Is Leinster Football Dead And Buried?

Replying To ruff1106:  "Both the GAA and AIG sponsorship have created an amateur monster that is the Dublin footballers. They have such an advantage over all other teams in Leinster financially and most games in headquarters. Rugby and soccer will reap the rewards eventually which is frustrating."
what about the Kerry monster in munster ? going for there 80th munster title !! does this not frustrate you also ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 30/05/2018 23:26:58    2105790

Replying To waynoI:  "I understand what you are saying and in a way I agree, But it kind of irritates me that Leinster gets the brunt of it when it comes to the provincial championships being dead.

Kerry and Cork have won 116 out of 129 Munster senior football championships in the associations history. Kerry will be going for their 80th. Cork, a traditional strong dual GAA county with a massive population only have 37, less than half of their rivals Kerry and nobody is starting threads about Munster football.

The whole provincial thing has gone stale. If youre going to get shot of one you may aswell get shot of all them."
Kerry don't have population , funding, sponsorship, economic, advantages over everybody to the nth degree

Munster is a Hurling province and only has 6 counties so there's a reason why it has been lopsided historically yet it is know infinitely more competitive now than Leinster a Football province where it is the dominant code in 10 counties

37thHeaven (Kerry) - Posts: 102 - 30/05/2018 23:42:51    2105799

Replying To 37thHeaven:  "Kerry don't have population , funding, sponsorship, economic, advantages over everybody to the nth degree

Munster is a Hurling province and only has 6 counties so there's a reason why it has been lopsided historically yet it is know infinitely more competitive now than Leinster a Football province where it is the dominant code in 10 counties"
So the munster sfc championship , has been lopsided for well over a 100 years , with Kerry having advantages being in a 6 county hurling province , only having to beat 1 team to get to an all Ireland semi final , for the majority of there 37 all Irelands , yea quite clearly didn't need population funding sponsorship etc , but it was all fair wasn't it ? amazingly Dublin always had population , funding , sponsorship etc , but this was never a problem from 1996 -2011.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 31/05/2018 00:00:55    2105809

Replying To superbluedub:  "So the munster sfc championship , has been lopsided for well over a 100 years , with Kerry having advantages being in a 6 county hurling province , only having to beat 1 team to get to an all Ireland semi final , for the majority of there 37 all Irelands , yea quite clearly didn't need population funding sponsorship etc , but it was all fair wasn't it ? amazingly Dublin always had population , funding , sponsorship etc , but this was never a problem from 1996 -2011."
Then how come it is more a competitive than a province that has 10 teams that play Football as it's first Code - that should be impossible if Dublin were on a level playing field as you suggest

It's not our fault if other teams in our province play Munster - in fact the poor quality of land (bar the Hurling region) compared to rest of Munster is the biggest reason why we never became a Hurling county like our neighbours

The fact is we had to travel to win all of our AI's and got no favours from GAAHQ in terms of funding and we never had a million and a half which to draw players from and to market a ton of wealthy sponsors (A small market like Kerry couldn't dream of car or Airline sponsors!)

37thHeaven (Kerry) - Posts: 102 - 31/05/2018 00:18:46    2105811

Firstly as a Longford supporter I'm delighted with the result on Sunday. Regarding the debate on Leinster football I think it's a reaction to the a very dominant team throughout the country not just in Leinster. The fact that Longford and Carlow are beating the traditional rivals can only be good for Leinster. Meath and Kildare with have to regain focus while the smaller teams achieve a modest success. All the giving out about the Dubs, the GAA etc should stop and teams should try and be like Longford and Carlow and overachieve. If Meath or Kildare did that they would be Leinster champions!

