Monaghan V Kerry

Monaghan have a decent record in the NFL recently, & despite what some commentators perceive, I think we are steadily improving, rather than going into " an anticipated" decline.

Kerry are certainly an upcoming force ( whats new!) to challenge the Dubs. It will be an interesting clash, especially with these new youthful prospects Kerry are "blooding"1
hopefully we can sneak it!

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 08/02/2018 21:15:30    2075114

I'd say Monaghan to win by 4/5 points , we have a load of lads after play a ball of hard games in the last few weeks ( sigurson, and league) that's a lot of pressure on young bodies, but it will be good for our young bucks to come up against a strong established Monaghan team.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/02/2018 21:41:45    2075129

Kerry are taking the league very serious and seem to be out early, We are a good bit behind them fitness wise at the moment. Hopefully we can keep the score down as points difference could be very important this year

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 08/02/2018 21:55:59    2075136

I think if Kerry win it'll be a bonus. If I was Fitzmuarice I would see this as a game they can afford to lose. They should rest Clifford, he's playing far too many games and could become a cropper.
I'm not saying Kerry will lie down, I just see it as a chance for him to experiment and have a look at certain things.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 09/02/2018 02:50:57    2075168

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I'd say Monaghan to win by 4/5 points , we have a load of lads after play a ball of hard games in the last few weeks ( sigurson, and league) that's a lot of pressure on young bodies, but it will be good for our young bucks to come up against a strong established Monaghan team."
and we don't have players playing in these competitions.,, no need for excuses.. Kerry on a roll.. kingdom to win by 5

detruth (Monaghan) - Posts: 196 - 09/02/2018 08:16:40    2075174

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I'd say Monaghan to win by 4/5 points , we have a load of lads after play a ball of hard games in the last few weeks ( sigurson, and league) that's a lot of pressure on young bodies, but it will be good for our young bucks to come up against a strong established Monaghan team."
Yeah Monaghan have no one playing anything other than league football with the county at the moment…..

Kerry, with 2 wins on the bounce, will be lucky to keep the ball kicked out if we're honest. Yerra 'tis only the league, I'm sure Eamonn will throw some sort of team together, yerra. ;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 09/02/2018 10:30:01    2075198

Replying To realdub:  "I think if Kerry win it'll be a bonus. If I was Fitzmuarice I would see this as a game they can afford to lose. They should rest Clifford, he's playing far too many games and could become a cropper.
I'm not saying Kerry will lie down, I just see it as a chance for him to experiment and have a look at certain things."
You're right realdub fitz should start the lads that were in the subs for the first two games and maybe play some of the young lads off the bench for this one. I don't know what the story is with lads being injured or coming back from injury but we might find out tonight,
We got 4 unexpected points from the first 2 games so like you say we can afford to experiment in this game, fitz won't want to get to the league final this year as it was seen as a reason we didn't go well in the championship last year.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/02/2018 10:31:05    2075199

Replying To detruth:  "and we don't have players playing in these competitions.,, no need for excuses.. Kerry on a roll.. kingdom to win by 5"
My apologies, what I should have said is Monaghan had 5 players involved in sigurson during the week where as we had 14 involved, it would have been 15 only Clifford was injured.

By and by we'll get on with it , it's not a bad complaint to be honest and if we can avoid a hammering itll be a bonus.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/02/2018 10:38:21    2075202

It's a game we can afford to lose and they'll definitely be a good few changes from the team's that started against Donegal and Mayo.

Saying that, we have momentum and if we get a result here our priority should switch from maintaining our Division 1 status to going out and trying to retain our League title.

Looking forward to the game and seeing how the Kerry Kids stand up to this next challenge.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 09/02/2018 12:10:23    2075214

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "My apologies, what I should have said is Monaghan had 5 players involved in sigurson during the week where as we had 14 involved, it would have been 15 only Clifford was injured.

By and by we'll get on with it , it's not a bad complaint to be honest and if we can avoid a hammering itll be a bonus."
How did Sigurson the notorious Viking warrior have that gaa competition named after him ? Seriously though those 5 Mon students are probably likely starters for Monaghan whereas the majority of the 14 Kerry lads you mentioned are probably nowhere near your team...so not a proper comparison imo.

