Galway Vs Dublin League Final

Replying To browncows:  "Agree with your post. With an extra player the blanket defence goes out the window - no great science in that. The team that beats Dublin will be the team that can rely on their own football ability and go man to man for most of the game with high intensity (as Mayo did in first half in last years AI). They will also need a good free taker. On refs having watched all matches over the weekend one would be forgiven for thinking that different rules were for the different divisions especially with black cards."
Would agree

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 02/04/2018 14:26:11    2090317

Replying To browncows:  "Agree with your post. With an extra player the blanket defence goes out the window - no great science in that. The team that beats Dublin will be the team that can rely on their own football ability and go man to man for most of the game with high intensity (as Mayo did in first half in last years AI). They will also need a good free taker. On refs having watched all matches over the weekend one would be forgiven for thinking that different rules were for the different divisions especially with black cards."
'No great science' in your theory maybe, because imo, it doesn't 'go out the window' at all. If a team doesn't fancy their chances of defending adequately without deploying 'blanket defense', they're very unlikely imo to fancy their chances with 'man to man' defense, just because they outnumber the opponent by one. A slick experienced winning outfit, like the current Dublin squad, will likely present much the same offensive threat and variety with 14 men, as they do with 15 men. For that reason, I think 'plan B' theorists are probably over simplifying the issue, and the solution.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3421 - 02/04/2018 14:30:30    2090321

Replying To Trucker1:  "Sunday Game was pathetic. Galway were in league 2 last year and for many years before that. They come from there to a league final against the All Ireland champions and get zero credit was very disappointing. They didn't capture the best scores(comers last score for example) nor did they make any comment on black cards or the harsh sending off given that his second yellow was no worse that several other tackles which got nothing."
Last night's highlights show was pathetic in analysis of the Div 1 final. Why? Very simple. Brolly and Spillane. Past their sell by date.
Lots of vague stuff about blanket defence and Brolly whinging about Galway's efforts, throw in a few digs at Tyrone while you're at it. More like analysis without the ysis.

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 440 - 02/04/2018 14:45:06    2090330

Any truth to Brolly assertion that the Corofin lads dont like playing for Galway due to the style of football lads?

I know officially no one would ever come out and say such, but any basis for that. What the word on the gorund?

Personally i think success is the great leveler if you have a chance of playing football in the latter stages of the championship, in the biggest stadiums deep into the summer months surely a players ambition would be do that regardless of the style of play.

Seems odd Brolly keeps pushing that narrative.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/04/2018 15:03:12    2090333

Replying To TheUsername:  "Any truth to Brolly assertion that the Corofin lads dont like playing for Galway due to the style of football lads?

I know officially no one would ever come out and say such, but any basis for that. What the word on the gorund?

Personally i think success is the great leveler if you have a chance of playing football in the latter stages of the championship, in the biggest stadiums deep into the summer months surely a players ambition would be do that regardless of the style of play.

Seems odd Brolly keeps pushing that narrative."
Brolly probably only analyst who would say anything official or unofficial. Apparently he intimated the same in his Sunday column a week ago on the back of a chat with 2 Corofin fans at the Galway Dublin league game in Salthill. Am sure that comment by the Corofin folk was a side of the mouth one and would expect 4 Corofin players to start on Mayo 13th. RTE should really review their panel as they will lose ratings if they continue with Brolly in particular.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 02/04/2018 15:26:06    2090340

Replying To kiloughter:  "Brolly probably only analyst who would say anything official or unofficial. Apparently he intimated the same in his Sunday column a week ago on the back of a chat with 2 Corofin fans at the Galway Dublin league game in Salthill. Am sure that comment by the Corofin folk was a side of the mouth one and would expect 4 Corofin players to start on Mayo 13th. RTE should really review their panel as they will lose ratings if they continue with Brolly in particular."
You would think as much mate, seems a bit mad that the Corofin lads wouldn't want to play for the county when their tails are up.

