The Allianz FL Thread (Division 2, 3 & 4)

meath v cavan isnt really a local derby that either county gets up for much is it? i dont think it would come close to meath v kildare meath v dublin or meath v louth. bit too far down the county for much interest in it as a dearby. bit like meath v westmeath is a dearby in hurling but not as much interst in football terms. the meath football strongholds are now on kildare and dublin borders maybe that is why. most meath fans wouldnt think of cavan as a neighbouring county because we dont come across them much

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 687 - 05/02/2018 12:02:37    2074224

Replying To thelongridge:  "That will be an exciting local derby. Winners could be in with a chance of promotion."
Very poor showing from yourselves yesterday. A lot of aimless balls just kicked almost for the sake of it. Bar that spell at the start of the second half Offaly didn't offer anything.

Pitch still in dreadful condition at Brewster. Don't know how the game went ahead on it yesterday. In serious need of a rest.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 05/02/2018 12:23:02    2074230

Replying To dickie10:  "meath v cavan isnt really a local derby that either county gets up for much is it? i dont think it would come close to meath v kildare meath v dublin or meath v louth. bit too far down the county for much interest in it as a dearby. bit like meath v westmeath is a dearby in hurling but not as much interst in football terms. the meath football strongholds are now on kildare and dublin borders maybe that is why. most meath fans wouldnt think of cavan as a neighbouring county because we dont come across them much"
Always got the impression playing Meath is a big deal to Cavan folk but not so much so much to Meath. I certainly never cared to much about them.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 05/02/2018 12:31:30    2074238

Have to say, another great result for my own county to pull off a win ( Granted we were at home) against Derry. Crucial game away next to Armagh which could have a lot to say on who gets promoted from Div3. With Sligo getting off the mark its looking like it could be very tight between Armagh, Longford, Fermanagh and possibly Sligo now! Great to see!!!

LongfordSham (Longford) - Posts: 106 - 05/02/2018 13:35:16    2074264

Replying To RoyalBadger:  "Always got the impression playing Meath is a big deal to Cavan folk but not so much so much to Meath. I certainly never cared to much about them."
I know the feeling !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 05/02/2018 13:43:52    2074268

Replying To dickie10:  "meath v cavan isnt really a local derby that either county gets up for much is it? i dont think it would come close to meath v kildare meath v dublin or meath v louth. bit too far down the county for much interest in it as a dearby. bit like meath v westmeath is a dearby in hurling but not as much interst in football terms. the meath football strongholds are now on kildare and dublin borders maybe that is why. most meath fans wouldnt think of cavan as a neighbouring county because we dont come across them much"
Dickie it all depends on where you live in Meath? I know a fella from Kells and he hates Cavan with a passion. I say it's the same if you live in North Meath in places like Oldcastle, Carnaross, Moynalty and Kilmainhamwood. Even east and south Kingscourt outskirts are in County Meath. It should be a good game and a great crowd at it. The winners of this match will have a great chance of getting promotion.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 05/02/2018 14:33:35    2074288

Replying To LongfordSham:  "Have to say, another great result for my own county to pull off a win ( Granted we were at home) against Derry. Crucial game away next to Armagh which could have a lot to say on who gets promoted from Div3. With Sligo getting off the mark its looking like it could be very tight between Armagh, Longford, Fermanagh and possibly Sligo now! Great to see!!!"
Great result for you yesterday. Hopefully we play Derry before the Slaughtneil lads come back too. I actually thought Longford would struggle but i'm being proved wrong. Looks like it might be an exciting league. If we beat Sligo in our next game we're in a great place going into the break.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 05/02/2018 14:34:00    2074289

From having realations in that area it certainly is a big thing for cavan People to beat meath because of Meaths sucess in the 80s and 90s ...

Cavan have this tradition about how successful they were all them many years ago so that probably irked Meath people in the 60s and 70s...

I think it certainly means more to the Cavan men .

Meath to be fair are a big draw no matter where they play always respected and teams love beating them despite them not being the force they once were

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 05/02/2018 14:48:01    2074295

Replying To thelongridge:  "That will be an exciting local derby. Winners could be in with a chance of promotion."
Well we hope so anyway

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/02/2018 15:07:22    2074309

Replying To gotmilk:  "Great result for you yesterday. Hopefully we play Derry before the Slaughtneil lads come back too. I actually thought Longford would struggle but i'm being proved wrong. Looks like it might be an exciting league. If we beat Sligo in our next game we're in a great place going into the break."
Yeah Like if im being totally honest, before the start of the league I and a lot of others from Longford would have said our realistic aim is to stay up but following on form an encouraging run of performances in the O'Byrne cup and opening two rounds of the league we along with yourselves it seems can realistically start to believe promotion is a real chance.

