Your sporting hopes for 2018

My hope would be that the abusive fans stay home

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 29/12/2017 16:50:13    2066165

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "My hope would be that the abusive fans stay home"
You can't call them fans.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 29/12/2017 18:45:35    2066179

League - preserve division 1a and division 2 status

Championship - win the hurling all-Ireland. Footballers to qualify for munster final and super 8s.

The above is a dream season like 2016. 2017 showed how quickly it can turn sour.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 29/12/2017 20:21:39    2066189

Replying To OLLIE:  "Staying up in Division two will be tough but wee have a good manager in Pete Mc Grath so hopefully he can do it. In the Championship hopefully get to a Leinster semi-final. Wee have only reached one in the past twenty years."
I think Louth and Tipp will be competitive in division 2 Ollie. The trouble is the likes of Cork and Meath are great at grinding out a 2 point win over the likes of us.

Division 2 will be ultra competitive as always.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 29/12/2017 20:34:08    2066192

League - preserve division 1a and division 2 status
Championship - win the hurling all-Ireland. Footballers to qualify for munster final and super 8s.
The above is a dream season like 2016. 2017 showed how quickly it can turn sour.
Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - 29/12/2017 20:21:39
But surely for both championship goals to happen we would need to be doing more than preserving division status in both sports?
Hopes for hurling win all ireland and semi at least in league
football: stay in division 2 and qualify for super 8s

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 29/12/2017 22:35:07    2066203

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "League - preserve division 1a and division 2 status
Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - 29/12/2017 20:21:39
But surely for both championship goals to happen we would need to be doing more than preserving division status in both sports?
Hopes for hurling win all ireland and semi at least in league
football: stay in division 2 and qualify for super 8s"
In 2016 we were in Division 3 of the football league and finished in 6th place out of 8th teams one position and 2 points above the drop.

The hurlers finished 4th in Division 1a, one position and 1 point above the relegation playoff. Division 1b table toppers Clare knocked Tipp out at the quarter final stage.

So in short no I don't think we need to set the world on fire in the league to make an impact on championship 2018.

Obviously i'd Like to see Tipp do well in the league too.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 30/12/2017 00:20:43    2066211

Replying To Crinigan:  "Honestly, though lads, please ignore him. He hasn't a notion whats going on in Meath and he gives the rest of us genuine Meath people a bad name.

Kildare are the only team in Leinster at the moment who will challenge Dublin and they have a lot of very exciting players. They need to find some belief from somewhere though.

Meath have fallen a long long way and are in a bad place. Our best players have left the panel and those on it aren't even turning up for training or challenge matches in sufficient numbers."
Says the lad who said Donal keoghan dropped himself off panel. And is calling on for a change of management. Yeah your some fan.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/12/2017 08:31:26    2066218

Replying To royaldunne:  "Says the lad who said Donal keoghan dropped himself off panel. And is calling on for a change of management. Yeah your some fan."
I never said Keoghan dropped off the panel and I never called for a change of management. Mind you if you see Keoghan playing championship next year, come back to me.

A real fan doesn't go slagging off other counties and looking down on likes of Kildare and other counties as if we currently have something to shout about. The real Meath fans are staying silent and maintaining their dignity while the county tries to rebuild and find its way. You are just embarrassing us on this forum. It's not 1991 anymore. Kildare hockeyed us twice last year and so you'd think we'd have the cop on to let them state their aspirations without pointing out how they'll never win anything etc

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 30/12/2017 10:46:40    2066231

Replying To Killarney.87:  "I think Louth and Tipp will be competitive in division 2 Ollie. The trouble is the likes of Cork and Meath are great at grinding out a 2 point win over the likes of us.

Division 2 will be ultra competitive as always."
Louth have not beaten Meath in the Championship since 1975. Wee have been close on many occasions. They did win a dodgy Leinster final against us in 2010. Wee had did have the chances against them in that match but wee did not take them. Wee also ran them close in 1998 and 2002. I can't wait for the battle of the Boyne clash on the Paddy's Day weekend in the league. I live right on the border. Louth have not played Cork in the league in about twenty years. They have only played twice in the Championship. The first time was the historic 1957 All Ireland final when the smallest county in Ireland beat the biggest county. The second time was in 2007 when Cork beat us by two points in a qualifier match in Portlaoise. Looking forward to travelling to Cork. Up the Wee County!