Goat68 (Longford) - Posts: 19 - 31/05/2018 00:54:51    2105815

Replying To 37thHeaven:  "Then how come it is more a competitive than a province that has 10 teams that play Football as it's first Code - that should be impossible if Dublin were on a level playing field as you suggest

It's not our fault if other teams in our province play Munster - in fact the poor quality of land (bar the Hurling region) compared to rest of Munster is the biggest reason why we never became a Hurling county like our neighbours

The fact is we had to travel to win all of our AI's and got no favours from GAAHQ in terms of funding and we never had a million and a half which to draw players from and to market a ton of wealthy sponsors (A small market like Kerry couldn't dream of car or Airline sponsors!)"
true you had to win 3 matches to win an all Ireland , and also had to travel to croke park to win those 37 all Irelands , a home venue for yea lol...

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 31/05/2018 01:08:32    2105819

Replying To TheUsername:  "Another convincing win for Meath minors with 4-14 on the board.

Dublin were made to work hard by Offaly."
WOW Offaly and Meath will never again see a poor day, you'd make a great spin doctor.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 31/05/2018 01:30:35    2105823

Replying To TheUsername:  "Another convincing win for Meath minors with 4-14 on the board.

Dublin were made to work hard by Offaly."
Yes you are right. But what is the gaa (Meath haven't got the clout) doing to ensure this group in Meath can be kept together?. Ie no Aussie scout allowed in, offer them studies, here in ire. Everything must be done by Meath gaa and the gaa in general to keep the talent that is available here. The best midfielder in Meath is in Australia, actually I'd go as far to say he probably one of the best in country. It's all about keeping them interested . When dubs had the great minor team that now dominates the senior panel, they for the most part were kept in country and county. Dublin could do this, I don't think Meath can.
And here lays the problem.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/05/2018 07:21:35    2105830

Replying To 37thHeaven:  "Then how come it is more a competitive than a province that has 10 teams that play Football as it's first Code - that should be impossible if Dublin were on a level playing field as you suggest

The fact is we had to travel to win all of our AI's and got no favours from GAAHQ in terms of funding and we never had a million and a half which to draw players from and to market a ton of wealthy sponsors (A small market like Kerry couldn't dream of car or Airline sponsors!)"
Nah.....just a couple of oil companies tbf!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 31/05/2018 07:51:05    2105834

Replying To superbluedub:  "true you had to win 3 matches to win an all Ireland , and also had to travel to croke park to win those 37 all Irelands , a home venue for yea lol..."
I'd like to know, genuinely, do dubs supporters everything in Leinster is healthy as it is and Dublin have been given no advantage over the years? Just keep doing everything as we are? Genuine question.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 31/05/2018 10:04:24    2105859

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yes you are right. But what is the gaa (Meath haven't got the clout) doing to ensure this group in Meath can be kept together?. Ie no Aussie scout allowed in, offer them studies, here in ire. Everything must be done by Meath gaa and the gaa in general to keep the talent that is available here. The best midfielder in Meath is in Australia, actually I'd go as far to say he probably one of the best in country. It's all about keeping them interested . When dubs had the great minor team that now dominates the senior panel, they for the most part were kept in country and county. Dublin could do this, I don't think Meath can.
And here lays the problem."
Agreed mate personally i think this is something the county boards need to look at. My own belief is there is money to be made in GAA for a player from a personal point of view, sponsorship, advertising, media, books etc even testimonials. I think we will see this more and more and i beleive the Gaa has to embrace this with the amaeteur ethos to ward of the AFL threat. Someone like Connor Nash as you say could have been a GAA superstar and easlly cash in on his GAA profile.

I know the point you are making and im not comparing like for like but arguably Dublins best minor last year, James Madden is being poached by the AFL.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 31/05/2018 10:57:55    2105883

Replying To kildare73:  "I'd like to know, genuinely, do dubs supporters everything in Leinster is healthy as it is and Dublin have been given no advantage over the years? Just keep doing everything as we are? Genuine question."
This question has been answered to death on here. Of course we have advantages. As we always have had. Do Kildare posters blame Dublin for all their shortcomings. Genuine question?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 31/05/2018 11:00:30    2105884

