Mayo V Galway

Dont know what the bookies are thinking, but Mayo @4/6 and Galway a whopping 6/4 is ridiculous given the
stages both teams are currently in at the moment.
Those odds are based on last years performance levels.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 26/04/2018 04:26:43    2095037

Replying To Cornetto2:  "Well unless your a surgeon who knows how to quick fix a torn ankle ligament
Brannigan won't be playing"
If Brannigan is out that's massive, Galway are all about counter attacking with the speedsters up front and if one of them (Brannigan) is out that's a huge advantage to Mayo. Guarantee Cillian O Conor plays doh.

Clarke
Harrison/O Donoghue
Barrett
Higgins
Boyle
Vaughan
Durkan
Parsons
S O Shea
Mcloughlin
A O Shea
D O Conor
Doherty/Loftus
Moran
C O Conor

Strong Mayo team even without Keegan

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/04/2018 07:24:39    2095038

Clondalkindub - I think Crowe, Loftus and Coen will start.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 26/04/2018 09:50:53    2095046

Replying To clondalkindub:  "
Replying To Cornetto2:  "Well unless your a surgeon who knows how to quick fix a torn ankle ligament
If Brannigan is out that's massive, Galway are all about counter attacking with the speedsters up front and if one of them (Brannigan) is out that's a huge advantage to Mayo. Guarantee Cillian O Conor plays doh.

Clarke
Harrison/O Donoghue
Barrett
Higgins
Boyle
Vaughan
Durkan
Parsons
S O Shea
Mcloughlin
A O Shea
D O Conor
Doherty/Loftus
Moran
C O Conor

Strong Mayo team even without Keegan"
I agree, thats an unreal Mayo team.. they will push Dublin all the way this year maybe win Sam

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 26/04/2018 09:52:39    2095048

Replying To Belclare1:  "
Replying To clondalkindub:  "[quote=Cornetto2:  "Well unless your a surgeon who knows how to quick fix a torn ankle ligament

Clarke
Harrison/O Donoghue
Barrett
Higgins
Boyle
Vaughan
Durkan
Parsons
S O Shea
Mcloughlin
A O Shea
D O Conor
Doherty/Loftus
Moran
C O Conor

I agree, thats an unreal Mayo team.. they will push Dublin all the way this year maybe win Sam"]That team would be better if o donoghue started at corner back instead of Higgins and moved Higgins into wing back and Boyle in center back while Keegan is out

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 26/04/2018 10:26:44    2095051

Replying To Mfs:  "Clondalkindub - I think Crowe, Loftus and Coen will start."
Coen hasn't impressed me yet for Mayo , he lacks pace and has a terrible shot , I was expecting way more from him after watching him play underage for Mayo and being captain but I haven't seen anything yet that suggests he's going to be a great inter county footballer, I could be way off but that's my opinion on him so far.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/04/2018 11:03:19    2095055

Replying To Belclare1:  "
Replying To clondalkindub:  "[quote=Cornetto2:  "Well unless your a surgeon who knows how to quick fix a torn ankle ligament

Clarke
Harrison/O Donoghue
Barrett
Higgins
Boyle
Vaughan
Durkan
Parsons
S O Shea
Mcloughlin
A O Shea
D O Conor
Doherty/Loftus
Moran
C O Conor

I agree, thats an unreal Mayo team.. they will push Dublin all the way this year maybe win Sam"]You ok hun

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 26/04/2018 12:51:10    2095071

Replying To the_walls:  "
Replying To Belclare1:  "[quote=clondalkindub:  "[quote=Cornetto2:  "Well unless your a surgeon who knows how to quick fix a torn ankle ligament

Clarke
Harrison/O Donoghue
Barrett
Higgins
Boyle
Vaughan
Durkan
Parsons
S O Shea
Mcloughlin
A O Shea
D O Conor
Doherty/Loftus
Moran
C O Conor

I agree, thats an unreal Mayo team.. they will push Dublin all the way this year maybe win Sam"]You ok hun"]Well it is a strong team, but questions will be asked, Have Mayo a bench? With a few of their players only now returning from long lay offs will 2/3 weeks get them up to speed? Have the older lads got the legs for the younger Galway forwards? Will Mayo keep their discipline? All will be revealed...

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 26/04/2018 13:51:06    2095086

Replying To Belclare1:  "If Brannigan is out that's massive, Galway are all about counter attacking with the speedsters up front and if one of them (Brannigan) is out that's a huge advantage to Mayo. Guarantee Cillian O Conor plays doh.

Clarke
Harrison/O Donoghue
Barrett
Higgins
Boyle
Vaughan
Durkan
Parsons
S O Shea
Mcloughlin
A O Shea
D O Conor
Doherty/Loftus
Moran
C O Conor

I agree, thats an unreal Mayo team.. they will push Dublin all the way this year maybe win Sam"]You ok hun"]Well it is a strong team, but questions will be asked, Have Mayo a bench? With a few of their players only now returning from long lay offs will 2/3 weeks get them up to speed? Have the older lads got the legs for the younger Galway forwards? Will Mayo keep their discipline? All will be revealed..."]Galway will turn this match into a dog-fight especially on a small pitch like Mchale Park ,
so it will suit their game-plan and i expect them to win the match given Mayos current poor physical condition ,
and a lack of fit players for this showdown.

Mayos running game is far more effective on a big pitch like Croker , so i dont expect to see Mayo anywhere near
their best until late summer when hopefully all players are fit and primed..
Hope we can navigate safely through the backdoor as a result but im not overly confident.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 29/04/2018 05:38:04    2095555

Couldn't understand why Enda Varley was dropped off the Mayo panel and still can't understand it now, 1-8 for Vincent's yesterday savage stuff. No way is he not good enough to be still a Mayo player , he'd be a great impact sub off the bench imo.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/04/2018 15:56:11    2095588

Right Lads, Heads on Plates.

