Galway Vs Dublin League Final

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Hope your ok pal"
Got through my entire life with the worst thing to happen to me being a head cold! Always kept myself from and ate well but alas something was due haha

I'll hopefully be alright and should be ok just need something cutting out.. its tricky but sure I've got excellent life insurance ha!

Anyway feck that stuff! Up the Dubs

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 01/04/2018 20:25:04    2090126

Very proud Galway man. We put it up to the Dubs when ciaran whelan thought our poor boys were going to get thrashed and were unfortunate to be in the final If.l only he had a medal to back up his biased comments. Remember when he marched through the mayo warm up to the hill to lay down a marker and went and lost the match, what a man.

Dublin are a great team but Galway are coming fast. This time last year we were in the div 2 final and now we lost the div 1 final by 4 points to one of the best teams there has ever been and at no point did we look out of our depth. While I obviously wanted a win I think the loss will have us better prepared for May 13. Plenty of mistakes made which the Dubs punished us for but the lads can learn from it

Special mention for lavelle who has endured a lot of a abuse from Galway fans last year, including booing him mid game. He had a great game absolutely delighted for him

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 01/04/2018 20:42:10    2090133

Replying To mightydubs:  "Won't see Connolly back this year, supposedly he is gone off the wall all together i hope I'm wrong."
We're all hearing the same mad stories but until the manager says he's gone then I'll always hold out hope for him to come back.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/04/2018 20:51:45    2090135

Replying To Mayonman:  "Happy enough. Showed we can compete. Also some poor decision making but this game will help bring that on.

Yes a few dodgy calls by ref but Dublin deserved it. Showed their class a man down. We're definitely closing the gap but there is a gap.

Onwards and upwards May 13th is the key.

Gallimh Abù!"
Completely agree with this. Dubs did deserve the win but lots of mistakes by our lads that can be rectified but we are now able to compete with the best. Well done team and management

Gaillimh abú

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 01/04/2018 20:55:30    2090137

Watching game back Conroy could have a case to answer looks like an eye gouge on McCauley

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 01/04/2018 21:02:08    2090139

Dublin are just brilliant. Incredible team.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 01/04/2018 21:04:06    2090141

Replying To galwayfball:  "Completely agree with this. Dubs did deserve the win but lots of mistakes by our lads that can be rectified but we are now able to compete with the best. Well done team and management

Gaillimh abú"
Fair play laďs no bitching and moaning it was a tough physical battle which will bring both teams on. Galway are a coming team. Some tough hard footballers to go with classy towards. Really like the looks of Cooke in midfield.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 01/04/2018 21:07:38    2090142

Definitely feel the lads will take a lot from this game and continue to build. If they do, they could be some team come summer.

It is a shame that the ref has become a focal point in the analysis: always the sign of a bad ref; but with Dublin down to 14 men, Galway has no one to blame for loosing. Dublin's experience and quality shone through.

Lavelle seems to have answered a lot of his critics today. Comber is a beast, and Brannigan and Walsh are shaping up nicely.

On the flip side, with all this exposure, Mayo will be ready for whatever we throw at them in May. No element of surprise this year.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 01/04/2018 21:12:51    2090143

I can't get my ahead around that it is not Tyrone, Kerry, or Mayo that will put it up to Dublin in the years to come.. it looks like galway are the team to watch.
Plus they have have Corofin lads to come back too!

Dublin were just lucky that Galway did not have the game know how yet.
That wide Conroy took before he was taken off summed things up for me.
If the was more patience and played the galway lads in they were on for a goal on the break.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 01/04/2018 21:14:39    2090144

Replying To essmac:  "Well at least the rest of the country have a little bit of hope and I also admit I was wrong to doubt Tally"
I wouldn't say a little bit of hope, like when a inexperienced youngish Galway team playing in a first national final for a long time can push the Dubs all the way...I'm sure the more recent experienced Croke Park teams can ruffle them

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 01/04/2018 21:15:09    2090146

