T J REID

Replying To heartbroken:  "Your honesty is respected. roll on the championship if we get an another epic Tip v Galway I think my heart will give in such pressure in Groke Park last year, I have never seen fans so drained after a match. great credit to both teams."
Couldnt agree more. Felt like I was after playing myself that day!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 16/04/2018 10:47:53    2093218

Replying To heartbroken:  "My comments concerns the here and now , yes KK have won numerous All Ireland s . I see KK reliant on TJ Read , I feel they are suspect at the back big Walter Walsh can do damage if he is allowed. With my blinkers I feel Galway have their measure at the moment. To my friend Tip supporter KK have nearly always have the beating of ye and I was disappointed that ye put up such a poor performance against them in leauge final. This new championship structure will make all Ireland hard won two often in the past teams cruise into All Ireland SF with a hard game.
While we can never take away past achievement we need to stop living in the past and accept we are only as good as our last match."
I do believe you haven't a clue.Coming out with daft statements like "KK a one trick pony" "Galway have their measure".
Please cop on to yourself my good man.If you really believe these things keep them to yourself.
Tis better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to one your mouth and remove all doubt.
Getting back to the topic of TJ Reid I would say that he is as good a hurler as I have seen and I have been playing & watching hurling for almost 50 years.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 16/04/2018 11:51:59    2093230

Replying To Barnowl94:  "I do believe you haven't a clue.Coming out with daft statements like "KK a one trick pony" "Galway have their measure".
Please cop on to yourself my good man.If you really believe these things keep them to yourself.
Tis better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to one your mouth and remove all doubt.
Getting back to the topic of TJ Reid I would say that he is as good a hurler as I have seen and I have been playing & watching hurling for almost 50 years."
People in glass houses should not throw stones.
I believe you were on the Galway form under the topic kiven Walsh must walk and you expressed an opinion that Galway needed a new manager oh how wrong you were.

This is a form for people to express opinions we all know that opinions are like arm pits everyone smells, we all wear blinkers and only see what we want to see however it is on called for to call someone stupit / fool, and if you would like to offer apology, I will Accept

Again my comments in the Topic TJ Reed are TJ the best hurler at the moment .

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 17/04/2018 13:21:07    2093529

Replying To heartbroken:  "People in glass houses should not throw stones.
I believe you were on the Galway form under the topic kiven Walsh must walk and you expressed an opinion that Galway needed a new manager oh how wrong you were.

This is a form for people to express opinions we all know that opinions are like arm pits everyone smells, we all wear blinkers and only see what we want to see however it is on called for to call someone stupit / fool, and if you would like to offer apology, I will Accept

Again my comments in the Topic TJ Reed are TJ the best hurler at the moment ."
How wrong I was? Regarding Kevin Walsh's management of the football team I do not accept that I was wrong.Not for one second.We were beaten by Roscommon in our own ground by 9 points in the Connacht final, we then hammered a poor Donegal side before putting in another abject performance against Kerry in the quarters.A kerry team subsequently well beaten by Mayo ( who we had beaten).Ok then we reached the league final and performed reasonably well but with 20 minutes to go Dublin had a man sent off and the sides were level at the time, we should have kicked on and won the game from there but we did not.
In my opinion the jury is still out on Kevin's management.
My remarks to you were about your comments the (1) Kilkenny are a one trick pony and (2) Galway have their measure.
You were asked by another poser to explain the 'one trick pony" comment to date you have not done so I see.I am asking you to explain what you base the other comment on as there is absolutely no evidence to support your opinion the Galway have KK's measure.The last time we met they comfortably beat us in the 2016 leinster final.
Fair enough?

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 18/04/2018 10:24:06    2093734

Replying To heartbroken:  "My comments concerns the here and now , yes KK have won numerous All Ireland s . I see KK reliant on TJ Read , I feel they are suspect at the back big Walter Walsh can do damage if he is allowed. With my blinkers I feel Galway have their measure at the moment. To my friend Tip supporter KK have nearly always have the beating of ye and I was disappointed that ye put up such a poor performance against them in leauge final. This new championship structure will make all Ireland hard won two often in the past teams cruise into All Ireland SF with a hard game.
While we can never take away past achievement we need to stop living in the past and accept we are only as good as our last match."
Apologies, I may have mis-interpreted what you meant by one-trick pony. I read it as you saying that Kilkenny have one way of playing which is to get the ball into the forwards quick and let them win their own ball. This has been thrown at them for years. That approach has certainly changed this year.

