Galway Vs Dublin League Final

Another display of remarkable resilience from this great side.
Wonderful ability to dig it out when it maters and damn the begrudgers.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 01/04/2018 22:27:27    2090180

Replying To katser:  "Galway weren't great today, they battled and took the fight to Dublin and fair play to them they didn't let the Dubs dictate but definitely the Dubs have stumbled to a league title this year"
Think your getting a bit carried away with yourself..dublin were by no means near their best either..but yet we still beat you by 4 points with 14 men so if thats stumbling to another league title so be it..galway are a decent enough team but you've won nothing yet..galways biggest problem now will be living up to the high expectations and hype that their fans will be placing on them for the summer..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 01/04/2018 22:31:17    2090181

Replying To katser:  "Galway weren't great today, they battled and took the fight to Dublin and fair play to them they didn't let the Dubs dictate but definitely the Dubs have stumbled to a league title this year"
Kildare by 7, Mayo by 4, Tyrone by 5, Donegal by 5, Kerry by 12, draw with Galway, 1pt loss to Monaghan and beating Galway by 4pts. Like last year a lot of lads getting lulled into a false sense of security. Dubs only back training 2 weeks before kildare game. Dubs are only going to get better. Kerry stumbled into league title last year. Dublin in league final with a game to spare is hardly stumbling on title. The last 20mins when dubs were down to 14 men was what Dublin are really capable of. Role on Summer.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 01/04/2018 22:37:52    2090185

Replying To festinog:  "Definitely feel the lads will take a lot from this game and continue to build. If they do, they could be some team come summer.

It is a shame that the ref has become a focal point in the analysis: always the sign of a bad ref; but with Dublin down to 14 men, Galway has no one to blame for loosing. Dublin's experience and quality shone through.

Lavelle seems to have answered a lot of his critics today. Comber is a beast, and Brannigan and Walsh are shaping up nicely.

On the flip side, with all this exposure, Mayo will be ready for whatever we throw at them in May. No element of surprise this year."
Well said. When the Dubs went down to 14, they looked like they had the extra man, not us

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 01/04/2018 22:41:33    2090188

Replying To jimbodub:  "Got through my entire life with the worst thing to happen to me being a head cold! Always kept myself from and ate well but alas something was due haha

I'll hopefully be alright and should be ok just need something cutting out.. its tricky but sure I've got excellent life insurance ha!

Anyway feck that stuff! Up the Dubs"
Jesus mate, my very best wishes, hope everything will be ok.

Young Dubs did us proud today, 14 men, with the game in the melting pot and so many young lads, you have to be proud.

Probably been one of our best leagues for looking to youth and developing it, for the kids to come through and win by four points with 14 men unbelievable. Take a bow, young Comerford. Howard, Murchen, Mulally, O Shea, Basquel and the more established youngsters. It's been a brilliant league for Dublin to look to and develop some youth, couldn't have gone any better really.

That said we've picked up some shocking injuries that we will get right for the summer and a good chunk of the panel still to be triggered and plenty players to come back especially our multi all star halfback line we are in good shape for the championship with plenty of headroom.

10 national titles in 7 years. Blue wave rising.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/04/2018 22:43:15    2090190

Stumbled, skipped, jumped, its all the one to us, remember we're not the team we were a couple of years ago, a lot of big names gone for one reason or another, the fact that Gavin keeps finding and implementing new players and Dublin are still winning is unheralded.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 01/04/2018 22:54:35    2090195

Great performance from Galway. Having seen them in Salthill I knew they had the game to drive us close. They remind me of us a few years ago, fit as hell, tenacious tacklers, hunger all over the pitch and classy finishers. I think they need to tweak the blanket defence a bit, keep 2 or 3 players up to give them a quicker outlet but the essential ingredients are there. As for Dublin, we need to toughen up down the middle, cut open too easily again today and once more our FB line struggled. Philly looks off the pace. We're badly missing Cian and Jack but great to see Con back with the big ball today. Lots of work to do ahead of the dummer. 14 titles ftom 16 under Gavin in some going all the same.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/04/2018 22:57:21    2090197

