Longford V Meath

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Armagh gave McGeeney 4 years and be hasnt won a single match in Ulster and spent 3 of the last 4 years in div 3. Boylan Dwyer and McGee had nightmare results in the first three years in charge. Boylan was hammered by laois in year 3, Dwyer walked away in year 3 after bad loses to teams like louth in first season to return in second term and suceed in year 5 as manager. McGee had 3 dreadful years with Offaly. First round loses. The supporters the county board wanted him gone. Only for chairman support he was gone and kerry would have won 5 in a row. Gilroy had record defeats to kerry in year 1 and record defeats to Meath in year 2. In Walsh first year Galway were hammered by Mayo, in year 2 they were hammered by Tipp and in year 3 hammerd by Rossies. It took him 4 years for Walsh to turn the corner. It took Boylan McGee Dwyer 4 years and in Dwyers 5 years. Jimmy Barry Murphy and Nicholas English had nightmare results in charge of Cork and Tipp in first few years in charge in 90s. When a traditional county is in the doldrums it takes years to turn the ship around. We have sacked managers before it aint the answer. I believe if McEntee goes this year we will probaly end up like Laois and Derry and end up in div 4. Give him two more years. If the same results in year 4 he goes. Have a sucession plan where someone like Geraghty is in charge of the under 20s. No knee jerk reactions. Thats just my opinion.

Today is about Longford and their great win. Well deserved win. The fact is the better team won. Thats it. longford have done excellent work at underage they have great clubs and great gaa people and Pearse Park is one of the toughest places to win. Very shrewd manager. Congratulations to Longford. Well derserved winners."
Furlong ignore him. His post is only to try and wind me up.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/05/2018 19:43:32    2104275

Replying To Long.Dub.Glic:  "It's the first time since 2014 that Longford will have home advantage for a Leinster SFC game and it'll really suit them. The supporters need to get behind the team from the start and create an atmosphere.
On the pitch itself, Longford were very unlucky to miss out on promotion and have a few decent performances under their belts. Meath had a hit and miss league campaign but will have gained confidence from avoiding relegation and then winning the O'Byrne Cup.

Longford will need to keep Donal Lenihan quiet and hopefully Sean McCormack, Robbie Smyth and Rian Brady can do well at the other end.
It took a free kick competition to settle the O'Byrne Cup semi final and even though there will be some changes to both teams, i don't think there's a lot between them so I think (and hope) that home advantage and a good vocal home crowd will get Longford over the line by 1 or 2 pts"
If Meath had taken their goal chances in first half it could've been a different game. Some of the Longford shot selection in the first was wayward enough too. Delighted to get the win but I'm under no illusion that we're going to get a trimming from Dublin the next day but for now I'll just enjoy the build up to Longford being in a Leinster semi final

Long.Dub.Glic (Dublin) - Posts: 190 - 27/05/2018 19:43:56    2104276

Replying To 11jm11:  "Couldnt agree more. Leinster rugby making massive in roads in both counties.

When you see your county humiliated year in year out by dublin, fans have naturally turned away in their droves.
I live in meath and while the club game is strong, people have lost all interest in meath senior footballers, its no differnet if not worse in kildare.
Dark days for kildare and meath."
Problem in Meath and Kildare club scene now though is that if you scratch the surface a little you'll see that playing numbers are way down...for eg have a look at the huge fall in standard and participation in B league (2nd team competition) in Meath, some traditionally big clubs struggling to field second teams.

It's a mix of GAA destroying the competition so no interest in county teams (no Simonstown or Summerhill players on Meath team today due to drop offs, most successful club teams in recent times in Meath) and then club players being messed around (global gaa problem) and taking their sporting interests elsewhere.

