Kerry V Dublin

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Who have ye left to play yewtree? We have Kildare at home and Tyrone away."
Tyrone at home and Donegal away.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 12/03/2018 14:49:59    2083964

Replying To yew_tree:  "Tyrone at home and Donegal away."
Tough run in, but ye'l have a few lads back I'd expect.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/03/2018 15:59:11    2083985

I find myself disagreeing with logic that yesterday's game will have little bearing in the summer , for following reasons , if needed and I doubt it is Dublin well and truly know they have the measure of Kerry, those young lads will have learnt a lot from yesterday equally their confidence will have taking a bit of a hammering, it was mentioned before the game about small margins , so how can yesterday not matter . That said the score board starts at 0-0 when they meet again , if and I say if you believe in small margins then we have our beds to sleep in and confidence to boot , I know I'd rather be giving the hiding than taking the hiding,

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 12/03/2018 16:44:34    2084010

Replying To jacktheDub:  "It happens unfortunately but it is nothing new I seem to Remember Meath doing it in 2001 to pretend it's a Dublin thing is wrong"
I'm loath to criticise a fellow Kerry man as we are in short supply on here.
But Lord god stop the whinging about the hill... it's been like that forever.
Dubs want to keep us down we kept our foot on them for decades and their enjoying this lets call it as it is.
Yesterday was disappointing but for me Clifford Burns Barry O Shea and Murphy in goal are a major plus from this league.
Compared to others with exception of Dublin who else has fielded so many new guys that will impact the championship like our new lads.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 12/03/2018 17:10:35    2084024

Replying To Damothedub:  "I find myself disagreeing with logic that yesterday's game will have little bearing in the summer , for following reasons , if needed and I doubt it is Dublin well and truly know they have the measure of Kerry, those young lads will have learnt a lot from yesterday equally their confidence will have taking a bit of a hammering, it was mentioned before the game about small margins , so how can yesterday not matter . That said the score board starts at 0-0 when they meet again , if and I say if you believe in small margins then we have our beds to sleep in and confidence to boot , I know I'd rather be giving the hiding than taking the hiding,"
Damo all those youngsters are millennials there a different generation to us and their brains don't work like ours do, they live inside their own heads and don't think too much about what's gone before defeats and such.

Although I'm hearing it was micháel Burns who had to undergo the Dublin eye test yesterday, that's bad form.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/03/2018 17:41:05    2084038

Replying To TheHermit:  "And what about the "hill" going waaasyyhhhee every time a Dub got the ball for the last 15min????, can we dispense with the whole let's get along and try and be popular on a website and call it like it is, any fans who would do anything bar be silent or clap at those kids passing is not worth mentioning. Judge behaviour by the hosting at Clifford for pointing a legitimate free he won or as I said, the last 10 mins. The Hill today and the one I used be in occasionally 10-15 years ago seem very different"
I hate to hear eegits on the Hill shouting ole. It's silly and they shouldn't be doing it. But if you had been at the 2012 qualifier between Kerry and Tyrone you would have hear a lot of Kerry fans oleing and being mess than gracious winners. There are idiots in every county.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 12/03/2018 21:59:07    2084115

I think Kerry expected to much of these young kerry footballers to soon. It will take time maybe well into 2020s before they get it together. But I can see multiple titles won in the 2020s possibly under Jack Connor with this talented group circa 2022 2023 2024 2025, I would say this young kerry team will really be a power.

Dublin one word frightening. They are one of the greatest teams ever and if can do the holy grail of Irish sport the 5 in a row. They will be the greatest. But even winning a 4 in a row. I never thought I would see the day a team wud going for 4 in a row. I thought 3 in a row was impossible in modern football. But this Dublin team are breaking the mould as they go along.

Two things
The state of leinster football is just getting worse and worse. I thought with young kildare Meath Westmeath louth Offaly teams we would see an upturn in fortunes. If anything things are getting worse. leaving Dublin to 1 side,Overall this decade has been the worst for leinster championship ever. Dublin have had not to face division 1 opposition since early 00s.Simply put we are talking a good 15 years or longer since Dublin had to face division 1 opposition in the provience. Thats unprecedented in leinster football.