2 things evident from this game, no 1 when you have a numerical advantage forget the blanket defence or 15 behind the ball, the spare player is lost in the crowd, go man to man, at least that way the extra player is free to cause havoc to the opposition, Galway didn't change their game plan and the extra player wasn't seen, Dublin's quick handling eliminated that player.
No 2 the standard of refereeing is pathetic not just because Dublin won but too many people leave matches and are not talking about the great game but complaining about the standard of referees. I give you 1 example Mayo v Tyrone in Castlebar a few weeks ago, Tyrone won a 45m kick, they tried to take a short kick but Mayo players blocked them, ref blew the whistle and told them to get back. Tyrone done the same plan again and again Mayo players tried to block them. Ref again blew the whistle and instead of booking the Mayo players he brought the ball 13 m closer to the Mayo goals, now even Tyrone supporters were saying that isn't in the rules, the ref can't do that, he must be making up the rules as he us going along. The ref can move the ball forward for frees but I believe not for 45s. The same person is suppose to be 1 of our top refs and has refereed a number of All Ireland semis and All Ireland Finals, that says something about our top brass. Time for Croke Park and the GAA to sort out this mess once and for all, players, managers and supporters won't stand for this kind of bulls##t anymore

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 01/04/2018 23:24:56    2090208

Replying To jimbodub:  "Got through my entire life with the worst thing to happen to me being a head cold! Always kept myself from and ate well but alas something was due haha

I'll hopefully be alright and should be ok just need something cutting out.. its tricky but sure I've got excellent life insurance ha!

Anyway feck that stuff! Up the Dubs"
Sorry to hear you have that type of worrying to do. My own health has taken a bashing in the last few months but I will get through it as I doubt its on a par with yours. I wish you all the best with the procedure.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 01/04/2018 23:58:09    2090214

Waited until this morning to post as wanted time to digest after the journey down post match. First things first fair play Dublin. No issues with the result. Yes the ref was poor and the black card rule is dead imobut Most Galway football folk are realists unlike some counties who raise the decibel level on excuses. We definitely are evolving. Plenty of tweaking as referenced earlier but huge effort to our guys against the best team in the country. Can we push on from here. Good question. We have the tools and it's all about psychology for May 13th. I watched the highlights last night and the contradiction from a certain panelist is shocking. He told us to go defensive a few yrs ago. Now he is bemoaning any defensive strategy. Their love in with the Div 2 final was a bit much. Fair play to a good Ros team but ultimately that open ball won't live with a team like the Dubs. They need to mix it up more. As for the author of the Mayo blog and his 'flat atmosphere at HQ' yesterday I should remind the same person of the 'flat atmosphere' at his own county's league final with Cork a few yrs ago or the q/f double header in 2011 when there was barely 20k at it. Easy to throw stones and all that. Well done KW for defying the odds. My advice is keep going in the face of plenty of naysayers.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 02/04/2018 08:39:13    2090231

Replying To riverboys:  "2 things evident from this game, no 1 when you have a numerical advantage forget the blanket defence or 15 behind the ball, the spare player is lost in the crowd, go man to man, at least that way the extra player is free to cause havoc to the opposition, Galway didn't change their game plan and the extra player wasn't seen, Dublin's quick handling eliminated that player.
No 2 the standard of refereeing is pathetic not just because Dublin won but too many people leave matches and are not talking about the great game but complaining about the standard of referees. I give you 1 example Mayo v Tyrone in Castlebar a few weeks ago, Tyrone won a 45m kick, they tried to take a short kick but Mayo players blocked them, ref blew the whistle and told them to get back. Tyrone done the same plan again and again Mayo players tried to block them. Ref again blew the whistle and instead of booking the Mayo players he brought the ball 13 m closer to the Mayo goals, now even Tyrone supporters were saying that isn't in the rules, the ref can't do that, he must be making up the rules as he us going along. The ref can move the ball forward for frees but I believe not for 45s. The same person is suppose to be 1 of our top refs and has refereed a number of All Ireland semis and All Ireland Finals, that says something about our top brass. Time for Croke Park and the GAA to sort out this mess once and for all, players, managers and supporters won't stand for this kind of bulls##t anymore"
Agree with you 100% on both points. Galway did not switch to plan B with the numerical advantage.

