Galway Vs Dublin League Final

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "I felt Galway waited too long to bring on their subs. By the 67th minute, Galway had only made one substitution while Dublin had made four (granted, two were enforced but Gavin has a habit of bringing on subs at an early enough juncture). The lads on the field were flagging while the subs barely had enough time to get up to speed, let alone influence the game. If Walsh could get a better balance of when to use his bench, this could well go a long way towards eliminating or, at least, minimising the fatigue factor."
Don't get me wrong I'm delighted with how Galway are going and very proud of our men but I agree with this post. The subs were brought on too late and 3 of them arrived within 2 mins of each other. They didn't have time to settle in and the 3 of them arriving at the same time upset the balance a bit. It also wasted time when we weren't leading the game. A lot of our lads gave everything they had out there and Flynn, Sweeney and Varley are all capable of kicking points from distance and with fresh legs brought on a bit earlier could have caused the Dubs more trouble than they had any time to do.

This game will not only have helped our players but our management. Roll on May 13th I feel a mayo ambush is on the cards and I hope we are ready

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 03/04/2018 16:30:07    2090725

Replying To galwayfball:  "Don't get me wrong I'm delighted with how Galway are going and very proud of our men but I agree with this post. The subs were brought on too late and 3 of them arrived within 2 mins of each other. They didn't have time to settle in and the 3 of them arriving at the same time upset the balance a bit. It also wasted time when we weren't leading the game. A lot of our lads gave everything they had out there and Flynn, Sweeney and Varley are all capable of kicking points from distance and with fresh legs brought on a bit earlier could have caused the Dubs more trouble than they had any time to do.

This game will not only have helped our players but our management. Roll on May 13th I feel a mayo ambush is on the cards and I hope we are ready"
It is a very valid point. Fresh legs gave the Dubs. renewed energy at a very important period of the game. It was obvious that a number of Galway players had given their all and were not able to make the forward runs or cover the breaks in the final quarter. Walsh appears to lack confidence in the bench he has at the moment. The return of some of the injured players and the Corofin boys will change all that.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 03/04/2018 16:48:15    2090735

Very good analysis from the username on both Galway & Dublin.

As for Galway and whatever happens in the championship we're going in the right direction, this is a young team who will benefit from a few years in Div 1. Shane Walsh was the 5th oldest player for Galway on the pitch on Sunday so it shows the age profile of the team. I'm feeling positive anyhow for the next few years with the likes of Michael Daly, Armstrong, Cummins & Ian Burke to come back into the side.

I think the likes of Molloy & Wall have the talent to make the starting 15 over the next few years too but I can't help but feel that because of their commitments with Corofin it will hold them back. Then there's some brilliant 4 or 5 players on the u20's who've been around the Galway panel this year like Finnerty, Murphy, Conneely, D'Arcy & Mulkerrins who will all be pushing for places inside the next few years. I have very high hopes in particular for D'Arcy & Mulkerrins.

I'm confident enough we might have a team that will give the big prize a rattle inside the next few years.

JDF (Galway) - Posts: 322 - 03/04/2018 16:54:02    2090738

Was a game galway were happy to be playing in , its a bonus game for Dublin , the two things both teams can take out of it is Galway are a team making huge progress , and Dublin seem to be going through a seamless transition

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 03/04/2018 17:33:00    2090759

Just wanted to say the Niall Scully sending off was a shocker ,never in a million years should he of been sent off for that , referee use some come sense please.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/04/2018 21:31:16    2090833

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Just wanted to say the Niall Scully sending off was a shocker ,never in a million years should he of been sent off for that , referee use some come sense please."
He should not have been sent off but there were two black cards inside the first 10mins - if black cards mean anything. I do not blame Dublin for -just a weak Ref. From Galway's prospective I would like to see their full forward closer to goals where he can do a lot of damage- one of the best in the business.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 03/04/2018 23:15:36    2090864

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Just wanted to say the Niall Scully sending off was a shocker ,never in a million years should he of been sent off for that , referee use some come sense please."
Agreed on the second booking, but in fairness to the ref, in real time it looked like a very high tackle. He has to make a call there and then, and when I saw it initially, I thought it was a yellow also. Only on the replay was it clear thst he pulled his upper arm/shoulder. It has been mentioned already that Scully was very lucky to avoid a yellow for dragging down Comer early on.
I've heard people also giving out about the free Rock got when Kerin dispossessed him. Again, it was very difficult for the ref to see it as Rock had his back to him. Only the umpires would've seen the tackle clearly.
Football in general is an extremely difficult game to ref. Apart from it being impossible to be in the right place to get the best view of each incident, as well as the speed at which things occur, refs also have to deal with players trying to deceive them for 70s minutes. They need more help.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 04/04/2018 00:05:48    2090876

