The Allianz FL Thread (Division 2, 3 & 4)

Replying To KildareKelly:  "Beating Meath wouldn't be that big of a deal for most of Kildare either to be honest.
In the real world, there isn't anywhere near the level of joy at Meath losing among people I know that there is on hoganstand. Why is that ? One particularly poisonous Meath poster has dragged a lot of people down to his low level would be my guess."
Saying kildare supporters dont hate Meath would be like saying Rangers supporters dont hate Celtic. Go to Newbridge or Nass or Maynooth and kilcock and ask them about Meath..and see what answer you will get. I can ensure u it will definalty not be a positive one to say the least. You can buy signs to put on your car and I have seen them many a time reading Love kildare football hate Meath. It doesnt read hate Donegal or Carlow or Dublin it always reads Meath. I have seen these similar signs in other neighbouring counties also.
And it used to be said that Dublin gaa supporters hated REM in the the 80s and 90s. Not not the band REM, but Dublin supporters hated REM -
Rangers England and Meath.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 19/02/2018 18:41:27    2078491

Message to mod
Thank for posting my response . I do appreciate it. I enjoy this forum immensly. I will try and keep my messages short and concise and I will try not to get to hot headed about Meath. But thanks again for not blocking me . I do enjoy writing on the forum. The standard of writing and comments can be very informative and enjoyable. Keep up the great work.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 19/02/2018 19:21:44    2078504

Replying To blueman1903:  "Jimjo we drew with Monaghan last year as well."
Yes ...I blocked that one out ... thanks for giving me the shivers

Jimjo (Cavan) - Posts: 65 - 19/02/2018 19:47:15    2078515

Replying To Jimjo:  "Furlong .. you are delusional
Cavan are coming from Div 1 last year, where they drew with kerry, beat Mayo and lost 2 other games by <2 pts.
They have a range of lads with Ulster underage medals.
Meath Have ???????
Where is the evidence that Meath should or can beat Cavan? ...apart from your feelings
as for age etc .... 12 of the Cavan team yesterday made their debut in the first league match v Clare.

SO... part 1 ... is learn to understand where ye are and set realistic expectations to avoid " shock" results. Good luck in the OByrne cup final !!!!... and hope you stay up too (and you will, but not too comfortably)"
Meath did have underage sucess
1 The Meath 2012 All Ireland finalist. The current senior manager managed that team and 11 of that team have played senior and at least are 6 are first team regulars at the moment. They were beaten by the best minor Dublin team of all time. Dublins ony minor win in 35 years? I think. And there has been many All Ireland finalist teams at underage level that became sucessful at senior eg Galway team of 98 and 2000 was backboned by a minor All Ireland finalist team
2 That Meath minor team of 2012 is one of the most successful underage teams to come out of leinster outside Dublin in the last 15 years

Why
1 They defeated a very highly fancied Tyrone and Mayo team. The Tyrone minor team went onto win under 21 All Ireland title afterwards and many of those minors played senior for Tyrone. And many players from the Mayo minor team of that year went onto win an Under 21 All Ireland and play senior for Mayo.

2 That Meath minor team is the only leinster minor team outside Dublin to reach an All.Ireland final in 15 years since Laois in 2003 and Meath in 2002.

3 That Meath minor team is one of the most successful underage teams to come from leinster outside Dublin in the last 15 years. Only 3 leinster teams have reached an underage final in the last 15 years eg Meath minor finalist 2012 , kildare Under 21 finalist 2008 and Laois under 21 finalist 2007.

It must be said in Meath we need to be more consistent at underage. Things do seem to be improving. The hammering of Dublin at minor level 2 years ago and the leinster title win at the new minor grade v Dublin last year ( under 17) and victories over Dublin at under 15 U16 U17 U18 recently would indicate we are improving.

