Roscommon Vs Galway

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "It's not going to be Roscommon anyway, I'd bet the house on that, easy enough for Galway in the end when they changed gear, Ross kicked too many bad wides, I think Galway can relax now they are in the super 8's, I expect to see them make the semi finals if they play to their potential."
So it's still Donegal or Galway?

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 17/06/2018 19:10:35    2112361

Well done Galway!

Came good in 2nd half but helped by hugely wasteful Roscommon

I counted maybe 4 or 5 wides in a row from Roscommon when on top early in 2nd half

Both sides can play a lot better as today's offering was only average enough football.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/06/2018 19:16:50    2112363

Well done Galway, a good second half. Walsh is a gem. The loss of our midfielder seemed to unbalance our team more than it should. I think our forwards must also have changed their boots at half-time.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 17/06/2018 19:16:52    2112364

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I don't see Mayo winning the All Ireland no matter who's at the helm, must be sad to be that bitter you couldn't stay to watch Galway win the Connaught title."
Oh so cause I'm from Mayo I don't have an opinion?
Grow up.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 17/06/2018 19:20:50    2112367

Replying To yew_tree:  "Oh so cause I'm from Mayo I don't have an opinion?
Grow up."
Well you know what they about opinions, and you are/have one.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 17/06/2018 19:24:36    2112370

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I don't see Mayo winning the All Ireland no matter who's at the helm, must be sad to be that bitter you couldn't stay to watch Galway win the Connaught title."
Well said.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/06/2018 19:25:08    2112372

Grow up."
I agree. Surprised to see such immature posts in this thread.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 17/06/2018 19:25:24    2112373

Congratulations to Galway. Walsh really is a magical player and Comer showed his quality at the end as well. They need to improve because the first half performance won't be good enough later on but I have no doubt they know that. They seem to be a very fit side, whoever is looking after that end of things is doing a great job.

Hard luck to Roscommon, game was there to be won but they just didn't have that bit of quality required and they kicked it away in the end. They are a good positive team and I hope they make the Super 8's.

Feast of football to look forward to now next weekend!

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 17/06/2018 19:59:28    2112386

Grow up."
Well done on winning the U-20 title. I must admit I did not see it happening before the championship started but the draw really opened up with Galway messing up their lines against Roscommon. How impressed were u? Likely to be Derry in the semi final esp with Armagh missing alot of players.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 17/06/2018 20:11:10    2112389

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Better team on the day won.Galway were poor in first half but once Compton went off they took over in midfield and were full value for the win. Cant expect to win a game not scoring from play in the second half. Two or three of the wides were unforgivable.We were terrible second half but credit to Galway they made it hard for us. That few decisions went against us havnt seen replay but taught we could have had another penalty and a free in when sides were level with a minute or two left but ultimately we only have ourselves to blame. Well done Galway. Shane Walsh was a joy to watch today"
Fair play. Now I want both teams to kick-on and put in a good showing for Connacht. Both teams came away today with a lot to learn and improve on which is actually a great place for them to be.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 17/06/2018 20:11:35    2112390

Well done to Galway we were poor in 2nd half when in winning position both sides cancelled each other's best players out but Galways average players were the difference.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 17/06/2018 20:13:40    2112391

Well done to Galway we were poor in 2nd half when in winning position both sides cancelled each other's best players out but Galways average players were the difference.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 17/06/2018 20:19:59    2112399

Not a classic by any means, but I'm happy with how we dug in and got over the line when things weren't going well. The first half was a shocker from a Galway point of view. We were incredibly passive and weak in the tackle. Shane kept us in the game for long stretches.
With the wind in the first half we didn't kick a single long kickout. The subsequent slow build-up made it difficult to work opportunities.
Ironically, as we were forced to go long numerous times in the second, with Roscommon pushing up, we had a lot more success. Winning breaks or clean ball from the longer kickouts opened up a lot more chances for us.
Ros kicked some very bad wides early in the second half. This allowed us to chip away at the lead, and once we got level I could only see one winner. We were well on top by that stage, with the penalty keeping it interesting for longer.
We didn't panic which is a positive, but we have a lot to improve on. I do think the team will have learned a lot from this game though.
Ros will be favoured to beat most coming through the qualifiers, but there are a few that they'll prefer to avoid. It'd be great to see them in Super 8s too.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 17/06/2018 20:23:36    2112401

Replying To festinog:  "Fair play. Now I want both teams to kick-on and put in a good showing for Connacht. Both teams came away today with a lot to learn and improve on which is actually a great place for them to be."
Cheers. I think Galway have massive chance now to make at least a semi.theres loads more in comer and brannigan than what they showed today. Hopefully we can regroup and win next day out. Neither team i dont think will be happy how they played but conditions were extremely hard.

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 17/06/2018 20:38:08    2112410

Galway lads. What the deal with the zonal defense? When you abandoned it in second half your showed the gulf in class. Why persist with it. Honest question I see Galway as probably along with Kerry to only team to challenge dubs, if not this year certainly next. But why the defense thing? It doesn't suit the type of players you have or the quality they have

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/06/2018 21:22:24    2112424

Mad game. Our backs were great and our forwards kicked the game away in second half and went cautious instead of going for for the kill. Compton massive loss was ruling the sky in first Half.

Walsh and burke class and Flynn when Compton was gone. McManus top class great warrior and nialll Mac. Comer only scored when they had it won Galway had a much better bench.
Bring on Mayo or Tyrone or Monaghan even if we lose we need it. Galway pushing up in second half when They were chasing was key. Still our lack of Compuserve cost us bad.

Congrats Galways,best team on the day.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 17/06/2018 21:43:57    2112435

Replying To WaitingInTheLongGrass:  "Not sure if it's such a myth if ye built a new pitch down in salthill. That was hardly done for the lols now was it.

Ros will year down the Galway blanket wall with a few skyscraper scores of their own and will have enough about them to get a 2 point win. Worried about our own full back line but I'd reckon it will be a tense defensive affair today

Key to winning this game is to give a few "Hello" digs to the likes of Shane Walsh as no doubt he could shirk away from the challenge of competitive action then."
Shane didn't have time to say hello back. He was to busy playing football

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 17/06/2018 22:08:39    2112445

Good first half try by the Rossies but as I said recently in terms of quality footie and game planning we are streets ahead!

WestRules (Galway) - Posts: 269 - 17/06/2018 22:15:37    2112448

Replying To royaldunne:  "Galway lads. What the deal with the zonal defense? When you abandoned it in second half your showed the gulf in class. Why persist with it. Honest question I see Galway as probably along with Kerry to only team to challenge dubs, if not this year certainly next. But why the defense thing? It doesn't suit the type of players you have or the quality they have"
RD: weird comment. Connacht champions, best record in the league bar the final, and only beaten by Dublin since February: if that's our style of play not working, I'll take this type of failure every day of the week.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 17/06/2018 22:21:14    2112452

Fair play to Galway... I think that there's a lot of talent in the Rossie team, but Galway showed they're one step ahead as potential contenders by getting physical and testing the ref. It paid off... they really bullied Roscommon in the second half and while the Rossies still had their chances Galway's physicality allowed them to seize the initiative when it mattered. Another year in Div 1 will bring this Rossie team on a lot without repeating the mistakes of 2016. Every chance for Roscommon to regroup if they learn from today and don't get deflated. Shane Walsh was outstanding.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 17/06/2018 22:28:42    2112455