Mayo V Galway

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "a few days before Mayo's crunch clash with Galway, yer man is doing "the full monty"

listen, as I said some people like yourself would say "sure fair play to him"

But, I guarantee you you won't see any lads from Dublin, Kilkenny etc doing similar 2/3 days before a huge game like this

And, its not like AOS has never been at this lark beforem he just seems to find his way into these kinda things."
It's being pre-recorded over the next few days, over 2 weeks before the Galway game.

But yeah, Aidan is always "at this lark".

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 21/04/2018 13:17:03    2094204

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "a few days before Mayo's crunch clash with Galway, yer man is doing "the full monty"

listen, as I said some people like yourself would say "sure fair play to him"

But, I guarantee you you won't see any lads from Dublin, Kilkenny etc doing similar 2/3 days before a huge game like this

And, its not like AOS has never been at this lark beforem he just seems to find his way into these kinda things."
If AOS was giving a speech at a fundraiser two days before the game this wouldn't even be news. Just because he's "doing the full monty" doesn't imply he's going on the lash until 3 in the morning. It's harmless. I'm more worried about Fenton going skiing every week.

Pantani (Dublin) - Posts: 48 - 21/04/2018 13:17:57    2094206

Liam why even mention it here? Your looking for a rose out of Mayo fans...what players get up off the field is nobody's business.

And all for a good cause too.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 21/04/2018 14:32:49    2094215

Replying To yew_tree:  "Liam why even mention it here? Your looking for a rose out of Mayo fans...what players get up off the field is nobody's business.

And all for a good cause too."
Yew!
The very notion I would do such a thing offends me...........greatly!!!!

;)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 21/04/2018 15:21:54    2094217

Only 3 weeks to go now and what away to kick it all off , even though we all ready know the eventual allireland winners will be Dublin but at least we can enjoy some of these early games.

Unfortunately the allireland championship is turning into the SPL .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/04/2018 22:50:26    2094247

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Only 3 weeks to go now and what away to kick it all off , even though we all ready know the eventual allireland winners will be Dublin but at least we can enjoy some of these early games.

Unfortunately the allireland championship is turning into the SPL ."
A bit like when kerry used to win it every year so ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 22/04/2018 15:20:18    2094321

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Only 3 weeks to go now and what away to kick it all off , even though we all ready know the eventual allireland winners will be Dublin but at least we can enjoy some of these early games.

Kerry must be quietly confident to be posting like this.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 22/04/2018 17:54:02    2094344

No Lee Keegan, No Brendan Harrison and No Cillian OConnor. Donal Vaughan, Chris Barrett or Keith Higgins played no part in the League. I really can't see anything except a Galway win on 13th May. However if Mayo can survive the qualifiers I think they will beat Galway later in the Summer.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 22/04/2018 18:17:53    2094348

Replying To Mfs:  "No Lee Keegan, No Brendan Harrison and No Cillian OConnor. Donal Vaughan, Chris Barrett or Keith Higgins played no part in the League. I really can't see anything except a Galway win on 13th May. However if Mayo can survive the qualifiers I think they will beat Galway later in the Summer."
Apart from Keegan, I understood that the rest of those players would be back for the Galway game.
Are they all in doubt?

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 23/04/2018 09:22:12    2094426

Heard they will be back fit except for Harrison and Keegan but its one thing being back fit and another thing being back to match fitness ,with very little game time or if any game time will be hard see them all start against us

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 23/04/2018 10:07:19    2094441

You wandered a little off topic there.

There's plenty other threads that have been dragged into farce by snide comments like this. Maybe you could post on them and let this one could actually stick to the subject?

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 23/04/2018 10:14:28    2094442

Harrison, O'Connor and Keegan did not play for their clubs this weekend.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 23/04/2018 10:26:43    2094444

The last 2 Mayo/Galway clashes have gone against expectations with Galway turning Mayo over.

This time the expectation is with Galway and I've got a feeling Mayo might just upset them. Especially with the game being in Castlebar. I just don't see this Mayo team getting beaten by Galway for three years running.

Regardless of result both teams will be in the Super 8s come July.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 23/04/2018 11:17:05    2094450

Replying To MesAmis:  "The last 2 Mayo/Galway clashes have gone against expectations with Galway turning Mayo over.

This time the expectation is with Galway and I've got a feeling Mayo might just upset them. Especially with the game being in Castlebar. I just don't see this Mayo team getting beaten by Galway for three years running.

