All Ireland U20 Football Championship 2018

Jimmys winning matches!! What a win for kildare. We are very proud of the squad.

Caoimhog88 (Kildare) - Posts: 82 - 05/08/2018 18:49:34    2129561

Fair play to the Lillies, by far the better side and deserved the win. We could have sneaked it with the goal chance at the end, but in all honesty it would have been a travesty.

With regard to the sending off it's clearly gross misconduct by our lad who will rightly get a lengthy ban.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 05/08/2018 18:57:44    2129570

Congratulations to Kildare, an excellent bunch of young footballers.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/08/2018 18:57:55    2129571

White power

White power

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 05/08/2018 20:46:30    2129642

Fantastic achievement for all involved in team. Massive boost for underage football in the county.

Well done lads!

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 05/08/2018 21:34:21    2129681

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "White power

White power"
I seriously hope this is not a chant that Kildare fans use, even if meant ironically.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 05/08/2018 22:44:34    2129739

Congratulations delighted for Kildare. Stick to your guns down there you're not far off it at senior level. Success is inevitable with consistency.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 05/08/2018 23:38:55    2129767

Congrats to Kildare, a fine team and deserved win. Disappointing from our point of view that the lads didn't play to their potential, heads up.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 06/08/2018 09:05:59    2129855

Well done to the Lillies - best team this year by far in my opinion.

Enjoy your All Ireland title.

Some excellent talent there.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 06/08/2018 10:45:25    2129902

Congrats to Kildare, this is a great achievement for the county and Leinster in general.

Some cracking players to be brought through to senior level, Hyland in particular looks a class act.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/08/2018 12:36:46    2129952

I see David Clifford has his own thread, obviously he's been having a huge affect on the Kerry senior team and was huge at underage but are we thinking Jimmy Hyland could be on par? 1-26 in the last three matches vs Dublin, Kerry and Mayo winning MOTM in all.. A full forward line of himself, Dan Flynn and Neil Flynn can only be devastating in years to come

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 06/08/2018 13:35:39    2129999

Replying To Sweetspot:  "I see David Clifford has his own thread, obviously he's been having a huge affect on the Kerry senior team and was huge at underage but are we thinking Jimmy Hyland could be on par? 1-26 in the last three matches vs Dublin, Kerry and Mayo winning MOTM in all.. A full forward line of himself, Dan Flynn and Neil Flynn can only be devastating in years to come"
He's an incredibly talented player and timing wise, he looks to be joining the senior team at a great moment for his development.
Exciting times ahead for Kildare supporters.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 06/08/2018 13:50:10    2130011

Replying To Sweetspot:  "I see David Clifford has his own thread, obviously he's been having a huge affect on the Kerry senior team and was huge at underage but are we thinking Jimmy Hyland could be on par? 1-26 in the last three matches vs Dublin, Kerry and Mayo winning MOTM in all.. A full forward line of himself, Dan Flynn and Neil Flynn can only be devastating in years to come"
1-26 doesn't really tell the story though. Of that total, 1-20 was from play which makes it more impressive. It's astonishing scoring really in a Leinster final & all ireland semi & final. He's a superb player, unbelievably accurate off both feet.

Fantastic day. The only criticism you could level at this team is that had to hang on to beat Kerry by a point & Mayo by two despite playing both off the park.....but that's irrelevant really. First All Ireland at any level in my lifetime. A truly brilliant day.
A huge thank you to all the players & backroom team. I won't deny it, I was a bit emotional !

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 06/08/2018 13:57:35    2130021

While of course huge congratulations are due to Kildare in winning the U20 All-Ireland , it gives me great pleasure to remind them that the Royals did lower their colours in the Leinster Championship.

Ibbecek (Meath) - Posts: 196 - 06/08/2018 14:22:54    2130032

Replying To Ibbecek:  "While of course huge congratulations are due to Kildare in winning the U20 All-Ireland , it gives me great pleasure to remind them that the Royals did lower their colours in the Leinster Championship."
It's about the big victories and who holds the cup on the last day. Our colours are flying high!!:)

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 06/08/2018 14:59:08    2130049

Replying To kildare73:  "It's about the big victories and who holds the cup on the last day. Our colours are flying high!!:)"
Again, Massive congratulations to Kildare

Ibbecek (Meath) - Posts: 196 - 06/08/2018 15:03:16    2130051

Throw in Ben McCormack in that list as well. He's a pretty classy forward too who wasn't available this year. McCormack, Paul Cribbin, Hyland, both Flynns, Brophy,Conway backed up by Kelly,Healy,etc ain't a bad bunch of forwards and that's before you introduce the rest of the U20s.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 06/08/2018 17:32:26    2130087

No complaints this end, Kildare way the better team. A few lads of their lads wouldn't be out of place on any senior team, bar the Dubs. Hard to think that, had our full forward a little bit of composure at the end, we could have sneaked it but it would have been unfair on Kildare. The disappointing thing for me was the fact that none of the three or four of our lads who were being touted as future seniors stood up on the day. Good game of football though with both teams set up to attack. Shame about the sending off at the end. Not nice to see a lad lose control like that. Hopefully it will be a wake up call for him.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 06/08/2018 20:35:37    2130159

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "White power

White power"
That's an awful comment and wholly inappropriate. Conjures up all sorts of imagery.

You're usually a good poster so will take it as an error of judgement.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 06/08/2018 21:00:09    2130172

No surprises for me here, Mayo lose another final, same old, same old, well done to Kildare, fantastic achievement.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 07/08/2018 13:46:49    2130435