The ref. might have felt the second yellow was a bit harsh for the sending off and he gave the Dubs a few presents to make up for it.

If KW learned something yesterday about switching tactics when needed then Galway can improve. Looking forward to Castlebar, but it will be another cliffhanger for sure.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 02/04/2018 09:48:55    2090240

After sleeping on it there are many positives for Galway.

Firstly congrats to Dublin. Class side and with 14 players they really upped it.

Yes ref was shocking but we've come to expect that sand everyday u go out it's a lottery on that front... who will forget Tom Flynn bc last year when COC dived into him!

Galway can rightly claim to have as good a chance of winning AI as anyone except Dublin. They put it up to Dublin but made some bad decisions Matt the end. I think system suites them but maybe tweak and leave one extra up top.

Against 14 we should have pushed an extra man up. But this was against Dublin, one of the greatest teams of all time, so maybe we were a bit conservative.

We have nothing to fear on May 13th. It will be hard won. Mayo, while on the slide, are more than capable of a one off great performance. The only thing is Galway will not be taking Mayo for granted. That u can be sure of.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 02/04/2018 10:15:54    2090248

Replying To kiloughter:  "Waited until this morning to post as wanted time to digest after the journey down post match. First things first fair play Dublin. No issues with the result. Yes the ref was poor and the black card rule is dead imobut Most Galway football folk are realists unlike some counties who raise the decibel level on excuses. We definitely are evolving. Plenty of tweaking as referenced earlier but huge effort to our guys against the best team in the country. Can we push on from here. Good question. We have the tools and it's all about psychology for May 13th. I watched the highlights last night and the contradiction from a certain panelist is shocking. He told us to go defensive a few yrs ago. Now he is bemoaning any defensive strategy. Their love in with the Div 2 final was a bit much. Fair play to a good Ros team but ultimately that open ball won't live with a team like the Dubs. They need to mix it up more. As for the author of the Mayo blog and his 'flat atmosphere at HQ' yesterday I should remind the same person of the 'flat atmosphere' at his own county's league final with Cork a few yrs ago or the q/f double header in 2011 when there was barely 20k at it. Easy to throw stones and all that. Well done KW for defying the odds. My advice is keep going in the face of plenty of naysayers."
RTE 'show' last evening was a joke. Brolly has disappeared up his own ass from 'u-turning' on the 'offence/defense' debate of gaelic football. Tyrone & Donegal were great lads pre 2012 & 2012-2014 respectively, but Derry recently & Galway now, are apparently barking up the wrong tree. In Galway's case though, you have the added complication that we were naive & soft pre Paddy Tally too. A bit like the 3 bear's porridge, only there is no 'just right' in this scenario. 'Just wrong' is all that seems to be on offer.

Does Spillane ever watch himself on TV. He's terrible, or getting worse lately, hard to know which? Telling viewers to 'look..look it...look' at video footage!! We're watching the TV, Pat, we want to be informed. You can take it, we're looking...that's if we haven't switched channel, in a desperate search to find something coherent on just about anything....countdown to Calvary anyone? Certainly Brolly's been to Damascus & back on the subject of 'defense/offence & gaelic football', and has retained no credibility after the trip. Everything in football analysis, for Pat, revolves around 'de blanket' now. You defeat 'de blanket', you overcome 'de blanket', you hit it over 'de blanket', you find space inside in 'de blanket' etc. Truly risible stuff. You have to chuckle out loud at the idiocy of Spillane's comment regarding Cregg's third Roscommon goal. Did he see an issue with pathetic defending? No. Did he see what appeared to be maybe a 'blown offside trap'? No. What he saw, was 'finding space inside in de blanket'. He saw great football there....a credit....beating de blanket....finding space in 'it'.....jesus wept! It's a crime that these fellas get paid for that muck.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 02/04/2018 11:01:40    2090258

