Kerry V Dublin

Donegal 2014 and Kerry last year did Dublin big favours beating us.

On one side I hope we put the foot on the throat of the youngsters in the Kerry team so they realise who is boss.

On the other I am saying if they beat us, then will they be mentally ready for the battle come the championship.

All in all think we will wi by 5 to 6 points

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 08/03/2018 11:05:38    2082653

Replying To 37thHeaven:  "We're under no pressure as there are zero expectations with this game both within Kerry and the country in general.

It's the all conquering invincible Blue Juggernaut against a bunch of kids in their own Coliseum so there is only one outcome, hopefully we give it our best shot and move on towards a game which is much more important and relevant in terms of preserving our league status at home to the Lilywhites on Paddy's Day."
In fairness Kerry are the champions, title holders and the crown is theirs. They won't want the Jackeens stealing it from them up in HQ a home from home for the Kerrymen. They'll take much comfort from the fact that they bullied and harrassed Dublin in Tralee last year and didn't lose while then going up to the Big Smoke and sticking it to the Jacks in their 'coliseum'. I expect a huge game from Kerry. They beat the Jacks in the last outing in Croker so they'll expect a similar result on Sunday.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 08/03/2018 11:11:59    2082657

Replying To 37thHeaven:  "We're under no pressure as there are zero expectations with this game both within Kerry and the country in general.

It's the all conquering invincible Blue Juggernaut against a bunch of kids in their own Coliseum so there is only one outcome, hopefully we give it our best shot and move on towards a game which is much more important and relevant in terms of preserving our league status at home to the Lilywhites on Paddy's Day."
no expectation in the county that you'll win the game ?? yea sounds about right as I'd say most of the county doesn't even know you are playing this weekend as they're only seen in the all ireland semi final and final :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 08/03/2018 11:13:23    2082660

Replying To avonali:  "There was no talk of Croke Park being Dublin's collosseum when Kerry were lording it over everybody. As I remember it Kerry loved coming up to Croke Park to give the Dubs their spanking and head home with Sam."
Fitzgerald Stadium has been the home of Kerry Football since 1936 and our record there over the years shows it is a significant advantage (even when we've had mediocre teams ) so to suggest Home Advantage isn't a factor or benefit is downright insulting.

It is a factor in every sport in the world and we'd love to be able play all our games at home it would increase our chances of winning exponentially but we are only mere peasants

37thHeaven (Kerry) - Posts: 102 - 08/03/2018 11:26:22    2082665

Replying To waynoI:  "no expectation in the county that you'll win the game ?? yea sounds about right as I'd say most of the county doesn't even know you are playing this weekend as they're only seen in the all ireland semi final and final :)"
Well when you don't have every game on your door step, don't have a third of the population and world class infrastructure it's much much more difficult to travel in numbers with added economic disadvantages faced means we have no option but to pick and choose

If you made that 12 hour return trip (a lot of it on bad windy roads) just once it would fairly soften your cough I promise you

37thHeaven (Kerry) - Posts: 102 - 08/03/2018 11:34:29    2082667

If you made that 12 hour return trip (a lot of it on bad windy roads) just once it would fairly soften your cough I promise you
37thHeaven (Kerry) - Posts: 33 - 08/03/2018 11:34:29

Why do yous keep elected those lads from Kilgarven if they haven't even fixed the road yet?!! ;)

Yerra yerra yerra winding around every corner and into every pothole from Dingle to Drumcondra I'd say!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 08/03/2018 12:39:57    2082683

Replying To 37thHeaven:  "Well when you don't have every game on your door step, don't have a third of the population and world class infrastructure it's much much more difficult to travel in numbers with added economic disadvantages faced means we have no option but to pick and choose

If you made that 12 hour return trip (a lot of it on bad windy roads) just once it would fairly soften your cough I promise you"
Been travelling to league games watching Dublin fans outnumber the opposition for years dude, doesn't soften my cough I promise you

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 08/03/2018 12:42:54    2082685

Replying To witnof:  "Donegal 2014 and Kerry last year did Dublin big favours beating us.

On one side I hope we put the foot on the throat of the youngsters in the Kerry team so they realise who is boss.

On the other I am saying if they beat us, then will they be mentally ready for the battle come the championship.

All in all think we will wi by 5 to 6 points"
I don't see how Donegal beating Dublin in the 2014 All Ireland semi final did Dublin any favours, I think ye'd have 5 in a row now if you had beat us that day. We played absolute rubbish in the final and still nearly won it.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2738 - 08/03/2018 13:52:21    2082695

I wonder what the average age of both panels is at the moment?

I remember an article done after the 2017 championship when the average age of the Dublin panel was 27 and Kerry was 29.

I suspect Kerry's has come down and Dublin is higher.

