Leinster Hurling Championship

Replying To Brian_Coyote:  "Agree with Eoin Kelly's comment that the LSHC should have more teams in it. I'd also say that so should the MSHC. It would promote hurling in more counties.
Also both championships should have an even number of teams so no county has the advantage of a break in the middle of the round robin compared to those counties that presently have four games in a row. Add Galway to the MSHC (if Kerry weren't up to playing in it) and put two teams from the JMCD Cup in to the LSHC. The JMCD Cup could be a four team competition or a six team competition where the winners play a round robin with the two bottom teams i.e. MSHC and LSHC. and the bottom team in this going down to the JMCD Cup the following year.
Meath need to be part of the JMCD Cup next year too as they have shown great promises in recent years e.g. winning the Christy Ring against Antrim."
If you added Galway to the Munster Championship you would have two totally lobsided provincial championships. Munster is already a fair bit stronger than Leinster in the amount of top counties taking part.

PeggyShippen (Limerick) - Posts: 300 - 16/05/2018 15:06:50    2101402

Replying To PeggyShippen:  "If you added Galway to the Munster Championship you would have two totally lobsided provincial championships. Munster is already a fair bit stronger than Leinster in the amount of top counties taking part."
really?i think wexford/kilkenny/galway/dublin would disagree,and i think only tipp are ahead of wexford/dublin in munster.i think any other team would be a 50/50 game.
i think kk/galway would beat anything in munster.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 16/05/2018 16:29:34    2101431

Munster is already a fair bit stronger than Leinster in the amount of top counties taking part.

PeggyShippen (Limerick) - Posts: 149 - 16/05/2018 15:06:50 2101402

Fair bit stronger? What is a "top" county? How many Munster have counties topped Kilkenny and Galway at hurling over the last 5 to 10 years?

Listen, I'd say if you compared the five Munster counties to the Leinster ones, overall Munster would be slightly stronger at the moment.

But If you compared the four Leinster counties (no disrespect to Offaly) Galway, Kilkenny, Wexford & Dublin to any four in Munster, there's nothing in it.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2460 - 16/05/2018 17:29:29    2101454

I'm going on results senior and underage. Leinster havent the number of young hurlers to compete right now .They havent won an under 21 in donkeys years and don't pretend that Leinster counties are ok with that. I know it's not a total barometer but it is a barometer and please don't bother telling me what I already know about Limerick under 21s of the past.
Galway are definately up there and kilkenny are improving but I wouldn't see them as better than any of the Munster teams right now.
Wexford and Dublin, and most definately Offaly are all behind Waterford , Cork ,Clare and Limerick and that will be confirmed again come championship. Wexford are possibly the most over rated team in the whole championship. I don't see them beating Dublin who are average themselves.

PeggyShippen (Limerick) - Posts: 300 - 16/05/2018 20:27:59    2101499

Replying To PeggyShippen:  "I'm going on results senior and underage. Leinster havent the number of young hurlers to compete right now .They havent won an under 21 in donkeys years and don't pretend that Leinster counties are ok with that. I know it's not a total barometer but it is a barometer and please don't bother telling me what I already know about Limerick under 21s of the past.
Galway are definately up there and kilkenny are improving but I wouldn't see them as better than any of the Munster teams right now.
Wexford and Dublin, and most definately Offaly are all behind Waterford , Cork ,Clare and Limerick and that will be confirmed again come championship. Wexford are possibly the most over rated team in the whole championship. I don't see them beating Dublin who are average themselves."
Wexford beat Waterford, Cork and Clare in the league without too much effort, it took an average Limerick team all day to beat Clare. Limerick flatter to decieve every year, they did nothing at senior level after winning at u21 in the early 2000s and the same will happen again. Really hope Wexford go all the way as Linerick have their usual summer breakdown.

Jedobi (Wexford) - Posts: 138 - 17/05/2018 05:12:32    2101574

Replying To Jedobi:  "Wexford beat Waterford, Cork and Clare in the league without too much effort, it took an average Limerick team all day to beat Clare. Limerick flatter to decieve every year, they did nothing at senior level after winning at u21 in the early 2000s and the same will happen again. Really hope Wexford go all the way as Linerick have their usual summer breakdown."
Play the ball and not the man. I think Wexford have some fantastic hurlers and big physical backs. It's the forwards that let you down.
Wexford havent won Leinster in a long long time. Limerick won one Munster in 14 and played in an All Ireland semi quiet recently. This is a new team.
We all know Davy focuses on the first half of every season to take pressure off himself and that's what finally got him the sack in Clare. Wexford will soon realise that league performances are a totally different 'kettle of fish'. Maybe I'm completely wrong and Davy has managed to get Wexford up another level. Fair play if that's the case.