It must be said though that Meaths past sucess in 30s 40s 50s 60s and 70s was not based on underage sucess. Even one of the greatest teams ever of the late 80s had no underage sucesss. O Rourke O Connell Lyons McEntee Hayes Beggy Stafford Harnan hadnt an underage medal between them. Even when we had sucess at underage level in 90s it had limited impact at senior level. Only 1 player from All Ireland minor winning team of 1993 made an impact and played at senior level eg Trevor Giles. However it has to be said We need to improve at underage. It is an area we need to see the massive work been done turned into silverware. But to say Meath had no underage sucess is completely false .

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 19/02/2018 19:47:18    2078516

Thanks . I would be very grateful if you could post the above message I sent to you a minute ago. Its a few stats I want to post on the forum. I would be very grateful and I will try to be more concise ans shorter messages in future. Thank you very much.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 19/02/2018 19:49:01    2078519

'You can buy signs to put on your car and I have seen them many a time reading Love kildare football hate Meath'

Fantasy stuff. Lived in Kildare for the vast majority of my 40+ years & never seen one either on a car or for sale!
Of course, we love beating Meath...as we do most of our neighbours. (as does everyone I'm sure).
But who you love to beat the most depends on geography (you mention Kilcock - being right on the Meath border obviously Meath are no.1 for them) & the current strength of the other counties. E.g. I remember in the early 2000s Laois were who we hated most. It comes & goes : to suggest Meath are always no.1 for Kildare regardless of their current standing is just not true.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 19/02/2018 20:07:10    2078525

Replying To KildareKelly:  "'You can buy signs to put on your car and I have seen them many a time reading Love kildare football hate Meath'

Fantasy stuff. Lived in Kildare for the vast majority of my 40+ years & never seen one either on a car or for sale!
Of course, we love beating Meath...as we do most of our neighbours. (as does everyone I'm sure).
But who you love to beat the most depends on geography (you mention Kilcock - being right on the Meath border obviously Meath are no.1 for them) & the current strength of the other counties. E.g. I remember in the early 2000s Laois were who we hated most. It comes & goes : to suggest Meath are always no.1 for Kildare regardless of their current standing is just not true."
I have seen the signs before. I havent seen them in a while. But I have seen them in kildare and louth before. I saw them in Sallins Clane and Maynooth.
Well I have to say kildare supporters all deserve Oscars as they are extraordinary actors because all the kildare supporters I met in my lifetime were doing a great job of pretending of hating Meath.

Yes Laois are not popular in kildare. kildare dont like Dublin but they kind of mute when it comes to Dublin. But from my personal experience there is genunine hatred on the kildare side to Meath. I have seen and heard to many things to think otherwise.

I remeber when Meath lost to Westmeath in Croker, Meath crowd had to pass hundreds of kildare supporters and the stuff the kildare crowd was saying was unreal. Another time I was at game and in the crowd was an all time great Meath player. Kildare were playing. Meath were not. Anyway after game the shouting and roaring and insults at this Meath GAA legend was a sight to behold and not in a good way. Young women running up and screaming insults and cursing into his face was again unreal.
Listen I know Meath supporters do stupid things as well. And down at the border there is no love for kildare eitheir but this pretence you going on with that kildare dont hate But this idea that kildare dont hate Meath your kidding noone by pretending that it aint true. I dont understand why you find the idea that kildare dislike Meath deeply should be denied. Its a fact.
One time a kildare supporter told me if Meath were playing North Korea he would shout for North Korea. He wouldn't be the only lilywhite.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 19/02/2018 20:48:43    2078538

Replying To blueman1903:  "Jimjo we drew with Monaghan last year as well."
Yes ...I blocked that one out ... thanks for giving me the shivers

Jimjo (Cavan) - Posts: 65 - 19/02/2018 20:50:30    2078539

Cavan scored a great goal from centre half back Ciaran Brady. An unbelievable mark for Gearoid McKiernan and then a brilliant kick pass from Cian Mackey and then a finish through keepers legs. TG4 showed it earlier.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 19/02/2018 21:06:21    2078544

Replying To Furlong1949:  "I have seen the signs before. I havent seen them in a while. But I have seen them in kildare and louth before. I saw them in Sallins Clane and Maynooth.
Well I have to say kildare supporters all deserve Oscars as they are extraordinary actors because all the kildare supporters I met in my lifetime were doing a great job of pretending of hating Meath.

