'The People's Game'

Furlong by name and Furlong by length of posts!

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 15/03/2018 15:15:43    2084760

We will agree to disagree.
But I think if u asked anyone unbiased to look at our record pre 2000 the results show we were bottom of the table in the five nations with exception of late 40s and 82 and 85 and when we could have won grand slam in early 70s. Pre 2000 it was the plucky Irish with the garryowen and placinf the rugby ball under the jersey and give it a lash for 20 mins before we were beaten by English French Welsh and Scots. ( You ignored our 12 year lose to Scots and 30 year loses in Paris. I forgot the French were a bogey team. But so was everyone else.)
But thankfully men like Gatland Sullivan Kidney and now Scdmit and players like O Connell O Driscoll O Gara ended those performances and the days of plucky Irish have gone. While we should have won more with golden generation they did bring a more winning atitude ( even though our World Cup record was still embarrassing. Ok you have excuses for 2007. Whats your excuse for 1987 1991 1995 1999 2003 2011 and 2015. Was the preparation wrong in everyone of those world Cups. If it was 1 World cup but every single one is underperformers and no win past last 8 when when there is no more then 10 or 12 competitive teams in the competition. If a club team had that record it would be considered a joke).
But hopefully Scdmit gets that monkey of our back in 2019 and we long last win a knockout match and reach semis and seen we are on the easiers side of the draw reaching the final is possible. Winning a rugby world cup in the next 20 to 30 years should be possible with 3 to 4 big wins and ur champions.
Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 294 - 15/03/2018 15:08:10
Who is anyone unbiased then?
I havent ignored those long periods without wins to sides. 5/6 Nations have always had long periods for sides not winning games. Wales have went over a decade not beating England. Scotland have twice since 1990 went a decade without beating England. Wales couldnt beat France between 82 and 94.
Days of plucky irish have gone but that doesnt mean days of irish people revelling in irish rugby team losing games hasnt. There is far more than 10-12 competitive teams. Name all 10-12 as you're bound to miss a few
No excuses for 2007. that isnt an excuse and im not arsed dealing with going through every world cup in a thread like this.

Hopefully we do it on Sat . I am a rugby fan. Following the team long before the bandwagon beginning with Mick Doyles teams. Thats the way Irish teams should play. The rugby we played under the Great late Mick Doyle is the best we ever played creatively. The tries by Crossnan v Wales and Ringlsnd v Scotland in 85 are some of the best Irish scores ever. That would be my criticism of Sdmits Ireland it is very conservative. Its similar to Jack Chartlon. Both had the two best Irish panels ever. But both played a conservative way. Could Sdmits be more creative, of course he could. But u cannot argue with the results. Beating New Zealand and beating South Africa at home for the first time ever.
if we win in sat fingers crossed . It would be the greatest win in Irish rugby even surpassing 2009 by beating England in Twickenham to win Grand Slam . It would be one of the greatest achievements in Irish sport. And they will derserve enormous praise. But if they lose it is definitely one we have left behind again. With Wales and France having problems and England out of sorts and we being the best team in the championship. We should seal the deal on saturday. If a GAA team or Irish soccer team were in the same position they would be heavily criticised if they failed to get over the line. But excuses like preparation will be probaly used if we lose .
you use the word bandwagon like its dirty. Fans are fans. Doesnt matter how you support a side or began to. Doesnt make you a bigger fan or not. Schmidt isnt a conservative coach. If you watched him in New Zealand, France or Leinster. Schmidts group of players isnt necessarily the best ireland has ever had but depth wise its better than before.
It isnt an either or situation. Its ridiculous to say a win is a greatest ever win in irish rugby while a loss is something left behind/team choking bla bla bla. You cant go to such extremes.

I am a rugby fan since 1985. Watched every match even the bad years. And its great to see Irish rugby at long last being so competitive and now even setting standards other counties cannot deal with. That is some turn around from the 100 years of rugby beforehand. They deserve enormous credit for that . The proviences IRFU the coachs and the players. But they are not above criticism. And I have no problem criticising my county team the Irish soccer team or my soccer club team. I just think rugby team is not above criticism. People shouldnt be afraid to criticise. Its part and parcell of any sport.
But it must be said the people games comment was ridiculous. The six nations is hugely popular and so is the rugby team. But on the ground and in peoples hearts gaa and soccer are ahead.As Brian O Driscoll one of our greatest rugby players and one our greatest sportsmen once said in New Zealand people love and are passionate about rugby. He said in Ireland we like our rugby and respect rugby but we are not in love or passionate about the game. The All Blacks are.Thats what BOD said..It pretty much sums up everything.
Anyway hopefully we do it on Saturday. I expect to win by 7 or 8 and be crowned undisputed European champions for the third time ever. Ireland Grand Slam Winners 2018.
Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 294 - 15/03/2018 15:08:10
Never have ever stated the irish team is above criticism. Just feel most criticism here on this site is petty and ridiculous considering the history of rugby discussion on this site before and since i joined. Peoples game comment was well played by RTE. IRFU had nothing to do with it.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 15/03/2018 16:34:37    2084765