PeggyShippen (Limerick) - Posts: 300 - 17/05/2018 09:45:41    2101606

Replying To PeggyShippen:  "I'm going on results senior and underage. Leinster havent the number of young hurlers to compete right now .They havent won an under 21 in donkeys years and don't pretend that Leinster counties are ok with that. I know it's not a total barometer but it is a barometer and please don't bother telling me what I already know about Limerick under 21s of the past.
Wexford and Dublin, and most definately Offaly are all behind Waterford , Cork ,Clare and Limerick and that will be confirmed again come championship. Wexford are possibly the most over rated team in the whole championship. I don't see them beating Dublin who are average themselves."
yeah well you need to stop thinking about u21/underage like it is some gold mine for talent.
it is not.
it is a huge step up to senior so you need to forget about u21's.
the most 1 u21 team will produce is 4-5 hurlers at the max.it not a total barometer,it is no barometer whatsoever.
if it was a barometer,limerick/clare would have about 3-4 all irelands each in the last 15 years.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 17/05/2018 11:50:46    2101662

galway are definitely up there?they sure are,they are the all-ireland champions so they are looking down at the rest of us.you make out that they are up there begrudgingly?
maybe man you think limerick are better than they are?

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 17/05/2018 11:52:11    2101663

Replying To PeggyShippen:  "Play the ball and not the man. I think Wexford have some fantastic hurlers and big physical backs. It's the forwards that let you down.
Wexford havent won Leinster in a long long time. Limerick won one Munster in 14 and played in an All Ireland semi quiet recently. This is a new team.
We all know Davy focuses on the first half of every season to take pressure off himself and that's what finally got him the sack in Clare. Wexford will soon realise that league performances are a totally different 'kettle of fish'. Maybe I'm completely wrong and Davy has managed to get Wexford up another level. Fair play if that's the case."
well done,and limerick have no all-ireland senior in how long?
oh god,the calculator has showed 2018-1973 = 45 years?

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 17/05/2018 11:54:41    2101665

Galway are up there and Kilkenny are improving.....interesting! Galway are All-Ireland champions and Kilkenny are league champions, neither need any introduction in my view.
"Wexford and Dublin, and most definately Offaly are all behind Waterford , Cork ,Clare and Limerick", on what basis at SENIOR hurling (don't mind waffling about U21) do you come to that conclusion?
Wexford beat the 3 of them in the league, and didn't play the other. I know it is a different proposition but I do wonder what you are smoking if you think the Munster counties are all far superior to the 4 counties mentioned above?

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 17/05/2018 12:59:00    2101690

I wouldn't say the Munster counties are 'vastly' superior just superior than Wexford, Dublin and Offaly. Munster championship is the bigtime. It's a stand alone competition that rivals the All Ireland. When people think of Ireland. They think of Kilarney, The Quiet Man, U2 and the Munster Hurling final. The GAA recognise this by not having any county relegated from the Munster Championship.
Offaly are well down ..Wexfords last championship game against munster opposition was a 10 point hammering by Waterford. That was last year and most people dont even think Waterford will come out of munster this year. Davy has Wexford hoodwinked. They 'll be awesome every winter and fit as fiddles...then summer comes and it all falls a little flat.