Yes Laois are not popular in kildare. kildare dont like Dublin but they kind of mute when it comes to Dublin. But from my personal experience there is genunine hatred on the kildare side to Meath. I have seen and heard to many things to think otherwise.

I remeber when Meath lost to Westmeath in Croker, Meath crowd had to pass hundreds of kildare supporters and the stuff the kildare crowd was saying was unreal. Another time I was at game and in the crowd was an all time great Meath player. Kildare were playing. Meath were not. Anyway after game the shouting and roaring and insults at this Meath GAA legend was a sight to behold and not in a good way. Young women running up and screaming insults and cursing into his face was again unreal.
Listen I know Meath supporters do stupid things as well. And down at the border there is no love for kildare eitheir but this pretence you going on with that kildare dont hate But this idea that kildare dont hate Meath your kidding noone by pretending that it aint true. I dont understand why you find the idea that kildare dislike Meath deeply should be denied. Its a fact.
One time a kildare supporter told me if Meath were playing North Korea he would shout for North Korea. He wouldn't be the only lilywhite."
Furlong, local rivalries are what the GAA feeds on. Bordering areas will highlight that even more. It's hardly a new thing. Goes on all around the country. I was in Navan for a league game one Saturday night a few years back and two gardai had to come talk to a couple of Meath lads who really wanted to make things kick off on the terrace. Every county has their idiots. I'm from the south of the county and our biggest rivals are Laois, not Meath. And please dont bother writing a long post telling me i'm wrong, i know my own area. I really think some Meath posters on here have an inflated idea of the amount of time people spend thinking about their county. It's unlikely we will even play each other this year so why on earth would we be thinking about Meath?? We have bigger problems to deal with. That's not a dig, just fact.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 19/02/2018 21:48:44    2078562

Fair play to you Furlong. You obviously know other people better than they know themselves. I won't bother debating further with one so wise.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 19/02/2018 21:52:38    2078565

Meath blinkers all over again. Like the most 'successful' minor team what nonsensical denial. They won nothing simple as that. And the minor team that hammered Dublin a couple of years ago- oh yeah they lost to a 'big' Kildare team.
Perhaps therein lies some of the reasons of the feeling that your so disliked.
What's to like with some of your loudest representatives making the same ignorant remarks over and over year after year.
I have plenty of friends from Meath who have more cop on than the lads I read on this forum. Successful minor teams have medals.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 19/02/2018 22:45:05    2078584

Replying To jonno:  "Meath blinkers all over again. Like the most 'successful' minor team what nonsensical denial. They won nothing simple as that. And the minor team that hammered Dublin a couple of years ago- oh yeah they lost to a 'big' Kildare team.
Perhaps therein lies some of the reasons of the feeling that your so disliked.
What's to like with some of your loudest representatives making the same ignorant remarks over and over year after year.
I have plenty of friends from Meath who have more cop on than the lads I read on this forum. Successful minor teams have medals."
Kildare have never won a minor All Ireland title. With the leinster minor wins kildare coukdnt even reach 1 minor final. Why? Because kildare cannot beat top teams outside leinster at minor under 21 and senior level, never have. While strong Meath teams beat top teams outside leinster like they did at minor level v Tyrone and Mayo in 2012. Kildare are hyped . Always have been. Probaly always will be.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 20/02/2018 00:07:38    2078601