In the late 90s Meath kildare Dublin Offaly were all top division 1 teams and louth not far off. In the 70s Dublin had to face strong division 1 opposition in Meath and Offaly. In the 60s Meath have to face strong division 1 opposition in Offaly and longford. In the 40s and 50s Meath Louth Dublin and at times Wexford kildare Carlow were strong div 1 opposition. In the 30s Dublin Meath kildare were strong div 1 teams. In the 20s kildare and Dublin were strong division 1 teams. Between 1900 to 1920 Wexford Dublin and kildare had strong division 1 team.

Its nothing to with Dublin that Meath are having their worst decade since the 1920s or kildare have their worst decade along with the 80s their worst since 1920s also. Or that Laois are having their worst decade since 1970s. But there was hope that we would see division 1 opposition v Dubs in leinster soon . Now that seems to be untainable.
Laois are in div 4. Offaly and Wexford are in the bottom 2 relegation zone in div 3. Meath and louth are in the bottom 2 relegation zone in div 2. Louth have lost their last 5 games. kildare are pretty much relegated from Division 1 and have lost 9 games in a row. Kildare have had some decent performances in divsion 1 but have not adapted like Galways and this is Kildare's third relegation in 5 years. And remeber most of these division 1 teams Dublin Mayo kerry Tyrone Monaghan they are all training and focussing on reaching peak performance in June July August. Once they obtain division 1 status thats their main aim for the league. But overall you probaly be right in saying they are not going at it full 110% for the league as there whole season is resolved around peaking mid summer. While kildare and Galway would be focussing on staying in divsion 1 as much as the championship. So they would giving the league there best shot. While Mayo for example are going at abour 60 to 70%. So kildare havent adapted is not a great sign.

Its even worse for Meath. At least kildare have some serious underage talent. Meath have ignored underage football for ten years and now at senior we can see the result of that. Meath are looking at div 3 status next year. That would be massive blow to such a proud football county. But maybe div 3 wouldn't be a bad thing. kildare were in div 3 three years ago and promotion from div 3 was a platform for kildare to build on. Maybe reaching div 3 and give McEntee 2 to 3 years to build up could be a good thing. But overall if Meath go down it would be a massive blow for great football county. But thats what we are facing.

But it must be said that Meath are not the only strong football county having their worst decade in decades. Down Cork Armagh laois Derry and even Galway have had their worst decade in decades. If Meath ( which is very unlikely to say the least ) and Galway dont play in an All Ireland final in the next two years that would be the first decade in over 100 years that both have not played in All Ireland final. Meath reached finals in the 1930, 40s, 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s and 00s. Galway did the same but also played in finals in the 1920s. Down are at their lowest since 1950s and Cork uncompetitive v kerry anf in divsion 2 and been beating by Tippearey in the championship. That has not happened to Cork since 1950s. Armagh have spent 3 of the last 4 years in division div 3 . This is Armaghs worst decade since the 1960s.

I was talking to kildare friends and they were saying there was more Mayo fans in Newbridge then kildare fans. They told me its the same old faces at matchs and the kildare support at matchs is the lowest they ever saw. Its the same with Meath. The Meath fans following the county , the numbers are dropping. And I have never seen confidence as low or interest in the county team as low as it is in my lifetime and I have followed Meath football since 1983. Meath and kildare are football mad counties. Both would easily bring 30000 to Croker for big matchs if teams were competitive. This has nothing to do with Dublin. I can give 20 reasons why Meath have declined and not one has anything to do with Dublin. Other counties have their own issue also.

Overall the league from Division 1 to divsion 4 has been very poor for leinster football going forward. Laois Westmeath and longford are having good leagues. But laois shouldnt be in division 4. And Westmeath and longford could easily play in divsion 2. But overall its has been a poor league for Meath kildare louth Offaly Wexford Laois ( a great football stronghold like laois shouldnt be in div 4) with most of them being relegated.

