Confess Your Really Unpopular View/Opinion

Replying To neverright:  "I'd like both"
Wrong answer :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 02/03/2018 23:20:36    2081650

Replying To realdub:  "Who would non-dubs pick on their starting 15, James McCarthy or Aidan O'Shea?"
McCarthy.
Should've won player of the year.

On AOS' performance, he dominated Dublin in the 1st half. Their win was very much down to tactically negating his influence around the middle of the field in the 2nd.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 03/03/2018 09:21:51    2081663

Absolute no brainer here: yes I'm a true and true Kerry man but a true Gael too, and have no problem admitting or admiring certain players from other counties regardless if they are rivals or not, for me McCarthy is the complete or perfect footballer, he can defend, he can attack, he can move, he can field, he can dictate and more to the point he can lead, when Mayo had the Dubs on the roads last year he stepped up made two or three vital possessions two vital runs and one key score, that ability to see danger and step up, make that key telling contribution is a rare commodity that only a handful possesses, for us over the years the likes of Darragh, Seamus, Declan and cooper to a degree had it, McCarthy has is but sadly Aidan Shea doesn't not and goes hiding when Mayo need him the most, the Donegal All Ireland and the recent Dubs Finals come to mind.

No McCarthy is a fine fine player an athlete that can play ball and has skill and vis versa

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 03/03/2018 11:39:44    2081675

Replying To realdub:  "Wrong answer :D"
As much as it would pain me to pick a Dublin player I'd have to pick McCarthy over AO'S realdub, now wheres my sick Bucket :-0

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/03/2018 13:11:52    2081689

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Absolute no brainer here: yes I'm a true and true Kerry man but a true Gael too, and have no problem admitting or admiring certain players from other counties regardless if they are rivals or not, for me McCarthy is the complete or perfect footballer, he can defend, he can attack, he can move, he can field, he can dictate and more to the point he can lead, when Mayo had the Dubs on the roads last year he stepped up made two or three vital possessions two vital runs and one key score, that ability to see danger and step up, make that key telling contribution is a rare commodity that only a handful possesses, for us over the years the likes of Darragh, Seamus, Declan and cooper to a degree had it, McCarthy has is but sadly Aidan Shea doesn't not and goes hiding when Mayo need him the most, the Donegal All Ireland and the recent Dubs Finals come to mind.

No McCarthy is a fine fine player an athlete that can play ball and has skill and vis versa"
Well that's refreshing I have to say. On here posters prefer to go into hiding when it's easier to do than pay a complement to a rival county.
Everyone knows it but can't stomach putting it up.
Fair play.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 03/03/2018 13:26:12    2081691

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Well that's refreshing I have to say. On here posters prefer to go into hiding when it's easier to do than pay a complement to a rival county.
Fair play."
Thanks but seiously every poster here has to admit that the dubs are good unfortunately for Kerry and the other 30 counties they are the benchmark no they play football the way it should be played, don't shoot Me but I have had no time for the northern style blank ball, Dublin actually mix this perfectly and are exciting to watch. Yes it envious and admittedly I don't like the way Jim Galvin conducts himself but certain players at his disposal if there was a transfer market we'd want them

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 03/03/2018 14:21:21    2081696

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Well that's refreshing I have to say. On here posters prefer to go into hiding when it's easier to do than pay a complement to a rival county.
Fair play."
Sure the Kerry lads are always honest when it comes to Dublin. They just have to throw up after they say it, isn't that right kingdomboy1? :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 03/03/2018 14:59:45    2081705

Replying To realdub:  "Sure the Kerry lads are always honest when it comes to Dublin. They just have to throw up after they say it, isn't that right kingdomboy1? :D"
Yeah,
Some seem to have a better stomach than others though ;-).

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 03/03/2018 15:28:23    2081710

My view of AOS is the he's a good player. Not a very good player.

He has strength and a good pair of hands when fielding and if he catches one in close and allowed to turn he's very hard to stop

But

He's not that good with possession, doesn't seem comfortable running at any sort of pace and well hasn't got much pace to him at all and he can't kick a score to save his life.

Fenton is twice the midfielder/player and James McCarthy is no doubt a great footballer and he's just in a different league to AOS.

