Mayo V Galway

We all know it wasn't a good match. Both teams seemed more afraid to lose, than to go for it. The longer it went on, the more tense it got. I think an early goal would have done wonders for the game.
However, people judging both teams purely based on this single game are a bit short-sighted. Both are obviously capable of much better.
Mayo were of course hampered by playing with 14 much of the match, but I also think Galway didn't utilise the extra man very well.
One big decision was bringing on Brannigan for Kyne, who was operating as the spare man at the back, and moving Heaney back to the free role. Having Heaney who is a much more attacking player as the free man was key, and he popped up in space for the winning goal.
Ian Burke made a big difference to our inside line when he came in. He's a certain starter against Sligo.
Best wishes to Parsons. An absolutely horrible injury. He was having a very good game up to that point.
I still see Mayo in Croker at the business end of the championship, and they're capable of competing with anyone once they're there. Barring a bad draw, they'll be favourites to beat anyone they meet in the qualifiers. They also have a lot of important players to come back.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 13/05/2018 20:58:54    2100202

Well done Galway on a deserved win. Mayo and May don't seem to mix... our lads looked like they hadn't done much shooting practice either. It wasn't a great game for the neutral, and I felt a sense of it not going our way from once Kevin Mc's first free came back off the upright. For all the criticism people are inclined to throw at it, the Galway defensive tactics didn't yield a single goal chance that I can recall. It may be poxy to watch, but it works when (unlike the Dubs), the opposition don't look to create their scoring chances in the middle, 25m to 35m out. Keeping the ball is all very well, but Mayo were often taking shots from very poor positions, and spurning them when the chance might have been a better percentage one.

The injury to Tom Parsons was the other main cloud. Tom has been a huge presence ever since he re-kindled his intercounty career. He's an absolutely class midfielder and gives 100% every time he pulls on the jersey. Mayo will miss him hugely if the injury rules him out for the summer.

I don't know what DO'C was thinking... wasn't obviously. If you lead with the elbow you can't be surprised if you do damage. I wish Paul Conroy well, as no doubt Diarmuid himself does...

Lastly, I want to congratulate the ref, Conor Lane, who had a very good game imo. I can't remember one bad call.

I don't expect Mayo to be any better this year than last when the qualifiers begin. It's like groundhog day!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 13/05/2018 21:30:41    2100210

Replying To ROS1:  "Well some people have short memories. Anyways I think galway won't get it easy in sligo in a few weeks"
Apologies no offence intended. Nothing wrong with my memory though. I do expect Galway to win it from here, I think they have improved from last year and today will bring them on further. I'd be happy to be proven wrong.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 13/05/2018 21:46:37    2100212

Best of course to Tom Parsons. Also a mention for Paul Conroy. Another really good guy. Hope both injuries are not serious.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 13/05/2018 21:52:20    2100216

Just seen Parsons injury, does not look good what so ever. Hoping for a healthy and speedy recovery to him.
Same to Conroy, hope he is okay and back go normal very soon. Was a hard hit.

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 13/05/2018 22:12:33    2100227

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Apologies no offence intended. Nothing wrong with my memory though. I do expect Galway to win it from here, I think they have improved from last year and today will bring them on further. I'd be happy to be proven wrong."
I suppose we will see how things work out later in the year. I think people are under estimating sligo. But Galway would be favourites.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 13/05/2018 22:26:30    2100241

Replying To oakleafersir:  "Just seen Parsons injury, does not look good what so ever. Hoping for a healthy and speedy recovery to him.
Same to Conroy, hope he is okay and back go normal very soon. Was a hard hit."
Yes best wishes to both especially Parsons looked very nasty

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 13/05/2018 22:28:16    2100243

Galway look the real deal. Playing within themselves and winning in castlebar is no mean feat. Serious options off the bench as well. If they hope to beat Dublin they will need to improve up front.

Mayo will re focus and will be in the super eight's without a shadow of a doubt

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 13/05/2018 22:35:44    2100249

Replying To salvador:  "Galway look the real deal. Playing within themselves and winning in castlebar is no mean feat. Serious options off the bench as well. If they hope to beat Dublin they will need to improve up front.