Dublin were the best team and won fair n square, too many unforced errors by Galway and wasted the extra man for last quarter. But Galway will really be looking forward to a good Summer and must bring their A game to Castlebar next month. I am glad we got to the final regardless of the result and a big thanks to our players and management for the huge campaign. On a side note, the Rossies will be a huge challenge for whoever wins on May 13.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 01/04/2018 21:20:04    2090149

Replying To katser:  "I wouldn't say a little bit of hope, like when a inexperienced youngish Galway team playing in a first national final for a long time can push the Dubs all the way...I'm sure the more recent experienced Croke Park teams can ruffle them"
Chill man you think we can't improve well into the summer? also a packed Croke Park is a whole different experience aswell when playing Dublin who are well use to the big games now. Yes Galway were great today and our going to be serious opposition for anyone but please don't judge Dublin on one performance and that's it we have no scope for improvements.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/04/2018 21:27:22    2090153

Great match. Very impressed with Galway; just wait till Cummins and Daly are fit and the Corofin lads are back.

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 01/04/2018 21:34:27    2090157

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Chill man you think we can't improve well into the summer? also a packed Croke Park is a whole different experience aswell when playing Dublin who are well use to the big games now. Yes Galway were great today and our going to be serious opposition for anyone but please don't judge Dublin on one performance and that's it we have no scope for improvements."
Galway weren't great today, they battled and took the fight to Dublin and fair play to them they didn't let the Dubs dictate but definitely the Dubs have stumbled to a league title this year

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 01/04/2018 22:01:04    2090165

Joe Brolly couldn't say a positive thing about Galway on league Sunday. In the not so distant past I recall him saying the Galway footballers should walk their dogs on the prom in Salthill for the summer because they don't take their foootball seriously. (2013 when mayo blitzed Galway in Salthill). But this isn't about Brolly this is about this young team. The whole air time was given to Dublin on league Sunday and they're worthy winners no doubting that. Few dubious calls by the ref (clear stripping of possession was given as an easy free to Dublin, Conroy clearly fouled going forward). Poor Galway decision making and inaccuracies led to Dublin scores which was Ultimatley the difference. But Dublin showed their class and their hunger was frightening which led to Galway mistakes. Very proud of Galway tonight. You did your county proud. Ciaran Duggan and Cooke outstanding as were Bradshaw and Cathal Sweeney. Media and Pundits still believe this Galway team aren't a top 4 side. It makes me laugh. Beimid ar ais

Lyreenside (Carlow) - Posts: 21 - 01/04/2018 22:05:12    2090167

Replying To katser:  "Galway weren't great today, they battled and took the fight to Dublin and fair play to them they didn't let the Dubs dictate but definitely the Dubs have stumbled to a league title this year"
Stumbled?

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 01/04/2018 22:05:24    2090168

Replying To MesAmis:  "More children crying about referees. I had to listen to it on the hill earlier too. Yous are all the same.

Dublin have won a lot of tight games over the years and it is always down to the ref according to the crying brigade.

It's hard to take yous seriously."
If you read the comments, you'll see that most Galway supporters are acknowledging that we were deservedly beaten. Dublin showed far more composure in the final 10 minutes, while we made some poor decisions. The hope is that we'll take some valuable lessons from this game.
Almost all of the comments regarding the ref deciding the game are from non-Galway posters. There's no doubting he was poor, but we can only focus on our own game.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2040 - 01/04/2018 22:08:39    2090171

Replying To katser:  "Galway weren't great today, they battled and took the fight to Dublin and fair play to them they didn't let the Dubs dictate but definitely the Dubs have stumbled to a league title this year"
Dublin weren't great either, stumbled to a league? We've been stumbling since 2011 some day will be found out.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/04/2018 22:09:27    2090172

Dublin werent great either, but in fairness to them against a strong breeze and a man down they , they deservedly won another league title.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 01/04/2018 22:15:24    2090175

Dublin far from stumbled to victory today

Dubs tails were well up seizing that game over the last 25 minutes

No stumbling witnessed at all.. all down hill - brilliant stuff when down to 14

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 01/04/2018 22:20:30    2090176