Where now for leinster football. Our biggest provience and the provience with most football counties. Traditionally leinster has being a football stronghold. Are we seen the permanent decline of leinster and Dublin winning 20 plus leinster titles in a row being the next chapter in the decline of a once great football region. The league has not so far been a positive and encouraging experience for leinster football. The provience is having an economic and population boom . Yet in football in the provience outside Dublin so many leinster counties r in the doldrums. Does the GAA see this or they even worried. In 20 or 30 years this period could be looked back as a time when football began to decline. And we will back to days when kerry would play Armagh in an All Ireland semi final in 1982 and only 10000 would turn up. Who knows. No one can tell the future but from the league tables it looks onimous for leinster football. A 1/4 of the football teams in the country.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 12/03/2018 22:23:28    2084120

Sorry about that I mixed up my messages. I meant to put the above message in the league div 2 3 4 post. I posted under kerry v Dublin instead by mistake. So sorry to kerry and Dubs fans here. Ignore my above post. I will post it again under div 2 3 4 post. Sorry about that.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 12/03/2018 22:33:44    2084126

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Sorry about that I mixed up my messages. I meant to put the above message in the league div 2 3 4 post. I posted under kerry v Dublin instead by mistake. So sorry to kerry and Dubs fans here. Ignore my above post. I will post it again under div 2 3 4 post. Sorry about that."
Ah for fecks sake I'm after reading it now

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 13/03/2018 01:18:57    2084155

Its a shame to see some of the Kerry young lads pick up injuries, its really exciting lads breaking through, you just hope the exposure and experience will develop them, seems young Sean O Shea picked up a knock and have to say i was surprised Fitzmaurice left Clifford on for the full 75 when it looked like he had some kind of knock or cramp on 65 and seemed to struggle. Its a really delicate balance between blooding these lads and their long term welfare. Hopefully injuries to O Shea and Clifford are short terms. Looks like Geany picked up an injury to. It goes to show what a full blooded senior game can do and maybe why striking the balance between caution and development is phases has been taken up to this point.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 13/03/2018 12:51:58    2084250

When you compare this Dublin team and the Kerry team of the 80s then you could say this Dublin team have a better chance of being even more successful. When we won 4 in a row the team was coming to an end with the same group of players on the road a long time.

Dublin dont seem like they are slowing down in any way. Basquel, Carthy, Howard, Scully and Small all seem to be good additions in the last 12 months or so. Also when you consider the large amount of players that didnt even see game time on Sunday then they wont be easily stopped.

However, Dublin have won 4 of their last 5 All Irelands by an average of just over one point so it may not be as bleak as it seems. This new Kerry team has very little championship experience so they will only get better with time. The addition of the super 8s will help them IMO but it may take 2 or 3 years until we see them go all the way.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 13/03/2018 14:46:34    2084285

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "When you compare this Dublin team and the Kerry team of the 80s then you could say this Dublin team have a better chance of being even more successful. When we won 4 in a row the team was coming to an end with the same group of players on the road a long time.

Dublin dont seem like they are slowing down in any way. Basquel, Carthy, Howard, Scully and Small all seem to be good additions in the last 12 months or so. Also when you consider the large amount of players that didnt even see game time on Sunday then they wont be easily stopped.

However, Dublin have won 4 of their last 5 All Irelands by an average of just over one point so it may not be as bleak as it seems. This new Kerry team has very little championship experience so they will only get better with time. The addition of the super 8s will help them IMO but it may take 2 or 3 years until we see them go all the way."
I can see Kerry being very competitive alright.

But they'll be hard pushed to win league and AI titles with that current defence who are distinctively average at best.

There's plenty of goals to be had against Kerry and until there's a sizeable improvement there I don't see an AI in that team.

I'd give Galway a better chance in the next 3 years compared to Kerry

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 13/03/2018 15:21:13    2084293

Replying To jimbodub:  "I can see Kerry being very competitive alright.

But they'll be hard pushed to win league and AI titles with that current defence who are distinctively average at best.

There's plenty of goals to be had against Kerry and until there's a sizeable improvement there I don't see an AI in that team.

