Dubs 2018 - Troubling Signs

Replying To TheHermit:  "Ah I see, still they can change their minds about what hurling game they are showing this week, they could surely do the same with the football.

And yes I agree with the poster above, given all we hear is negative stuff on the state of Leinster football these days, it would have been a great opportunity to showcase a novel, exciting and even contest between Laois and Carlow and also reward their fine efforts so far by putting them on national television. I'd say a lot of neutrals would be tuning in to see just what all the fuss is about."
True the should have shown the non dub semi final anyways dub vs meath or longford neither were going to be competitive games.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 06/06/2018 18:38:21    2108160

Last year and this year I think we are vulnerable the teams in transition the panel is very young backed by fewer and fewer old heads in there. The squad depth is not what it was and we have to go to the well and hope we are hungry.

Dublin in my opinion we're at their pomp in 2016, perfect mixture of youth and expierence, depth, mentality and physicality, we bet anyone of note that year except Tyrone.

Last year was an amazing success in a year of transition aided significantly by old heads, but the young bucks were asked to step up and they did in the main. But there was so much transitition.

We are seeing the same again this year, we have blooded about five of the U21 panel throughout the league and it was good to see some of them get mins in portloaise.

We look now for young leaders, Fenton, Jack, Con, Kilkenny, Mannion the cornerstones of the new Dublin and hope some older heads and those in their debut seasons contribute.

I'm confident because we have some of the highest quality players in the country, but the Dublin team is a work in progress in development and evolution, as mad as that sounds given the success last year.

I actually think we have a few tricks up our sleeve this year, I'd disagree with the OP I think Howard and Scully are going to be be key to any success Dublin have and will prove it. I think you will see a lot of traditional positiions players have played change, I think you will see a tactical evolution. How far that will get us we will see. We will be there or close I'd be surprised elsewise.

I actually think it will be Galway who will provide the biggest challenge if I'm honest, Mayo I don't think have the knack of beating us, they put to much into containing it and don't score enough, Kerry have a lot of questions to answer they are always highly fancied this time of year but have fallen short at the buisness end, while new talent has come in, it's hardly exclusive with Dublin and Galway pretty much doing the same thing. Galway long term I think are the biggest threat, I believe they have a crack u20 and minor team, so waves of talent to an already more then competent stock.

Personally I think Dublin have regressed since 2016, maybe the wrong words, take a step back to take a step forward, are transitioning, developing and evolving. Certainly they can be beaten by anyone, but would be confident of beating anyone at the same time. Very open championship in my opinion.

If I were to call it now I wouldn't be surprised to see a repeat of the league final, but that depends on the S8s, personally I'd love a Kerry semi and Galway final, but a lot of ball to be played before then if we get that far.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/06/2018 20:30:47    2108190

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yerra ya Dublin are banjacked - Kerry 4 Sam.

On a side note, why in hell are RTE bothering to show Longford getting the stuffing knocked out of them on Sunday when Down are playing Donegal at the same time. Christ there's little enough football being shown without side lining a competitive match for a turkey shoot."
Trying hard with limited resources. Our team is developing and some good footballers. The fact of the matter is, that Kerry Mayo Galway and Dublin are the super 4. We're competitive with anyone else, and still trying to develop. Thanks for the encouragement.

Longfordbaz (Longford) - Posts: 145 - 06/06/2018 21:17:49    2108205

Replying To TheUsername:  "Last year and this year I think we are vulnerable the teams in transition the panel is very young backed by fewer and fewer old heads in there. The squad depth is not what it was and we have to go to the well and hope we are hungry.

Dublin in my opinion we're at their pomp in 2016, perfect mixture of youth and expierence, depth, mentality and physicality, we bet anyone of note that year except Tyrone.

Last year was an amazing success in a year of transition aided significantly by old heads, but the young bucks were asked to step up and they did in the main. But there was so much transitition.

We are seeing the same again this year, we have blooded about five of the U21 panel throughout the league and it was good to see some of them get mins in portloaise.