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yes you are right. But what is the gaa (Meath haven't got the clout) doing to ensure this group in Meath can be kept together?. Ie no Aussie scout allowed in, offer them studies, here in ire. Everything must be done by Meath gaa and the gaa in general to keep the talent that is available here. The best midfielder in Meath is in Australia, actually I'd go as far to say he probably one of the best in country. It's all about keeping them interested . When dubs had the great minor team that now dominates the senior panel, they for the most part were kept in country and county. Dublin could do this, I don't think Meath can.
And here lays the problem."
We have the same problem royaldunne, we've lost 3 serious players over the last 16 years in Kennelly Walsh and the cream of the crop mark O'Connor, people don't realise that our population is so small that we cannot afford to lose players of this caliber.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 31/05/2018 12:40:32    2105944

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "We have the same problem royaldunne, we've lost 3 serious players over the last 16 years in Kennelly Walsh and the cream of the crop mark O'Connor, people don't realise that our population is so small that we cannot afford to lose players of this caliber."
lol !!!!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 31/05/2018 13:03:06    2105951

Replying To Jackeen:  "This question has been answered to death on here. Of course we have advantages. As we always have had. Do Kildare posters blame Dublin for all their shortcomings. Genuine question?"
So what you are saying is the money pumped into Dublin over the last 10 years so has made no difference?

And that the massive backroom team gives ye no competitive advantages over everybody else??

Simple Yes or No Questions

37thHeaven (Kerry) - Posts: 102 - 31/05/2018 13:09:57    2105954

there is hope for Leinster football. Meath should really be challenging. Some of the Meath posters on here like RoyalDunne have consistently praised Rugby. Not Meath football. That said, Meath are redeveloping Navan Parc Tailteann, this will help them. Don't blame Dublin GAA, The Dubs bring colour, crowds and nice football to the scene imho.
Croke park is probably too big, it has nearly bankrupted Leinster football. But the good news for Leinster is there are lots of nice grounds outside Croker. Port Laois, Wexford park, Nolan Park, and so on.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 31/05/2018 13:11:30    2105955

Replying To TheUsername:  "Agreed mate personally i think this is something the county boards need to look at. My own belief is there is money to be made in GAA for a player from a personal point of view, sponsorship, advertising, media, books etc even testimonials. I think we will see this more and more and i beleive the Gaa has to embrace this with the amaeteur ethos to ward of the AFL threat. Someone like Connor Nash as you say could have been a GAA superstar and easlly cash in on his GAA profile.

I know the point you are making and im not comparing like for like but arguably Dublins best minor last year, James Madden is being poached by the AFL."
Yeah Conor Nash could have made a decent living off the gaa, but it wasn't offered. And I don't blame him one bit for going to Australia. Also I know dubs have the same issues as every county when it comes to tempting players away, and some will. The only difference is Dublin cb have the strength to counteract it. Meath cb don't. Or don't know how to. This is where the gaa or Leinster council imo have a role to play, and actually with Dublin too

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/05/2018 13:16:54    2105957

Replying To superbluedub:  "true you had to win 3 matches to win an all Ireland , and also had to travel to croke park to win those 37 all Irelands , a home venue for yea lol..."
Croke Park isn't in Kerry, it is very far away further than anywhere else bar Donegal

37thHeaven (Kerry) - Posts: 102 - 31/05/2018 13:24:13    2105961

I get the feeling if there was a tread on short comings of Junior Football in Westmeath the Dubs would be blamed!

The fact is in Leinster, one team are so far ahead at the moment and all others have lost hope. Without hope you have nothing.

Its not Dublin's fault. Players are lead to believe the Championship is what its all about - without any hope they are becoming disillusioned and now they are beginning to walk. The problem gets bigger as a consequence.

Most treads here wouldn't appear if a proper competition structure. You don't hear fans of Shrewsbury Town giving out about the level of finances available to Man City!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 31/05/2018 13:44:24    2105970

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "WOW Offaly and Meath will never again see a poor day, you'd make a great spin doctor."
Mate, he would, mate :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 31/05/2018 13:49:33    2105973