Diarmuid Connolly

Replying To the_walls:  "Some serious discussion about Diarmuid Connolly in the Diarmuid Connolly threads lads, fair play!"
totally agree with you, think its time to shut this subject down if he comes back then he will be talked about again but at the minute he's gone just like a number of other players from all counties so we all need to move on.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 704 - 09/05/2018 13:15:44    2097549

Is Dermot heading to the states lads?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/06/2018 23:10:20    2107103

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Is Dermot heading to the states lads?"
No he is not....he will not be playing for the Dubs but he is not going to the US

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 04/06/2018 09:47:07    2107162

Replying To witnof:  "No he is not....he will not be playing for the Dubs but he is not going to the US"
Fair enough I heard yesterday he was going, You'd think he'd make the most of his injury layoff and do a bit of traveling.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/06/2018 10:37:07    2107193

Replying To witnof:  "No he is not....he will not be playing for the Dubs but he is not going to the US"
Were you talking to him personally?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 04/06/2018 11:00:00    2107208

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Fair enough I heard yesterday he was going, You'd think he'd make the most of his injury layoff and do a bit of traveling."
I wish he was injured.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/06/2018 11:05:14    2107209

I can't help but feel that Connolly's days playing for Dublin are over. Jim Gavin is a brilliant but ruthless manager & I have a feeling that Dermot's face just doesn't fit with his vision of where Dublin are especially with the resources available.

A great player but like every great player time moves on.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/06/2018 12:14:36    2107245

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "I can't help but feel that Connolly's days playing for Dublin are over. Jim Gavin is a brilliant but ruthless manager & I have a feeling that Dermot's face just doesn't fit with his vision of where Dublin are especially with the resources available.

A great player but like every great player time moves on."
In a purely footballing sense you could be right. Its hard to see Dermo dislodge Scully and Howard and what they bring to the Dublin team at this stage and what Dublin are trying to do in those positions, That said Killkenny is playing further forward this year in my opinion and more of a full forward then a half forward no doubt that is to try and counter the man marking job that teams had been trying in the latter stage of the championship last year.

However there will always be a place for Dermot Connolly in the Dublin panel in my opinion. His exile is down to himself and like other lads like Jack, ROC and Mannion his life might need a bit freshness away from the bubble, so i would hope to see him back maybe next season when hopefully he feels he can give it his all, i hope he enjoys his time away from the panel, he owes us nothing to be fair.

From a Dublin perspective, the left and right half forward slots are becoming such an important part of the team, Scully and Howard and particularly the latter have been brilliant and we look a far more balanced team with them in it. Im a big fan of Brian Howard and i thought he ran the show last week at stages and offers so much to this Dublin team. Hopefully we have a another gem who has broken through, miles of headroom for him to develop and realise the talent he clearly has, the lad could be anything in any position he wants really, superb all round footballer with a hugely aeclectic skill set with the presence to see it through, if anything he is a bit humble at this stage he needs to develop some of that Dermo swagger.

I will say Dermo did something similar to this back in 2010 if my memory is serving me well.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 04/06/2018 13:13:05    2107273