Donegal Vs Cavan

Replying To mon07:  "Donegal should win this. Please don't put Monaghan at the same level as Cavan. We are way ahead of Cavan and have been for some time as result will show. The only reason you cannot beat other teams is because they are better. You got a few go,s at Roscommon this year so far and it looks like they have gotten better than Cavan."
Yes Monaghan have been operating in division 1 for a few years now, nonetheless, we've played each other 3 times in the USFC since 2013 and the aggregate winning margin for Monaghan was 3 points. Additionally we played yous in the league in 2017 and it was a draw. Yous have an astute manager and a settled panel, we have neither, but don't cod yourself we wouldn't fear playing yous.

The only reason you cannot beat other teams is because they are better

Well said captain obvious.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 27/04/2018 11:37:19    2095245

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Donegal beat Mayo in a challenge match the other night apparently. Not much news forthcoming from either camp for obvious reasons. Where Donegal are concerned it really will be the case that we won't know the exact starting 15 for definite until the ball is thrown in!"
Pity we couldn't have beaten Mayo when it counted for something in Ballybofey, and we had the beating of them that day if we had gone for the win instead of this slowing the game down nonsense,
what's the good in winning challenge matches?
I won't be underestimating Cavan anyway, they have had a good league campaign and there is tradition in Cavan, going to be a close enough game I think, home advantage might just do it for us.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2736 - 27/04/2018 11:52:38    2095251

Intresting article by Brolly which is available on the main page. Kind of embarrassing stuff from Bonner tbh.

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 27/04/2018 12:20:06    2095261

Hardly a shock that Bonner doesn't want anyone seeing them train so close to the Cavan game. Brolly is a great man to be commenting on other counties' preparations. Maybe he should look closer to home and offer to lend some constructive assistance to his own county instead of castigating them in the media every week.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9104 - 27/04/2018 13:52:39    2095287

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Intresting article by Brolly which is available on the main page. Kind of embarrassing stuff from Bonner tbh."
Are you trying to tell that your allowed to watch Roscommon train and play games. Dont listen too much to Brolly he just seeks attention and is knowing to add a bit on to a story. Why was he watching donegal train in 2011 if as he says who would watch a team passing the ball over and back the field.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2388 - 27/04/2018 14:55:03    2095302

Nothing new here. Except it's all quiet in Kerry and Brolly is looking for a new team to torment in the meantime. He was full of praise in 2012 re Donegal's training as it suited him then. Getting boring Joe. Go and follow a better story it's neither new nor interesting

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 27/04/2018 17:05:22    2095330

Anyone sense any irony in Brolly questioning whether anyone would want to watch a Donegal training session given that he wrote a newspaper article about a Donegal training session?

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 27/04/2018 17:45:02    2095340

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Yes Monaghan have been operating in division 1 for a few years now, nonetheless, we've played each other 3 times in the USFC since 2013 and the aggregate winning margin for Monaghan was 3 points. Additionally we played yous in the league in 2017 and it was a draw. Yous have an astute manager and a settled panel, we have neither, but don't cod yourself we wouldn't fear playing yous.

Well said captain obvious."
Excuses excuses excuses. There is still not a single quality forward in the county of Cavan & now many of your supporters are worried about your defense...how bad is that. Face reality lads. Donegal beat Monaghan by a single point (after a draw) in 2016 and they fully deserved their win. We didn't make excuses. We beat Cavan the last 3 times in Ulster because we fully deserved those victories so accept we have the better team and stop making excuses.

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 27/04/2018 22:39:29    2095393

I like Brolly at times, but this is a story about nothing. Donegal want to keep training and tactics in-house before championship. Imagine that! The audacity of it...Shocker. Definitely couldn't imagine other teams wanting to keep their strategies in-house at this time of the year... and then Joe adds the lawyer's hyperbole to give it some 'spice.' Joe, we all know your game at this stage!

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 29/04/2018 06:08:57    2095556

Replying To Shelbourne:  "
Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Yes Monaghan have been operating in division 1 for a few years now, nonetheless, we've played each other 3 times in the USFC since 2013 and the aggregate winning margin for Monaghan was 3 points. Additionally we played yous in the league in 2017 and it was a draw. Yous have an astute manager and a settled panel, we have neither, but don't cod yourself we wouldn't fear playing yous.

Excuses excuses excuses. There is still not a single quality forward in the county of Cavan & now many of your supporters are worried about your defense...how bad is that. Face reality lads. Donegal beat Monaghan by a single point (after a draw) in 2016 and they fully deserved their win. We didn't make excuses. We beat Cavan the last 3 times in Ulster because we fully deserved those victories so accept we have the better team and stop making excuses."
Some supporters in Cavan are in a complete bubble. They have not progressed in the last 3 years and the result show this. What team have they beaten in the championship in the last few years that would be classed as a big step forward. I think the answer is none and haven't really beaten any major teams in the league either. I would love for someone to prove how you have progressed because I can't see it. The defence looks as bad now as the forward line.

mon07 (Monaghan) - Posts: 139 - 29/04/2018 12:32:41    2095571

I took the Joe Brolly article for what it was.....tongue in cheek to be honest and just laughed it off. Though he does seem to have some needle with Bonner for whatever reason.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 29/04/2018 13:40:55    2095576

He may indulge in backslapping when you are winning but he ain't no friend of Donegal for sure. A few clubs will always foolishly invite him to their annual dinner which he will always mention and continue to name drop .
Murphy/McHugh turned to me and said " Joe, its like this ...."