We look now for young leaders, Fenton, Jack, Con, Kilkenny, Mannion the cornerstones of the new Dublin and hope some older heads and those in their debut seasons contribute.

I'm confident because we have some of the highest quality players in the country, but the Dublin team is a work in progress in development and evolution, as mad as that sounds given the success last year.

I actually think we have a few tricks up our sleeve this year, I'd disagree with the OP I think Howard and Scully are going to be be key to any success Dublin have and will prove it. I think you will see a lot of traditional positiions players have played change, I think you will see a tactical evolution. How far that will get us we will see. We will be there or close I'd be surprised elsewise.

I actually think it will be Galway who will provide the biggest challenge if I'm honest, Mayo I don't think have the knack of beating us, they put to much into containing it and don't score enough, Kerry have a lot of questions to answer they are always highly fancied this time of year but have fallen short at the buisness end, while new talent has come in, it's hardly exclusive with Dublin and Galway pretty much doing the same thing. Galway long term I think are the biggest threat, I believe they have a crack u20 and minor team, so waves of talent to an already more then competent stock.

Personally I think Dublin have regressed since 2016, maybe the wrong words, take a step back to take a step forward, are transitioning, developing and evolving. Certainly they can be beaten by anyone, but would be confident of beating anyone at the same time. Very open championship in my opinion.

If I were to call it now I wouldn't be surprised to see a repeat of the league final, but that depends on the S8s, personally I'd love a Kerry semi and Galway final, but a lot of ball to be played before then if we get that far."
You say ye can be beat by anyone, how do you make that out?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/06/2018 21:54:45    2108222

Dublin probably won't be the force they were in other years but even so is anybody good enough to beat them in Croke Park when it really matters? Hard to know where Mayo are at without parsons and without having really added to their panel. Its probably too soon for Galway and Kerry, who both have exciting young teams. Tyrone looked miles off last year in the semi and there appears to be disharmony in the camp as well.

Looking at the Dublin teamsheet even with all the abscences Cluxton, Cooper, McMahon, McCarthy, Fenton, MDMA, Kilkenny, O'Callaghan, Mannion is an incredibly strong foundation of winning experience to build around. O'Sullivan and Mccafffery may be available later on as well. The bench is going to lack that star quality of other years but there is still plenty there to see off just about any team. In a one off game if a few things go wrong they can be caught no doubt though.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 06/06/2018 22:11:51    2108227

Replying To TheUsername:  "Last year and this year I think we are vulnerable the teams in transition the panel is very young backed by fewer and fewer old heads in there. The squad depth is not what it was and we have to go to the well and hope we are hungry.

If I were to call it now I wouldn't be surprised to see a repeat of the league final, but that depends on the S8s, personally I'd love a Kerry semi and Galway final, but a lot of ball to be played before then if we get that far."
I look at it the other way Username. I think this year, of all years, Dublin are pushing an open door. I really like the look of Kerry and Galway coming along but for me it's a year too early for them both. I think Mayo might just have gone a year too far with this current squad, Parsons gone and everyone a year older. You have both Tyrone's and Monaghan's number in Croke Park and Leinster is a given. Certainly after this year I think it'll get harder to dominate but still think your lads will be alright for 2018.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 06/06/2018 22:30:45    2108233

I wouldn't fear Dean Rock as much as Brogan of a few years ago. Scully and Howard and even Mannion at times can be quiet. In saying that Con and Kilkenny are flying. overall they are not as formidable as 2015 say but i think still have enough to land sam

kanu (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 06/06/2018 22:46:56    2108242

Replying To kildare73:  "I look at it the other way Username. I think this year, of all years, Dublin are pushing an open door. I really like the look of Kerry and Galway coming along but for me it's a year too early for them both. I think Mayo might just have gone a year too far with this current squad, Parsons gone and everyone a year older. You have both Tyrone's and Monaghan's number in Croke Park and Leinster is a given. Certainly after this year I think it'll get harder to dominate but still think your lads will be alright for 2018."
I hope your right mate. I think the OP is being genuine enough in his concerns, but other posters being less then sympathetic is understandable we have a lot of existing quality and a lot of emerging talent. I thought we were vulnerable last year, I thought Gavin put a lot of faith in young talent and think he has been bolder this year, the leaders of this team are now not the Brogans, MDM's, Connolly's or Flynn's.