To be fair, kilkenny are probably a bit over reliant on TJ but I think every team appears dependent on one player given the quality of free-takers nowadays. TJ does not miss a free so his scores are always massive. I suppose Kilkenny are very reliant on TJ because he is the complete player. He is a workhorse, playmaker and free taker. Those traits are just in his nature. If you look at Tipp, Bonner is the workhorse but is not a free taker, Noel McGrath is probably the play maker and more than adequate in the other parts of the game, Callinan or Forde are your free taker and finisher but finishing is a full forwards job. In the league, they have been very reliant on Forde.

I haven't seen enough of Galway this year to comment.

I know that kind of does illustrate a reliance on TJ but you could stick another few top class forwards in there I still think TJ would be just as important because he has always been a hardworker, a playmaker and exceptional free taker.

KK4Life (Kilkenny) - Posts: 56 - 18/04/2018 11:15:40    2093747

Replying To ballydalane:  "I'm pleased with the progress the team has made this year and that the younger players have shown they can be at least competitive against the best teams in the country, but at the same time we'd be lost without TJ at the moment. Hopefully Richie Hogan can come back fully fit, and Colin Fennelly too. Full back remains a problem position in my opinion. Was disappointed Kieran Joyce retired at only 30, I thought he would have been a good option to try there. I agree though, I can't see us winning the AI this year."
I am delighted with the progress to date. It takes time for a player to settle into an inter-county team. Kilkenny have brought through a number of players who really look the part. It may take a year or 2 for them to make a real difference at championship level but I do feel the future is bright.

If Richie gets back fully fit and Colin Fennelly can find form they will add a lot and then you are putting 2 young fellas in the forwards to supplement these 2, TJ and Wally. That is not even including Ger Aylward so possibly 1 young fella. On league form, probably Keoghan.

Full back is a propblem position for nearly all teams. I wouldn't consider Joyce as an option there if he hadn't retired. The modern full back needs pace and that is where Joyce falls down. If you even look at Wally at the start of the 2nd half of the league final, he pulled James Barry 30 yards out and ran him. All teams are doing similar. Full forwards don't stand on the box anymore. I think Padraig Walsh is the best option there. He has pace, hurling ability and is good under the high ball. He is no JJ but he is the closest we have at the moment. Joyce has been tried at full back in the past. I recall a goal fest league match against Tipp in Nowlan Park a few years ago when Callinan pulled him out and ran him every time. Callin finished with 3 goals, 2 off joyce before he was switched. Colin Fennelly scored 3 the same day.

KK4Life (Kilkenny) - Posts: 56 - 18/04/2018 11:27:00    2093752

Replying To tiobraid:  "You are right they nearly always have had the beating of us but they've always had the beating of everyone else!
Galway were the best team in the country last year but not too many other counties were hectic last year.
As I said - I think Galway are favs to do back to back. You have to realise though that Tipp went into the final without 5 guaranteed starting forwards and you could add in Niall O'Meara as a man who is normally first in off the bench. We got to a league final playing every game with virtually half a team. Having said that, I was disappointed with a lot of aspects from what we might have got from the league but its not as bad as some have said either."
This craic of Kilkenny always having the measure of teams is pointless to be honest because that is in the past. In the 2018 championship which is what matters now, Kilkenny start at the same point as everybody else. The past is the past and wins you nothing going forward.

I would love to know which of Jason Forde and John McGrath you are dropping to put in your 5 definite starters.

KK4Life (Kilkenny) - Posts: 56 - 18/04/2018 12:28:11    2093779

Replying To KK4Life:  "This craic of Kilkenny always having the measure of teams is pointless to be honest because that is in the past. In the 2018 championship which is what matters now, Kilkenny start at the same point as everybody else. The past is the past and wins you nothing going forward.

I would love to know which of Jason Forde and John McGrath you are dropping to put in your 5 definite starters."
Totally correct. This aura that people like to create about certain teams and how it relates to other teams is nonsense. Maybe these perceptions do get into the heads of some teams but should not. Kilkenny have won as often and as much because they were the better team. The is going to be true of the 2018 team.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 19/04/2018 00:14:27    2093888

Replying To KK4Life:  "This craic of Kilkenny always having the measure of teams is pointless to be honest because that is in the past. In the 2018 championship which is what matters now, Kilkenny start at the same point as everybody else. The past is the past and wins you nothing going forward.