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 30/12/2017 10:47:08    2066232

Don't be listening to RD lads. We're years behind Dublin, the gap at this stage is actually frightening. As a matter of fact, we're also a considerable distance behind Kildare as much as it hurts me to say.
It's do or die for McEntee this year. Nothing less than promotion will keep in a job.

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 30/12/2017 11:17:31    2066237

Replying To OLLIE:  "Louth have not beaten Meath in the Championship since 1975. Wee have been close on many occasions. They did win a dodgy Leinster final against us in 2010. Wee had did have the chances against them in that match but wee did not take them. Wee also ran them close in 1998 and 2002. I can't wait for the battle of the Boyne clash on the Paddy's Day weekend in the league. I live right on the border. Louth have not played Cork in the league in about twenty years. They have only played twice in the Championship. The first time was the historic 1957 All Ireland final when the smallest county in Ireland beat the biggest county. The second time was in 2007 when Cork beat us by two points in a qualifier match in Portlaoise. Looking forward to travelling to Cork. Up the Wee County!"
Fair play Ollie. I'm really looking forward to Division 2 as well. We are away to Cork in 4 weeks time which will be a really tough opener for us.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 30/12/2017 18:50:41    2066295

Replying To St.Conleth:  "Outside of my own county i would love to see some kind of resurgence from our neighbours Offaly in football in particular."
Thanks for the good wishes. We all hope for that. It might take a while.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 30/12/2017 19:24:27    2066302

I hope Waterford are motivated by the fourth place ranking team in the country on the Independent. What disrespect to the All-Ireland runner's up. Beaten by a stroke of the ball. Can't have it both ways. The reason given Cork beat them in Munster but they also beat Tipp easier. Tipp are ranked above Waterford. At the end of the day when it mattered most for the McCarthy cup Waterford beat Cork. Either use the All-Ireland series or not. The rankings are 1 the All-Ireland champions. 2 the runners up and on from there. Not that these rankings mean anything.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 31/12/2017 02:14:33    2066334

Replying To Canuck:  "I hope Waterford are motivated by the fourth place ranking team in the country on the Independent. What disrespect to the All-Ireland runner's up. Beaten by a stroke of the ball. Can't have it both ways. The reason given Cork beat them in Munster but they also beat Tipp easier. Tipp are ranked above Waterford. At the end of the day when it mattered most for the McCarthy cup Waterford beat Cork. Either use the All-Ireland series or not. The rankings are 1 the All-Ireland champions. 2 the runners up and on from there. Not that these rankings mean anything."
Cant agree with the logic of runners up being automatically number 2, if for instance galway beat tipp by 1 point in the semi and waterford by 30 would waterford still be considered the 2nd best? I havent seen the rankings but for me Id have top 3 as Galway, Tipp and Waterford. Its all a matter of opinion but before last years semi i saw galway tipp as the final because I strongly believed that whoever won would go on to win it out. These ranking dont mean a thing anyway, just lazy, easy journalism, all that matter is who at the end of the day won liam and sam

tipp11 (Tipperary) - Posts: 353 - 31/12/2017 12:01:43    2066347

Replying To tipp11:  "Cant agree with the logic of runners up being automatically number 2, if for instance galway beat tipp by 1 point in the semi and waterford by 30 would waterford still be considered the 2nd best? I havent seen the rankings but for me Id have top 3 as Galway, Tipp and Waterford. Its all a matter of opinion but before last years semi i saw galway tipp as the final because I strongly believed that whoever won would go on to win it out. These ranking dont mean a thing anyway, just lazy, easy journalism, all that matter is who at the end of the day won liam and sam"
I agree these rankings mean nothing only the bias of some journalist or lack of knowledge. So Wexford were they only ones to beat Galway so should they be ranked 1 or at least higher than 5. No because it is usually based on the All-Ireland series. Waterford were ranked 4th in 2016 after been beaten in the semi and I would argue they played better that year. So in 2017 they are in the final and are still 4. Galway did not beat beat Waterford by 30 points, so it is not a comparison for 2017. A puck of the ball the same as Tipp. I would feel the same if it was Tipp or anyone else were ranked like this. For years (before Galway in Leinster) during their success Kilkenny played two meaningful games to get to an All Ireland. This never effected their ranking if the won the final or were beaten. I am just surprised than he did not rank them 4 because of the tinted glasses that are used in general towards the top teams.
The All-Ireland finalist should always be recognized as 1 and 2 and as you say it only matter who has the McCarthy and the last team who can do anything about that is the other team in the final.
Happy New Year and the best of luck for all in 2018.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 31/12/2017 18:33:09    2066395