New players have emerged and have been and will be asked to step up as leaders, they are young men, some in their second season. The cavalry is less this year no Connolly, Brogan, Bastic etc so less depth or calibre of depth.

The boldness is the transition in the panel remains unabated, we have lads from the u21 panel now starting and getting minutes. I admire the approach. But the rate of change, change in the dynamic of the team and some of the lads being in their first season collectively makes us that bit vulnerable.

You could be right on both Galway and Kerry, personally I really rate Galway, Kerry I'm not so sure on holistically, but you could put 15 donkeys from Kerry out against Dublin and they'd still give Dublin a game on sheer hurt, pain and obsession alone.

It's all to play for, for me, could be a twist in the tale, I personally think a contender or maybe two will emerge from the qualifiers.

I'd love it to be Kildare actually, I'd have a couple of friends in the Kildare panel so have a bit of bias and interest in seeing Kildare kick on. I've a lot of time for Kildare football in general, it's far healthier then what's been portrayed in the media and on places like this.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/06/2018 23:09:22    2108250

Replying To Longfordbaz:  "Trying hard with limited resources. Our team is developing and some good footballers. The fact of the matter is, that Kerry Mayo Galway and Dublin are the super 4. We're competitive with anyone else, and still trying to develop. Thanks for the encouragement."
Your up against pure ignorance there I'm afraid . That combined with arrogance is a dangerous cocktail. No one pays too much attention to him.anymore though thankfully.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 07/06/2018 06:46:16    2108265

It was mentioned on the Sunday game a few weeks ago by Ciaran Whelan or Dessie Dolan (I cannot remember which) that Dublin have two squads training separately at the moment, and it was something I scoffed at, at the time as just rumor, but it is actually true that Dublin have there first choice 21 players training on separate days to the remaining 15/20 squad members. This is believed to be the reason why those four players, who were not part of the 21, decided to go to America for the summer, instead of hanging around and training separately to the so called first team group.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 932 - 07/06/2018 08:07:27    2108269

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Dublin probably won't be the force they were in other years but even so is anybody good enough to beat them in Croke Park when it really matters? Hard to know where Mayo are at without parsons and without having really added to their panel. Its probably too soon for Galway and Kerry, who both have exciting young teams. Tyrone looked miles off last year in the semi and there appears to be disharmony in the camp as well.

Looking at the Dublin teamsheet even with all the abscences Cluxton, Cooper, McMahon, McCarthy, Fenton, MDMA, Kilkenny, O'Callaghan, Mannion is an incredibly strong foundation of winning experience to build around. O'Sullivan and Mccafffery may be available later on as well. The bench is going to lack that star quality of other years but there is still plenty there to see off just about any team. In a one off game if a few things go wrong they can be caught no doubt though."
I don't believe it a Kerry poster talking sense capable of actual intelligent input , more of it I say

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 07/06/2018 08:52:25    2108273

All the young Dublin players been talked down, all the young Kerry been talked up.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 07/06/2018 09:15:05    2108281

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Your up against pure ignorance there I'm afraid . That combined with arrogance is a dangerous cocktail. No one pays too much attention to him.anymore though thankfully."
Oh I'm wounded by that one :(

The point stands - Longford perform brilliantly given their resources and have had some big moments in the Championship and I still remember the almighty scare ye gave us up there in 2009.

HOWEVER, Longford have no chance against Dublin, the game will be a non event - regardless of the attempts by this amadan to wrap himself in the cloak of defending Longfrod's virtue to get a few green thumbs up.