Ormondbannerman and Furlong 1949,

Gentlemen, let me first commend you on this ferocious back and forth discussion. Both of you have made clear, reasonable, concise and compelling arguments. Which is refreshing in the modern context of online debate which had descended largely into complete thrash.

Ormondbannerman, I hate to break it to you, but Furlong hammered you with statistics mate. You put on a gallant challenge, but ultimately IMO, lost this one.

But again, I enjoyed reading this.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 15/03/2018 17:18:35    2084777

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Ormondbannerman and Furlong 1949,

Gentlemen, let me first commend you on this ferocious back and forth discussion. Both of you have made clear, reasonable, concise and compelling arguments. Which is refreshing in the modern context of online debate which had descended largely into complete thrash.

Ormondbannerman, I hate to break it to you, but Furlong hammered you with statistics mate. You put on a gallant challenge, but ultimately IMO, lost this one.

But again, I enjoyed reading this."
Well if it is time for the jury to give their say, I would have the opposite opinion. Tbh I don't have the time or interest to read all the long posts but what I'd say is, you can quote all the stats you like going back 80 or 100 years but they are completely irrelevant. There is a cut off point regarding relevancy and it is where the professional era began. What happened in the amateur days is completely irrelevant. Irish rugby in terms of the international game is in a very healthy state at the moment and it will continue to be in rude health for the foreseeable future because there is an assembly line of talent coming through and the structures are in place to make full use of that talent.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 15/03/2018 18:53:07    2084798

I really couldn't be arsed reading all that waffle either. I remember going to a PRO12 semifinal some years ago in the RDS, Leinster V Munster. Great hype in the build up but it was a dreadful spectacle. Rugby looks much more attractive on TV than from the stands, IMO.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 15/03/2018 20:54:55    2084820

Replying To keeper7:  "I really couldn't be arsed reading all that waffle either. I remember going to a PRO12 semifinal some years ago in the RDS, Leinster V Munster. Great hype in the build up but it was a dreadful spectacle. Rugby looks much more attractive on TV than from the stands, IMO."
Depends on the game Keeper but there can be some poor games. I was expecting similar when Leinster played Munster in the Heineken semi in Croke Park a few years ago. Buildup was class, weather was greag, craic after the game was mighty but the game was too one-sided to be enjoyable. Saw Leinster v Cardiff in the semi in December '95. A proper game where Leinster still had a faint hope in the last 10 mins.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 15/03/2018 22:07:34    2084833

Thanks for the comments. We will call it an hard fought draw. Everything I threw at Ormondbannerman he gave it back tenfold. I felt like I was being marked by Frank Lohan in a Munster final. Or maybe it was like a tussle between Keith Wood and Shane Horgan. It was a hard fought battle from start to finish. But we will call it a draw. And the replay will be on a later date between myself and Ormondbannerman. I will have to say Ormondbannerman kept his more concise then mine. I tend to go on a bit and Im a bit long winded to say the least. But while we fought and tough battle . I have to say I respect Ormondbannerman views I just dont agree with them.

Finally just to say . The chap from Galway above who said that any rugby before 2000 is irrelevant I cannot agree though. Usually when someone says that the past of their team is irrelevant its usually because that persons team had a bad record in the past. Im sure New Zealand and Welsh supporters wouldnt agree that the rugby their teams played pre 2000 was irrelevant.

Why did we play those games?..Why do we remember those great games and players from the past?. Im sure in 50 or 60 years time someone will say the current era was irrelevant. But overall that is wrong. You cannot say that great Irish legends some of the best rugby players ever like Gibson Kyle Campbell McBride Slattery Mullen were irrelevant. So the grand Slam in 49 and the Triple Crowns in 82 and 85 and Munsters win v the All blacks what about them. Why are those games still celebrated and discussed if they were irrelevant. They wrote songs books even a play about Munsters win v All Blacks. It was voted one of Irelands greatest sporting moments of Irish sport in the last 50 years by the general public recenty. Because its not relevant. Great games and great players in any era in any code in any sport are remebered and celebrated and rightly so. As I said before we have produced so many great players for a country our size. Great players like Kyle Mullen O Reilly Kiernan McBride Slattery Duggan Ward Fitzgerald Campbell Dean Mullins Geoghan Woods O Connell O Gara and O Driscoll and many more. We just havent produced many great teams like the 1949 -51 team . Hopefully on saturday we will have another great legendary team that will win the grand Slam on Saturday and many more in the future. We just didnt have many in the past thats all .

