Splitting The Championship In Two.

Replying To Malonemagic:  "I'm fed up of players saying they don't want to play in second tier. If you're not good enough then suck it up, my own county included. I mean I wanna play for Barcelona but it's not going to happen. Not every club gets to play senior. It's the same thing. So long as there is relegation and promotion between the tiers what's the problem"
But we already have a competition where each team plays at roughly their own level, it's called the league, there's 4 tiers in total. The championship offers teams something different, a division 4 team can meet a division 1 team, now this may not always be competitive but it offers the opportunity to play a big team and get the county buzzing, what good can it do to take that away?

Ps, I do acknowledge though, that the format is in bad need of changing, the provincial system is worn out at this stage but I really don't think a tiered champsionship is the way to go.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/03/2018 18:16:55    2086350

Replying To jimbodub:  "Absolutely agree with that."
You wouldn't if Dublin were in the b competition jim.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/03/2018 18:25:25    2086351

Replying To Hardtimes:  "Leave league format the same. Two tier championship. Tier 1 is Division 1, Top 4 Division 2, Top 2 Division 3, Top 1 Division 4 and last place a playoff between 3rd Team in Division 3 and 2nd in Division 4. The rest play in 2nd tier. Could go straight knockout for both and if people are worried about too few games maybe introduce a regional championship as separate if the appetite was there. Format could be either the provincials as they currently stand or reformatting to equal numbers. Scrap pre-league competitions. I don't know if it could work but it would certainly add a bit of extra bite to league."
Cannot agree with this. Because the League is not a level playing field. For most of the League many counties have to play without players from their county champions who are lucky and talented enough to win their provincial championship.

I know that there is a proposal to complete the club championships within the calendar year but events of the past few weeks have closed the door on that proposal for this year anyway.

To be the best you must play the best!!!

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 20/03/2018 19:17:39    2086365

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You wouldn't if Dublin were in the b competition jim."
Jimbo must be happy all those posts about Dublin have been carefully erased. It's great the way this place is run, take down anything that will upset the Dublin crowd on here.
But leave them to say whatever they want of course, we can't be treating everyone the same can we.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 20/03/2018 19:26:32    2086371

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You wouldn't if Dublin were in the b competition jim."
Don't be putting words my mouth

If that's where our level was at.. then I'd 100% prefer to be playing against teams of our own standard with the hope of winning a national title and aim to gain promotion, build and aim to compete against the best.. no one gives out about playing in Div 2, 3, 4 because that's where your level simply is at.

The current format is a hyped up version of the FA cup.. except with far less "giant killings" mostly lower tier teams are only cannon fodder for the top teams

There should be at a minimum 2 competitions with teams dropping and moving up.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/03/2018 19:33:28    2086373

Replying To MillerX:  "Cannot agree with this. Because the League is not a level playing field. For most of the League many counties have to play without players from their county champions who are lucky and talented enough to win their provincial championship.

I know that there is a proposal to complete the club championships within the calendar year but events of the past few weeks have closed the door on that proposal for this year anyway.

To be the best you must play the best!!!"
The league is whatever teams make of it. You can take it as seriously or as casual as you like but under that system there would certainly be a huge emphasis on competing well in the league. There would only be 4 rounds of championship too so you would start the league and championship much later aiming for Aug/Sept finish. Competitions would be condensed and fewer games so more time for club. Look not everyone is going to like it and TBH this format is not my first preference either but there's going to have to be some sort of compromise. There are many formats than could work if we're prepared to give in a little.
We also need to be a little more realistic when talking about promoting the game for TV and competing against soccer and rugby. I keep hearing we need more games and more exposure and delivering product. There are 116 league games as is and over 60 championship. Surely to God you can deliver something to TV with that and if not then are more games really going to help? Maybe it's a quality issue and not quantity. The above could increase the quality and intensity of league especially on better playing surfaces. Championship would be hell for leather from the word go. Could be great TV.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 20/03/2018 19:51:05    2086386

There is a competition where teams go up and some go down- its called the league. Spitting the championship in two will make the stronger teams stronger with more sponsorship and more money. Splitting Dublin in two would make more sense and ye would still have a population of 1m to choose from, as against Leitrim's 50k.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 20/03/2018 20:05:05    2086391

Look at how tier 2 competitions are treated. Last years Christy Ring had 1 match televised, the final by tg4.