There are two other evenly balanced games on the same day, televised sport is about entertainment, Dublin beating Longford by as much as they like is not entertainment for any neutral.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 07/06/2018 10:43:19    2108298

You lost me at tragedy for football describing Connolly, never have I seen such OTT comments in relation to a bit part player from the last couple of years. I am sure the Dubs will be beat at some stage, maybe it will be this year, maybe Kerry can step up because unless Mayo make a few changes in personnel that work I can only see Kerry stopping the Dubs.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 07/06/2018 11:36:15    2108318

Replying To witnof:  "All the young Dublin players been talked down, all the young Kerry been talked up."
Look is who doing the 'talking' and you'll see it isn't anyone from the Kingdom saying that

37thHeaven (Kerry) - Posts: 102 - 07/06/2018 11:36:45    2108319

Replying To TheHermit:  "Oh I'm wounded by that one :(

The point stands - Longford perform brilliantly given their resources and have had some big moments in the Championship and I still remember the almighty scare ye gave us up there in 2009.

HOWEVER, Longford have no chance against Dublin, the game will be a non event - regardless of the attempts by this amadan to wrap himself in the cloak of defending Longfrod's virtue to get a few green thumbs up.

There are two other evenly balanced games on the same day, televised sport is about entertainment, Dublin beating Longford by as much as they like is not entertainment for any neutral."
RTÉ are damned if they do and damned of they don't.

They decided that they wanted to show Dublin v Meath, as they thought that was likely to come to pass.

Longford put a spanner in the works. Had they have changed their minds and decided to not show the Dublin/Longford game they'd get just as much criticism (probably from the same people) that they were disrespecting Longford by not showing them in favour of more glamorous teams.

It's true and you know it. Whingers love to whinge.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 07/06/2018 12:03:34    2108332

Replying To Damothedub:  "I don't believe it a Kerry poster talking sense capable of actual intelligent input , more of it I say"
We're all talking sense, you're just choosing not to listen because the thruth doesn't fit your agenda.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/06/2018 12:05:12    2108333

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "I wouldn't be confident this year atall.

The vibes from the camp are not good. The Connolly situation is a tragedy for football, and football fans. It's hard to see him coming back now. What a loss to Dublin and to football. Added to that the departure of 4 other members of the squad in the last few days, and you may say "ah they wouldn't start so let them off" but that totally flies in the face of previous JG squads and their ethos.
Shane Carthy in particular played a lot for Dublin in recent times and young Reddan would certainly have been looking at game time this summer.
Something just doesn't feel right this summer.

4/5 years ago we were going into summer with a forward 6 of
Connolly Flynn Kilkenny
Brogan Brogan Andrews/McMenamin

We certainly don't have that anymore. Fine players like Scully are just that, fine players, but do opposing managers look at a Dubs team with Niall and Brian Howard and even Deano and fear them they way they did previous units?

Perhaps our one saving grace will be how incredibly strong we are from 1-9, but past that, there are worrying signs.

If EF can sort out Kerry's 1-9. you would have to like them this year. Dubs are not what we were"
Are Dublin fans now so bored that they are creating their own drama? You've already won the next 10 All Irelands so relax. And if ye are struggling this year, sure Joe McQuillan will be reffing anyway and will get you over the line.

Now, when is the club championship back on...

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 07/06/2018 12:05:46    2108335

Replying To TheHermit:  "Oh I'm wounded by that one :(

There are two other evenly balanced games on the same day, televised sport is about entertainment, Dublin beating Longford by as much as they like is not entertainment for any neutral."
Your disingenuous condescending remarks and talking down of Longford is proof of what I said.
Wanting to deny them their day and the opportunity they have earned after beating Meath is typical of the gombeenism you spout at every opportunity.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 07/06/2018 12:25:12    2108342

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "We're all talking sense, you're just choosing not to listen because the thruth doesn't fit your agenda."
But which agenda, they have so many!!
-Dublin don't benefit at all from any advantages, we are the greatest team ever and there is nothing else to our success but that
-We only get the same proportionate amount of funding as anyone else, sure Mayo only "earned" 20k less than us last year
-Sure look we lost a game at minor level, we aren't going to keep dominating and the money is making no difference
- Oh sure our best players are leaving the panel or are past it, we are lambs to the slaughter this year, its Kerry's to win, yerra ya yerra ya

I think that covers the main ones floating around here the last month :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 07/06/2018 12:47:06    2108351