Roscommon Vs Galway

Having looked through Roscommon's championship form for the past 6/7 years, it really is no wonder they celebrated the victory over Galway so much last summer. That solitary win is all they have to show for it, with losses to Clare, Fermanagh and Sligo thrown in with a few hammering by Mayo & Galway. Connacht champions last year wouldve meant a lot, even if it is tempered somewhat by not being able to claim to be the best team in Connacht in 17 due to the annihilation by Mayo in Croker. A lot of people surprised Galway are such heavy favorites but if you take pout that one victory, Roscommon's championship form resembles that of a D4 tean

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 209 - 15/06/2018 12:52:25    2111833

Replying To PressureKick:  "Having looked through Roscommon's championship form for the past 6/7 years, it really is no wonder they celebrated the victory over Galway so much last summer. That solitary win is all they have to show for it, with losses to Clare, Fermanagh and Sligo thrown in with a few hammering by Mayo & Galway. Connacht champions last year wouldve meant a lot, even if it is tempered somewhat by not being able to claim to be the best team in Connacht in 17 due to the annihilation by Mayo in Croker. A lot of people surprised Galway are such heavy favorites but if you take pout that one victory, Roscommon's championship form resembles that of a D4 tean"
Division 4 LOL THE only thing that's annihilated is the common sense in your comments. PressureKick more like 13 metre shank to me.

Last time I checked Connacht titles are won in Connacht so we will take the title victory cheers lad

WaitingInTheLongGrass (Roscommon) - Posts: 165 - 15/06/2018 13:01:37    2111841

Replying To pretender:  "Roscommon hype which is completely unfounded is blown up by the two Macs craving for media attention. cant wait to hear what they have to say after the beating they will get"
The lads done 1 interview each which is expected of every team in a provincial final. Galway are coming team according to everyone its them that have been in the media all year so far and rightly so. So stop talk crap. There no one unfounded hype everyone expects us to lose despite the fact we are current champions and strolled back to D1 with little or no training done. Meath burst a gut to get promotion with their manager openly stating in january he was going all out for it. Ye barely avaoided relagation and are out of championship losing 2 outa 2 so pipe down kid

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 15/06/2018 13:01:40    2111842

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "The lads done 1 interview each which is expected of every team in a provincial final. Galway are coming team according to everyone its them that have been in the media all year so far and rightly so. So stop talk crap. There no one unfounded hype everyone expects us to lose despite the fact we are current champions and strolled back to D1 with little or no training done. Meath burst a gut to get promotion with their manager openly stating in january he was going all out for it. Ye barely avaoided relagation and are out of championship losing 2 outa 2 so pipe down kid"
Sure the Meath lads love a good scrap I heard the tactics for the Sligo challenge game was to put a good shift in smashing lads legs around left, right and centre. The red hand knew how to hit fire with fire last Saturday night though

WaitingInTheLongGrass (Roscommon) - Posts: 165 - 15/06/2018 13:06:46    2111844

Replying To WaitingInTheLongGrass:  "Division 4 LOL THE only thing that's annihilated is the common sense in your comments. PressureKick more like 13 metre shank to me.

Last time I checked Connacht titles are won in Connacht so we will take the title victory cheers lad"
Yes that's exactly my point, of course Roscommon fans will take that title and be delighted with as that one win is probably the sole positive to come out of Championship for Roscommon in 7 years

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 209 - 15/06/2018 13:23:12    2111848

Replying To PressureKick:  "Yes that's exactly my point, of course Roscommon fans will take that title and be delighted with as that one win is probably the sole positive to come out of Championship for Roscommon in 7 years"
We were delighted to win it indeed, although we had to bring our our eskimo gear to watch the game in a farcial gale force conditions last year in Pearse stadium. When yer wan said "Don't take unnecessary journeys" down there she sure as heck wasn't kidding!