Mayo will re focus and will be in the super eight's without a shadow of a doubt"
I wouldn't be as confident of Mayo reaching the super 8. Can see the draw Mayo in omagh or Clones!!!! Qualifiers will be more difficult this time round.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 13/05/2018 23:03:44    2100275

Replying To Pericles:  "Well done Galway on a deserved win. Mayo and May don't seem to mix... our lads looked like they hadn't done much shooting practice either. It wasn't a great game for the neutral, and I felt a sense of it not going our way from once Kevin Mc's first free came back off the upright. For all the criticism people are inclined to throw at it, the Galway defensive tactics didn't yield a single goal chance that I can recall. It may be poxy to watch, but it works when (unlike the Dubs), the opposition don't look to create their scoring chances in the middle, 25m to 35m out. Keeping the ball is all very well, but Mayo were often taking shots from very poor positions, and spurning them when the chance might have been a better percentage one.

The injury to Tom Parsons was the other main cloud. Tom has been a huge presence ever since he re-kindled his intercounty career. He's an absolutely class midfielder and gives 100% every time he pulls on the jersey. Mayo will miss him hugely if the injury rules him out for the summer.

I don't know what DO'C was thinking... wasn't obviously. If you lead with the elbow you can't be surprised if you do damage. I wish Paul Conroy well, as no doubt Diarmuid himself does...

Lastly, I want to congratulate the ref, Conor Lane, who had a very good game imo. I can't remember one bad call.

I don't expect Mayo to be any better this year than last when the qualifiers begin. It's like groundhog day!"
Maybe people are being a bit too hard on DOC - He was pulled by the left arm by a Galway player and was unbalanced as he freed himself from that tackle and came up against Conroy. I feel it was a reflex action to put up his arm to protect himself from the on-coming tackle. I doubt if he intended to catch Conroy in the face and inflict the damage he did. It had to be a red card though.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 13/05/2018 23:30:09    2100290

Replying To ROS1:  "Well some people have short memories. Anyways I think galway won't get it easy in sligo in a few weeks"
Game is in Salthill.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2214 - 14/05/2018 00:29:36    2100309

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Galway were unimpressive winners! Mayo were in it to the end and a man down certainly hurt them coupled with a big wide count. Barrett had Comers measure."
Comer literally ran right past Barrett 3 or 4 times in the first half and kicked 0-2. Only reason he was quieter after half-time is that Mayo went very defensive themselves and there was a pile of bodies around Comer after that. And Higgins standing in front of him.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2214 - 14/05/2018 00:32:20    2100310

Replying To salvador:  "Galway look the real deal. Playing within themselves and winning in castlebar is no mean feat. Serious options off the bench as well. If they hope to beat Dublin they will need to improve up front.

Mayo will re focus and will be in the super eight's without a shadow of a doubt"
No don't Mayo making the Super 8's. Get Cavan or the losers of Tyrone Monaghan away the next time and their goose will be cooked

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 14/05/2018 02:11:20    2100315

I have to say, I thought the best team lost. I realise that a local derby rarely brings out the best in teams and Tyrone v Monaghan could be every bit as bad next week but I thought Galway were all over the shop. They were absolutely clueless in attack, their defence was shocking. How can you leave Cillian O'Connor free on the 45 with an extra man is beyond me. I was really hoping that Galway would have seen the error of their ways in the league final, which they totally left behind them, and been a bit more adventurous. But the only conclusion I drew from yesterday was that Galway are no threat to Dublin as long as they pin themselves to the cult of Paddy Tally.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 14/05/2018 06:59:48    2100322

I have to say this; it was highlighted earlier in the season Jonny Cooper dying and play acting when he wasn't touched and rightly so no place in the game for that I absolutely hate it but again yesterday we had;

Kevin McLoughlin going down faking injury pretending he got a dig in the head from the corner back when the pictures clearly so he wasn't touched.

Damien Comer holding his face and sitting on the ball for 3 minutes pretending he was hit when the pictures clearly show he wasn't touched.

And Andy Moran great guy great player but I counted 3 times yesterday when he through his legs up in the air diving when again he wasn't touched and if he was it made no sense for his legs to go up in the air like they did.