I would love to know which of Jason Forde and John McGrath you are dropping to put in your 5 definite starters."
If all are fit you will have Dan McCormack nailed on as a starter - but admittely he could go to midfield.
All ifs and maybe's but IF everyone is at the peak of their powers then there is a high possibilty there's only room for either one of Forde or Bubbles. I'll probably get laughed at for that statement but in the later stages of the Munster cship and should everyone stay fit that scenario could well come to pass.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 19/04/2018 10:41:04    2093913

Replying To KK4Life:  "I am delighted with the progress to date. It takes time for a player to settle into an inter-county team. Kilkenny have brought through a number of players who really look the part. It may take a year or 2 for them to make a real difference at championship level but I do feel the future is bright.

If Richie gets back fully fit and Colin Fennelly can find form they will add a lot and then you are putting 2 young fellas in the forwards to supplement these 2, TJ and Wally. That is not even including Ger Aylward so possibly 1 young fella. On league form, probably Keoghan.

Full back is a propblem position for nearly all teams. I wouldn't consider Joyce as an option there if he hadn't retired. The modern full back needs pace and that is where Joyce falls down. If you even look at Wally at the start of the 2nd half of the league final, he pulled James Barry 30 yards out and ran him. All teams are doing similar. Full forwards don't stand on the box anymore. I think Padraig Walsh is the best option there. He has pace, hurling ability and is good under the high ball. He is no JJ but he is the closest we have at the moment. Joyce has been tried at full back in the past. I recall a goal fest league match against Tipp in Nowlan Park a few years ago when Callinan pulled him out and ran him every time. Callin finished with 3 goals, 2 off joyce before he was switched. Colin Fennelly scored 3 the same day."
Personally I thought Joyce was a shoe in until that game also but you are 100% correct regarding pace at full back. I'm also convinved Walsh is the best option KK have by a distance and think he is also probably the best around anywhere at the minute already. He has all the attributes to be even better than JJ given he has undoubtely more pace. He is new to the position and its very different than anywhere else on the field...given that, he has done exceptionally well to date - he has relative rookies around him. JJ didnt have as much as one inexperienced head around him.
Relaly looking forward to the cship to see how things pan out. A whole different ball game to what was a league used by most teams to build their panels for the year ahead.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 19/04/2018 10:48:24    2093914

Replying To KK4Life:  "Apologies, I may have mis-interpreted what you meant by one-trick pony. I read it as you saying that Kilkenny have one way of playing which is to get the ball into the forwards quick and let them win their own ball. This has been thrown at them for years. That approach has certainly changed this year.

To be fair, kilkenny are probably a bit over reliant on TJ but I think every team appears dependent on one player given the quality of free-takers nowadays. TJ does not miss a free so his scores are always massive. I suppose Kilkenny are very reliant on TJ because he is the complete player. He is a workhorse, playmaker and free taker. Those traits are just in his nature. If you look at Tipp, Bonner is the workhorse but is not a free taker, Noel McGrath is probably the play maker and more than adequate in the other parts of the game, Callinan or Forde are your free taker and finisher but finishing is a full forwards job. In the league, they have been very reliant on Forde.

I haven't seen enough of Galway this year to comment.

I know that kind of does illustrate a reliance on TJ but you could stick another few top class forwards in there I still think TJ would be just as important because he has always been a hardworker, a playmaker and exceptional free taker."
Nearly all the sport commentators had written KK of after last year's championship performance. We all agree that some teams take the league serious and others rest players and try out some new potential talent. Notwithstanding KK had an excellent leauge the highlight been beaten Wexford who had clearly targeted the league. Tip were below strength in final however they failed to put up a satisfactory performance.
My one trick pony comment is based on what I seen via TV highlights and watching leauge final on TV from that TJ REED has been outstanding , I feel if given the chance big Walter Walsh can do damage, the one player I really rate for KK is Richie Hogan a fit and back to form Richie is key to KK having a successful Championship 2018.

My view that Galway have the Measures of KK is based on last year performance where KK were not impressive. KK key to success under Cody was their mental strength , they were never bet. KK were also very physical and they were able to for the want of a better word bullied the opposition. teams have up their game now and we seen Tip bringing physical strength to beat Galway in 2016 and in 2017 Galway players had bulked up and were physically strong enough to win.

This new championship structure will make all Ireland hard won, I always enjoyed Galway v tip/cork/KK these match up always excited me no disrespect to Clare/Waterford/Wexford/limerick etc. On last year performance Galway have to be favourites on this year's leauge performance KK dimise has been greatly exaggerated

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 19/04/2018 19:49:50    2094019

Replying To heartbroken:  "Nearly all the sport commentators had written KK of after last year's championship performance. We all agree that some teams take the league serious and others rest players and try out some new potential talent. Notwithstanding KK had an excellent leauge the highlight been beaten Wexford who had clearly targeted the league. Tip were below strength in final however they failed to put up a satisfactory performance.
My one trick pony comment is based on what I seen via TV highlights and watching leauge final on TV from that TJ REED has been outstanding , I feel if given the chance big Walter Walsh can do damage, the one player I really rate for KK is Richie Hogan a fit and back to form Richie is key to KK having a successful Championship 2018.