Why are people so upset by saying a young Meath team have potential. Whats so upsetting by saying that. If Meath are sucessful imagine how upset certain people will be then. Way over the top reaction from our neighbours. They cannot even listen to us saying we have potential. I believe Meath will win a leinster title in 2020 or 2021. Whats wrong with sayin that. We live in a free country. Why are people so threatened by the above comment. Is it not better to hope and believe then throw in the towel. Maybe other counties have given up. But under .McEntees we will try and topple Dublin in the comin years and if we dont we will come with a new team and try in 2030s and we will keep coming to try and topple Dublin in the 2040s 2050s and 2060s. And we will keep trying. We might lose some times but I am certain we will beat them many times in the future. Its not a question of if Meath will beat Dublin its a question of when. Meath leinster champions 2021.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 20/02/2018 00:20:56    2078602

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Saying kildare supporters dont hate Meath would be like saying Rangers supporters dont hate Celtic. Go to Newbridge or Nass or Maynooth and kilcock and ask them about Meath..and see what answer you will get. I can ensure u it will definalty not be a positive one to say the least. You can buy signs to put on your car and I have seen them many a time reading Love kildare football hate Meath. It doesnt read hate Donegal or Carlow or Dublin it always reads Meath. I have seen these similar signs in other neighbouring counties also.
And it used to be said that Dublin gaa supporters hated REM in the the 80s and 90s. Not not the band REM, but Dublin supporters hated REM -
Rangers England and Meath."
Saying kildare supporters dont hate Meath would be like saying Rangers supporters dont hate Celtic.
You've obviously never been to a Celtic- Rangers game. haha!!!!
Some Meath person should step in and take the heat of you're county, this man is ruining your rep

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 20/02/2018 09:28:21    2078635

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Why are people so upset by saying a young Meath team have potential. Whats so upsetting by saying that. If Meath are sucessful imagine how upset certain people will be then. Way over the top reaction from our neighbours. They cannot even listen to us saying we have potential. I believe Meath will win a leinster title in 2020 or 2021. Whats wrong with sayin that. We live in a free country. Why are people so threatened by the above comment. Is it not better to hope and believe then throw in the towel. Maybe other counties have given up. But under .McEntees we will try and topple Dublin in the comin years and if we dont we will come with a new team and try in 2030s and we will keep coming to try and topple Dublin in the 2040s 2050s and 2060s. And we will keep trying. We might lose some times but I am certain we will beat them many times in the future. Its not a question of if Meath will beat Dublin its a question of when. Meath leinster champions 2021."
Look best of luck to Meath. I hope they do win a leinster in the near future. Anyone who's followed my posts on here over the years will know I have a lot of time for Meath. But I think you need to calm down. You're giving as good as you get in the criticism stakes so maybe just take a step back and realise you, and one or two others, were being quite arrogant and people are responding to that.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 20/02/2018 10:06:16    2078652

Jesus on the rare occasion we are in div 1 never have i heard us talked about so much in a div 2 chat. Meath lads concentrate on your own div and the teams in it and we should do the same. We may well be back with you next year and we can slag away then. Kildare are nothing to do with Meath right now.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 20/02/2018 12:03:53    2078695

Replying To kildare73:  "Jesus on the rare occasion we are in div 1 never have i heard us talked about so much in a div 2 chat. Meath lads concentrate on your own div and the teams in it and we should do the same. We may well be back with you next year and we can slag away then. Kildare are nothing to do with Meath right now."
Strange then that its all the Kildare lads who are on this thread which is NOT about div 1 then isn't it?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 20/02/2018 12:33:07    2078707

I was told Wicklow and Evans have made big plans for Laois and that there is a lot of money going on Wicklow down there!

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 20/02/2018 13:23:03    2078715

Replying To Jinxie:  "Strange then that its all the Kildare lads who are on this thread which is NOT about div 1 then isn't it?"
Just defending ourselves same as any other county person would do. Yourselves included. Question is why were we ever mentioned? That's the strange bit.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 20/02/2018 13:25:36    2078717