The tommy Murphy cup had a final one year at 12 in the afternoon

If counties agree to this then 16 counties are cast aside.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 20/03/2018 20:19:22    2086401

Replying To browncows:  "There is a competition where teams go up and some go down- its called the league. Spitting the championship in two will make the stronger teams stronger with more sponsorship and more money. Splitting Dublin in two would make more sense and ye would still have a population of 1m to choose from, as against Leitrim's 50k."
Explain how we would have a population of 1m to pick from?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/03/2018 20:23:26    2086406

Replying To TheHermit:  "Jimbo must be happy all those posts about Dublin have been carefully erased. It's great the way this place is run, take down anything that will upset the Dublin crowd on here.
But leave them to say whatever they want of course, we can't be treating everyone the same can we."
I'd say jim has a direct line :-)

I actually thought the thread was shut down that's why I gave up on it.

On a serious note, the GAA could do a championship that had all teams in with 8 groups of 4 teams top 16 fight it out for Sam and bottom 16 fight it out for the paidi o'sé cup, there ye go loads of games every team has a chance at the big prize , job done.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/03/2018 20:36:05    2086411

Replying To carlovia:  "Look at how tier 2 competitions are treated. Last years Christy Ring had 1 match televised, the final by tg4.

The tommy Murphy cup had a final one year at 12 in the afternoon

If counties agree to this then 16 counties are cast aside."
I'd actually see it differently

Gives a chance for more TV coverage with its own separate rights package available and it's own tv highlights/analysis show

If done right and marketed properly and the ail to build a whole new outlook for a substantial national competition with its own sponsors attached with big games played in CP and all big national stadia across the country getting additional championship games.. I'd be more than interested to attend as a neutral

Some Div 3 or 4 games are brilliant to watch! Because the standard is even and it's so games are nip tuck and exciting

I think it could work and give lads a reason to want to commit to IC football because now they look on and see no chance of winning... so why not build a substantial new comp/ comps where they can compete and win

Just tired of the current FA Cup gone wrong system as tbh the real stuff only starts in August. All the rest is filler and that's not what it should be about

There's a reason why the leagues are far more entertaining and we should be a little more wise to that and get that excitement into the summer months where it belongs

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/03/2018 20:40:20    2086413

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I'd say jim has a direct line :-)

I actually thought the thread was shut down that's why I gave up on it.

On a serious note, the GAA could do a championship that had all teams in with 8 groups of 4 teams top 16 fight it out for Sam and bottom 16 fight it out for the paidi o'sé cup, there ye go loads of games every team has a chance at the big prize , job done."
Jaysus lads ye are a seriously paranoid bunch

I'm in the same boat

I have posts that don't get through

I just don't whinge about it

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/03/2018 20:51:11    2086418

Replying To jimbodub:  "Jaysus lads ye are a seriously paranoid bunch

I'm in the same boat

I have posts that don't get through

I just don't whinge about it"
I'm not whinging at all jim I'm not that delicate bud.

What do you think of my version of a new championship? Do you think it would keep every county happy?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/03/2018 21:11:26    2086429

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I'm not whinging at all jim I'm not that delicate bud.

What do you think of my version of a new championship? Do you think it would keep every county happy?"
Does the current one?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/03/2018 21:18:15    2086435

Replying To jimbodub:  "Does the current one?"
It doesn't I suppose, but if we wanted an equal championship and to be fair to every team then I think this system would work as the so called smaller teams would still get to play the so called stronger teams and every team would at least get 4 games every year. And they could still play the super 8s as well.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/03/2018 00:39:48    2086495

I don't think it should be changed. Us 'weaker' counties like a good run in the qualifiers if the provincial championship doesn't work out for us. Nothing like those sunny days in Pearse park against some of the bigger teams or summer day road trips down the country to likes of kerry and Cork or up the country to donegal or monaghan. This is all from a Longford perspective of course ;)

rahoorahoo (Longford) - Posts: 56 - 21/03/2018 17:12:38    2086701

If the goal of splitting the championship into 2 is for the sake of weaker teams there are other easy things that can be done now.

