credit..
Donegal you are man for man better players .. I get that .. but you can never bring what we will bring to this match ... only a success starved.. insulted belittled county like ours has it .. and hell it could turn the tide as this game will be won or lost on the slimmest of events and battles and moments ... ooooh cmon Fermanagh"
Bonner has had his fair share of disappointments as manager. It happened a couple of times over the years when he was in charge of an under age team and they went out and got beaten by underdogs. Same years ago with the seniors (1998). He will not want to let an ulster title slip by him, so there will be both hunger and caution in situ in our camp. Last years u21 fiasco of fixtures will leave Bonner even more determined to get back to winning ways.

As for beating Monaghan. Well done. Very good result indeed. Can't say the same thing for beating Armagh. Big question is, would Fermanagh have beaten Monaghan were it the first round rather than round 2, a match where Monaghan were on the back of beating Tyrone and possibly were peaking for it all year?

Conversely, we have had an easier path to the final for once. One big thing that I have noticed before and after the games is how focused and calm this donegal team are. There is no punching the air, hugs or high 5s leaving the pitch. It seems very systematic indeed, which is good to see in terms of how grounded the lads are. Plus, they have all been here before.

But maybe this is complacency, who knows?

Ultimately and either way, all will come out in the wash in a week and a half in Clones.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 14/06/2018 16:09:41    2111552

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Great post, of course you are right Donegal & Fermanagh never saw each other as anything but friends & Sunday week won't change that & should Fermanagh win then we will all be 100% behind them.

A couple of points. I don't agree that this Monaghan team are better than this Donegal team but if Donegal put in the performance Monaghan did then Fermanagh will make life very difficult for them but the truth of the matter is that poor & all as they were, & I agree that some of that was down to Fermanagh's play, Monaghan had the game won except for a Hail Mary goal at the end.

This Donegal team is not playing their 7th final in 8 years. Many of them have no Ulster title at all, hunger won't be a problem & are they are improving with every game as they get more used to each other in what is now a settled side.

The other thing is that the surprise element is now gone for Fermanagh, Donegal have had a chance to have a really good look at how Rory has set them up & will, I'm sure have a cunning plan!

Lastly, Fermanagh need to do something about their scoring rate 1-08 is simply not going to cut it against Donegal or any other top side for that matter. Monaghan have a track record of not being able to put two big performances together but Donegal are coming into this game as the peak of their season. Yes, Fermanagh are a big step up but if Donegal can get a lead early on I fancy them to win well."
I love the Baldrick line 'I have a cunning plan'.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 14/06/2018 16:39:16    2111563

Replying To neverright:  "I love the Baldrick line 'I have a cunning plan'."
Should be a great game & looking forward to it. Would be great to see Fermanagh win their first Ulster, but I would have to lean toward a Donegal win. Wishing both sets of fans a great day. There is nowhere quite like Clones in an Ulster Final day - enjoy every minute.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 14/06/2018 22:54:32    2111679

Replying To greysoil:  "Should be a great game & looking forward to it. Would be great to see Fermanagh win their first Ulster, but I would have to lean toward a Donegal win. Wishing both sets of fans a great day. There is nowhere quite like Clones in an Ulster Final day - enjoy every minute."
Thank u sir and ur right there is a great buzz about the place. Actually I always park just outside the town and walk into the town then onto the ground. So I was parking last Sunday around where I usually do and had the kindest gesture. As parking this lady allowed me turn my car and parked up along side me. When I got out she offered me a lift into the square and told me that she lives right beside where I parked and if ever I needed somewhere to park I could park in her driveway. Wished Donegal all the best last Sunday and in the final which she predicted that we would be there. Really kind gesture and shows what good people are out there.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 14/06/2018 23:44:33    2111690

Replying To panamasam:  "Do u think Monaghan are a better team than Donegal? You see I never ever thought that. While I respect them I would have quietly fancied our chances against Monaghan. I guess this year with Donegal there are alot of unknowns which will probably stay that way till the Super 8's if getting there."
Donegal fully expect to get to the super 8s and to do that by beating Fermanagh in the Ulster Final, no if, buts, or maybes. In doing so and by giving Rory and Ricey a bloody nose so to speak there would be no sweeter victory for them. Indeed Donegal are eyeing Sam I would think, although they will never say it. On the final itself I wonder will Donegal have a plan in place for Ricey venturing on the pitch? Could be as much argy-bargy on the sidelines as on the pitch, should be fun!

Dergforeeva (Tyrone) - Posts: 90 - 15/06/2018 00:50:59    2111698

Tactically its an interesting one, Gallagher has made Fermanagh a formidable defensive counter-attacking outfit, but their attacking unit is nowhere near as dynamic or varied as Donegal's. Rory Gallagher will know from Donegal's three championship games so far that regardless of whether Fermanagh man mark or double man mark Murphy and McBrearty, Donegal will still pick off scores from all over the pitch.

The key battle here will be in midfield over kick-outs, I can't see Rory Gallagher allowing Fermanagh give up their kick-outs through poor strategy like Down did, which Donegal punished with ruthless efficiency. I suspect he will seek to cut Donegal off at source and rather than setting up ultra defensively, they might push out for all kick-outs and swam midfield. The risk here is Donegal's pace, if Fermanagh fail to win primary possession or breaking ball, they would be seriously vulnerable. They have quality players like Corrigan, Donnelly and the Quigley's, but Donegal are probably stronger across the full 15 positions and depth from the bench.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1114 - 15/06/2018 08:21:27    2111716

Replying To Dergforeeva:  "Donegal fully expect to get to the super 8s and to do that by beating Fermanagh in the Ulster Final, no if, buts, or maybes. In doing so and by giving Rory and Ricey a bloody nose so to speak there would be no sweeter victory for them. Indeed Donegal are eyeing Sam I would think, although they will never say it. On the final itself I wonder will Donegal have a plan in place for Ricey venturing on the pitch? Could be as much argy-bargy on the sidelines as on the pitch, should be fun!"
Honestly I did not fully expect to get to the super 8's before the championship started. I thought it was imperative that Donegal did get there especially for the younger lads in the squad and the experience they will get from it. However now my aspirations have changed and I do think Donegal will be in the super 8's. Anything after that will be a bonus and we really will not know where we are at until getting there. Yes the Fermanagh game will give some insight but realistically unless RG changes his ways I cannot see Fermanagh keeping the scoreboard ticking over enough to win Sunday week. We have definitely improved defensively since the league which was no surprise as our backline had a very experimental look throughout the league. However I do fear that Donegal are very susceptible up the middle to runners with pace and potentially conceding goals. As a result any talk of Sam is certainly not coming from my lips.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 15/06/2018 11:29:10    2111777