Replying To tommy k:  "Lads actually I don't think Galway played anywhere near their full potential (maybe 70% at most). Yes I know many posters will say Dublin didn't either but I can only go on what I have seen so far. The Corofin contingent (perhaps 5 or 6 of them) plus the likes of Daly, Cummins and Armstrong would definitely have improved that team. Midfield is still a problem and the best midfielder for Galway IMO is Cian D'Arcy who we didn't get to see much apart from 5 minutes against Kildare where he scored a point."
1 or 2 Corofin players might get a chance of they step up to the plate in County Football, but thinking KEV will start dropping players that have served him well and put County before Club is not going to happen. Them days are gone a Mac.

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 04/04/2018 02:02:05    2090880

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Agreed on the second booking, but in fairness to the ref, in real time it looked like a very high tackle. He has to make a call there and then, and when I saw it initially, I thought it was a yellow also. Only on the replay was it clear thst he pulled his upper arm/shoulder. It has been mentioned already that Scully was very lucky to avoid a yellow for dragging down Comer early on.
I've heard people also giving out about the free Rock got when Kerin dispossessed him. Again, it was very difficult for the ref to see it as Rock had his back to him. Only the umpires would've seen the tackle clearly.
Football in general is an extremely difficult game to ref. Apart from it being impossible to be in the right place to get the best view of each incident, as well as the speed at which things occur, refs also have to deal with players trying to deceive them for 70s minutes. They need more help."
Rocks one was never a free bad call from ref as was the free Walsh kicked over from the hogan stand sideline , Fenton was outstanding in the tackle and the ref gave a free that was never a free.

For me you have to do something really bad to get a second yellow what Scully done was nothing and was a terrible call.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/04/2018 09:40:37    2090916

Scully was lucky he wasn't gone earlier, he failed to get any card for bringing Comer down after 15 mins.

JDF (Galway) - Posts: 322 - 04/04/2018 10:42:55    2090941

Replying To JDF:  "Scully was lucky he wasn't gone earlier, he failed to get any card for bringing Comer down after 15 mins."
The one when Comer dived up into the air ? Wasn't even a free Comer dives all the time should of been black carded for non stop diving and pulling down Jonny Cooper.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/04/2018 10:49:11    2090943

Replying To clondalkindub:  "The one when Comer dived up into the air ? Wasn't even a free Comer dives all the time should of been black carded for non stop diving and pulling down Jonny Cooper."
Comer is an awful man for hitting the ground and pulling the defenders arm in over his shoulder so they fall down on top of him. Some referees are wise to this but some don't spot it as it happens so fast.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 04/04/2018 11:17:55    2090953

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Rocks one was never a free bad call from ref as was the free Walsh kicked over from the hogan stand sideline , Fenton was outstanding in the tackle and the ref gave a free that was never a free.

For me you have to do something really bad to get a second yellow what Scully done was nothing and was a terrible call."
I agree that both highlighted were incorrect. He made a number of incorrect decisions on both sides. However, it's easy for us all to say what was a terrible call, with the benefit of tv and replays.
When you look at the actual incidents, it's very easy to see why he gave them as he did. Considering he's one man, making a decision on live viewing only, on incidents happening extremely quickly.
In real time, the pull on Conroy looked like a dangerous high tackle. On replay, we see he pulled his shoulder. A harsh yellow, but based on what it looked like live, a very understandable call.
Likewise the dispossession of Rock. It was a good stripping of the ball, but from behind it looked like Kerin might have fouled him.
Refs have a nigh on impossible task on their hands.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 04/04/2018 11:33:15    2090958

Looks like the Dubs have a new enemy in Comer.

He never dived, he's guilty of pulling Cooper down but he was already fouled by Copper prior to that.

Could a referee confirm If an attacking player can receive a black for pulling an opponent down if the referee has already awarded a free to the attacking player?

Once again Scully should have gone earlier as he escaped with no card for bringing Comer down.

The referee was fine until the last 10 mins but he's not the reason Galway got beat.