13pts in div1 & running the Dubs to 4pts in a league final appears to be a heck of a step forward for this Galway squad. 'Appears to be', because progress won't be really confirmed until we perform v Mayo, and until we perform throughout the 2018 championship, through either front door, or back door. We seemed to flag for fitness down the stretch yesterday I thought, butchering two glorious 'front foot' possessions late on, that should have been definite Galway points.....at least. One ended with a pressured Kelly shot up in the air, the other Conroy's left footed wide. The options on both of those possessions looked particularly exciting, but we were either too tired, or too mentally flustered, or both, to execute accurately on them. If we'd nailed those two, we'd have had the opportunity to have taken the Dubs all the way to the wire.

It must be the big Croker pitch, but we seem to have flagged for fitness & 'legs' v Tipp, Kerry & Dublin at HQ in the past 3 seasons. Is this squad as fit as it can get? We seem to need a bit more energy down the stretch. Another weakness in this team imo is our lack of capability under long kickout ball. We were cleaned for this stuff in phases of yesterday's game, and Dublin punished us a lot with these possessions. We seem to have a plethora of big mobile midfielders coming through, who can play ball, but aren't particularly a factor in the art of winning primary possession, especially from long kickout ball. When teams 'push up' as they say these days, long kickouts become a necessity, and it's an area that we've looked vulnerable in, during this exciting NFL campaign. The other trick for KW now is integrating the Corofin contingent, and getting the best out of the entire 'mix' going forward.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 02/04/2018 11:26:25    2090262

I am sorry to make a lazy point here, but Croke park is not the biggest pitch in the country. Nor are the smaller provincial fields around the country that much smaller than it. I don't have a list of stats at hand but I remember reading this stat a couple of years ago. I think that if teams are not training on their provincial pitches in preparation for a croke park clash, then they are not preparing correctly.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 02/04/2018 12:14:39    2090271

Sunday Game was pathetic. Galway were in league 2 last year and for many years before that. They come from there to a league final against the All Ireland champions and get zero credit was very disappointing. They didn't capture the best scores(comers last score for example) nor did they make any comment on black cards or the harsh sending off given that his second yellow was no worse that several other tackles which got nothing.

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 372 - 02/04/2018 12:23:01    2090277

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "13pts in div1 & running the Dubs to 4pts in a league final appears to be a heck of a step forward for this Galway squad. 'Appears to be', because progress won't be really confirmed until we perform v Mayo, and until we perform throughout the 2018 championship, through either front door, or back door. We seemed to flag for fitness down the stretch yesterday I thought, butchering two glorious 'front foot' possessions late on, that should have been definite Galway points.....at least. One ended with a pressured Kelly shot up in the air, the other Conroy's left footed wide. The options on both of those possessions looked particularly exciting, but we were either too tired, or too mentally flustered, or both, to execute accurately on them. If we'd nailed those two, we'd have had the opportunity to have taken the Dubs all the way to the wire.

It must be the big Croker pitch, but we seem to have flagged for fitness & 'legs' v Tipp, Kerry & Dublin at HQ in the past 3 seasons. Is this squad as fit as it can get? We seem to need a bit more energy down the stretch. Another weakness in this team imo is our lack of capability under long kickout ball. We were cleaned for this stuff in phases of yesterday's game, and Dublin punished us a lot with these possessions. We seem to have a plethora of big mobile midfielders coming through, who can play ball, but aren't particularly a factor in the art of winning primary possession, especially from long kickout ball. When teams 'push up' as they say these days, long kickouts become a necessity, and it's an area that we've looked vulnerable in, during this exciting NFL campaign. The other trick for KW now is integrating the Corofin contingent, and getting the best out of the entire 'mix' going forward."
I think we will perform v mayo but so will Mayo. This is going to be a massive game. If we lose thats going to be a tough pill to swallow but this team is well able to go through the back door . I'd be surprised if the loser of this dosent make it to the super 8s

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 02/04/2018 12:29:30    2090280

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "RTE 'show' last evening was a joke. Brolly has disappeared up his own ass from 'u-turning' on the 'offence/defense' debate of gaelic football. Tyrone & Donegal were great lads pre 2012 & 2012-2014 respectively, but Derry recently & Galway now, are apparently barking up the wrong tree. In Galway's case though, you have the added complication that we were naive & soft pre Paddy Tally too. A bit like the 3 bear's porridge, only there is no 'just right' in this scenario. 'Just wrong' is all that seems to be on offer.