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 15/03/2018 23:16:34    2084849

I wonder who put the green and who the red thumbs :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 16/03/2018 01:07:27    2084856

Replying To realdub:  "I wonder who put the green and who the red thumbs :D"
Mine was the green. I was thinking something similar. A good auld bit of banter and exchange of differing views where Furlong and Ormond agreed on some points and agreed to disagree on others.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 16/03/2018 08:45:22    2084868

I see the latest video advertising Ireland and encouraging people to visit and invest in the island has 5 sporting images - 1 from rowing, 1 from horse-racing and 3 from rugby. Official Ireland is clearly of the view that rugby is the sport of the people. Considering many of the markets being targeted would have no knowledge of rugby, and in a 3 horse race on where to host a rugby world cup the rugby nations of the world voted Ireland 3rd, it seems peculiar to use so many rugby images compared to other sports. 1 of the images was from 10 years ago or more as well so it's not a case that they just picked what is current. Maybe everyone posting on here is out of touch with the new Ireland?

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 16/03/2018 21:24:18    2084988

This weekend we have the AI club finals and a full round of hurling and football league games,the Irish Independent had 7 pages of rugby and 1 page on hurling,Rte sports news this evening had rugby and soccer and racing and Man U and golf and cricket and not a word of GAA,now its understandable that rugby and racing should get coverage but so should GAA,the Indo and RTE must think rugby is the peoples game,its not as far as I am concerned and never will be,I like most Irish people want Ireland to win 2morro but like lots of sports fans I wont see a rugby match till the next 6 nations,thats my opinion and I will be watching club finals 2morro and recording rugby for later viewing,

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 533 - 16/03/2018 22:55:53    2085003

We all watching the peoples game tomorrow?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 16/03/2018 23:04:21    2085004

Replying To Soma:  "I see the latest video advertising Ireland and encouraging people to visit and invest in the island has 5 sporting images - 1 from rowing, 1 from horse-racing and 3 from rugby. Official Ireland is clearly of the view that rugby is the sport of the people. Considering many of the markets being targeted would have no knowledge of rugby, and in a 3 horse race on where to host a rugby world cup the rugby nations of the world voted Ireland 3rd, it seems peculiar to use so many rugby images compared to other sports. 1 of the images was from 10 years ago or more as well so it's not a case that they just picked what is current. Maybe everyone posting on here is out of touch with the new Ireland?"
They're obviously trying to market to a wealthy audience, maybe portraying us as affluent people who all love rugby? I wonder if some Americans in Ireland this week travel around and think that Irish people love dressing up and going around being silly on trailers and absolutely love cycling and rugby. They'd be oblivious that there's club finals today because Croke Park don't seem all that interested in promoting those games to more potential visitors to the games today. Surely GAA is a massive part of our culture but visitors this weekend will be sold all sorts of 'culture' this weekend except these games. They might even think rugby plays a large part in our culture. It's great to support the rugby but GAA are our own sports. A pity some marketing people don't seem to think so.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 17/03/2018 02:36:01    2085013

The weather is not good. So expect a poor enough turn out for the parade. And the AIB club championships. I expect a good audience for TG4's coverage though. It seems to me that the Irish government has become advocates for Irish rugby too. So the GAA and to a lesser degree Irish soccer will have to work even harder to get their message across. beannachtaí na Féile go leir.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 17/03/2018 09:04:20    2085024