I remember a couple of years ago, there seemed to be a heap of players not wanting to part of the panel and some disquiet from the players to the county board, i wouldn't know much about the political situation between clubs, board and county in Galway, just wondered is there a history lingering there or any truth in Brolly's view. He certainly seems to have an axe to grind with Tally. :D

Been surprised to read in some quarters some lads from Galway cirtising KW after yesterday, talk about picking hairs, that was the toughest game Dublin played beyond an ALL Ireland semi final in many years. Real championship pitch to the Galway performance yesterday and my god did they want and look hungry for success. I hope we dont come across until later in the championship, preferably a final. I would honestly rather play the Tyrone, Kerrys or Mayos of this world.

Yesterdays game will bring both panels on hugely and a massively useful exercise and development for both panels.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/04/2018 15:47:12    2090345

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "'No great science' in your theory maybe, because imo, it doesn't 'go out the window' at all. If a team doesn't fancy their chances of defending adequately without deploying 'blanket defense', they're very unlikely imo to fancy their chances with 'man to man' defense, just because they outnumber the opponent by one. A slick experienced winning outfit, like the current Dublin squad, will likely present much the same offensive threat and variety with 14 men, as they do with 15 men. For that reason, I think 'plan B' theorists are probably over simplifying the issue, and the solution."
Maybe guys like yourself are over complicating a simple issue like 14 v 15!! . With an extra player you should be able to man mark- and still have the use of an extra player - unless you are programmed otherwise!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 02/04/2018 16:15:55    2090358

Replying To TheUsername:  "Any truth to Brolly assertion that the Corofin lads dont like playing for Galway due to the style of football lads?

Once again posters discussing Brolly rather than what was a good and enjoyable afternoon of football.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 02/04/2018 16:28:37    2090361

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "RTE 'show' last evening was a joke. Brolly has disappeared up his own ass from 'u-turning' on the 'offence/defense' debate of gaelic football. Tyrone & Donegal were great lads pre 2012 & 2012-2014 respectively, but Derry recently & Galway now, are apparently barking up the wrong tree. In Galway's case though, you have the added complication that we were naive & soft pre Paddy Tally too. A bit like the 3 bear's porridge, only there is no 'just right' in this scenario. 'Just wrong' is all that seems to be on offer.

Does Spillane ever watch himself on TV. He's terrible, or getting worse lately, hard to know which? Telling viewers to 'look..look it...look' at video footage!! We're watching the TV, Pat, we want to be informed. You can take it, we're looking...that's if we haven't switched channel, in a desperate search to find something coherent on just about anything....countdown to Calvary anyone? Certainly Brolly's been to Damascus & back on the subject of 'defense/offence & gaelic football', and has retained no credibility after the trip. Everything in football analysis, for Pat, revolves around 'de blanket' now. You defeat 'de blanket', you overcome 'de blanket', you hit it over 'de blanket', you find space inside in 'de blanket' etc. Truly risible stuff. You have to chuckle out loud at the idiocy of Spillane's comment regarding Cregg's third Roscommon goal. Did he see an issue with pathetic defending? No. Did he see what appeared to be maybe a 'blown offside trap'? No. What he saw, was 'finding space inside in de blanket'. He saw great football there....a credit....beating de blanket....finding space in 'it'.....jesus wept! It's a crime that these fellas get paid for that muck."
Haha. How true, especially on Spillane. Have to say this is one of the funniest and most perceptive posts I've read in a while.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 02/04/2018 16:45:20    2090369

Replying To TheUsername:  "You would think as much mate, seems a bit mad that the Corofin lads wouldn't want to play for the county when their tails are up.

I remember a couple of years ago, there seemed to be a heap of players not wanting to part of the panel and some disquiet from the players to the county board, i wouldn't know much about the political situation between clubs, board and county in Galway, just wondered is there a history lingering there or any truth in Brolly's view. He certainly seems to have an axe to grind with Tally. :D

Been surprised to read in some quarters some lads from Galway cirtising KW after yesterday, talk about picking hairs, that was the toughest game Dublin played beyond an ALL Ireland semi final in many years. Real championship pitch to the Galway performance yesterday and my god did they want and look hungry for success. I hope we dont come across until later in the championship, preferably a final. I would honestly rather play the Tyrone, Kerrys or Mayos of this world.

