Mayo V Galway

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Shocking elbow to the face there, fully deserved red. That was very dangerous and the Galway fella looks out on his feet."
It was alright, that was a potential jaw breaker.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 13/05/2018 17:45:57    2100043

Awful stuff. The quality can only get better from here. Horrid game.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 13/05/2018 17:47:51    2100045

Galway were unimpressive winners! Mayo were in it to the end and a man down certainly hurt them coupled with a big wide count. Barrett had Comers measure.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 13/05/2018 17:49:09    2100048

Replying To Belclare1:  "How do Mayo look?"
They look poor too undoubtedly but with the extra man Galway had for most of the game they looked like they couldn't make any headway and some dreadful misses. Overall a poor game but Galway won't mind that of course. Should get past sligo handy enough.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 13/05/2018 17:53:46    2100052

Well holy God, as the late great Mick Lally would say. I'll take it.

And to top it all, I come here for the first time in a while only to find Oakleafsir and my fellow Belclarer speaking civilly to each other. What a day!

Sligo next. No time for complacency.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 13/05/2018 17:58:01    2100056

Nice win for us,14men for mayo was crucial for us been able to have free man for all our kickouts also thankful mayo shooting was off
Not sure how it looked on tele but it happened in front of me coc seemed to win the ball fairly and was through on goal but lane gave free out and yellow for coc and we went straight up and got the goal ,I don't wear blinkers and I say it as I see it and it looked today that conor lane favoured us I'm not complaining tho
All in all was a nice win but not impressed with our performance today ,not 1 bit impressed

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 13/05/2018 18:00:45    2100059

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Galway were unimpressive winners! Mayo were in it to the end and a man down certainly hurt them coupled with a big wide count. Barrett had Comers measure."
More like Higgins had his measure, once he moved back in front of him as sweeper it meant the ball coming in was terrible. The Mayo defensive set up in second half hurt mayo on the other end of the field though, very few lads breaking at pace

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 372 - 13/05/2018 18:01:04    2100060

Aidan O Shea like what's the story sitting in midfield laying off simple ball all game never ran forward didn't run back much, like you're Aidan O Shea are you walking off the pitch happy with your influence on that game? Surely he has more to offer than strolling around midfield doing pretty much what I could do and I'm fat old and retired.

Obviously the sending off had a massive baring but for me Galway were the better team and deserved the win in the end.

Hopefully Parsons n Conroy are ok nasty looking injuries both of them.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/05/2018 18:04:16    2100061

Congratulations to Galway deserved winners. Took their chances when they needed them and a super goal from Heaney.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 13/05/2018 18:05:05    2100062

Certainly wasn't the best match, it showed alot about both teams. Still think that both of them will reach the Super 8's, both Galway and Mayo will improve after this match.

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 13/05/2018 18:06:31    2100064

Replying To festinog:  "Well holy God, as the late great Mick Lally would say. I'll take it.

And to top it all, I come here for the first time in a while only to find Oakleafsir and my fellow Belclarer speaking civilly to each other. What a day!

Sligo next. No time for complacency."
In fairness his tipping is on the button, long may it continue

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 13/05/2018 18:13:17    2100068

Yer man should auction them posters for charity.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 13/05/2018 18:39:02    2100089

Shocking stuff. Reminds me of the 80s and early 90s connacht championship. All that was missing were the daisies and mongrel terrier on the pitch.
That my friends is why gaelic football is a poor relation to rugby and hurling. God almighty why cant a guy burst through a tackle where his direct opponent cant even legally pull him down . Kicking the ball short ..hand passing to no where. Good job that wasn't on Sky. Reggie from Kent would be cancelling his direct debit ..

PeggyShippen (Limerick) - Posts: 300 - 13/05/2018 18:39:03    2100090

Replying To Belclare1:  "In fairness his tipping is on the button, long may it continue"
Cheers

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 13/05/2018 18:54:16    2100098

No begins the tedious Mayo are finished articles.

See yous in the Super 8s.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 13/05/2018 18:59:38    2100103

Dire stuff for the neutral spectator but I'm sure Galway don't mind. They should win Connaught at their ease now and will be in great shape going in to the last eight. They have a good few things to work on in attack in particular but the footballers look to be there.

By golly do Mayo like to make life hard for themselves, that red from O'Connor was very foolish and probably cost them the game, we see this kind of stuff year after year. I know they are one of the most resourceful teams around but I'd fear for them in the qualifiers with parsons probably out now for a while and Keegan only getting back to fitness. If they get a bad away draw they could be in big trouble.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 13/05/2018 19:06:26    2100110

Sean Kelly was outstanding and he even had an uncredited interception by commentators. Galway can improve on the performance as it was a game of unforced errors. Brolly and co pointed out that Dublin have nothing to fear but if Mayo had won they would have a different script I suppose. Best to Parsons hope he is ok. Hardluck to gallant Mayo, sorry for Rochford but sport is like that. I think Sligo will be a tougher game and Galway know that this performance would not be good enough the next day. Gaillimh Abuuuuuuuuuuuu.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 13/05/2018 19:07:37    2100112

Cillian and diarmuid need to be taken aside by Stephen and brought to anger management classes, leaving far too much temper and aggression on the field and it's costing the team dearly

johnbombkelly (Mayo) - Posts: 117 - 13/05/2018 19:12:19    2100116

Ah jaysis didn't cop it at the time but there's pictures up of Parsons injury all over the internet god love him horrible.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/05/2018 19:18:39    2100117

Very disappointing game, scene was set before the game with a match programme not matching the line outs & then someone singing the national anthem who didn't even know the words, followed by a poor game of football. The execution of skills was really poor by both sides on a perfect day for football, bad wides inside the 20 metre mark, dropped shots into the keepers hands, double hops without any pressure, no thrust in attack by either side until the Galway subs came on, the amount of fumbles, passes down to the ankles was shocking. If either side win the All Ireland it would be a surprise after today. Mayo are now gone thanks to Paraic Duffys Super 8's as with injuries & suspension they won't make 8 games, a shame that lads like Keith Higgins won't be seen at the business end of things this year. Great display by Ciaran Duggan Galway's man of the match. How Sean Kelly & Ian Burke didnt start is hard to fathom. A brain fart by O Connor was the deciding factor.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 13/05/2018 19:27:17    2100123