Replying To GreenandRed:  "They're obviously trying to market to a wealthy audience, maybe portraying us as affluent people who all love rugby? I wonder if some Americans in Ireland this week travel around and think that Irish people love dressing up and going around being silly on trailers and absolutely love cycling and rugby. They'd be oblivious that there's club finals today because Croke Park don't seem all that interested in promoting those games to more potential visitors to the games today. Surely GAA is a massive part of our culture but visitors this weekend will be sold all sorts of 'culture' this weekend except these games. They might even think rugby plays a large part in our culture. It's great to support the rugby but GAA are our own sports. A pity some marketing people don't seem to think so."
Obviously Croke Park would need to be proactive but it would require a collaborative effort from Failte Ireland and any other national tourist agencies out there (Aer Lingus are another potential player). If as Soma says above, a new promotional video has been produced (for which Failte Ireland would be responsible) that features sport in Ireland but does not include Gaelic games, then it is obviously a case that the programme makers/ decision makers in the marketing department of Bord Failte do not have an appreciation of Gaelic games or see the games as something special and unique and worth selling to tourists. I know Aer Lingus have gone head over heels for rugby (IIRC they are the official carrier for Irish rugby) as was very evident in their press releases and public banter exchanges with the NZ national airline following Ireland's defeat of NZ. Perhaps the decision makers in Failte Ireland are of the same corporate mindset. Yes the GAA could do more to promote its games to tourists but for it to be effective they may have to turn the heads of the movers and shakers in the likes of Failte Ireland and Aer Lingus who appear already to be more rugby orientated. For instance if Aer Lingus are already commercially tied to Irish rugby perhaps this limits what they can do in terms of collaborating with the GAA in promoting Gaelic games?

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 17/03/2018 11:14:54    2085045

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Obviously Croke Park would need to be proactive but it would require a collaborative effort from Failte Ireland and any other national tourist agencies out there (Aer Lingus are another potential player). If as Soma says above, a new promotional video has been produced (for which Failte Ireland would be responsible) that features sport in Ireland but does not include Gaelic games, then it is obviously a case that the programme makers/ decision makers in the marketing department of Bord Failte do not have an appreciation of Gaelic games or see the games as something special and unique and worth selling to tourists. I know Aer Lingus have gone head over heels for rugby (IIRC they are the official carrier for Irish rugby) as was very evident in their press releases and public banter exchanges with the NZ national airline following Ireland's defeat of NZ. Perhaps the decision makers in Failte Ireland are of the same corporate mindset. Yes the GAA could do more to promote its games to tourists but for it to be effective they may have to turn the heads of the movers and shakers in the likes of Failte Ireland and Aer Lingus who appear already to be more rugby orientated. For instance if Aer Lingus are already commercially tied to Irish rugby perhaps this limits what they can do in terms of collaborating with the GAA in promoting Gaelic games?"
Wouldn't disagree with any of your points, but what needs to be pointed out is how the full time staff of the IRFU have worked to get this publicity. Yes a lot of the Executives of certain companies on the east coast may be Rugby heads but the IRFU have been proactive. What are all the full time staff in the GAA & GPA doing, there are a lot of full time employees in Croke Park now & whilst we don't know their exact remuneration, as with the GPA when you look at the overall salary costs & divide it by the number of employees, somebody is being paid handsomely. My point is that at all levels of the GAA, full time employees are there, are they producing the results? If you go into Galway city where the money & big companies are, Connacht Rugby have tapped into that revenue stream big time. Only for the exceptional sponsorship of all levels of Galway GAA by Supermacs & Papa Johns Galway GAA would be struggling. The promotion of games is mentioned year in year out for decades & how much further down the road are we. If everyone on here is pointing out the number of media articles & slots on TV other sports get v GAA & yet perennially nothing happens, then the finger must be pointed at those paid within the Association & the lack of real leadership & accountability that exists. Unfortunately it won't change as those at the top such as Paraic Duffy & those at Congress dismiss with disdain anybody who goes outside the group think. Joe Brolly has been correct when he points out that there has been a vacuum in leadership for over a decade.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 17/03/2018 12:02:02    2085054

I see the latest video advertising Ireland and encouraging people to visit and invest in the island has 5 sporting images - 1 from rowing, 1 from horse-racing and 3 from rugby. Official Ireland is clearly of the view that rugby is the sport of the people. Considering many of the markets being targeted would have no knowledge of rugby, and in a 3 horse race on where to host a rugby world cup the rugby nations of the world voted Ireland 3rd, it seems peculiar to use so many rugby images compared to other sports. 1 of the images was from 10 years ago or more as well so it's not a case that they just picked what is current. Maybe everyone posting on here is out of touch with the new Ireland?
Soma (UK) - Posts: 2114 - 16/03/2018 21:24:18
Or maybe some people posting here read far far too much into things like this?