Move the league so it played in parallel with the Provincial championship.

Finish the season with the All Ireland championship.

A relatively simple All Ireland knockout competition.

Round 1: Bottom 16 ranked league teams not making their Provincial final (this round is played at the same time as Provincial finals)

Round 2: 8 worst non Provincial champions who got a bye in round 1 versus round 1 winners

Round 3: 4 Provincial champions, 4 best non Provincial champions versus round 2 winners

It's a well defined season.

League and Provincial championships played from March to July. 22 weekends, at most a county can play 11 games in that time. Club games can be scheduled around these matches.

All Ireland championships played in August and September. Club championship restarts again afterwards.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4207 - 22/03/2018 14:58:28    2086995

Replying To Whammo86:  "If the goal of splitting the championship into 2 is for the sake of weaker teams there are other easy things that can be done now.

Move the league so it played in parallel with the Provincial championship.

Finish the season with the All Ireland championship.

A relatively simple All Ireland knockout competition.

Round 1: Bottom 16 ranked league teams not making their Provincial final (this round is played at the same time as Provincial finals)

Round 2: 8 worst non Provincial champions who got a bye in round 1 versus round 1 winners

Round 3: 4 Provincial champions, 4 best non Provincial champions versus round 2 winners

It's a well defined season.

League and Provincial championships played from March to July. 22 weekends, at most a county can play 11 games in that time. Club games can be scheduled around these matches.

All Ireland championships played in August and September. Club championship restarts again afterwards."
This works - make it count !

omahant (USA) - Posts: 2570 - 23/03/2018 00:32:31    2087148

My variation on a blending of my & Wham's ideas-
Round 1 - All 24 non Prov Finalists play 2 matches in 8 groups of 3.
Round 2 - 4 Prov Final losers join top 2 in each of the 8 Rd 1 groups for a KO Rd of 20.
Round 3 - 2 Prov Champ losers (from a 4-team Prov Champs Playoff Rd) join 10 Rd 2 winners.
Round 4 - 2 unbeaten Prov Champs join 6 Rd 3 winners in AI KO QFs.

Unfortunately, this keeps the NFL separate.
For the NFL, I prefer a North 16 (Uls, Conn, London, Louth) and South 16 (Lein, Muns less Louth/Kilk).
Each region has 4, 6, 6 in Divs 1, 2, 3.
Each team plays 10 NFL regular season games.
Divs 2, 3 plays own region twice; Div 1 plays own region twice, other region once.
Divs 1/2, 1.5 up/down (3rd Div 1 v 2nd Div 2); Divs 2/3 2.5 up/down (4th Div 2 v 3rd Div 3).
6 Div winners play in 3 NFL Finals - Divs 1, 2, 3.

omahant (USA) - Posts: 2570 - 23/03/2018 01:06:54    2087150

My variation on a blending of my & Wham's ideas-
Round 1 - All 24 non Prov Finalists play 2 matches in 8 groups of 3.
Round 2 - 4 Prov Final losers join top 2 in each of the 8 Rd 1 groups for a KO Rd of 20.
Round 3 - 2 Prov Champ losers (from a 4-team Prov Champs Playoff Rd) join 10 Rd 2 winners.
Round 4 - 2 unbeaten Prov Champs join 6 Rd 3 winners in AI KO QFs.

Unfortunately, this keeps the NFL separate.
For the NFL, I prefer a North 16 (Uls, Conn, London, Louth) and South 16 (Lein, Muns less Louth/Kilk).
Each region has 4, 6, 6 in Divs 1, 2, 3.
Each team plays 10 NFL regular season games.
Divs 2, 3 plays own region twice; Div 1 plays own region twice, other region once.
Divs 1/2, 1.5 up/down (3rd Div 1 v 2nd Div 2); Divs 2/3 2.5 up/down (4th Div 2 v 3rd Div 3).
6 Div winners play in 3 NFL Finals - Divs 1, 2, 3.

omahant (USA) - Posts: 2570 - 23/03/2018 01:12:53    2087151