Be interesting at the moment given the changes in both panels and maybe an indication of success to come.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 08/03/2018 13:58:49    2082696

I don't see how Donegal beating Dublin in the 2014 All Ireland semi final did Dublin any favours, I think ye'd have 5 in a row now if you had beat us that day. We played absolute rubbish in the final and still nearly won it.
Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 210 - 08/03/2018 13:52:21

Probably not that simple but.

Agreed yous left Sam behind yous in the final. I was convinced yous would beat Kerry but hats off to Kerry they were marginally the better side on the day.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 08/03/2018 14:57:53    2082718

Replying To waynoI:  "Been travelling to league games watching Dublin fans outnumber the opposition for years dude, doesn't soften my cough I promise you"
Well they have never outnumbered the terrible Kerry support in Killarney maybe counties who have smaller populations than single superclubs in Dublin would have but not any with a decent population

Indeed it takes many Kerry fans in isolated areas well over 2 hours just to get to Limerick let alone Dublin

37thHeaven (Kerry) - Posts: 102 - 08/03/2018 15:04:33    2082721

Replying To MesAmis:  "I don't see how Donegal beating Dublin in the 2014 All Ireland semi final did Dublin any favours, I think ye'd have 5 in a row now if you had beat us that day. We played absolute rubbish in the final and still nearly won it.

Agreed yous left Sam behind yous in the final. I was convinced yous would beat Kerry but hats off to Kerry they were marginally the better side on the day."
Donegal didn't leave sam behind them we won it fair and square. We led through the whole game barring for about 2 minutes in the second half where Donegal went ahead through a Murphy point.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/03/2018 15:07:05    2082722

Replying To waynoI:  "Been travelling to league games watching Dublin fans outnumber the opposition for years dude, doesn't soften my cough I promise you"
Wayno ye have at most 4 away games any year , if ye can't travel to 4 away games that's pretty sad. This year depending on if we get to the final of the league and the championship we could have 10 away games maybe 11 if limerick beat Clare in Munster semifinal, there is s massive difference.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/03/2018 15:13:13    2082726

Ah The Great Kerry Sob Story continues unabated

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 08/03/2018 15:28:27    2082731

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Wayno ye have at most 4 away games any year , if ye can't travel to 4 away games that's pretty sad. This year depending on if we get to the final of the league and the championship we could have 10 away games maybe 11 if limerick beat Clare in Munster semifinal, there is s massive difference."
As I said on the Kerry forum, next year put the reverse Kerry/Dublin league fixture on at 5pm on a Sunday in Tralee and we'll see how many Dubs are willing to make the journey. What's sauce for 31 geese should be sauce for the Dublin gander.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 08/03/2018 15:30:06    2082732

First round of county leagues starting in Kerry on Sunday so unlikely too big a crowd travelling from Kerry to the match.

Can't see Kerry getting within 5 points but will be interesting to see how the young lads get on.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 08/03/2018 15:45:02    2082739

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "I don't see how Donegal beating Dublin in the 2014 All Ireland semi final did Dublin any favours, I think ye'd have 5 in a row now if you had beat us that day. We played absolute rubbish in the final and still nearly won it.

Agreed yous left Sam behind yous in the final. I was convinced yous would beat Kerry but hats off to Kerry they were marginally the better side on the day."
Donegal didn't leave sam behind them we won it fair and square. We led through the whole game barring for about 2 minutes in the second half where Donegal went ahead through a Murphy point."
Yeah Kerry deserving winners on the day but I just felt Donegal underperformed in comparison to their semi final performance.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 08/03/2018 16:04:09    2082744

Replying To MesAmis:  "
Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "I don't see how Donegal beating Dublin in the 2014 All Ireland semi final did Dublin any favours, I think ye'd have 5 in a row now if you had beat us that day. We played absolute rubbish in the final and still nearly won it.

Donegal didn't leave sam behind them we won it fair and square. We led through the whole game barring for about 2 minutes in the second half where Donegal went ahead through a Murphy point."
Yeah Kerry deserving winners on the day but I just felt Donegal underperformed in comparison to their semi final performance."]Ya it's very hard to put in two strong performances one after another although we did it against Mayo where we had to go hell for leather.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/03/2018 16:24:43    2082750

Replying To TheHermit:  "As I said on the Kerry forum, next year put the reverse Kerry/Dublin league fixture on at 5pm on a Sunday in Tralee and we'll see how many Dubs are willing to make the journey. What's sauce for 31 geese should be sauce for the Dublin gander."
Not only would we travel but we'd stay the night :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 08/03/2018 16:52:09    2082759

Ya it's very hard to put in two strong performances one after another although we did it against Mayo where we had to go hell for leather.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 6557 - 08/03/2018 16:24:43 2082750

True enough. Kerry deserved the All-Ireland in anyways.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 08/03/2018 18:09:58    2082776