Regardless of result both teams will be in the Super 8s come July."
Last 2 games that matter the championship ones we caught mayo on good days and beat them ,last year we were lucky mayo played poorly and even playing with 14 men for long period of that game they still could of and probably should of beat us ,I'm a bit worried for may 13th coz the mayo we saw in league isn't the real mayo they had lots of players out and unlike us who the entire squad except the few corofin lads were back since the fbd ,mayo will still be missing a few players against us but I except a big backlash from the mayo lads and I do expect them to beat us ,I dont mean to sound negative but hard to see mayo lose 3 in a row to us in championship ,hope I'm wrong

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 23/04/2018 11:37:04    2094457

I cant see Galway being beaten if i am honest, i do think it will be tight though. Mayo often struggle in the forward line and Galway probably have one of the best defenses in Ireland. That said Galway themselves arent likely to rack up a big score themselves, but do have capability in that area. Goals and cards will be critical and that is in the laps of the gods.

Can see it being a low scoring game with just one or two points the difference and Galway to shade it. As said above i think both will be in S8's.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/04/2018 12:41:51    2094472

Replying To MesAmis:  "The last 2 Mayo/Galway clashes have gone against expectations with Galway turning Mayo over.

I'm not so sure. If Galway lose they could end up in a qualifier away to Monaghan or Tyrone. I know it's ifs and buts and Galway could very well go to Clones and get a result. But I don't think it's as cut and dry saying that the losers will definitely be in the last 8.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9133 - 23/04/2018 13:01:09    2094483

Heard this morning Eamon Brannigan now a doubt for Mayo 13th after a round of club games weekend before last. Serious loss if he is missing as arguably our best forward in the league. Very quick and pacey.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 23/04/2018 13:07:40    2094486

Replying To TheUsername:  "I cant see Galway being beaten if i am honest, i do think it will be tight though. Mayo often struggle in the forward line and Galway probably have one of the best defenses in Ireland. That said Galway themselves arent likely to rack up a big score themselves, but do have capability in that area. Goals and cards will be critical and that is in the laps of the gods.

Can see it being a low scoring game with just one or two points the difference and Galway to shade it. As said above i think both will be in S8's."
To be honest Galway's defense is brilliant because of the defensive system we play and the high numbers of players we do have back but the good teams always find a way to break down defensive set ups we seen it last year with Dublin against Tyrone and mayo are capable of doing the same ,the question is have galway a plan b if needed

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 23/04/2018 13:10:35    2094489

Galway have greater expectation this year for sure, but many people are forgetting that Mayo are still the favourites to win this game with all bookmakers.
A number of bookies have Galway at 13/8, so it certainly can't be labelled as an upset if Mayo win.
We had a very good league, but it won't matter very much once the ball is thrown in on the 13th.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 23/04/2018 13:26:19    2094494

Replying To Galwayjoe86:  "To be honest Galway's defense is brilliant because of the defensive system we play and the high numbers of players we do have back but the good teams always find a way to break down defensive set ups we seen it last year with Dublin against Tyrone and mayo are capable of doing the same ,the question is have galway a plan b if needed"
Its quite tricky to break down though and they have proven that against every team in Div 1, including the all ireland champions of three years on the trot and are no strangers to beating teams by a 10 point margin.

I agree to an extent, there is plenty of attacking headroom their for Galway with the players they have available and for their sake you would hope they have a bit of attacking varience beyond what they showed in the league. But they are a good and tough side, with plenty of depth and young enough to deal with athetisim of anyone. I think they will bully some sides i also think they have the quality to beat almost anyone.

The concern i would have for them is they have shown their cards very early this year and as you say teams who play against them have a decent insight into the system at this stage. That doesnt necessarily mean it wont be sucessful, both Donegal and Tyrone have proven it can be done if executed well. But it wont be under the radar anymore, whether that will make a difference will be deterimined.

I also see a lot of games being in the melting pot, with the system i think you are looking at low scoring games against the top teams with a range of 15 points being scored and trying to frustarte and concede less from general play before varibles of goals etc. Outscoring the top teams i think is going to be the issue, unless as you say there is some plan B and we see a completley different set up, im not so sure given the time and attention put into it at this stage.

Frees conceded against Mayo will be critical, if you dont feed O Connor h will struggle, i think Moran is the only real other danger bar the odd point from elsewhere. I think Galway will shade it in a low scoring game but the above issues i expect to be at the fore as the championship goes on.

In some ways i think the new set up suits Galway, with depth, youth and the group system of S8's suiting their style.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/04/2018 13:51:32    2094502