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 09/02/2018 14:44:03    2075249

Replying To Shelbourne:  "How did Sigurson the notorious Viking warrior have that gaa competition named after him ? Seriously though those 5 Mon students are probably likely starters for Monaghan whereas the majority of the 14 Kerry lads you mentioned are probably nowhere near your team...so not a proper comparison imo."
13 of our sigurson lads have played in our 2 league games shelborn and 2 more have been on the bench for those 2 games.

And I was thinking sigurson sounded kind of like a Baltic name all right, so that must be why they play this competition in the middle of winter.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/02/2018 15:51:51    2075262

Alot depends on the team Kerry pick here. If Fitzmaurice goes with a similar team to the first 2 games I fully expect Kerry to win. However there is every chance he might mix it up especially having 4 points on the board already.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 09/02/2018 16:37:38    2075267

Replying To Shelbourne:  "How did Sigurson the notorious Viking warrior have that gaa competition named after him ? Seriously though those 5 Mon students are probably likely starters for Monaghan whereas the majority of the 14 Kerry lads you mentioned are probably nowhere near your team...so not a proper comparison imo."
Probably in honour of the Viking settlement that is the current stronghold of Gaelic football, or "Dublin" as you Gaels know it.

Signed,
A Proud Dane.

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 09/02/2018 17:09:42    2075273

Replying To MesAmis:  "Yeah Monaghan have no one playing anything other than league football with the county at the moment…..

Kerry, with 2 wins on the bounce, will be lucky to keep the ball kicked out if we're honest. Yerra 'tis only the league, I'm sure Eamonn will throw some sort of team together, yerra. ;)"
Any Kerry school boys attending the game should bring their football boots with them as Eamon may have to call on them to fill-out the team. Monaghan could be facing the youngest ever Kerry senior team.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 09/02/2018 17:44:29    2075276

Replying To Jaden:  "Probably in honour of the Viking settlement that is the current stronghold of Gaelic football, or "Dublin" as you Gaels know it.

Signed,
A Proud Dane."
Ha ha and ye'r still marauding and pillaging in 2018 fair play to ye :-)
Only difference is nowadays it's a football field not a battle field, or is it !

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/02/2018 17:48:26    2075279

Replying To panamasam:  "Alot depends on the team Kerry pick here. If Fitzmaurice goes with a similar team to the first 2 games I fully expect Kerry to win. However there is every chance he might mix it up especially having 4 points on the board already."
We'll find out at 9 this evening Panama Sam , hopefully fitz will stick wit the same squad of players as I'd think they'll be a few of the older lads getting a bit ancy now looking at what the young guns are achieving.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/02/2018 17:53:38    2075280

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "13 of our sigurson lads have played in our 2 league games shelborn and 2 more have been on the bench for those 2 games.

And I was thinking sigurson sounded kind of like a Baltic name all right, so that must be why they play this competition in the middle of winter."
The way football is going now some of these 3rd level students are nearer the 30 year mark...work and football don't mix anymore !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 09/02/2018 18:34:44    2075284

Replying To neverright:  "Any Kerry school boys attending the game should bring their football boots with them as Eamon may have to call on them to fill-out the team. Monaghan could be facing the youngest ever Kerry senior team."
Ah its good to give youth its fling but more important to get rid of some of the old tried and failed , a spring clean so to speak.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/02/2018 19:40:16    2075296

Replying To Shelbourne:  "The way football is going now some of these 3rd level students are nearer the 30 year mark...work and football don't mix anymore !"
It looks that way all right, but they're dead right to take advantage of it if they can, don't the GPA give out free college course as well?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/02/2018 19:48:15    2075298

Kerry team to play Monaghan on Sunday.
Shane Murphy.
Ronan Shanahan, Jason foley, enright.
O'beaglaoih , Andrew Barry, p,Murphy.
Andrew Barry, Barry O'sullivan.
M Burns, daithi Casey, S O'Brien.
Jack Savage, paul geaney , BJK.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/02/2018 21:12:06    2075319