If FAI had any cop on they'd launch a league of Ireland club in Kildare and Meath but the rugby lads have the brains and so I expect rugby to take off in a big way in both counties.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 27/05/2018 19:44:39    2104277

Replying To Htaem:  "Well done to Longford, great result for them, but honestly, this can't be considered a shock, there's nothing between Longford and Meath at present and the better team won, simple as."
That's it. I have been saying this for awhile. Longford and Meath are pretty much evenly matched. Now obviously I hoped and I actually thought we would win , but I always said it would be tight. And tbh the posters from Roscommon (if only Leitrim was in Leinster to reach a final ,hip hip Horay) are been very disrespectful to longford, saying it is Meath fault they won, cause how bad are longford type of attitude. Anyway you are correct we just have to keep plodding along until the u20 and minors start coming through.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/05/2018 19:48:09    2104280

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Have you ever considered the possibility that neither are making the most of their resources ? I'd imagine not."
For a Dublin man to come in here questioning Meath and Kildare about "resources" is enough to make my already full sick bag overflow........neither Meath or Kildare have yet benefitted from the population influx as a lot of those youngsters still want to play with Dublin. I've highlighted this before it's a generational thing and most don't want to play in green or white jersies. We are working hard at underage and having success but at senior level we are going to have a few more dark days before good ones, it will take time. Today is about Longford and Carlow and both their remarkable belief, spirit, determination and no small amount of good football and their achievements should not be diluted by people questioning what's going on in Meath or Kildare, Longford and Carlow were the better teams and deserving winners and I tip my hat to them both.......

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 27/05/2018 19:49:36    2104282

Replying To Crinigan:  "Problem in Meath and Kildare club scene now though is that if you scratch the surface a little you'll see that playing numbers are way down...for eg have a look at the huge fall in standard and participation in B league (2nd team competition) in Meath, some traditionally big clubs struggling to field second teams.

It's a mix of GAA destroying the competition so no interest in county teams (no Simonstown or Summerhill players on Meath team today due to drop offs, most successful club teams in recent times in Meath) and then club players being messed around (global gaa problem) and taking their sporting interests elsewhere.

If FAI had any cop on they'd launch a league of Ireland club in Kildare and Meath but the rugby lads have the brains and so I expect rugby to take off in a big way in both counties."
My local team here in meath are senior and cant field a B team at the minute, in fact we had 3 subs for a senior championship game last summer. Our underage has to amalgamate too even though were a decent sized parish.

My home club in kildare exactly the same.

Go into the local schools and you will get a sense of the future for sport in the province and its rugby.

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 27/05/2018 20:02:51    2104287

Replying To Htaem:  "Well done to Longford, great result for them, but honestly, this can't be considered a shock, there's nothing between Longford and Meath at present and the better team won, simple as."
Super win for Longford and well done, as Meath, what can I say!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 27/05/2018 20:02:58    2104288

Great win for us (Longford) and congratulations to everyone involved. Listening to Meath fans at the game was very interesting, they certainly have not bought into the sweeper/blanket system. For that system to be successful takes time and everyone, fans and players have to be totally committed to it. That's why when losing by a few points with 10 minutes left you persist with the sweeper, it's all about the system and making it become 2nd nature to the players. Be patient and give it another year or so because unfortunately it's the only way to compete with the big guns. As for Longford, bring on the Dubs, enjoy the day out and thanks for a memorable day .

catchturnscore (Longford) - Posts: 149 - 27/05/2018 20:06:18    2104293

Replying To royaldunne:  "Furlong ignore him. His post is only to try and wind me up."
No bother Royaldunne. I will ignore him.
That horrible feeling when the county is knocked out of the championship and the summer is over before it starts. To lose in the first round is always a pain. I could be wrong but I think in the last 35 years that is Meaths third loss in the first round of leinster with defeats to laois in 1992 with break up of great 80s team thay day. And in 2000 when Offaly caught us after winning Sam year before and we had league final replay and injuries before Offaly game in 00. Today I think is are only first round along with 92 and 2000 since longford beat us in 1982 first round. Could be missing one lose. Was Wexford in 06 under Barry first round loss also. Im not sure.

Still theres the back door. Winnable games. But of course Mayo and Tyrone are the ones no one wants. I just have this feeling Meath are going to get kildare. I could be wrong of course.

Royaldunne you do have to feel sorry for Graham Reilly and Donal keoghan , both tried their best. Two players who would walk on the 80s and 90s. teams. Two players who will join Ken Rennicks and Stephen Bray as the best Meath players never to win an All Ireland senior for Meath.
Thanks for the comments LongfordBaz, great day for Longford folk everywhere. Great GAA folk. And you have a good team. Promotion next year to div 2 is on the cards. longford are going places. Congratulations again. Enjoy tonight you deserve it.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 27/05/2018 20:23:01    2104305

Replying To Furlong1949:  "No bother Royaldunne. I will ignore him.
That horrible feeling when the county is knocked out of the championship and the summer is over before it starts. To lose in the first round is always a pain. I could be wrong but I think in the last 35 years that is Meaths third loss in the first round of leinster with defeats to laois in 1992 with break up of great 80s team thay day. And in 2000 when Offaly caught us after winning Sam year before and we had league final replay and injuries before Offaly game in 00. Today I think is are only first round along with 92 and 2000 since longford beat us in 1982 first round. Could be missing one lose. Was Wexford in 06 under Barry first round loss also. Im not sure.