The Connacht board took great pride in denying us games in the Hyde opver the years so will be great to see some proper football in proper conditions going back ala 2001 when Gerry Lohan tore the arse of the net with a last minute goal

WaitingInTheLongGrass (Roscommon) - Posts: 165 - 15/06/2018 14:51:04    2111865

Replying To PressureKick:  "Yes that's exactly my point, of course Roscommon fans will take that title and be delighted with as that one win is probably the sole positive to come out of Championship for Roscommon in 7 years"
RD is that you

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1046 - 15/06/2018 15:20:54    2111881

Replying To WaitingInTheLongGrass:  "We were delighted to win it indeed, although we had to bring our our eskimo gear to watch the game in a farcial gale force conditions last year in Pearse stadium. When yer wan said "Don't take unnecessary journeys" down there she sure as heck wasn't kidding!

The Connacht board took great pride in denying us games in the Hyde opver the years so will be great to see some proper football in proper conditions going back ala 2001 when Gerry Lohan tore the arse of the net with a last minute goal"
Was such a pity for the Roscommon people, with so many saving all year for their annual holiday down in Salthill, only for the it to rain down all weekend. Still, you got the very rare win. Bit ironic Connacht Council trying to deny Ros the right to host games after the county of Roscommon trying their best to deny certain people back in 2015

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 209 - 15/06/2018 15:38:20    2111892

anyone got actual thoughts on the game???

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 15/06/2018 16:19:54    2111907

Replying To PressureKick:  "Was such a pity for the Roscommon people, with so many saving all year for their annual holiday down in Salthill, only for the it to rain down all weekend. Still, you got the very rare win. Bit ironic Connacht Council trying to deny Ros the right to host games after the county of Roscommon trying their best to deny certain people back in 2015"
This is a Gaelic games sport website.If you want to talk politics, politics.ie is the place for you.Off you go now.Goodbye.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2155 - 15/06/2018 16:51:12    2111914

Replying To ispeakwisdom:  "The_analyser is right you were found out. That LOL Roscommon and up Galway post you made shall not be forgotten. Made the mistake that you posted that under the wrong username didn't you. We have plenty of pretend Rossies on hoganstand but at least a few of them make themselves look less obvious in their posts than you."
What?? Irony lost on you. You weren't as excited over the false rumours and abuse of our players by posters who I'd actually pity. Good reason for long absences.

Difference of opinions is quite common and opinions are very changeable deal with it.

We finally delivered two major championship performances last year and I'm hopeful of more of the same this year. At least two crack's at super eight (hopefully one will suffice) with a decent break in between.Important as Our conditioning and physicality is still well off the top teams.

We have the right management now and will have a cut come what may and alot of good footballers which is down to the hard work at underage since 05.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 15/06/2018 17:43:28    2111932

Replying To PressureKick:  "Was such a pity for the Roscommon people, with so many saving all year for their annual holiday down in Salthill, only for the it to rain down all weekend. Still, you got the very rare win. Bit ironic Connacht Council trying to deny Ros the right to host games after the county of Roscommon trying their best to deny certain people back in 2015"
What a ridiculous comment. What has the same sex marraige referendum got to do with the current connaght final. Grow up.

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 15/06/2018 17:47:01    2111933

Replying To dave1988:  "RD is that you"
What. ?? Sorry there is only one of me. And as I said I wish David coldrick a good game on Sunday.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/06/2018 19:22:53    2111947

Replying To Soma:  "Great to see the Hyde sold out 4 days ahead of the game and a bit of bite between fans on here as well. It was only 3 years ago HS posters were declaring the Connacht championship as dead with Mayo dominating. Mayo have only won 2 games out West in the last 3 years and haven't even made a Connacht final in that time though they will put that right before long. Two very proud counties going head to head Sunday who have put a huge effort into developing underage. Hoping for a great game and may the best team win."
Exactly. You've 3 teams in Connacht capable of winning it now.
I certainly would've been one of the ones saying Connacht was predictable not too long ago.
The final is 50/50 but I've a sneaky feeling this game will suit the rossies. Roscommon to win by a point!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 15/06/2018 19:46:47    2111953

Replying To royaldunne:  "What. ?? Sorry there is only one of me. And as I said I wish David coldrick a good game on Sunday."
Ah Royaldunne as a Westmeath man now would you not like to see your neighbours win. We cpuod be your second team now that Meath are out again early

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 15/06/2018 19:56:50    2111955

Replying To salvador:  "What?? Irony lost on you. You weren't as excited over the false rumours and abuse of our players by posters who I'd actually pity. Good reason for long absences.