This weekend we have the AI club finals and a full round of hurling and football league games,the Irish Independent had 7 pages of rugby and 1 page on hurling,Rte sports news this evening had rugby and soccer and racing and Man U and golf and cricket and not a word of GAA,now its understandable that rugby and racing should get coverage but so should GAA,the Indo and RTE must think rugby is the peoples game,its not as far as I am concerned and never will be,I like most Irish people want Ireland to win 2morro but like lots of sports fans I wont see a rugby match till the next 6 nations,thats my opinion and I will be watching club finals 2morro and recording rugby for later viewing,
mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 404 - 16/03/2018 22:55:53
Fair play to you for watching the club finals but hundred and hundreds of thousands will be stuck to tv3 all day. 7 pages of rugby on a title winning day/going for grand slam is about right. Is there not 7 pages or so on hurling/gaelic for the all ireland finals and this is equivalent.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6607 - 16/03/2018 23:04:21
who cares what sport is anything? What does peoples game mean and who cares anyway? Will you watch the game?

They're obviously trying to market to a wealthy audience, maybe portraying us as affluent people who all love rugby? I wonder if some Americans in Ireland this week travel around and think that Irish people love dressing up and going around being silly on trailers and absolutely love cycling and rugby. They'd be oblivious that there's club finals today because Croke Park don't seem all that interested in promoting those games to more potential visitors to the games today. Surely GAA is a massive part of our culture but visitors this weekend will be sold all sorts of 'culture' this weekend except these games. They might even think rugby plays a large part in our culture. It's great to support the rugby but GAA are our own sports. A pity some marketing people don't seem to think so.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 4410 - 17/03/2018 02:36:01
Croke Park certainly do promote club finals quite well but how would you like GAA to try get international visitors up to Croke Park to watch club games.
And there is no reason to have a pop at marketing people/industry. Its solely in the GAAs hands for not enough people going to these games.
The weather is not good. So expect a poor enough turn out for the parade. And the AIB club championships. I expect a good audience for TG4's coverage though. It seems to me that the Irish government has become advocates for Irish rugby too. So the GAA and to a lesser degree Irish soccer will have to work even harder to get their message across. beannachtaí na Féile go leir.
galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 1139 - 17/03/2018 09:04:20
Jaysus thats paranoid.....

Obviously Croke Park would need to be proactive but it would require a collaborative effort from Failte Ireland and any other national tourist agencies out there (Aer Lingus are another potential player). If as Soma says above, a new promotional video has been produced (for which Failte Ireland would be responsible) that features sport in Ireland but does not include Gaelic games, then it is obviously a case that the programme makers/ decision makers in the marketing department of Bord Failte do not have an appreciation of Gaelic games or see the games as something special and unique and worth selling to tourists. I know Aer Lingus have gone head over heels for rugby (IIRC they are the official carrier for Irish rugby) as was very evident in their press releases and public banter exchanges with the NZ national airline following Ireland's defeat of NZ. Perhaps the decision makers in Failte Ireland are of the same corporate mindset. Yes the GAA could do more to promote its games to tourists but for it to be effective they may have to turn the heads of the movers and shakers in the likes of Failte Ireland and Aer Lingus who appear already to be more rugby orientated. For instance if Aer Lingus are already commercially tied to Irish rugby perhaps this limits what they can do in terms of collaborating with the GAA in promoting Gaelic games?
PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 903 - 17/03/2018 11:14:54
Have Aer Lingus gone OTT on rugby? Or have they simply just created a simple partnership like any professional sporting organisation?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 17/03/2018 12:20:04    2085057

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "I see the latest video advertising Ireland and encouraging people to visit and invest in the island has 5 sporting images - 1 from rowing, 1 from horse-racing and 3 from rugby. Official Ireland is clearly of the view that rugby is the sport of the people. Considering many of the markets being targeted would have no knowledge of rugby, and in a 3 horse race on where to host a rugby world cup the rugby nations of the world voted Ireland 3rd, it seems peculiar to use so many rugby images compared to other sports. 1 of the images was from 10 years ago or more as well so it's not a case that they just picked what is current. Maybe everyone posting on here is out of touch with the new Ireland?
Soma (UK) - Posts: 2114 - 16/03/2018 21:24:18
Or maybe some people posting here read far far too much into things like this?

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 404 - 16/03/2018 22:55:53
Fair play to you for watching the club finals but hundred and hundreds of thousands will be stuck to tv3 all day. 7 pages of rugby on a title winning day/going for grand slam is about right. Is there not 7 pages or so on hurling/gaelic for the all ireland finals and this is equivalent.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6607 - 16/03/2018 23:04:21
who cares what sport is anything? What does peoples game mean and who cares anyway? Will you watch the game?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 4410 - 17/03/2018 02:36:01
Croke Park certainly do promote club finals quite well but how would you like GAA to try get international visitors up to Croke Park to watch club games.
And there is no reason to have a pop at marketing people/industry. Its solely in the GAAs hands for not enough people going to these games.
galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 1139 - 17/03/2018 09:04:20
Jaysus thats paranoid.....