My view that Galway have the Measures of KK is based on last year performance where KK were not impressive. KK key to success under Cody was their mental strength , they were never bet. KK were also very physical and they were able to for the want of a better word bullied the opposition. teams have up their game now and we seen Tip bringing physical strength to beat Galway in 2016 and in 2017 Galway players had bulked up and were physically strong enough to win.

This new championship structure will make all Ireland hard won, I always enjoyed Galway v tip/cork/KK these match up always excited me no disrespect to Clare/Waterford/Wexford/limerick etc. On last year performance Galway have to be favourites on this year's leauge performance KK dimise has been greatly exaggerated"
One again I have to disagree with you!
Last year Kilkenny lost narrowly to Wexford in Wexford Park, hardly a disaster of a result .They then went on to beat Limerick before only losing to Waterford in extra time.Thats the same Waterford who only lost the All Ireland final by 3 points.Hardly very poor form especially given the number of injuries and retirements they had.
I also don't agree that Tipp used physical strength to win in 2016.They beat Galway by a point in 2016 and the loss of Canning & Tuohy was the deciding factor that day not physicality.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 21/04/2018 10:53:26    2094181

.. a fit and back to form Richie [Hogan] is key to KK having a successful Championship 2018.

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 196 - 19/04/2018 19:49:50 2094019

Nonsense.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 21/04/2018 13:34:09    2094210

Replying To Barnowl94:  "One again I have to disagree with you!
Last year Kilkenny lost narrowly to Wexford in Wexford Park, hardly a disaster of a result .They then went on to beat Limerick before only losing to Waterford in extra time.Thats the same Waterford who only lost the All Ireland final by 3 points.Hardly very poor form especially given the number of injuries and retirements they had.
I also don't agree that Tipp used physical strength to win in 2016.They beat Galway by a point in 2016 and the loss of Canning & Tuohy was the deciding factor that day not physicality."
Oh ya it was a gust of wind that knocked JC over the side line and Touhy was clumsy causing him to dislocated his shoulder.

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 21/04/2018 16:28:15    2094219

Replying To heartbroken:  "Oh ya it was a gust of wind that knocked JC over the side line and Touhy was clumsy causing him to dislocated his shoulder."
Laughable! Canning and Maher both were treated after that incident and BOTH came back on and played on! Get over it ffs!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 22/04/2018 22:51:25    2094402

Replying To heartbroken:  "Oh ya it was a gust of wind that knocked JC over the side line and Touhy was clumsy causing him to dislocated his shoulder."
You really should read what you type before posting.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 23/04/2018 12:54:36    2094478

Replying To tiobraid:  "Laughable! Canning and Maher both were treated after that incident and BOTH came back on and played on! Get over it ffs!"
Ya have me laughing ha ha

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 23/04/2018 13:32:39    2094498

Remember in 2016 Tipp wiped the floor with both Kilkenny and Waterford so I think they were worthy champions.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4317 - 23/04/2018 23:31:26    2094647

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Remember in 2016 Tipp wiped the floor with both Kilkenny and Waterford so I think they were worthy champions."
for sure Tip were worthy champions and no one is disputing that. My view that physicality is needed if you are going to win an All Ireland has been disputed by my fellow Keyboard warriors yet Galway football Captain Damian Comer is quoted in to days paper

"If you're not physically up to it, not willing to make the early tackles, it will come against you".

sure the keyboard warriors know more then our great captain .

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 24/04/2018 10:08:57    2094686

Replying To heartbroken:  "for sure Tip were worthy champions and no one is disputing that. My view that physicality is needed if you are going to win an All Ireland has been disputed by my fellow Keyboard warriors yet Galway football Captain Damian Comer is quoted in to days paper

"If you're not physically up to it, not willing to make the early tackles, it will come against you".

sure the keyboard warriors know more then our great captain ."
You either didn't read what I said or you didn't understand it.Of course you have to be up for the physical challenge in hurling and football .What I said was it wasn't physicality that beat us when we played Tipp in 2016.It was losing 2 players to injury in the first half .Defensive lapses in the last 10 minutes played their part too.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 24/04/2018 12:00:33    2094717