Still theres the back door. Winnable games. But of course Mayo and Tyrone are the ones no one wants. I just have this feeling Meath are going to get kildare. I could be wrong of course.

Royaldunne you do have to feel sorry for Graham Reilly and Donal keoghan , both tried their best. Two players who would walk on the 80s and 90s. teams. Two players who will join Ken Rennicks and Stephen Bray as the best Meath players never to win an All Ireland senior for Meath.
Thanks for the comments LongfordBaz, great day for Longford folk everywhere. Great GAA folk. And you have a good team. Promotion next year to div 2 is on the cards. longford are going places. Congratulations again. Enjoy tonight you deserve it."
Yeah they will. Great players but at a bad time. I feel so sorry for them. Cause if we honest like Rennicks etc guys that have less talent have Celtic crosses. That been said their commitment to Meath is undoubtably to be recognized. It's easy to play well on a winning team, it's a hell lot harder to do it knowing there is nothing at the end of it. Same for bray. But they keep going.
Hopefully a long summer still awaits, I am genuinely delighted for longford, great supporters and not the arrogant kind that some of their and our neighbors are. But it's very hard to take a first round loss. And if I am correct both Meath and Kildare will not be seeded next year. So Meath Kildare Laois and Dublin could all be on the one side.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/05/2018 20:34:15    2104311

Replying To Richieq:  "For a Dublin man to come in here questioning Meath and Kildare about "resources" is enough to make my already full sick bag overflow........neither Meath or Kildare have yet benefitted from the population influx as a lot of those youngsters still want to play with Dublin. I've highlighted this before it's a generational thing and most don't want to play in green or white jersies. We are working hard at underage and having success but at senior level we are going to have a few more dark days before good ones, it will take time. Today is about Longford and Carlow and both their remarkable belief, spirit, determination and no small amount of good football and their achievements should not be diluted by people questioning what's going on in Meath or Kildare, Longford and Carlow were the better teams and deserving winners and I tip my hat to them both......."
It's a bit of cheek alright. You probably replied a little more refraining than I would have. So I'll leave it at that.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/05/2018 20:37:23    2104315

Replying To Furlong1949:  "I understand what your saying. But I have good friends in Galway. One of them their grandfather was one of the greatest players ever to play for Galway. And my Galway friends wanted Walsh gone after his second year, year 2 in charge. After the 8 or 9 point loss to Tipp and failure to get promoted in year 2 . Walsh didnt get Galway promoted til year 3 from div 2. Even last years my Galway friends had serious issues with Walsh after Roscommon 8 or 9 point defeat. Its not til this year they have changed their mind regards Walsh. Its not really this year that you could say in his 4th year that Walsh really turned the corner."
Oh you won't find harsher critics of our manager than within our own borders. I think it's the same within most counties but the North v West Galway thing which a few people in Galway can't see beyond makes it a bit more vicious in Galway. I do see the point of your original post

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 27/05/2018 20:39:37    2104316

Replying To Crinigan:  "A few pastings from the GAA's chosen team and they'll be in same place as rest of Leinster.

GAA is dead in Meath and Kildare, you can thank the GAA and Leinster council for that.