Yesterdays game will bring both panels on hugely and a massively useful exercise and development for both panels."
Politically difficult in Galway trying to balance hurling and football with neither dominant over the other as such. In fairness things have improved as a few yrs ago we had different hurling and football jersies with different crests and sponsors. Bit more unified now although we are carrying debt with a failed hurling centre of excellence project. On players not playing for the county KW did encounter difficulties in his first season but from my sources the guys there now plus the Corofin contingent are very committed to playing for Galway. KW has huge respect IMO.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 02/04/2018 17:02:04    2090376

Replying To kiloughter:  "Politically difficult in Galway trying to balance hurling and football with neither dominant over the other as such. In fairness things have improved as a few yrs ago we had different hurling and football jersies with different crests and sponsors. Bit more unified now although we are carrying debt with a failed hurling centre of excellence project. On players not playing for the county KW did encounter difficulties in his first season but from my sources the guys there now plus the Corofin contingent are very committed to playing for Galway. KW has huge respect IMO."
Good stuff mate, it certainly seems that the house is in order, you have to give huge credit to Walsh if that was his starting point, the year on year development is outstanding.

Fair play to Galway GAA, i dont think it would be a fool hearty bet for a football and hurling double, certainly two finals could be in reach in and maybe an advance booking of Dublin hotels on trivago could be a clever move. ;)

How are you lads feeling about the championship, i know the focus is on Mayo but win or loose, you have to be confident of making the final four and beyond?

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/04/2018 17:19:29    2090378

Replying To neverright:  "Once again posters discussing Brolly rather than what was a good and enjoyable afternoon of football."
Maybe it's because it's always the same old bile from Brolly when it comes to Galway football. It's a pity someone on that programme wouldn't utter the only words that are guaranteed to shut him up: Tomás Mannion.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 02/04/2018 17:27:17    2090381

Replying To Ailteoir:  "Maybe it's because it's always the same old bile from Brolly when it comes to Galway football. It's a pity someone on that programme wouldn't utter the only words that are guaranteed to shut him up: Tomás Mannion."
Wouldn't you pay good money to see that?

When you compare the analysis provided by former players of football, versus analysis by former hurlers or rugby players of their respective sports, the difference is night and day. The latter provide insights into their games that are genuinely interesting and educational. I remember last year listening to a podcast where they were going on about hurl sizes and the difference it makes; and the commentary provided by former players like Paul O'Connell and Liam Toland in rugby is brilliant. Meanwhile the football "analysts" offer nothing but invective, criticism (as opposed to critique) and subjective opinion. It reached a low, IMHO, when they gave the airwaves to that former sligo player, whose name escapes me, who had an axe to grind with, coincidentally, KW and whose sole contribution was a personal attack on the man.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 02/04/2018 17:45:34    2090386

Replying To browncows:  "Maybe guys like yourself are over complicating a simple issue like 14 v 15!! . With an extra player you should be able to man mark- and still have the use of an extra player - unless you are programmed otherwise!"
That is nonsense. You're making the crazy leap of faith, that your team will break even in the 13 'one on one' matchups, or that your extra man can fully compensate for any carnage that might ensue from 'plan B'. Dublin have won 5 of the last 7 titles. Galway haven't contested a semi for the past 15 seasons. Why are you so sure that one on one matchups would come without a health warning versus this Dublin team? Your simplistic 14 v 15 view seems to assume that all players are of an equal talent level. If that were so, Dublin wouldn't be winning all the silverware in recent seasons.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3421 - 02/04/2018 17:46:53    2090387

Might have some merit tbh
Hate premier league I'm gaa 100% but can kinda compare Galway to the way Jose mourinho sets his teams up ,pure boring but can be effective ,don't care tho I'm a Galway man and we have been in the all ireland wilderness a while now so if this style of play gets us to last 4 it will be some achievment and something massive to work on going forward with a young teak ,my only fear is Galway are so 1 deminsional once a big team on form gets us in championship it could be lights out

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 02/04/2018 18:17:23    2090393

Replying To festinog:  "Wouldn't you pay good money to see that?