Does Spillane ever watch himself on TV. He's terrible, or getting worse lately, hard to know which? Telling viewers to 'look..look it...look' at video footage!! We're watching the TV, Pat, we want to be informed. You can take it, we're looking...that's if we haven't switched channel, in a desperate search to find something coherent on just about anything....countdown to Calvary anyone? Certainly Brolly's been to Damascus & back on the subject of 'defense/offence & gaelic football', and has retained no credibility after the trip. Everything in football analysis, for Pat, revolves around 'de blanket' now. You defeat 'de blanket', you overcome 'de blanket', you hit it over 'de blanket', you find space inside in 'de blanket' etc. Truly risible stuff. You have to chuckle out loud at the idiocy of Spillane's comment regarding Cregg's third Roscommon goal. Did he see an issue with pathetic defending? No. Did he see what appeared to be maybe a 'blown offside trap'? No. What he saw, was 'finding space inside in de blanket'. He saw great football there....a credit....beating de blanket....finding space in 'it'.....jesus wept! It's a crime that these fellas get paid for that muck."
Well said. He conveniently forgets that as a half forward himself, he regularly went down to defend with his own defence out of position. Seems it was ok for him to do that but not anyone else on the field.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 02/04/2018 12:40:29    2090283

Replying To riverboys:  "2 things evident from this game, no 1 when you have a numerical advantage forget the blanket defence or 15 behind the ball, the spare player is lost in the crowd, go man to man, at least that way the extra player is free to cause havoc to the opposition, Galway didn't change their game plan and the extra player wasn't seen, Dublin's quick handling eliminated that player.
No 2 the standard of refereeing is pathetic not just because Dublin won but too many people leave matches and are not talking about the great game but complaining about the standard of referees. I give you 1 example Mayo v Tyrone in Castlebar a few weeks ago, Tyrone won a 45m kick, they tried to take a short kick but Mayo players blocked them, ref blew the whistle and told them to get back. Tyrone done the same plan again and again Mayo players tried to block them. Ref again blew the whistle and instead of booking the Mayo players he brought the ball 13 m closer to the Mayo goals, now even Tyrone supporters were saying that isn't in the rules, the ref can't do that, he must be making up the rules as he us going along. The ref can move the ball forward for frees but I believe not for 45s. The same person is suppose to be 1 of our top refs and has refereed a number of All Ireland semis and All Ireland Finals, that says something about our top brass. Time for Croke Park and the GAA to sort out this mess once and for all, players, managers and supporters won't stand for this kind of bulls##t anymore"
Agree with your post. With an extra player the blanket defence goes out the window - no great science in that. The team that beats Dublin will be the team that can rely on their own football ability and go man to man for most of the game with high intensity (as Mayo did in first half in last years AI). They will also need a good free taker. On refs having watched all matches over the weekend one would be forgiven for thinking that different rules were for the different divisions especially with black cards.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 02/04/2018 13:54:15    2090302

its time to move spillane and brolly on
they have nothing positive or interesting to say
the minuite I seen brolly on last nite
I knew hed give no credit to galway
I mean they had a great league
were up against Dublin a brilliant team
and in fairness lot pundits were predicting a hammering for galway
now galway made it competitive for a long way
and kicked some brilliant points but not once did brolly mention that
he didn't see that Dublin themselves had most of their team back in defence in first half team
I agree galway should have gone man for man when Dublin wre down to 1
I wonder does that experience from 1998 v galway in all Ireland semi
when Thomas mannion cleaned him out still haunt him
and brian mullins gave him the curly finger

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 02/04/2018 14:17:39    2090310