JDF (Galway) - Posts: 322 - 04/04/2018 11:58:36    2090967

Replying To WanPintWin:  "I agree that both highlighted were incorrect. He made a number of incorrect decisions on both sides. However, it's easy for us all to say what was a terrible call, with the benefit of tv and replays.
When you look at the actual incidents, it's very easy to see why he gave them as he did. Considering he's one man, making a decision on live viewing only, on incidents happening extremely quickly.
In real time, the pull on Conroy looked like a dangerous high tackle. On replay, we see he pulled his shoulder. A harsh yellow, but based on what it looked like live, a very understandable call.
Likewise the dispossession of Rock. It was a good stripping of the ball, but from behind it looked like Kerin might have fouled him.
Refs have a nigh on impossible task on their hands."
Agree with this this. The fact that BOTH sides were using massed defences when without the ball made extremely hard to see from a refs perspective as there are so many bodies and so much movement in relatively tight spaces. Ill get shot/ridiculed for this but there might be room for a rule that both sides have to keep at least three players in the opposing half with it being the linesman/womans responsibility to police. The linesmen would not be allowed to halt play as that would break up the game but maybe there could be a black or yellow card for which ever forward breaks the rule. Let the abuse begin!!!

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 372 - 04/04/2018 12:08:09    2090979

Replying To JDF:  "Looks like the Dubs have a new enemy in Comer.

He never dived, he's guilty of pulling Cooper down but he was already fouled by Copper prior to that.

Could a referee confirm If an attacking player can receive a black for pulling an opponent down if the referee has already awarded a free to the attacking player?

Once again Scully should have gone earlier as he escaped with no card for bringing Comer down.

The referee was fine until the last 10 mins but he's not the reason Galway got beat."
Wouldn't say a new enemy in Comer but having seen him live a few times now I do think he does go to ground a bit too easily, which is a shame considering the size of him. And to be honest when up against Cooper and McMahon in particular it's a very clever ploy in order to get them carded early on. Those two play on the edge at the best of times so an early card often curtails their usual approach.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 04/04/2018 12:10:44    2090983

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "Comer is an awful man for hitting the ground and pulling the defenders arm in over his shoulder so they fall down on top of him. Some referees are wise to this but some don't spot it as it happens so fast."
Ref has to award for what he sees. He's behind the ball and always will be when a ball is sent in fast like that.

From behind Comer was dragged down and that's what it looked like on tv until you see it replayed from a different angled zoomed in and you see he pulls Cooper with him. All refs would have given that free . I think he made several bad calls but that was not one of them. There was no way to know comer had pulled him down.

I do think there needs to be more involvement from linesmen not just when the ref goes looking for their input. If they have a clear view of an incident and are certain the ref has made the wrong call they should say so

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 04/04/2018 12:21:24    2090987

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "Wouldn't say a new enemy in Comer but having seen him live a few times now I do think he does go to ground a bit too easily, which is a shame considering the size of him. And to be honest when up against Cooper and McMahon in particular it's a very clever ploy in order to get them carded early on. Those two play on the edge at the best of times so an early card often curtails their usual approach."
I don't think it is a ploy in fairness. Damo is a very direct type of footballer the type the game has in short supply and we should always encourage players to take on their man or men if double marked etc. Dublin naturally would be worried against this type of opponent given the age profile of some of their key defenders with Comer himself not even at peak. Remember we were missing two 1st choice championship starting forwards in Michael Daly and Ian Burke with the latter a key foil for Comer. Also throw in Corofin's Martin Garragher and I would hope Damo will have more support when the championship hots up.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 04/04/2018 13:30:50    2091009

Replying To JDF:  "Looks like the Dubs have a new enemy in Comer.

The referee was fine until the last 10 mins but he's not the reason Galway got beat."
I wouldn't say new enemy but any big lad that goes down as easily as he does and dabbles in the dark art of dragging defenders down with him to have them black carded, is not going to have many admirers outside of his home county. He was involved in a few incidents on Sunday in the second half too, rugby tackled McMahon as he was clearing the ball, took Cooper down by holding onto his leg after he played the ball, caught Kilkenny high for which he got a yellow. Lucky to have stayed on the pitch I would have thought. Very good player though, the type that Rory O'Carroll would have relished a battle with. Walsh has pace to burn though but I think Galway need to get him on the ball more. Very dangerous when he ran at us from deep.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 04/04/2018 14:25:20    2091027

Replying To Joxer:  "I wouldn't say new enemy but any big lad that goes down as easily as he does and dabbles in the dark art of dragging defenders down with him to have them black carded, is not going to have many admirers outside of his home county. He was involved in a few incidents on Sunday in the second half too, rugby tackled McMahon as he was clearing the ball, took Cooper down by holding onto his leg after he played the ball, caught Kilkenny high for which he got a yellow. Lucky to have stayed on the pitch I would have thought. Very good player though, the type that Rory O'Carroll would have relished a battle with. Walsh has pace to burn though but I think Galway need to get him on the ball more. Very dangerous when he ran at us from deep."
Hope the Dubs learned some of 'the dark arts' from him

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 04/04/2018 14:44:43    2091034