PeggyShippen (Limerick) - Posts: 300 - 17/05/2018 21:39:00    2101813

if munster hurling is the big time,why dont they win all-irelands?i have never met a tourist,in many years living abroad,who mentioned the munster hurling final.they might have heard of hurling.

anyway,back to the matches at the weekend rather than a wind up merchant,i think kilkenny will win comfortably,the other game is nigh on impossible to call,depends who turns up,dublin have the game under their belt so i think they will win by a point or two.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 18/05/2018 09:14:20    2101879

Replying To perfect10:  "if munster hurling is the big time,why dont they win all-irelands?i have never met a tourist,in many years living abroad,who mentioned the munster hurling final.they might have heard of hurling.

anyway,back to the matches at the weekend rather than a wind up merchant,i think kilkenny will win comfortably,the other game is nigh on impossible to call,depends who turns up,dublin have the game under their belt so i think they will win by a point or two."
I've gone for KK by 11+ in the prediction competition but there's a big performace in Offaly yet. The worry is KK will probably have Fogarty, Fennelly and Murphy starting or porbably 2 of them anyway.
I gave Dublin a great chance last weekend but I dont see them beating Wexford this weekend. I'd be very surprised if they did.
PS...lads lets enjoy the cship and not be going on about this munster leinster thing every year

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 18/05/2018 10:36:14    2101898

+1 tiobraid. Good luck to all teams taking their championship bow, may the best teams pick up silver in both provinces and the big dog as the last man standing!
Up Wexford.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 18/05/2018 14:48:26    2101984

Agreed. Let's enjoy all the games. Up Wexford

PeggyShippen (Limerick) - Posts: 300 - 18/05/2018 15:59:19    2101992

I wouldn't say the Munster counties are 'vastly' superior just superior than Wexford, Dublin and Offaly. Munster championship is the bigtime. It's a stand alone competition that rivals the All Ireland. When people think of Ireland. They think of Kilarney, The Quiet Man, U2 and the Munster Hurling final.

PeggyShippen (Limerick) - Posts: 160 - 17/05/2018 21:39:00

Fifteen of the last twenty hurling All-Ireland winners have come from Leinster.

The Quiet Man is a 66 year old black and white film that hardly anybody outside Ireland has heard of, let alone seen.

"When people think of Ireland. They think of ...the Munster Hurling final." I think it's time for your medication.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2460 - 18/05/2018 17:20:56    2102005

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I wouldn't say the Munster counties are 'vastly' superior just superior than Wexford, Dublin and Offaly. Munster championship is the bigtime. It's a stand alone competition that rivals the All Ireland. When people think of Ireland. They think of Kilarney, The Quiet Man, U2 and the Munster Hurling final.

PeggyShippen (Limerick) - Posts: 160 - 17/05/2018 21:39:00

Fifteen of the last twenty hurling All-Ireland winners have come from Leinster.

The Quiet Man is a 66 year old black and white film that hardly anybody outside Ireland has heard of, let alone seen.

"When people think of Ireland. They think of ...the Munster Hurling final." I think it's time for your medication."
The Quiet Man is in colour, duh.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 19/05/2018 06:09:15    2102079

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Blatant foul on Smyth in the build up to Kilkenny's goal. Nothing new when Kirwan is the referee."
I looked at a replay of the incident again, there wasn't any foul, much less "blatant".

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 19/05/2018 06:27:57    2102080

Replying To shaneShankill:  "Blasphemy warning. Is it time to only allow free takers to score from within the 65 meter line.

Or at least prevent hurl swapping in order to score from a free. Is it within the spirit of the rules that the penalty for a foul within a 100 yards of your own goal is a point to the opposition.

Fair play to the Kilkenny goalkeeper scoring 4 from 100 yards out. But this is going to mean kk start every match with a 3 or 4 point advantage."
But surely players being able to score frees from 80/90 yards is the best deterrent there is against cynical fouling in the opposition half of the field. Football had to introduce the black card to combat cynical fouling in the opposition half which was rampant, as teams were fouling in order to slow down opposition counterattacks and get numbers back in defence. Hurling didn't need to introduce the black card as the punishment for fouling, even well inside the opponent's half of the field, was on the scoreboard.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 19/05/2018 06:46:36    2102082

Replying To ballydalane:  "But surely players being able to score frees from 80/90 yards is the best deterrent there is against cynical fouling in the opposition half of the field. Football had to introduce the black card to combat cynical fouling in the opposition half which was rampant, as teams were fouling in order to slow down opposition counterattacks and get numbers back in defence. Hurling didn't need to introduce the black card as the punishment for fouling, even well inside the opponent's half of the field, was on the scoreboard."
Agree completelly and thats porbably why theres less cynical fouling in hurling compared to football. But its unfair that technical fouls in that part of the field are punished by a scorable free imo.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 19/05/2018 11:53:18    2102110