We have lost a good few players over the last two seasons and with a small pick anyway this is alwas a hard thing to overcome. However, The main bulk of our team is made up of a Leinster Minor winning team of 2010 who most of whom played in two Leinster U21 finals in the coming years and have gained valuable experience over the last 3 seasons at Senior level. Padraig McCormack, James McGivney and Robbie Smyth are some of the finest young footballers around as you will see when we play ye. Add them to the experience of a few players we still have who have been around the block for Longford and some exciting younger talent in Rian Brady and it makes fo ran exciting time to be a Longford Supporter.

Not expecting to be challenging for a Leinster Title or anything like that but definitely grounds to believe we can get promoted, forge a decent run in the championship and maybe look to build a provincial shock in the next few years. Few from outside Division 1 & 2 will probably pass much heed on 3/4 but the tight competition and similar standard makes for compelling competitions which can only help each team who comes out the right side of it.

LongfordSham (Longford) - Posts: 106 - 05/02/2018 15:10:31    2074313

Replying To RoyalBadger: "Always got the impression playing Meath is a big deal to Cavan folk but not so much so much to Meath. I certainly never cared to much about them."

I know the feeling !
Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 225 - 05/02/2018 13:43:52

Fair play to both of you for taking the time to post about how much you don't care

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12118 - 05/02/2018 15:29:14    2074322

Replying To BigJohn.6_8:  "From having realations in that area it certainly is a big thing for cavan People to beat meath because of Meaths sucess in the 80s and 90s ...

Cavan have this tradition about how successful they were all them many years ago so that probably irked Meath people in the 60s and 70s...

I think it certainly means more to the Cavan men .

Meath to be fair are a big draw no matter where they play always respected and teams love beating them despite them not being the force they once were"
This is true, hopefully though looking at the way Meath are playing now, and their manager that the big times are not that far away again. Certainly promotion is a distinct possibility this year

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/02/2018 15:53:00    2074333

Replying To royaldunne:  "This is true, hopefully though looking at the way Meath are playing now, and their manager that the big times are not that far away again. Certainly promotion is a distinct possibility this year"
And reading Andy assessment he feels this year is the year. But one game at a time. Cavan will not be easy by any means

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/02/2018 19:31:39    2074422

Ah it probarbly is abigger thing for Cavan to beat Meath, whereas most Meath people love to beat Kildare and Dublin. I suppose Cavan people are in Meath a good bit even if t is just driving through it, on the other hand Meath people would never be in Cavan. I remember the first time I was in Cavan or even outside Kells on the Cavan road it wasnt until I was 15. I was at a wedding down there in the Slieve Russell. I honsetly thought it was like cork or kerry, I had never seen hilly /drumlin country like that before, thought it was mad looking. It was about 10 years before I was in it again I think it was 2007 v Rosscommon in Breffni Park, which I was really impressed with beautiful little ground very tidy. Its actually very lucky pitch for Meath, we beat Armagh in all ireland junior final there, beat roscommon in league final and Louth in the replay! The louth game in 2011 was the last time I was in Cavan, great evening of fun that night up behind the goals!

Never really found that Meath and Cavan had much of a shared culture or mixed the same way Meath/kildare or Meath/dublin do. even though we have a big border with them. is this because we rarely play them in big matches i wonder? most meath people work in kildare or dublin too and do shopping etc in Liffey Valley,Blanch,kildare village, so they prob know the football scene as well. i know our club has never played a challenge match against a cavan ever but play the likes of Coill Dubh and Confey a lot in hurling or Kilcock and Johnstownbridge in football challenges.

It would actually be a good thread to do on "counties that border each other but dont have much interaction or shared culture." I would imagine cavan,Monaghon, fermeangh would be more same culture. I know a lot of meath people would actually be shocked that cavan border is quite close to Kells i get the feeling people see it as "down the country" in the same way they speak of Longford,Lietrim or Roscommon.

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 687 - 05/02/2018 19:32:22    2074423

Replying To dickie10:  "Ah it probarbly is abigger thing for Cavan to beat Meath, whereas most Meath people love to beat Kildare and Dublin. I suppose Cavan people are in Meath a good bit even if t is just driving through it, on the other hand Meath people would never be in Cavan. I remember the first time I was in Cavan or even outside Kells on the Cavan road it wasnt until I was 15. I was at a wedding down there in the Slieve Russell. I honsetly thought it was like cork or kerry, I had never seen hilly /drumlin country like that before, thought it was mad looking. It was about 10 years before I was in it again I think it was 2007 v Rosscommon in Breffni Park, which I was really impressed with beautiful little ground very tidy. Its actually very lucky pitch for Meath, we beat Armagh in all ireland junior final there, beat roscommon in league final and Louth in the replay! The louth game in 2011 was the last time I was in Cavan, great evening of fun that night up behind the goals!