I'd expect liked of IRFU and FAI to make serious hay in both counties in coming years."
Longford beat ye today not Dublin. Dublin are class but not responsible for the decline in fortunes of other counties.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7342 - 27/05/2018 21:01:09    2104331

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Meath seriously need a change of manager. They have gone from bad to worse under him and its a shame to see them so bad"
Speak for yourself :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 27/05/2018 21:06:46    2104333

Was at the match today
Longford had a couple of lads kicking long range points including Gallagher in midfield and Mc Givney
Meath missed 3 handy goals in the first half, longford had two good chances in the game they missed
I thought that Longford tired a lot in the second half but held on to win
Padraig Mc Cormack, Masterson amongst others really good
Meaths best period was when they went s man down and the two Wallaces caused a lot of pressure when they came on
Great win for Longford, went into the lead early in the second half but held out

Maroonedinlongford (Galway) - Posts: 242 - 27/05/2018 21:24:58    2104348

Replying To galwayfball:  "Oh you won't find harsher critics of our manager than within our own borders. I think it's the same within most counties but the North v West Galway thing which a few people in Galway can't see beyond makes it a bit more vicious in Galway. I do see the point of your original post"
Thats fair enough. Its just as bad in our county. Its the same everywhere. I blame the premiership. Managers sacked all the time in soccer If you dont get instant sucess your gone. Its creeped into GAA. If Sean boylan Mick Dwyer Eugene MCGee Jimmy Barry Murphy and Pat Gilroy and many more werent given time after a couple dreadful loses and seasons, firstly Meath could still be on 3 All Irelands , kildare wouldn't have reached a final in 98, Kerry would have won 5 in a row in 82 and Cork and Tipp wouldn't have won in 99 or 01. And if Gilroy wasnt given a third years after being hammerd out the gate by kerry in 09 and Meath in 2010 would Dublin have won in 2011 and what kind of sucess would Dublin have had in this decade if they didnt. 2011 final was a game changer for Dublin. It kick started everything. You have to give managers time. It's the only way.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 27/05/2018 21:54:01    2104373

Replying To Richieq:  "For a Dublin man to come in here questioning Meath and Kildare about "resources" is enough to make my already full sick bag overflow........neither Meath or Kildare have yet benefitted from the population influx as a lot of those youngsters still want to play with Dublin. I've highlighted this before it's a generational thing and most don't want to play in green or white jersies. We are working hard at underage and having success but at senior level we are going to have a few more dark days before good ones, it will take time. Today is about Longford and Carlow and both their remarkable belief, spirit, determination and no small amount of good football and their achievements should not be diluted by people questioning what's going on in Meath or Kildare, Longford and Carlow were the better teams and deserving winners and I tip my hat to them both......."
Listen , it was a Kildare poster who came on and started making out that year two were the only counties that could put it up to Dublin. Fair play to Carlow and Longford who are really making inroads but don't tell me ye are making the most of what ye have.
It's not about kicking anyone when their down its being straight whether you like it or not.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 27/05/2018 22:12:19    2104390

Replying To Maroonedinlongford:  "Was at the match today
Longford had a couple of lads kicking long range points including Gallagher in midfield and Mc Givney
Meath missed 3 handy goals in the first half, longford had two good chances in the game they missed
I thought that Longford tired a lot in the second half but held on to win
Padraig Mc Cormack, Masterson amongst others really good
Meaths best period was when they went s man down and the two Wallaces caused a lot of pressure when they came on
Great win for Longford, went into the lead early in the second half but held out"
Fair assessment.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/05/2018 22:25:23    2104404

Congratulations to Longford a good day long overdue, we're looking forward to playing yee in a couple of weeks.

Bad luck to Meath, I admire the loyalty and passion of the lads on here. Need to regroup now for the qualifiers hopefully yee can get a run of games going.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 27/05/2018 22:28:46    2104407

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Thats fair enough. Its just as bad in our county. Its the same everywhere. I blame the premiership. Managers sacked all the time in soccer If you dont get instant sucess your gone. Its creeped into GAA. If Sean boylan Mick Dwyer Eugene MCGee Jimmy Barry Murphy and Pat Gilroy and many more werent given time after a couple dreadful loses and seasons, firstly Meath could still be on 3 All Irelands , kildare wouldn't have reached a final in 98, Kerry would have won 5 in a row in 82 and Cork and Tipp wouldn't have won in 99 or 01. And if Gilroy wasnt given a third years after being hammerd out the gate by kerry in 09 and Meath in 2010 would Dublin have won in 2011 and what kind of sucess would Dublin have had in this decade if they didnt. 2011 final was a game changer for Dublin. It kick started everything. You have to give managers time. It's the only way."
Your giving all the success storys..There have been many a manager that should have been given the gate and were left there with no improvement when a change should have happened. This year has been a disaster so open your eyes a little and see both sides of the coin

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 27/05/2018 23:08:16    2104438