I'd give Galway a better chance in the next 3 years compared to Kerry"
Jimbo it doesn't help when we've got a manager that hangs our defense out to dry in every game, I mean no team goes man on man nowadays not even yer selves, as for Galway I was very impressed by them and I would say with there defensive system the are a good bit ahead of our team at this stage.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/03/2018 15:50:02    2084300

Replying To TheUsername:  "Its a shame to see some of the Kerry young lads pick up injuries, its really exciting lads breaking through, you just hope the exposure and experience will develop them, seems young Sean O Shea picked up a knock and have to say i was surprised Fitzmaurice left Clifford on for the full 75 when it looked like he had some kind of knock or cramp on 65 and seemed to struggle. Its a really delicate balance between blooding these lads and their long term welfare. Hopefully injuries to O Shea and Clifford are short terms. Looks like Geany picked up an injury to. It goes to show what a full blooded senior game can do and maybe why striking the balance between caution and development is phases has been taken up to this point."
What was wrong with cian o'sullivan Username, when I saw him being ferried off on the golf cart I thought it must be bad.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/03/2018 15:51:51    2084301

Replying To jimbodub:  "I can see Kerry being very competitive alright.

I'd give Galway a better chance in the next 3 years compared to Kerry"
Roscommon had a good league a few years ago similiar to Galway so I wouldnt be so confident until they win a big game in croker. You could be right but will have a better idea once this year is over.

We have 5 or 6 years with the same defensive problems under this management so I wouldn't expect anything to change. A few tweaks here and there would help but the same has been said for a number of years now. Our forward line has the potential to score big numbers but thats not much use when we give up 4 or 5 goal chances in defence in every game.

I wouldnt write these young lads off just yet though and with the extra games they will improve. Just have to be patient and hopefully with new management once this year is over we will see that sizable improvement you talk about.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 13/03/2018 16:07:58    2084304

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "What was wrong with cian o'sullivan Username, when I saw him being ferried off on the golf cart I thought it must be bad."
I believe it was a shoulder injury mate, i think the early word is might have to sit out the rest of the league but he is due scans and tests as the week goes on.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 13/03/2018 16:41:59    2084316

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Jimbo it doesn't help when we've got a manager that hangs our defense out to dry in every game, I mean no team goes man on man nowadays not even yer selves, as for Galway I was very impressed by them and I would say with there defensive system the are a good bit ahead of our team at this stage."
I wouldn't agree on the long term outlook mate there is a making of a very good team there, its easier sorting a defense then it is to produce the forward line at your disposal, thats god given. If a few of these lads mature together the Sky is the limit.

I think its a long term project though, Jack O' Connor is no fool and is waiting fort he right time, its some ways i feel sorry for Fitzmaurice because i think he will ultimately be the patsy, i will be worried when i see the O Connor appointment as he will know when the right time will be for these lads to be competitive at the top table.

Short term pain for long term benefit is my forecast for Kerry.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 13/03/2018 16:50:41    2084317

Replying To TheUsername:  "I believe it was a shoulder injury mate, i think the early word is might have to sit out the rest of the league but he is due scans and tests as the week goes on."
I saw him holding his arm and I wasn't sure was it his wrist, hopefully he'll be grand and I'm sure he'll be ready for the serious end of the championship.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/03/2018 18:42:56    2084333

Replying To TheUsername:  "I wouldn't agree on the long term outlook mate there is a making of a very good team there, its easier sorting a defense then it is to produce the forward line at your disposal, thats god given. If a few of these lads mature together the Sky is the limit.

I think its a long term project though, Jack O' Connor is no fool and is waiting fort he right time, its some ways i feel sorry for Fitzmaurice because i think he will ultimately be the patsy, i will be worried when i see the O Connor appointment as he will know when the right time will be for these lads to be competitive at the top table.

Short term pain for long term benefit is my forecast for Kerry."
God I hope jack don't come back, he's had his time now and I think Peter Keane is a very popular choice with the players and I love the way he organizes his teams.

No if jack comes back il throw my hat at it , he cost us an U21 championship last year with his stubbornness.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/03/2018 18:48:21    2084336

Find it difficult to believe that people didn't see this result coming. I was at the Kerry v Galway game in Tralee, Galway were able to cut open that Kerry defence at will. Galway really should have beaten Kerry by a similar margin to Dublin, they butchered at least 4 clear cut goal chances. Even SA O'Ceallaigh, was able to saunter through their defence and get one on one with the Kerry keeper and he's the fullback !!

Fr_Tod_Unctious (Galway) - Posts: 94 - 13/03/2018 18:59:42    2084341