Only my opinion

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 03/03/2018 16:41:36    2081722

There are many players overrated, the majority belong to the so called better teams , because they are surrounded by good players their failures rarely are acknowledged, as count my medals seems the barometer for greatness they will allways pass the test of greatness, for me they are not great they are lucky, we're there is a ying there's a yang , the game has had some truly great players born very unlucky

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 03/03/2018 17:19:51    2081727

Replying To realdub:  "Sure the Kerry lads are always honest when it comes to Dublin. They just have to throw up after they say it, isn't that right kingdomboy1? :D"
That's correct realdub :-0
I think the cabin fever is really getting to me now.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/03/2018 17:23:15    2081729

Im not the biggest fan of O Shea but this thread has turned into another way to talk down O Shea by comparing him to players we know who are better players..
The big problem is where to play him and I think they have to rotate him between Full-Forward and Midfield..and he would start for any county team

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 03/03/2018 17:28:47    2081730

Replying To Damothedub:  "There are many players overrated, the majority belong to the so called better teams , because they are surrounded by good players their failures rarely are acknowledged, as count my medals seems the barometer for greatness they will allways pass the test of greatness, for me they are not great they are lucky, we're there is a ying there's a yang , the game has had some truly great players born very unlucky"
And therein lies a tale. Talk on here of Aido playing well for fifty or sixty minutes in the final and then fading away. He holds his own and then some, against arguably some of the greatest players we have seen and then as he's getting tired the Dubs bring on Connolly, McCauley, Brogan etc to drive them home. In the meantime we bring on... well not quite Connolly and Brogan. Comparing him to McCarthy is a little pointless as they are different types of player. Last year without Aido we wouldn't have gotten beyond the first qualifier,we wouldn't have beaten Kerry in the semi and we wouldn't have been within five or six points of the Dubs in the final. McCarthy has a job to do and he does it well but O Shea is expected to do several jobs at the one time and playing against the Dubs it must be like trying to keep the tide from coming in armed only with a bucket. McCarthy is a good player, and any team would be lucky to have him, but personally I wouldn't swop him for O Shea.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 03/03/2018 23:16:34    2081775

The 'greatness', or not, of this/these current Dublin team(s) will NEVER really be known as overall this is a very, very mediocre football era. Furthermore it's NOT a level playing field and they haven't been tested by another side with the same resources put in by Croke Park.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 03/03/2018 23:54:14    2081778

Replying To Tadhgmacda:  "My unpopular view is this.

1. The intercounty game and super 8/ Munster and Leinster round robin championship series are not the demise of the club game. The clubs themselves and the club players/ managers are responsible.
It is within the control and remit of each county board and their clubs to structure and play their games how and when they wish. They have chosen the current structures that are in place and it is up to them to change them. The CPA need to accept this and work with their clubs and county boards to affect change and stop trying to bypass the process through the media and attempting to bring this issue to the national clar when the solution remains at home."
So when can we play the club games so?

hurler101 (Wexford) - Posts: 471 - 04/03/2018 14:28:05    2081800

Replying To waynoI:  "I've another (may keep them coming)

hurling isn't a great game.

it's fast because you leather a ball 100 yards in one go but it's helped cause of a light sliotar.. it's more like watching 28 headless chickens at times. All the skills that people rave about are skills everyone can improve with practice, their skills aren't any more impressive than what ronnie osullivan can do with a cue ball, or the way phil Taylor could nail 180s in darts"
I think ronnie and phil are great sports people so if you put hurling skill up with them boys I say thanks for the complement.

hurler101 (Wexford) - Posts: 471 - 04/03/2018 14:34:21    2081802

I think you could take an average athlete who never played Gaa and train him to lay competitive football in 3 months( he would do ok in most positions)

It would take 3 years in hurling.

hurler101 (Wexford) - Posts: 471 - 04/03/2018 14:37:21    2081803

Replying To hurler101:  "I think you could take an average athlete who never played Gaa and train him to lay competitive football in 3 months( he would do ok in most positions)

It would take 3 years in hurling."
6 months in hurling.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2550 - 04/03/2018 14:47:56    2081805

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "And therein lies a tale. Talk on here of Aido playing well for fifty or sixty minutes in the final and then fading away. He holds his own and then some, against arguably some of the greatest players we have seen and then as he's getting tired the Dubs bring on Connolly, McCauley, Brogan etc to drive them home. In the meantime we bring on... well not quite Connolly and Brogan. Comparing him to McCarthy is a little pointless as they are different types of player. Last year without Aido we wouldn't have gotten beyond the first qualifier,we wouldn't have beaten Kerry in the semi and we wouldn't have been within five or six points of the Dubs in the final. McCarthy has a job to do and he does it well but O Shea is expected to do several jobs at the one time and playing against the Dubs it must be like trying to keep the tide from coming in armed only with a bucket. McCarthy is a good player, and any team would be lucky to have him, but personally I wouldn't swop him for O Shea."
Our defence and midfield aren't the problem it's our forwards the talk about aiden O'shea not performing is mute as he will be out in the midfield. Sure he could do with holding on to possession a little bit less and bring more players in to play around him but that's a little bit of an improvement. Some of the posters forget that the opposition will make sure he has more than one or two men on him in every game including Dublin it's not going to be easy to make an impact for 80 mins of football but he is still dangerous.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 04/03/2018 15:51:54    2081810

Replying To hurler101:  "I think you could take an average athlete who never played Gaa and train him to lay competitive football in 3 months( he would do ok in most positions)

It would take 3 years in hurling."
Christ 3months, maybe in Wexford football you could..

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 04/03/2018 15:54:52    2081811