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 903 - 17/03/2018 11:14:54
Have Aer Lingus gone OTT on rugby? Or have they simply just created a simple partnership like any professional sporting organisation?"
Possibly GAA should try Ryanair or even one of the UK ones- Easyjet? It is going to be a difficult sell for CLG to persuade the "ruling elites" to back GAA. But they have a good selling point in Dublin GAA. Who are very popular.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 17/03/2018 13:13:39    2085060

Wouldn't disagree with any of your points, but what needs to be pointed out is how the full time staff of the IRFU have worked to get this publicity. Yes a lot of the Executives of certain companies on the east coast may be Rugby heads but the IRFU have been proactive. What are all the full time staff in the GAA & GPA doing, there are a lot of full time employees in Croke Park now & whilst we don't know their exact remuneration, as with the GPA when you look at the overall salary costs & divide it by the number of employees, somebody is being paid handsomely. My point is that at all levels of the GAA, full time employees are there, are they producing the results? If you go into Galway city where the money & big companies are, Connacht Rugby have tapped into that revenue stream big time. Only for the exceptional sponsorship of all levels of Galway GAA by Supermacs & Papa Johns Galway GAA would be struggling. The promotion of games is mentioned year in year out for decades & how much further down the road are we. If everyone on here is pointing out the number of media articles & slots on TV other sports get v GAA & yet perennially nothing happens, then the finger must be pointed at those paid within the Association & the lack of real leadership & accountability that exists. Unfortunately it won't change as those at the top such as Paraic Duffy & those at Congress dismiss with disdain anybody who goes outside the group think. Joe Brolly has been correct when he points out that there has been a vacuum in leadership for over a decade.
moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 575 - 17/03/2018 12:02:02
Those execs will be as much followers of gaelic, hurling, soccer as rugby.

Possibly GAA should try Ryanair or even one of the UK ones- Easyjet? It is going to be a difficult sell for CLG to persuade the "ruling elites" to back GAA. But they have a good selling point in Dublin GAA. Who are very popular.
galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 1140 - 17/03/2018 13:13:39
Where's the ROI for an airline? It wont be anything like it would for rugby which has high numbers every year travelling for 6nations games as well as provincial games. What interest would a UK airline have in an all irish sport/competition?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 17/03/2018 14:08:22    2085065

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Wouldn't disagree with any of your points, but what needs to be pointed out is how the full time staff of the IRFU have worked to get this publicity. Yes a lot of the Executives of certain companies on the east coast may be Rugby heads but the IRFU have been proactive. What are all the full time staff in the GAA & GPA doing, there are a lot of full time employees in Croke Park now & whilst we don't know their exact remuneration, as with the GPA when you look at the overall salary costs & divide it by the number of employees, somebody is being paid handsomely. My point is that at all levels of the GAA, full time employees are there, are they producing the results? If you go into Galway city where the money & big companies are, Connacht Rugby have tapped into that revenue stream big time. Only for the exceptional sponsorship of all levels of Galway GAA by Supermacs & Papa Johns Galway GAA would be struggling. The promotion of games is mentioned year in year out for decades & how much further down the road are we. If everyone on here is pointing out the number of media articles & slots on TV other sports get v GAA & yet perennially nothing happens, then the finger must be pointed at those paid within the Association & the lack of real leadership & accountability that exists. Unfortunately it won't change as those at the top such as Paraic Duffy & those at Congress dismiss with disdain anybody who goes outside the group think. Joe Brolly has been correct when he points out that there has been a vacuum in leadership for over a decade.
moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 575 - 17/03/2018 12:02:02
Those execs will be as much followers of gaelic, hurling, soccer as rugby.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 1140 - 17/03/2018 13:13:39
Where's the ROI for an airline? It wont be anything like it would for rugby which has high numbers every year travelling for 6nations games as well as provincial games. What interest would a UK airline have in an all irish sport/competition?"
Ormondbannerman We have done it. Ireland undisputed European Champions for the third time ever 1949 2009 2018. The days of the whipping boys of rugby are long gone. Ireland grand slam winners in Twickenham on Paddys day.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 17/03/2018 17:06:51    2085093