Let's be consistent if we're pulling up players for diving let's do it to every player and not just a Dublin player

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/05/2018 07:52:31    2100328

Oh another day and another poor mayo performance, fair play to Galway they deserved to win yeasterday but I feel that was a lost opportunity for Mayo to at least take the perceived easier route where we would be required to play less games if we advance that far. The qualifiers will again prove a minefield unless the mayo player pull up their socks and start to do the business and play their matches in a way I know they are capable of. We are potentially staring at the abis again for the third year in a row you only get so many chances to come back from it I fear there will be a sting in the tail for us this year. Really going to be a massive loss without parsons the other midfielders in the squad will need to step up. Hopefully Tom will make a full recovery.

As for yesterday the continued mistakes going forward in attacking position was a let down and as for diarmuid O'Connor a quiet stupid red to get himself and right under the nose of the referee. The lad will have to have a look at himself there let down his teammates but then there are one or two more who could say the same.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 14/05/2018 08:06:09    2100331

Replying To FootblockREF:  "I have to say, I thought the best team lost. I realise that a local derby rarely brings out the best in teams and Tyrone v Monaghan could be every bit as bad next week but I thought Galway were all over the shop. They were absolutely clueless in attack, their defence was shocking. How can you leave Cillian O'Connor free on the 45 with an extra man is beyond me. I was really hoping that Galway would have seen the error of their ways in the league final, which they totally left behind them, and been a bit more adventurous. But the only conclusion I drew from yesterday was that Galway are no threat to Dublin as long as they pin themselves to the cult of Paddy Tally."
Clueless in attack? all 6 starting forwards scored, we played against a 13 man defence in the second half, our subs all contributed massively. Mayo shot 10 terrible wides, I mean shocking. We had more possession overall in the game, so get your facts right.. Granted it was a poor game but in a big derby game, that doesn't matter..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 14/05/2018 08:44:55    2100342

One of the worst games of football I was ever at (and I've been at a few). Really dejected after that...we shouldn't be loosing to Galway three years in a row.

Awful shot selection, terrible wides. I thought Galway got their scores that bit easier so probably deserved the win.

Mayo management were poor yday. Taking off Loftus and Moran and putting on Drake. I would have also started Cillian O Connor.

Where to now for us? I'll never write us off but it's not looking good. Could be a short summer.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 14/05/2018 08:55:56    2100345

Replying To neverright:  "Maybe people are being a bit too hard on DOC - He was pulled by the left arm by a Galway player and was unbalanced as he freed himself from that tackle and came up against Conroy. I feel it was a reflex action to put up his arm to protect himself from the on-coming tackle. I doubt if he intended to catch Conroy in the face and inflict the damage he did. It had to be a red card though."
Watch the clip again on Youtube https://youtu.be/hnWa2hwaV4Y

One angle makes it look as you say but the second angle shows he smashed his elbow into Conroys face. It looked very calculated, far from accidental. Wouldn't surprise me if there was a broken jaw or teeth missing after that.

I love hard hitting games but somethings I have little time for. Flying elbows to the face are really dangerous and should get a long ban. Tackle on Lee Keegan (Colm Boyle did something similar in the same game) was another type that has crept into the game i.e. shoulder hip into the face. Really dangerous stuff. Players have to go to work on Monday. We are a great country for making excuses for people. he didn't mean it, it was accidental ........ We need our priorities straight and player safety should be top of list.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 14/05/2018 09:21:42    2100361

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I have to say this; it was highlighted earlier in the season Jonny Cooper dying and play acting when he wasn't touched and rightly so no place in the game for that I absolutely hate it but again yesterday we had;

Kevin McLoughlin going down faking injury pretending he got a dig in the head from the corner back when the pictures clearly so he wasn't touched.

Damien Comer holding his face and sitting on the ball for 3 minutes pretending he was hit when the pictures clearly show he wasn't touched.

And Andy Moran great guy great player but I counted 3 times yesterday when he through his legs up in the air diving when again he wasn't touched and if he was it made no sense for his legs to go up in the air like they did.

Let's be consistent if we're pulling up players for diving let's do it to every player and not just a Dublin player"
I agree with all of this, including any such behaviour by our own players yesterday.
The only way this stuff will be stamped out is if it's consistently called out, particularly by people from their own county. Unfortunately, there's little chance of that happening from the people who matter, and I understand their reasons.
People love to give out about refs, but rarely criticise the players who make their job almost impossible through play-acting and faking.
Yesterday's game wasn't the worst for it thankfully, but it needs to be highlighted in any case.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 14/05/2018 09:30:02    2100366