Dublin V Monaghan

Replying To realdub:  "What were the kingdom like today?"
Couldn't make the game In omagh today due to young lad having a training match but I listened to it on the radio and we were pure shite, still making the same mistakes. This year is a dead duck for us.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/03/2018 21:37:28    2087975

Replying To Shelbourne:  "That's ridiculous. Perspex there at Hill because that's the danger area."
Please explain ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 25/03/2018 21:41:34    2087976

Replying To jimbodub:  "There are fences in front of other terraces around the country"
Those fences are there from a time when the rule was you had to have a fence around a ground to host inter county games and as the grounds are being done up the fences are disappearing but when they first done up crokepark the fences were gone as well but then all of a sudden there was a big Perspex screen across the hill.

As for PUC I can't confirm or deny as I haven't seen it yet but I doubt it's anything like whats in front of the hill.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/03/2018 21:46:16    2087982

Replying To realdub:  "What were the kingdom like today?"
That was s serious question despite it looking like a jab!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 25/03/2018 22:49:25    2088028

Replying To superbluedub:  "Please explain ?"
The fence is obviously in that particular area of Croker for a very good reason. It's stupid to suggest that because there was a pitch invasion of some sort from the stand(s) .....then the fence was placed at the hill...work it out for yourself or maybe ask Gaa authorities why they placed it there...by accident ?....don't think so !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 26/03/2018 00:10:15    2088065

I thought the perspex was for keeping culchies out? :D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 26/03/2018 09:02:43    2088105

Bit of a non event yesterday i thought, it had the feel of a challenge game and a bit like the weather was a bit unsure what to do with itself. Dublin largely played young or fringe players and really showed, it was a more evenly contested game then if Dublin had their first pick team out. I was disappointed no one really put their hand up in certain forward positions like Costello or McHugh. Everyone else just about passed muster. Comerford did well on his kick outs you can see he has been working with Cluxton a few years. Scully had a good game. Fenton magnificent again.

Monaghan fully deserved the victory i actually thought it should have been by far more they hit some really awful wides and perhaps were lucky to scrape the win in the end when they should have been out of sight. But fully deserved they played well.

Good to have rested so many players yesterday and we will see a different team next week im sure. A defeat is never any harm in the young players development.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 26/03/2018 09:10:44    2088110

Replying To Shelbourne:  "The fence is obviously in that particular area of Croker for a very good reason. It's stupid to suggest that because there was a pitch invasion of some sort from the stand(s) .....then the fence was placed at the hill...work it out for yourself or maybe ask Gaa authorities why they placed it there...by accident ?....don't think so !"
Did you read the article?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 26/03/2018 09:57:32    2088135

Replying To realdub:  "That was s serious question despite it looking like a jab!"
I know realdub you're not like that and I did answered you back , we were pretty brutal from listening to it on the radio and from the few reports I've read, we were destroyed by the Tyrone running game as they opened us up down the middle time and time again and our management don't seem to have the know how to fix this problem, so we're in a fair bit of bother,

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/03/2018 10:39:01    2088163

Replying To TheUsername:  "I thought the perspex was for keeping culchies out? :D"
I remember being at Kerry v Monaghan in 2007 QF in Croker and standing on the Hill. (SHOULD'VE WON!!!)

The game was followed by Limerick v Waterford in the AI Semi.

We were standing beside, and got chatting to, two fine young lassies from Limerick and the craic was good and they commiserated with us on the final whistle. Whilst still in a daze we stood there and the Limerick and Waterford hurlers came out and started pucking balls into the hill.

One of the young ones took a sliotar full force on the head. Went to ground. Straight back up. Not a bother. I feel in love with her a little bit after that.

But! my point is............I don't remember.

bigfrankt (Monaghan) - Posts: 123 - 26/03/2018 10:44:01    2088168

Replying To jimbodub:  "Did you read the article?"
Yes..........my point still stands......fence erected by GAA authorities for what they deem to be security reasons.

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 26/03/2018 14:18:20    2088286

Replying To TheUsername:  "Bit of a non event yesterday i thought, it had the feel of a challenge game and a bit like the weather was a bit unsure what to do with itself. Dublin largely played young or fringe players and really showed, it was a more evenly contested game then if Dublin had their first pick team out. I was disappointed no one really put their hand up in certain forward positions like Costello or McHugh. Everyone else just about passed muster. Comerford did well on his kick outs you can see he has been working with Cluxton a few years. Scully had a good game. Fenton magnificent again.

Monaghan fully deserved the victory i actually thought it should have been by far more they hit some really awful wides and perhaps were lucky to scrape the win in the end when they should have been out of sight. But fully deserved they played well.

Good to have rested so many players yesterday and we will see a different team next week im sure. A defeat is never any harm in the young players development."
At least 7 of the Dubs starting line up yesterday are 1st 15 starters. The balance were valued squad players pushing for a championship start. So to say "Dublin largely played young or fringe players and really showed" is unfair not only to Monaghan but to the Dubs out there who were really busting a gut to win that game. We didn't start ourselves with our first 15 !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 26/03/2018 14:27:41    2088297

Replying To Shelbourne:  "Yes..........my point still stands......fence erected by GAA authorities for what they deem to be security reasons."
It really doesn't as you well know

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 26/03/2018 15:32:59    2088336

Don't think monaghan have got the credit they deserved on Sunday. Very strong and balanced team. They have the best keeper around at present, big drew in the half back line alongside Karl o Connell were exceptional. K Hughes caused problems when he went in full forward. They have more attacking options and are not over reliant on McManus. Big game coming up against Tyrone winner takes all match in Ulster as whoever wins that's will win Ulster out.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 27/03/2018 12:47:50    2088674

Replying To Shelbourne:  "At least 7 of the Dubs starting line up yesterday are 1st 15 starters. The balance were valued squad players pushing for a championship start. So to say "Dublin largely played young or fringe players and really showed" is unfair not only to Monaghan but to the Dubs out there who were really busting a gut to win that game. We didn't start ourselves with our first 15 !"
Not sure i agree with you there mate, there were about 4 or 5 who started the all ireland final and even then they were playing in different positions, whatever way you want to look it thats two thirds of an all Ireland winning team missing being filled by young lads or fringe lads. If you think you won on Sunday with Dublin at full tile you are a milions of miles off.

You are right of course any team Dublin put out should be competitive, so i wasnt knocking Mongahan who were value for their win and fair play to them i actually think yee were quite wasteful and the game should have been out of sight beyond the last few minutes. But it was fringe Dublin side none the less in my opinion and my disappointment with it is that many young and fringe lads should have put their hands up like McHugh and Costello who didnt.

Lets be honest there are virtually zero conclusions that can be drawn on Sundays game by either Dublin and i would think Mongahan as well. It will tell us zero about how either us will fair in 6 weeks time, just my opinion.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 27/03/2018 13:45:09    2088711