Difference of opinions is quite common and opinions are very changeable deal with it.

We finally delivered two major championship performances last year and I'm hopeful of more of the same this year. At least two crack's at super eight (hopefully one will suffice) with a decent break in between.Important as Our conditioning and physicality is still well off the top teams.

We have the right management now and will have a cut come what may and alot of good footballers which is down to the hard work at underage since 05."
Ispeakwisdom is one of our (Roscommon) longest and most respected posters on here. Meanwhile you are still using the we,our and us when you aren't a Rossies at all. You aren't kidding anyone any more salvador time to stop playing this nonsense.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3744 - 15/06/2018 20:48:58    2111975

Replying To salvador:  "What?? Irony lost on you. You weren't as excited over the false rumours and abuse of our players by posters who I'd actually pity. Good reason for long absences.

We have the right management now and will have a cut come what may and alot of good footballers which is down to the hard work at underage since 05."
Irony? For the record i was one of the most outspoken people on here wherever i see false rumours or any abuse is thrown around.

The things i have no time for on here is newbies who pretend to be new,trolls and wums and last but not least people like you not from Roscommon trying to fool people that you are from Roscommon.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 15/06/2018 22:15:49    2111997

Listening to 2fm game on this evening ypu would imagine it was roscommon and galway hurlers playing on Sunday. The couldn't make a case for Roscommon to have a chance. The had john casey on who couldn't admit thst roscommon and cavan were the best teams in divison 2 the day the were both promoted back to divison 1. I don't think i have ever seen where a team goes to another's teams home ground and beats them by 9 points the have been completely written off 12 months later. Especially if you think back to 16 when roscommon had a chance at the very end to win that game and could be going for 3 connachts in a row. It is funny when roscommon lost heavly in the replay nobody mentioned roscommon were missing something like 18 players from the squad through injury. Yet 12 months later when the roles were reversed every excuse in the book were thrown at galway. Roscommon are no world beaters and it is possible we could get well beaten on Sunday but we do punch above our weight and I believe we are capable of winning. Counties like roscommon don't get any respect for there achievements while other counties who achieved something 20 years ago get built up year after year based on that alone. This is the case in both football and hurling.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 15/06/2018 23:11:02    2112007

Had a sneaky feeling Roscommon would win last year but this year my money is on Galway. Think they have got a harder edge to them that was missing badly the last few years. They have a serious panel which they've been adding to the last few years and they look to have a maturity about them now. Some very very good footballers cannot make the first 15. Overall they look much more balanced. If they get going properly they could run up a big score on Roscommon but if they need to go to the trenches they also have that in their arsenal. Roscommon are in a good place though and a very good bet for the Super 8 no matter what happens Sunday.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 15/06/2018 23:14:30    2112008

Replying To Hardtimes:  "Had a sneaky feeling Roscommon would win last year but this year my money is on Galway. Think they have got a harder edge to them that was missing badly the last few years. They have a serious panel which they've been adding to the last few years and they look to have a maturity about them now. Some very very good footballers cannot make the first 15. Overall they look much more balanced. If they get going properly they could run up a big score on Roscommon but if they need to go to the trenches they also have that in their arsenal. Roscommon are in a good place though and a very good bet for the Super 8 no matter what happens Sunday."
Thanks hardtimes now worry about down we will take on galway

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 15/06/2018 23:32:17    2112010