When you compare the analysis provided by former players of football, versus analysis by former hurlers or rugby players of their respective sports, the difference is night and day. The latter provide insights into their games that are genuinely interesting and educational. I remember last year listening to a podcast where they were going on about hurl sizes and the difference it makes; and the commentary provided by former players like Paul O'Connell and Liam Toland in rugby is brilliant. Meanwhile the football "analysts" offer nothing but invective, criticism (as opposed to critique) and subjective opinion. It reached a low, IMHO, when they gave the airwaves to that former sligo player, whose name escapes me, who had an axe to grind with, coincidentally, KW and whose sole contribution was a personal attack on the man."
I certainly would! Think the Sligo player you're thinking of was Eamonn O'Hara and it was scraping the barrel alright. I couldn't agree more about the lack of analysis when it comes to football pundits. That said, I think the best by far is Ciaran Whelan who does offer some insight on the rare occasion he can get a word in.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 02/04/2018 18:28:47    2090394

Replying To TheUsername:  "Good stuff mate, it certainly seems that the house is in order, you have to give huge credit to Walsh if that was his starting point, the year on year development is outstanding.

Fair play to Galway GAA, i dont think it would be a fool hearty bet for a football and hurling double, certainly two finals could be in reach in and maybe an advance booking of Dublin hotels on trivago could be a clever move. ;)

How are you lads feeling about the championship, i know the focus is on Mayo but win or loose, you have to be confident of making the final four and beyond?"
Would love to make the last 4 and build from there. Think Dublin will get the 4 in a row although there will be challenges along the way and a team like ours could be a tricky customer for ye if we get a head of steam. May 13th is such a big game and Mayo are likely to have one last sting in their team. All in our heads for that one as i think our players are coming of age and they have lots of miles up but whoever comes through still have a likely big battle in the provincial final. Hard to know what Ulster will throw up and I hope Tipp test Kerry big time this year if they meet.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 02/04/2018 18:39:59    2090399

The real sign Galway was on the up was when he got meehan and army to return to the panel . Unfortunately meehan was once again hit by injury. Army is still there and this is a guy who when asked why he walked away in the 1st place was because he didnt enjoy it any more.

Wouldn't take any notice of brolly and you can go to any game and you'd find some fans complaining or talking like they have insider knowledge when they don't. Or Brolly could be looking for attention which is not beyond the realms of belief

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 02/04/2018 18:55:11    2090403

Replying To festinog:  "Wouldn't you pay good money to see that?

When you compare the analysis provided by former players of football, versus analysis by former hurlers or rugby players of their respective sports, the difference is night and day. The latter provide insights into their games that are genuinely interesting and educational. I remember last year listening to a podcast where they were going on about hurl sizes and the difference it makes; and the commentary provided by former players like Paul O'Connell and Liam Toland in rugby is brilliant. Meanwhile the football "analysts" offer nothing but invective, criticism (as opposed to critique) and subjective opinion. It reached a low, IMHO, when they gave the airwaves to that former sligo player, whose name escapes me, who had an axe to grind with, coincidentally, KW and whose sole contribution was a personal attack on the man."
Generally agree with this although one thing I dislike about the hurling panelists is they are too cosy cosy for me. Plenty of good educational insight in fairness but they never disagree and it all seems too 'we are the hurling family' and never intimate a disagreeable word among one another. Best would be to have a more balanced debate between the two types although these days am fed up with some of the football panelists with their lazy analysis.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 02/04/2018 19:13:53    2090411

Joe Brolly is from Derry. I think Derry are in division 4 of the football. Colm O Rourke is from Meath, who are not in division 1. Pat Spillane won his all Ireland medals in the 80's. At a time when communism was still active in Europe. Charlie Haughey was Taoiseach and there was no motorways in Ireland. Time for some new faces.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 02/04/2018 19:18:45    2090413