Never really found that Meath and Cavan had much of a shared culture or mixed the same way Meath/kildare or Meath/dublin do. even though we have a big border with them. is this because we rarely play them in big matches i wonder? most meath people work in kildare or dublin too and do shopping etc in Liffey Valley,Blanch,kildare village, so they prob know the football scene as well. i know our club has never played a challenge match against a cavan ever but play the likes of Coill Dubh and Confey a lot in hurling or Kilcock and Johnstownbridge in football challenges.

It would actually be a good thread to do on "counties that border each other but dont have much interaction or shared culture." I would imagine cavan,Monaghon, fermeangh would be more same culture. I know a lot of meath people would actually be shocked that cavan border is quite close to Kells i get the feeling people see it as "down the country" in the same way they speak of Longford,Lietrim or Roscommon."
Yeah never got the Cavan thing. They hate us for sure, but with me it's more of a ,meh , so what? I get it with Louth , westmeath, Dublin and Kildare, but Cavan ? Nah. I like their grounds and should be good craic on Saturday night. And of course a Meath win :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/02/2018 21:50:24    2074454

it must be the fact their in a different province, like i know we have no rivalry with monaghon either even though we border them if only for a mile or two. no rivalry with offaly either even though we border them as well. must be a culture thing or just not actually mixing with each other. meath and kildare are probarbly culturally more alligned. they seem to be pegged together as culturally,socially and economically a region of themselves a lot these days, both counties two main sports are gaelic football and horse racing. both have strongish hurling regions as well. and both are very close in football and hurling standards the last ten years. both have very close in population as well. meath with 194,000 and kildare with 210,000 on 2016 census. both counties are given the same grief for letting dublin get so far ahead of them as well!

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 687 - 05/02/2018 22:40:53    2074472

Replying To gotmilk:  "Very poor showing from yourselves yesterday. A lot of aimless balls just kicked almost for the sake of it. Bar that spell at the start of the second half Offaly didn't offer anything.

Pitch still in dreadful condition at Brewster. Don't know how the game went ahead on it yesterday. In serious need of a rest."
Nobody expected much from Sunday's match. Relegation looks a possibility, with Derry away and Armagh at home. Peter Cunningham and Anton Sullivan were our best rated players in yesterday's paper.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 06/02/2018 11:02:01    2074522

Replying To thelongridge:  "Nobody expected much from Sunday's match. Relegation looks a possibility, with Derry away and Armagh at home. Peter Cunningham and Anton Sullivan were our best rated players in yesterday's paper."
eplying To gotmilk: "Very poor showing from yourselves yesterday. A lot of aimless balls just kicked almost for the sake of it. Bar that spell at the start of the second half Offaly didn't offer anything.

Pitch still in dreadful condition at Brewster. Don't know how the game went ahead on it yesterday. In serious need of a rest."
Nobody expected much from Sunday's match. Relegation looks a possibility, with Derry away and Armagh at home. Peter Cunningham and Anton Sullivan were our best rated players in yesterday's paper.
thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 758 - 06/02/2018 11:02:01 2074522

Post Reply Link 0 0
Post New Message

Offaly are a division 4 team I'd say likes of Laois Carlow and Antrim would be stronger all tough your league position doesn't lie!

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 06/02/2018 14:40:28    2074591

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah never got the Cavan thing. They hate us for sure, but with me it's more of a ,meh , so what? I get it with Louth , westmeath, Dublin and Kildare, but Cavan ? Nah. I like their grounds and should be good craic on Saturday night. And of course a Meath win :)"
Depends what part of the county you're from. Cavan v Meath is big fixture for people from areas in North Meath that are close to the border like Oldcastle, Kells, Moynalty, Carnaross, Kilmainhamwood etc. I'm torn between both counties from living in Maghera and it's certainly seen as a big game with both teams coming off the back of big wins last weekend.

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 06/02/2018 16:16:18    2074607

Replying To royaldunne:  "This is true, hopefully though looking at the way Meath are playing now, and their manager that the big times are not that far away again. Certainly promotion is a distinct possibility this year"
Your posts are always highly entertaining!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 06/02/2018 16:25:10    2074611