Always wanted to see the old All Ireland champions from the 1920s-60s come to the top again, when was the last time Louth, Cavan, Wexford etc were seen as teams in with a big shout for the All Ireland. Another wish for 2018 is decent refs especially in football, too many bad mistakes made by officials creating bad vibes and anger amongst the crowds

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 31/12/2017 21:52:31    2066406

Replying To tipp11:  "Cant agree with the logic of runners up being automatically number 2, if for instance galway beat tipp by 1 point in the semi and waterford by 30 would waterford still be considered the 2nd best? I havent seen the rankings but for me Id have top 3 as Galway, Tipp and Waterford. Its all a matter of opinion but before last years semi i saw galway tipp as the final because I strongly believed that whoever won would go on to win it out. These ranking dont mean a thing anyway, just lazy, easy journalism, all that matter is who at the end of the day won liam and sam"
Martin Brehony seems to think Kerry were a better team than Mayo in 2017 cause they won the league. I remember the same writer a number of years ago writing that Mayo beating Kerry in the league didn't matter as championship was the real measure of a team....can't wait for martins votes on all things Mayo in 2018

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 01/01/2018 10:41:31    2066417

Tipp to win munster would be number 1, its unlikely i know but still probably the best chance we have with 3 games at semple to do it and before this kerry team matures and fully goes through their transition. after that promotion would be nice but consolidating in div 2 and reaching super 8s would be more realistic goals

tipp11 (Tipperary) - Posts: 353 - 01/01/2018 11:58:38    2066421

Replying To yew_tree:  "Martin Brehony seems to think Kerry were a better team than Mayo in 2017 cause they won the league. I remember the same writer a number of years ago writing that Mayo beating Kerry in the league didn't matter as championship was the real measure of a team....can't wait for martins votes on all things Mayo in 2018"
Ahh it's a strange one. To be honest I gave up reading them all after ose went on a rant after Meath Louth game last year, he got numerous things wrong including the end score, it was a farcical analysis. When challenged on social media about his blatant inaccuracy, he at least admitted he hadn't watched the game and was going on second hand information, he at least admitted his analysis was completely wrong. But I think this example is only thin end of the wedge. Pundits are more interested in trying for the sensational headlines rather than honest impartial views.
The one I do like to read is graham geraghty, I find him hugely insightful into the modern game, with generally non biased view , now let me be clear I don't read him cause he is a former Meath great, as I don't particularly like Colm orouke column as he has his own agendas against different things and uses his writing to advance these even when talking about a game, (not saying I disagree with his stances) but a preview of a game or after a game is not the place to air them.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/01/2018 13:12:57    2066424

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh it's a strange one. To be honest I gave up reading them all after ose went on a rant after Meath Louth game last year, he got numerous things wrong including the end score, it was a farcical analysis. When challenged on social media about his blatant inaccuracy, he at least admitted he hadn't watched the game and was going on second hand information, he at least admitted his analysis was completely wrong. But I think this example is only thin end of the wedge. Pundits are more interested in trying for the sensational headlines rather than honest impartial views.
The one I do like to read is graham geraghty, I find him hugely insightful into the modern game, with generally non biased view , now let me be clear I don't read him cause he is a former Meath great, as I don't particularly like Colm orouke column as he has his own agendas against different things and uses his writing to advance these even when talking about a game, (not saying I disagree with his stances) but a preview of a game or after a game is not the place to air them."
"Honest impartial views" "unbiased" "agendas"
Coming from you thats a howl !

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 01/01/2018 15:03:40    2066428