Who Wins and by How much.

Galway by the Minimum for me.

TribalThing (Galway) - Posts: 74 - 30/04/2018 16:23:02    2095749

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Couldn't understand why Enda Varley was dropped off the Mayo panel and still can't understand it now, 1-8 for Vincent's yesterday savage stuff. No way is he not good enough to be still a Mayo player , he'd be a great impact sub off the bench imo."
He's 33 this year. Maybe Enda got a raw deal under James Horan but he wouldn't make our team now. He was brilliant against Dublin in 2012 but couldn't produce it often enough unfortunately.

LeftHalfBack10 (Mayo) - Posts: 30 - 30/04/2018 16:51:53    2095756

Galway have been a great league team but they will be in for a rude awakening on May 13th.

LeftHalfBack10 (Mayo) - Posts: 30 - 30/04/2018 16:54:30    2095757

Replying To LeftHalfBack10:  "Galway have been a great league team but they will be in for a rude awakening on May 13th."
Bring it on show us what ye have.

bud14 (Galway) - Posts: 296 - 30/04/2018 17:12:12    2095763

Replying To LeftHalfBack10:  "He's 33 this year. Maybe Enda got a raw deal under James Horan but he wouldn't make our team now. He was brilliant against Dublin in 2012 but couldn't produce it often enough unfortunately."
Enda scored a beauty too against Donegal in the final... back-peddling about 30m out he clipped the ball with outside of his left foot at an angle to get over the attempted block. The ball dropped over the blackspot down onto the roof of the net... some piece of skill to get that contact. But himself and Mickey Conroy were both like that... could do exceptional things, but no consistency. Compare them with Jason Doherty and Andy Moran, who are both far more physical and total gluttons for hard work... this is the way the game has gone, plus the step back up to intercounty at 33 would be too much, even if Enda wanted it (which I doubt).

The McHale Park pitch is smaller than Croker (8m shorter and 6m narrower) and Pearse Stadium (8m both shorter and narrower), but is not regarded as small by the average. Whether this is a factor in Mayo's poor home record in recent times is a reasonable point though... could be that if both teams lose a man it might be to Mayo's advantage. What are the odds on an early schmozzle?

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 30/04/2018 18:05:14    2095777

Replying To Pericles:  "Enda scored a beauty too against Donegal in the final... back-peddling about 30m out he clipped the ball with outside of his left foot at an angle to get over the attempted block. The ball dropped over the blackspot down onto the roof of the net... some piece of skill to get that contact. But himself and Mickey Conroy were both like that... could do exceptional things, but no consistency. Compare them with Jason Doherty and Andy Moran, who are both far more physical and total gluttons for hard work... this is the way the game has gone, plus the step back up to intercounty at 33 would be too much, even if Enda wanted it (which I doubt).

The McHale Park pitch is smaller than Croker (8m shorter and 6m narrower) and Pearse Stadium (8m both shorter and narrower), but is not regarded as small by the average. Whether this is a factor in Mayo's poor home record in recent times is a reasonable point though... could be that if both teams lose a man it might be to Mayo's advantage. What are the odds on an early schmozzle?"
I'm a bit worried for comer because I think he is going to be targetted now in the same way that Aidan o shea is targeted in every game he plays ,I'll give credit where it is due for the amount of abuse AOS gets he shows great restraint not to react I think comer will have to do the same

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 30/04/2018 18:12:55    2095781

Replying To LeftHalfBack10:  "He's 33 this year. Maybe Enda got a raw deal under James Horan but he wouldn't make our team now. He was brilliant against Dublin in 2012 but couldn't produce it often enough unfortunately."
Enda is still 31, doesn't turn 32 until September or October. Not that it makes a huge difference in any case. My opinion would be to give him a chance, what have we to lose? We could do with a left footed corner forward.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 30/04/2018 19:06:15    2095789

Replying To Pericles:  "Enda scored a beauty too against Donegal in the final... back-peddling about 30m out he clipped the ball with outside of his left foot at an angle to get over the attempted block. The ball dropped over the blackspot down onto the roof of the net... some piece of skill to get that contact. But himself and Mickey Conroy were both like that... could do exceptional things, but no consistency. Compare them with Jason Doherty and Andy Moran, who are both far more physical and total gluttons for hard work... this is the way the game has gone, plus the step back up to intercounty at 33 would be too much, even if Enda wanted it (which I doubt).

The McHale Park pitch is smaller than Croker (8m shorter and 6m narrower) and Pearse Stadium (8m both shorter and narrower), but is not regarded as small by the average. Whether this is a factor in Mayo's poor home record in recent times is a reasonable point though... could be that if both teams lose a man it might be to Mayo's advantage. What are the odds on an early schmozzle?"
Are your figures accurate, Pericles? Wilkipedia (which I don't trust) has Pearse Stadium at maximum size - 145m by 90m - bigger than Croke Park.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 30/04/2018 19:30:23    2095793

Will Galway bate Mayo?. The Saw Doctors from Tuam had a hit with this in the 90's.
Important game for Mayo, do they want to lose three in a row to their neighbours? I think Galway might take the spoils. Time to get Willie Joe back for the Mayo men.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 01/05/2018 10:44:43    2095910

Replying To bud14:  "Bring it on show us what ye have."
We know what they have. It's what they have added to the mix that interests the jury.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 01/05/2018 11:42:14    2095931