2018 Club Championships

Replying To royalranter:  "So we're a week out from the senior semi finals, who do people reckon will get through?

Simonstown v Dunboyne : very hard to call. Dunboyne have been my champ favourites since before the first ball of the championship was thrown-in and strengthened that claim with a big win over the champions in the group but Simonstown were impressive in the qf and look like they could be timing their run nicely. Could easily go either way but ill plump for simonstown...just

Don/ash v Summerhill : in this one, I can't see past Summerhill. I think they just have too much in their locker for Don/Ash but if Ashbourne click on the day, they could cause an upset. Summerhill for me to set up a rematch of last year's final (which wont be as one- sided as last year, if it comes to pass)"
Think Summerhill too much for Ashbourne. If Ashbourne sit back like they did against Ratoath, their toast. The Cilles went at them from get go and had The Hill shaken with 5 to go and only 3 points in it. So if they want to make a fist if it they better take Summerhill on. But it's Summerhill. Ashbourne don't have forwards Cilles have and won't rack up near enough to win.

Simmons town and Dunboyne. Look Dunboyne are honest as day is long. However they are missing something to make them star quality. I expect Simonstown to win. Why because all there forwards are playing well and are a scoring threat. Can't say same about Dunboyne. Be a tight one for a while but it's Summerhill V Siminstown Final.

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 22/09/2018 22:44:08    2143305

Replying To Talking_Sense:  "Think Summerhill too much for Ashbourne. If Ashbourne sit back like they did against Ratoath, their toast. The Cilles went at them from get go and had The Hill shaken with 5 to go and only 3 points in it. So if they want to make a fist if it they better take Summerhill on. But it's Summerhill. Ashbourne don't have forwards Cilles have and won't rack up near enough to win.

Simmons town and Dunboyne. Look Dunboyne are honest as day is long. However they are missing something to make them star quality. I expect Simonstown to win. Why because all there forwards are playing well and are a scoring threat. Can't say same about Dunboyne. Be a tight one for a while but it's Summerhill V Siminstown Final."
Simonstown to win Senior Football
Longwood to win Intermediate football.
Dunboyne to win Junior A Football

gardentree (Meath) - Posts: 194 - 25/09/2018 14:45:23    2143745

Have to say Simonstown were brilliant champions but Dunboyne were a different class today. Very impressive, hungry, defended like demons and broke brilliantly. Will be hard to stop now.
No O'Rourke or Nash was just too much for Simonstown, it would be too much for any team - club or county. Also the lads who were away in the summer were not up to speed.
They'll be back fresh next year.

49erroyal (Meath) - Posts: 65 - 29/09/2018 19:43:04    2144347

Well done Dunboyne winning twice in the Pairc today. Dethroned the North Navan men and then won the JFC.
Seeing Vincent's beaten made up my mind that the new championships proposals are a good idea. No second teams in the championships proper and a senior B championship. Then let second teams into the league. If that is passed, which is likely apparently given the indications, who will be the 16 teams in the ifc in 2019. If Donaghmore and Dunboyne are not there, does that mean no intermediate team is relegated this year and Vincent's come up?

Roger (Meath) - Posts: 470 - 29/09/2018 19:56:46    2144350

Delighted for Dunboyne, that is an absolute paddling!

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 30/09/2018 00:02:56    2144374

Replying To Roger:  "Well done Dunboyne winning twice in the Pairc today. Dethroned the North Navan men and then won the JFC.
Seeing Vincent's beaten made up my mind that the new championships proposals are a good idea. No second teams in the championships proper and a senior B championship. Then let second teams into the league. If that is passed, which is likely apparently given the indications, who will be the 16 teams in the ifc in 2019. If Donaghmore and Dunboyne are not there, does that mean no intermediate team is relegated this year and Vincent's come up?"
We will be intermediate next year and rightly so. We won the Junior A championship this year fair and square so deserve to be there . To hell with the begrudgers this team worked their socks off this year and deserve this success especially the older lads who have given a lot to club and county over the past 15 to 20 years as adult players. The championship restructuring if passed would not come in to play until 2020

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 30/09/2018 16:55:25    2144441

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Y'know I'd respect you more if you actually admitted that you've a problem with Ratoath.
But just so I'm clear, you feel that a team that's been runners-up in 2 of the past 4 seasons and has over 10 years of senior football experience shouldn't be beating a team that's never made it past the quarter finals (and are also an average side)? Doesn't really make much sense."
I was being kind saying they were average

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 30/09/2018 17:41:06    2144453

Well done to both summerhill and dunboyne. On a side not what age is McCarthy

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/09/2018 18:37:33    2144458

Replying To Analyst:  "I was being kind saying they were average"
Keep on hating. If that's what keeps you going.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 30/09/2018 20:27:54    2144478

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Keep on hating. If that's what keeps you going."
Just honest

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 30/09/2018 22:13:25    2144500

Was Dardis on the panel last year? 2-6 is some serious scoring.

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 30/09/2018 22:14:13    2144501

Impressive semi final displays by both Dunboyne and Summerhill, makes for an interesting final and a hard one to call, perhaps a slight leaning towards Dunboyne but I think this will be a close game and hopefully a good one. Well done to Dunboyne and Longwood on their Junior and Intermediate successes and to Na Fianna in the Junior B, I imagine there's a right party going on in Stoney's about now...

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 01/10/2018 01:49:26    2144518

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well done to both summerhill and dunboyne. On a side not what age is McCarthy"
If its Robbie McCarthy he was on an under 21 panel with Johnny Cooper, James McCarthy and Dean Rock in 2010 so he'd be about 28 or 29

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1454 - 01/10/2018 03:53:30    2144519

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "Was Dardis on the panel last year? 2-6 is some serious scoring."
On the panel before and during the league. Dropped himself off it before championship.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 932 - 02/10/2018 08:24:37    2144718

Replying To BigJoe14:  "On the panel before and during the league. Dropped himself off it before championship."
Would love him to have another shot at it, if he wants to obviously.

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 02/10/2018 12:10:39    2144744

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "Would love him to have another shot at it, if he wants to obviously."
We'll need him next year for sure with no leninhan involved.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 02/10/2018 12:21:58    2144747

Replying To Aloblack:  "We'll need him next year for sure with no leninhan involved."
What's this? Why is Donal not involved?

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 02/10/2018 12:45:58    2144753

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "What's this? Why is Donal not involved?"
No not according to my brother anyway. He's more involved in the club than me and heard on Saturday night at the junior celebrations that donal is heading off travelling for a year .

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 02/10/2018 13:11:25    2144757

Replying To Aloblack:  "No not according to my brother anyway. He's more involved in the club than me and heard on Saturday night at the junior celebrations that donal is heading off travelling for a year ."
That is correct. Great pity but as has been said numerous times on here, not an opportunity you can begrudge someone, they put their lives on hold for their cause.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 02/10/2018 14:42:07    2144767

Replying To dunboynelad:  "That is correct. Great pity but as has been said numerous times on here, not an opportunity you can begrudge someone, they put their lives on hold for their cause."
Sad to hear that. But I'm sure some on here will twist it that its andys fault. And not his own decisions.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/10/2018 15:26:28    2144776