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 503 - 30/04/2018 03:38:12    2095643

I honestly don't know why he's chosen to pen this article anyway. During the league, Donegal played a lot more expansively than they have been, maybe even to their own detriment. Brolly himself even Tweeted me back at one stage in the spring agreeing that Donegal could be going places if Bonner could manage to get the balance right come Championship.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9104 - 30/04/2018 09:38:53    2095653

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I honestly don't know why he's chosen to pen this article anyway. During the league, Donegal played a lot more expansively than they have been, maybe even to their own detriment. Brolly himself even Tweeted me back at one stage in the spring agreeing that Donegal could be going places if Bonner could manage to get the balance right come Championship."
Joe has never anything good to say about Donegal and Tyrone.It should be obvious to everybody that he is jealous of their success .

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1055 - 30/04/2018 10:53:15    2095674

Replying To mon07:  "
Replying To Shelbourne:  "[quote=Cavan_Shambles:  "Yes Monaghan have been operating in division 1 for a few years now, nonetheless, we've played each other 3 times in the USFC since 2013 and the aggregate winning margin for Monaghan was 3 points. Additionally we played yous in the league in 2017 and it was a draw. Yous have an astute manager and a settled panel, we have neither, but don't cod yourself we wouldn't fear playing yous.

Excuses excuses excuses. There is still not a single quality forward in the county of Cavan & now many of your supporters are worried about your defense...how bad is that. Face reality lads. Donegal beat Monaghan by a single point (after a draw) in 2016 and they fully deserved their win. We didn't make excuses. We beat Cavan the last 3 times in Ulster because we fully deserved those victories so accept we have the better team and stop making excuses."
Some supporters in Cavan are in a complete bubble. They have not progressed in the last 3 years and the result show this. What team have they beaten in the championship in the last few years that would be classed as a big step forward. I think the answer is none and haven't really beaten any major teams in the league either. I would love for someone to prove how you have progressed because I can't see it. The defence looks as bad now as the forward line."]It is quite something the amount of interest Monaghan lads have in this match. Possibly because it gives them a chance to see 2 teams with All-Ireland pedigree going head to head(!)

Cavan are under no illusions about this one and despite Donegals relegation most have them as strong favourites to win. But a win for Cavan would not be a total shock and will see us a long way to an Ulster Final. We have a better chance than you lads do in Omagh, 100% sure if that. Especially now that McVeety and McCann are moving back to fitness. We will be delighted if you pull it off in Omagh all the same, it will make the job a bit easier for us in July...

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 30/04/2018 12:16:14    2095697

Replying To MadgeKing:  "
Replying To mon07:  "[quote=Shelbourne:  "[quote=Cavan_Shambles:  "Yes Monaghan have been operating in division 1 for a few years now, nonetheless, we've played each other 3 times in the USFC since 2013 and the aggregate winning margin for Monaghan was 3 points. Additionally we played yous in the league in 2017 and it was a draw. Yous have an astute manager and a settled panel, we have neither, but don't cod yourself we wouldn't fear playing yous.

Some supporters in Cavan are in a complete bubble. They have not progressed in the last 3 years and the result show this. What team have they beaten in the championship in the last few years that would be classed as a big step forward. I think the answer is none and haven't really beaten any major teams in the league either. I would love for someone to prove how you have progressed because I can't see it. The defence looks as bad now as the forward line."]It is quite something the amount of interest Monaghan lads have in this match. Possibly because it gives them a chance to see 2 teams with All-Ireland pedigree going head to head(!)

Cavan are under no illusions about this one and despite Donegals relegation most have them as strong favourites to win. But a win for Cavan would not be a total shock and will see us a long way to an Ulster Final. We have a better chance than you lads do in Omagh, 100% sure if that. Especially now that McVeety and McCann are moving back to fitness. We will be delighted if you pull it off in Omagh all the same, it will make the job a bit easier for us in July..."]Madge you're definitely having a laugh and no crime in that. Cavan have no forwards and now it seems your defense is leaking all over the place. Tyrone would be delighted to play Cavan instead of Monaghan. Likewise Donegal relieved to have avoided us. Knowledgeable Cavan supporters know the true value of their squad...so keep the head down and just hope for the best !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 30/04/2018 21:07:58    2095814

Going to be a real tough battle for Donegal next week. I don't think we'll have a hangover from the relegation as most of these lads have been playing for their clubs since and they've had challenge games and a training camp with the county so the relegation is way past.
Cavan will be coming in full of confidence to Ballybofey. They know this isn't the Donegal team of 5/6 years ago and most of this Cavan team have played against most of this current Donegal team at U21 level and beat them in Ulster finals etc. This Cavan team are improving in league standing but have faltered in Championship games so there will be a big drive to get a better run this year and a chance of a big scalp against Donegal would have wetted their appetite with the winners having a great opportunity to make an Ulster Final.
As for Donegal, we played some great football in the early stages of the league but it slipped badly after that and we deserved to get relegated. It is engrained in the older players to keep the ball and laterally if needed. I think Bonner is trying to change this but in the transition we are now neither defensive or full out attacking which is leaving big gaps in our defence. Our defenders are man marking but the runners from midfield and half back are scorching right through the middle. We tightened up a bit against Mayo but as one poster already said, we didn't push on when in a good position and got caught. Same happened under Rory in the Ulster Final v Tyrone in 2016 and we got caught that day too.
Hopefully it will be a good game, I think it will and if we are positive in our approach for the 70+ minutes I think we can win by a small margin!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 30/04/2018 21:33:01    2095823

Donegal by 4 or 5.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 30/04/2018 22:48:32    2095845

I hear Cavan are missing a few for this one. Fancy Donegal to win it comfortably, 5 or 6 points.

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 08/05/2018 12:23:25    2097257

I go for Cavan to win this one. I think Mattie has had a long period in which to stamp his style of play on Cavan. Donegal may need a while to adjust to another style (if that is the case) and manager in Bonner. While league results are ok sometime it is in the championship that weaknesses are exposed.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 08/05/2018 13:12:30    2097268